Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All

Author Topic: Complete Dominion rules document  (Read 12047 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #75 on: November 25, 2017, 09:41:02 am »
+5

The time has arrived! Version 4 is now up - with Nocturne, Dismantle, new rulings and several fixes and improvements.

Complete Rules for Dominion and All Its Expansions

Scoobie

  • Pearl Diver
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Respect: +6
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #76 on: December 08, 2017, 08:16:52 pm »
+2

Thank you so much for all of your hard work on this!

I was looking into the information on Donate/Mountain Pass and extra turns. In your summary on the bgg page, you refer to an update that says extra turns are resolved before Donate and Mountain Pass. The clarifications in each of those card entries say the extra turns are resolved after them.

Iím guessing that the document is correct these cards set up after turn abilities and they should be resolved after the turn that set them up, not after potential extra turns.

I did do some searching here and at bgg to find the correct answer, but was unsuccessful. (I didnít want to pester you with this.)
Logged

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5258
  • Respect: +21327
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #77 on: December 08, 2017, 11:08:52 pm »
+2

Extra turns happen after Mountain Pass and Donate.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #78 on: December 09, 2017, 12:54:21 am »
0

Thank you so much for all of your hard work on this!

I was looking into the information on Donate/Mountain Pass and extra turns. In your summary on the bgg page, you refer to an update that says extra turns are resolved before Donate and Mountain Pass. The clarifications in each of those card entries say the extra turns are resolved after them.

Iím guessing that the document is correct these cards set up after turn abilities and they should be resolved after the turn that set them up, not after potential extra turns.

Thanks for pointing this out! Donald answered you. It's a mistake on page 22 in my document. It's correct in the card entries, as you pointed out. Yes, I also made the mistake in the summery on BGG, but I corrected that now. Too bad I can't correct the mistake in the document until next version. Let's hope for a new expansion soon. :p

RevanFan

  • Spy
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • Respect: +38
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #79 on: December 09, 2017, 04:15:04 am »
+2

Thank you so much for all of your hard work on this!

I was looking into the information on Donate/Mountain Pass and extra turns. In your summary on the bgg page, you refer to an update that says extra turns are resolved before Donate and Mountain Pass. The clarifications in each of those card entries say the extra turns are resolved after them.

Iím guessing that the document is correct these cards set up after turn abilities and they should be resolved after the turn that set them up, not after potential extra turns.

Thanks for pointing this out! Donald answered you. It's a mistake on page 22 in my document. It's correct in the card entries, as you pointed out. Yes, I also made the mistake in the summery on BGG, but I corrected that now. Too bad I can't correct the mistake in the document until next version. Let's hope for a new expansion soon. :p
You could always do a "version 4.1" correcting the small mistake. Or, if you feel better about it, "version 4.01."
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7550
  • Respect: +8380
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #80 on: December 09, 2017, 11:17:34 am »
0

Extra turns happen after Mountain Pass and Donate.

Is there an underlying rule that makes this true? On the surface, it appears to be 2 different "after this turn" effects, so you would get to choose.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

crj

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1099
  • Respect: +1160
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #81 on: December 09, 2017, 12:15:52 pm »
0

I've never seen this stated, but my inference from all the rulings I've seen for Outpost, Possession. Mission, Mountain Pass, Donate, etc. is that the way things go is:
  • ...End of Night phase
  • Cleanup
  • "At end of turn"
  • Determine if the game has ended
  • "After" the turn
  • Determine who will be taking the next turn
  • Start of turn
Things people do during turns, or after turns, can affect who takes the next turn, but all after-turn effects must be concluded before the next turn (for whomever) begins, there' can't be an after-turn effect that is deferred until an entire other turn has taken place.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #82 on: December 09, 2017, 01:05:14 pm »
0

I think both interpretations are reasonable, but Donald has ruled on it in another thread (and now here).

Erick648

  • Young Witch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
  • Respect: +426
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #83 on: December 09, 2017, 02:13:57 pm »
0

If you really want to parse it, "At the end of your turn" could imply that it's still part of your turn (and "At the start of your turn" abilities provide precedent for that), while "After your turn" is clearly after your turn is over.  It may not be obvious, but it's there if you're looking closely enough.
Logged
Duplicate duplicates Duplicates duplicate Duplicates duplicate.

Rene Descartes taught me to believe in myself.

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #84 on: December 09, 2017, 02:38:17 pm »
0

If you really want to parse it, "At the end of your turn" could imply that it's still part of your turn (and "At the start of your turn" abilities provide precedent for that), while "After your turn" is clearly after your turn is over.  It may not be obvious, but it's there if you're looking closely enough.

Yes, I think that is pretty obvious actually, but I don't see how it relates directly to the issue. Donate, Mountain Pass and extra turns all happen after you're turn.

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5258
  • Respect: +21327
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #85 on: December 09, 2017, 03:43:52 pm »
+2

Extra turns happen after Mountain Pass and Donate.

Is there an underlying rule that makes this true? On the surface, it appears to be 2 different "after this turn" effects, so you would get to choose.
It's that they were supposed to happen between turns (just to deal with Possession).
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Introducing a new rules document
« Reply #86 on: April 29, 2018, 09:10:24 pm »
+2

Version 4.1 is up, with some changes because of some new elements in the 2nd editions of Guilds, Cornucopia and Alchemy.

Complete Rules for Dominion and All Its Expansions

This will be the ultimate version until another expansion shows up.

LittleFish

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
  • Respect: +45
    • View Profile
Re: Complete Dominion rules document
« Reply #87 on: January 19, 2019, 09:42:56 am »
0

You can't download without signing in.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Complete Dominion rules document
« Reply #88 on: January 19, 2019, 11:01:15 am »
0

You can't download without signing in.

It would be good if you created an account and gave the file a thumbs up. I'm sure you won't regret having an account on BGG if you're into boardgames. :)
I'm still working on the new version (with Renaissance), but I should be done soon!

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Complete Dominion rules document
« Reply #89 on: February 07, 2019, 09:52:16 am »
+3

The new version is finally finished, which incorporates Renaissance, as well as containing new rulings and many other fixes and improvements.

Complete Rules for Dominion and All Its Expansions

I would appreciate a thumb on BoardGameGeek. But if you don't have an account and for some reason really don't want to create one, you can also find a link somewhere in this thread. ;)

dz

  • Navigator
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
  • Shuffle iT Username: DZ
  • Respect: +71
    • View Profile
Re: Complete Dominion rules document
« Reply #90 on: February 07, 2019, 11:32:40 am »
+2

Nice work man. Here are some of my notes/questions:

pg 9: I think it would be better if the paragraph for Fate brought up Will-o'-Wisp. I know you bring it up on the same page with Swamp's Gift, but it may be better if it was all in one paragraph. Even the Nocturne rulebook does this.
pg 41: Under "cards that let you cheat," you should also mention how Quest doesn't require you to reveal discarded Curses.
pg 58: Under Fortune you say you can spend Coffers if you played Fortune with another ability. Is that allowed? If my Venture reveals Fortune, I get to spend Coffers?

Also in all of section VI, the Boons written as "Sky's Gift, The" Is this intentional? Cause it just looks weird.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Complete Dominion rules document
« Reply #91 on: February 07, 2019, 12:16:35 pm »
0

I discovered that half the PDF links didn't work. I'm fixing this now. I took down the file in the meantime. :( Hope it gets approved again soon.

EDIT: New version with fixed links was up 30 minutes ago.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2019, 03:20:13 pm by Jeebus »
Logged

Jeebus

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1348
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +975
    • View Profile
Re: Complete Dominion rules document
« Reply #92 on: February 07, 2019, 03:29:08 pm »
0

pg 9: I think it would be better if the paragraph for Fate brought up Will-o'-Wisp. I know you bring it up on the same page with Swamp's Gift, but it may be better if it was all in one paragraph. Even the Nocturne rulebook does this.
I might change this if there's a new version.

Quote
pg 41: Under "cards that let you cheat," you should also mention how Quest doesn't require you to reveal discarded Curses.
Good catch, will add it.
EDIT: Actually, I remember that I already considered but decided against it, because it's so marginal. It's different than Opulent Castle, because with that card there could be information that you in theory don't want to reveal (exactly which Victory cards you're discarding). With Quest there is no such consideration.

Quote
pg 58: Under Fortune you say you can spend Coffers if you played Fortune with another ability. Is that allowed? If my Venture reveals Fortune, I get to spend Coffers?
Yes, correct. The ruling is around here somewhere.

Quote
Also in all of section VI, the Boons written as "Sky's Gift, The" Is this intentional? Cause it just looks weird.
It's intentional, and quite normal in encyclopedias etc. when the entry is not alphabetized by that word ("the", "a", "an"...)
« Last Edit: February 07, 2019, 05:20:36 pm by Jeebus »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All
 

Page created in 0.127 seconds with 21 queries.