Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: 2 player games versus 4 player games  (Read 3865 times)

naujack85

• Pawn
  • Respect: +1
    • View Profile
2 player games versus 4 player games
« on: April 03, 2015, 01:56:13 am »
+1

Hey guys and gals,

I've been playing dominion for about six months now and am pretty addicted. It's been very insightful reading  through many of the board postings and simply accumulating game knowledge.

One thing I have noticed is that most of the strategy discussed here applies directly to 1v1 games.  I mostly play in-person four player games (though I've started playing 1v1 games online), can someone offer some broad strategies to consider when playing a 4 player game?

naujack85

• Pawn
  • Respect: +1
    • View Profile
Re: 2 player games versus 4 player games
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2015, 02:17:21 am »

And now I realize my noob mistake of not posting this on the general board...

ehunt

• Torturer
  • Shuffle iT Username: ehunt
  • Respect: +1856
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2015, 05:00:40 am »

You may enjoy this thread. It's old, but the ideas are solid.
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=2851.0

-Stef-

• 2012 & 2016 DS Champion
  • Respect: +4419
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2015, 05:10:20 am »
+6

I expect theory will move it because it's not an article indeed.

The most important difference is that with 4 players you can't really control the game or your deck.
your deck -> Attacks are a lot more destructive - for every turn you take fixing your deck, three other people will take a turn attacking it.
the game -> You can stop buying from a certain pile, but if three others keep buying it the game will just end.
As a result, you should be much more focused on buying good cards, and not so much on good synergies or good strategies.