Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Discarding all at once  (Read 1232 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

belugawhale

  • Moneylender
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 159
  • Something.
  • Respect: +212
    • View Profile
Discarding all at once
« on: July 23, 2015, 10:47:26 am »
0

In a real-life game of Dominion, is my opponent allowed to see all of the cards I discard at once to something like Cellar? Goko makes you discard one at a time, but in IRL it is easier to discard a stack of cards from your hand to hide certain cards.
Logged
removed by user

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7059
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +9763
    • View Profile
Re: Discarding all at once
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 11:01:34 am »
+2

You may discard all the cards in a stack and your opponents will only see the top card.

…Unless your'e discarding "down to" a number of cards, as with Militia. Donald made a ruling that in those cases you're discarding one card at a time.
Logged

faust

  • Mountebank
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2495
  • Shuffle iT Username: faust
  • Respect: +3467
    • View Profile
Re: Discarding all at once
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2015, 03:53:46 pm »
0

You may discard all the cards in a stack and your opponents will only see the top card.

Really, that's the ruling? Seems a bit weird as it makes it harder to control how many cards I discarded.
Logged
Since the number of points is within a constant factor of the number of city quarters, in the long run we can get (4 - ε) ↑↑ n points in n turns for any ε > 0.

LastFootnote

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7059
  • Shuffle iT Username: LastFootnote
  • Respect: +9763
    • View Profile
Re: Discarding all at once
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2015, 04:04:54 pm »
0

You may discard all the cards in a stack and your opponents will only see the top card.

Really, that's the ruling? Seems a bit weird as it makes it harder to control how many cards I discarded.

What do you mean "harder to control"?
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7858
  • Respect: +8696
    • View Profile
Re: Discarding all at once
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2015, 04:34:12 pm »
+1

You may discard all the cards in a stack and your opponents will only see the top card.

Really, that's the ruling? Seems a bit weird as it makes it harder to control how many cards I discarded.

What do you mean "harder to control"?

I assume he means accountability against cheating. If you can't see each card discarded, you can't easily know how many cards your opponent discarded. Though the accountability exists in the fact that the number of cards in your opponent's hands is open knowledge.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

Donald X.

  • Board Moderator
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5342
  • Respect: +21678
    • View Profile
Re: Discarding all at once
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2015, 05:03:17 pm »
+4

You may discard all the cards in a stack and your opponents will only see the top card.

Really, that's the ruling? Seems a bit weird as it makes it harder to control how many cards I discarded.
Number of cards is public as noted.

The idea is to not slow the game down. It has not caused problems.
Logged

belugawhale

  • Moneylender
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 159
  • Something.
  • Respect: +212
    • View Profile
Re: Discarding all at once
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2015, 08:22:05 pm »
0

Thanks for the clarification.
Logged
removed by user
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.081 seconds with 21 queries.