Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Buy but don't gain?  (Read 2259 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2947
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3758
    • View Profile
Buy but don't gain?
« on: December 16, 2014, 08:14:31 pm »
+2

In Dominion, buying is separate from gaining: (1) first you pay for a card, and any on-buy effects happen, and (2) after that you gain a copy of that card from the supply, and any on-gain effects happen.

As far as I can tell, there are seven events in Dominion which can stop (2) from happening if (1) has happened. Two of them are pretty well-known, and the other five have something in common.

What are they?
Logged

pacovf

  • Cartographer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3373
  • Multiediting poster
  • Respect: +3705
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2014, 08:26:39 pm »
+2

As Wero hinted at in the other version of this thread, the extra five events have in common "when you buy" wording, and close-to-empty piles.

I think. I haven't worked out the five events yet.

EDIT: I tire and don't use the right words.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 08:29:12 pm by pacovf »
Logged
pacovf has a neopets account.  It has 999 hours logged.  All his neopets are named "Jessica".  I guess that must be his ex.

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2475
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2014, 08:35:23 pm »
+6

Trader and Possession were mentioned as the well known ones, and Talisman as one of the other 5 that have to do with emptying a pile during phase (1). The other four are:

Stonemason overpay for two more stonemasons
Farmland trash a $4 into the last farmland (I hope nobody has ever done this)
Quarry and haggler in play, watchtower in hand. Buy a duchy, gaining a hunting grounds, trash the hunting grounds, gain the duchy. Again, I hope nobody has ever done this.
???
There is probably another way to make something work with haggler.

EDIT: Haggler in play, watchtower in hand. Buy an attack, gain a squire, trash the squire, gain the attack. I hope somebody has done this.

I'm interested to see how goko handles the farmland and haggler ones. It might not work right, as in, I suspect it could force you to gain a gold for the farmland one.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 08:40:09 pm by liopoil »
Logged

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2947
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3758
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2014, 08:46:14 pm »
0

Oho, nice! I didn't think of your versions of the Haggler trick. What I was thinking of was Haggler in play, buy the last Silver, haggle a Copper or something, reveal Trader, gain the last Silver insteadóbut that's a little inelegant because it uses Trader, which was already one of the other answers (though it uses it for something different).

One more! (Well, one more that I thought of before posting this puzzle.)
Logged

Donald X.

  • Dominion Designer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5321
  • Respect: +21595
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2014, 08:49:06 pm »
+9

Buy Doctor trashing Catacombs for the last Doctor, buy the last Curse gaining it via Embargo on Curses.
Logged

AJD

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2947
  • Shuffle iT Username: AJD
  • Respect: +3758
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2014, 08:51:07 pm »
0

Buy Doctor trashing Catacombs for the last Doctor, buy the last Curse gaining it via Embargo on Curses.

The first one is the one I was thinking of! Very embarrassed that I missed the second one here.
Logged

TheOthin

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 457
  • Shuffle iT Username: TheOthin
  • Respect: +443
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2014, 08:53:46 pm »
0

So there really was a way to make Hunting Grounds and other Guilds overpay work. Neat.
Logged

scott_pilgrim

  • Saboteur
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1022
  • Respect: +1991
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2014, 11:57:11 pm »
+3

Farmland trash a $4 into the last farmland (I hope nobody has ever done this)

Edge case: You want to trash your Scout (which you received from Swindler), and the Gold is empty (with no other $6's).
Logged

AdamH

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2801
  • Shuffle iT Username: Adam Horton
  • You make your own shuffle luck
  • Respect: +3827
    • View Profile
    • My Dominion Videos
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2014, 10:13:30 am »
0

Farmland trash a $4 into the last farmland (I hope nobody has ever done this)

Edge case: You want to trash your Scout (which you received from Swindler), and the Gold is empty (with no other $6's).

Sorry to burst your bubble, lio :P

EDIT: uhh, misread this. Nevermind :-\
Logged
I respond to PMs.

Asper

  • Governor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4987
  • Respect: +5240
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2015, 09:08:22 pm »
0

Farmland trash a $4 into the last farmland (I hope nobody has ever done this)

I want the Farmlands and just  use the opportunity to trash the $4 card. Like Rats. Or a Hunting Grounds (Quarry). Or a Scout/Thief somebody swindled into my deck. Or a Moneylender that became useless. You get the idea.

Edit: I should have read all answers before posting this. You're getting old, Asper...

TheOthin

  • Witch
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 457
  • Shuffle iT Username: TheOthin
  • Respect: +443
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2015, 10:16:11 pm »
0

Farmland trash a $4 into the last farmland (I hope nobody has ever done this)

I want the Farmlands and just  use the opportunity to trash the $4 card. Like Rats. Or a Hunting Grounds (Quarry). Or a Scout/Thief somebody swindled into my deck. Or a Moneylender that became useless. You get the idea.

Edit: I should have read all answers before posting this. You're getting old, Asper...

Or a Squire after four Highways!
Logged

liopoil

  • Margrave
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2587
  • Respect: +2475
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2015, 10:20:45 pm »
0

If you've played a game where the gild pile and farmland piles emptied and you wanted to buy the last one and the best card you had to remodel costed 2 less than farmland, I want to see it.
Logged

GendoIkari

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7708
  • Respect: +8569
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2015, 03:56:38 pm »
+6

So MTG has an interesting rule that clarifies that a player may concede at any time, even at a time that a player otherwise couldn't take any action. This rule of course exists because in real life, you can't stop a player from actually conceding at any time. Anyway, even though Dominion doesn't explicitly have such a rule, it's safe to assume that you are allowed to concede a game of Dominion at any time.

Thus, you can buy a card, and then concede before you gain it.
Logged
Check out my F.DS extension for Chrome! Card links; Dominion icons, and maybe more! http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=13363.0

Thread for Firefox version:
http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=16305.0

ponnuki

  • Steward
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
  • Respect: +30
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2015, 06:12:57 pm »
0

How about buying the last Curse while the Curses are embargoed?
Logged

eHalcyon

  • Adventurer
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8689
  • Respect: +9146
    • View Profile
Re: Buy but don't gain?
« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2015, 08:00:23 pm »
0

How about buying the last Curse while the Curses are embargoed?

Already covered:

buy the last Curse gaining it via Embargo on Curses.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

Page created in 0.087 seconds with 21 queries.