Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Prince + Beggar reaction  (Read 1390 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ben_king

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 176
  • Shuffle iT Username: ben.king
  • formerly grsbmd
  • Respect: +582
    • View Profile
Prince + Beggar reaction
« on: September 21, 2015, 09:19:53 pm »
+1

Beggar is the only card that reacts to attack that doesn't say reveal or discard "from your hand." 

Suppose that you have set aside Beggar with Prince and then your opponent plays an attack.  Can you discard Beggar from its set-aside limbo state and gain the two silvers?
Logged

Mic Qsenoch

  • 2015 DS Champion
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1673
  • Respect: +4275
    • View Profile
Re: Prince + Beggar reaction
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2015, 09:22:30 pm »
+3

No, the FAQ makes it clear the reaction requires you to discard it from hand.
Logged

ben_king

  • Golem
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 176
  • Shuffle iT Username: ben.king
  • formerly grsbmd
  • Respect: +582
    • View Profile
Re: Prince + Beggar reaction
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2015, 09:30:51 pm »
0

No, the FAQ makes it clear the reaction requires you to discard it from hand.

Thanks for the quick response!
Logged

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2976
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3808
    • View Profile
Re: Prince + Beggar reaction
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2015, 09:59:02 pm »
+2

In general, "discard" without other specification always means from your hand, in the same way "gain" means to your discard pile.
Logged

popsofctown

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5388
  • Respect: +2771
    • View Profile
Re: Prince + Beggar reaction
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2015, 10:37:32 am »
0

In general, "discard" without other specification always means from your hand, in the same way "gain" means to your discard pile.

This is wrong.  Tunnel uses the word "discard" without any locational specification, but it means from anywhere.  Same wording as Beggar.

Logged
Also you probably are an expert if you buy two bureaucrats early.

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8104
  • Respect: +8885
    • View Profile
Re: Prince + Beggar reaction
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2015, 10:55:09 am »
+3

In general, "discard" without other specification always means from your hand, in the same way "gain" means to your discard pile.

This is wrong.  Tunnel uses the word "discard" without any locational specification, but it means from anywhere.  Same wording as Beggar.

He was talking about when you are instructed to discard something. Tunnel's wording is a different use of "discard"; it's not an instruction.

Temporum does the same thing. If you are instructed to discard a card, it automatically means "from hand" unless it specifies otherwise. But there's also a card that reacts to things being discarded, and it reacts no matter where the things are discarded from.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2015, 10:56:58 am by GendoIkari »
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2976
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3808
    • View Profile
Re: Prince + Beggar reaction
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2015, 10:56:15 am »
+1

In general, "discard" without other specification always means from your hand, in the same way "gain" means to your discard pile.

This is wrong.  Tunnel uses the word "discard" without any locational specification, but it means from anywhere.  Same wording as Beggar.

Okay, and Inn uses the word "gain" without any locational specification, but it means from anywhere as well. (That is to say, if you gain Inn from the trash via Graverobber, or from the Black Market deck, you still shuffle Action cards into your deck.)

So to specify: an instruction to discard something without other specification means from your hand, in the same way an instruction to gain something means to your discard pile. "When you gain" and "when you discard" don't have those interpretations.
Logged

popsofctown

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5388
  • Respect: +2771
    • View Profile
Re: Prince + Beggar reaction
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2015, 01:16:31 pm »
0

In general, "discard" without other specification always means from your hand, in the same way "gain" means to your discard pile.

This is wrong.  Tunnel uses the word "discard" without any locational specification, but it means from anywhere.  Same wording as Beggar.
He was talking about when you are instructed to discard something. Tunnel's wording is a different use of "discard"; it's not an instruction.

I was talking about how every girl has enough intrinsic worth to deserve a unicorn ride at her quinsinera; I just didn't put any words about it in my post.  You are an awful adolescent hater for not supporting my stance.


For serious, though, when the conversation at hand is about words and semantics and exact meanings, "Oh you know what I actually meant" isn't something you need to overlook and move on from, it's something you need to correct and have exactly right.
Logged
Also you probably are an expert if you buy two bureaucrats early.
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.105 seconds with 21 queries.