Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: An exploration of Workshop/Gardens vs Big Money strategies  (Read 6310 times)

vandergus

• Swindler
  • Respect: +4
    • View Profile
An exploration of Workshop/Gardens vs Big Money strategies
« on: December 16, 2013, 10:40:04 am »
+3

I'm just getting started in the area of simulation so I wanted to start with something simple. I'm mainly interested in using simulation to help answer tactical questions rather than strategic questions. So, rather than, does strategy X beat strategy Y, I'd like to know what is the optimal way to play strategy X. In the Workshop/Gardens strategy, for example, how many Workshops do you buy before you start getting gardens. As a new player, this is not obvious to me. I would have guessed about 4. It turns out that Workshop/Gardens is fastest when you buy all the Workshops first (see this thread for some discussion). But that's only true when you're basically playing solitaire. I wanted to know if you could still beat BM strategies if they started contesting you on Gardens.

First the W/G bot
Code: [Select]
# A Workshop/Gardens rush strategy
#
# Buys only workshops until all are purchased. Then switches to gaining and buying Gardens.
# Will switch early if it sees the opponent buy a Gardens.
{
  name: 'Workshop Gardens'
  requires: ['Workshop', 'Gardens']
  gainPriority: (state, my) -> [
    "Gardens" if my.countInDeck("Workshop") >= 10 \
              or state.countInSupply("Gardens") < 8
    "Workshop"
    "Duchy"
    "Estate"
    "Silver"
    "Copper"
  ]
}