Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Using the Spy/deck inspection power  (Read 1154 times)

philosophyguy

• Minion
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Using the Spy/deck inspection power
« on: December 09, 2011, 12:15:15 pm »

One area that my play is extremely weak is spying/deck inspection abilities. I get the basics (use Navigator to discard junk hands and hurry up a reshuffle, discard your opponent's power card with a Spy, etc.), but I'm not good at valuing these abilities on a given board.

I'd like this thread to be a place for people to post feedback and/or example games of how they used spying abilities for a big edge, or how they decided that spying was/was not valuable given the specific kingdom setup. Help me learn to be a better Bond!

jomini

• Saboteur
  • Respect: +768
    • View Profile
Re: Using the Spy/deck inspection power
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2011, 12:52:09 pm »
+1

Well the big edges from spying come from conditional drawing and differential attack cards.

Start with the latter. Spies get a lot more valuable when you are going to pair them with your attack cards - namely jester and swindler. Being able to fish until you can leave something strong on top is radically powerful (the best being things like late game province -> peddler swindles or leaving top deck plat to jester). This can also be valuable for tribute where you want to leave things like islands or harems on top.