Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Throne Room and Feast vs. Throne Room and MadMan  (Read 1369 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

amoffett11

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 191
  • Respect: +271
    • View Profile
Throne Room and Feast vs. Throne Room and MadMan
« on: April 13, 2016, 03:13:10 pm »
0

Yesterday on the online client, I decided to Throne Room my MadMan to get a very large hand.  I didn't notice that it didn't quite work, so I did it again.   Once I noticed that I couldn't Throne my Madman, I figured it was because it was being returned to the supply.  You play the throne room, you play the Madman, and *woosh* it's back in the supply and beyond my grasping fingers.  But then I thought about Feast.  How is it I can throne Feast and get two cards?  Is the difference between the two the "if you do..."  clause?

I realize that I've probably answered my own question, but it's something I never considered before.  I'm finding lately that I've been playing with cards online for awhile and I'm taking for granted exactly what the wording is on some of them and how that is affecting different combos.  Given the power of MadMan, I imagine that is why that clause is there in the first place, so that it can't be throned. 
Logged

Kirian

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7096
  • Shuffle iT Username: Kirian
  • An Unbalanced Equation
  • Respect: +9396
    • View Profile
Re: Throne Room and Feast vs. Throne Room and MadMan
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2016, 03:13:55 pm »
+7

Yes, it's the if clause that differs.
Logged
Kirian's Law of f.DS jokes:  Any sufficiently unexplained joke is indistinguishable from serious conversation.

arcee

  • Thief
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 90
  • Shuffle iT Username: rchandra
  • Respect: +47
    • View Profile
Re: Throne Room and Feast vs. Throne Room and MadMan
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2016, 03:07:18 pm »
+3

Note that you do get the +2 actions again.  Being in the supply doesn't stop you from replaying the Madman, just from putting it into play.  The "if you did" clause stops you from getting the cards.
Logged

Jeebus

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2184
  • Shuffle iT Username: jeebus
  • Respect: +1472
    • View Profile
Re: Throne Room and Feast vs. Throne Room and MadMan
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 02:49:22 pm »
0

This one is actually explicitly stated in the Dark Ages rulebook, using Procession instead of Throne Room. It's explained two places: in the FAQ for Madman, and in the general rules as it pertains to "lose track".
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.073 seconds with 20 queries.