Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Seaside: Treasure Map  (Read 24096 times)

jotheonah

• Jester
  • Respect: +952
    • View Profile
Seaside: Treasure Map
« on: January 09, 2012, 05:14:13 pm »
+7

This is my first attempt at an article, so please be kind with your constructive criticism. There's nothing here that will astound the veteran player, but there's currently no article on the sit on this card and I think this hits some of the major points often missed by beginners.

Seaside: Treasure Map

Treasure Map is, as Donald X. would say, a cute card. Gold is really good, right? And 4 Golds, that's a lot of Gold. Right there, on top of your deck.

The problem is that, at $4, you can't open TM/TM.  So it takes at least three turns to get 2 Maps, another 2 to hit a reshuffle, and at that point you have to rely on luck to get 2 of your 12 cards together in a hand (and that's assuming you open Treasure Map/nothing). Your odds of hitting before the third reshuffle without help are a mere 29 percent. The odds get better if you buy more Maps, but that's time your opponents could be spending building up an engine or just buying those Golds the easy way.  And the probability may not be relevant to you in a game where your opponent cashes in on Turn 5 and you're still floundering on Turn 15. Treasure Map is a notoriously luck-dependent card, and simulators prove that no Treasure Map-only strategy beats Big Money.

Luckily, there are other ways to get your Treasure Maps together. Note that you have to play one Treasure Map and have the other in hand to get the Golds, so, promising as they might sound at first, Scheme, Golem, and Throne Room are of no help to you (well, Scheme actually can be helpful, but not in such an obvious way).