Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Treasure Map play rules  (Read 2425 times)

Guy Srinivasan

• Salvager
  • Respect: +38
    • View Profile
Treasure Map play rules
« on: January 11, 2012, 10:43:21 pm »

I started playing with Geronimoo's simulator today, adding some Treasure Maps to Big Money Ultimate. That did pretty well versus BMU, 46.073% versus 46.269%, but the play rules for Treasure Maps are hurting it: the bot will never trash its 3rd Map.

What should Treasure Map play rules look like?

DG

• Governor
  • Respect: +2624
    • View Profile
Re: Treasure Map play rules
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2012, 11:05:53 pm »

There might be some value in trashing the treasure map when there is only one in the deck and the purchase conditions for treasure maps are not currently satisfied (although this would have to be careful about conditions involving the action phase, number of buys, etc.). The treasure map can certainly be trashed if it isn't in the purchase list at all.

Anyone want me to open a thread about secret chamber play rules? Geronimoo probably doesn't :) .
« Last Edit: January 11, 2012, 11:09:15 pm by DG »

Anon79

• Apprentice
  • Respect: +39
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2012, 11:12:32 pm »

This leaves open the question what happens if you have more than 1 TM in your deck (say you bought 4 and have already cashed in two of the maps). It's non-trivial, because a really aggresive trashing strategy might want 8 Golds?

DStu

• Margrave
  • Respect: +1490
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2012, 03:12:50 am »

I started playing with Geronimoo's simulator today, adding some Treasure Maps to Big Money Ultimate. That did pretty well versus BMU, 46.073% versus 46.269%, but the play rules for Treasure Maps are hurting it: the bot will never trash its 3rd Map.

What should Treasure Map play rules look like?