Author Topic: Hi all  (Read 4234 times)

Cas Liber

• Swindler
  • Respect: +14
    • View Profile
Hi all
« on: October 26, 2014, 12:00:18 am »
+8

My wife and I have been playing Dominion for about two years - we generally play with another couple for a four-handed game. I am amazed that someone came up with this great deck-building concept and got it right. We tried Ascension sometime afterwards and didn't like it nearly as much (and stopped playing after a few games). Before this, Cosmic Encounter had our attention as the longest board game we'd been interested in, though Settlers of Catan and Carcassonne have been enjoyable.

We have all dominion expansions and generally prefer longer games, so as a result have a few house rules - we don't count duchies or other victory cards (except province and colony) as supply cards WRT three empty stacks game-end condition. We've left all provinces in, so there are however many have been in all sets (20? 24?). We have played with shelter cards as three starting cards since getting dark ages. We've generally used zack hiwiller's dominion card picker for initial set up, but it hasn't been updated to include guilds  :( Some games we deal out 10 blue-backed cards to each player and choose two cards each, then come to some consensus for the last two to do some last-minute balancing.

Cas

scott_pilgrim

• Saboteur
  • Respect: +2146
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2014, 01:02:21 am »
+5

Welcome to the forums!

Also, get ready for a bunch of people to tell you you're playing Dominion wrong.

KingZog3

• Cartographer
  • Respect: +1380
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2014, 01:07:30 am »

Welcome to the forums!

Most of the people here play 2 player games, so be sure to take that into account if you ever look up strategy articles on cards. Pretty much all of them are focused on 2 player games, sometimes 3 player but essentially never for 4 people.