Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - werothegreat

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 315
76
Rules Questions / Re: Sauna and Innovation
« on: January 28, 2019, 02:35:38 pm »
I think players would intuitively think they could call CotR after playing an inherited Death Cart, and not really think about "but technically it's only a Victory card now", and I would lean towards a ruling letting players call CotR after playing Inherited self-trashers.  RC can't be called on it anyway, so it doesn't matter.  Citadel I could see replaying the one-shot.

77
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The Dominion Cards Lists 2018 Edition
« on: January 28, 2019, 01:09:14 pm »
I've finished all the by-cost card rankings, but the "all cards" ranking is just kind of absurd.  I really don't want to rate Tournament against every starting from the bottom.  And then do the same with Mountain Village.  And then with Border Village.  And then with Black Market...

78
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion for College
« on: January 25, 2019, 01:45:40 pm »
Definitely get a storage solution.  If you don't want to invest in a giant wooden box, just buy a couple trapper keepers and some pocket pages, that's what I use.  I keep tokens and mats and rulebooks in the base box, so rather than lugging around 12 boxes, I lug around one box and two trapper keepers.

79
Other Games / Re: CIVILIZATION VI
« on: January 22, 2019, 03:58:51 pm »
Next up: Ottomans!


80
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Wiki etiquette?
« on: January 19, 2019, 02:10:30 pm »
On a similar note. I have encountered a few times where I would want to change the 'Official Rules' section to clarify them.  I cannot find a current example.  I am curious as to the best way to approach changing 'Official' portion of some pages.  Thanks.

Never change an 'Official Rules' section.  If there is something about them that needs clarified, it belongs in the 'Other rules clarifications' section.

81
Other Games / Re: CIVILIZATION VI
« on: January 15, 2019, 10:07:26 am »
Sweden announced:


82
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Who has all the expansions?
« on: January 10, 2019, 05:30:09 pm »
*lays seductively on top of shed from Gone Girl and gently caresses all published expansion boxes*

83
Other Games / Re: CIVILIZATION VI
« on: January 08, 2019, 10:39:36 am »
After a break for the holidays, Mali have been announced:


84
Other Games / Re: CIVILIZATION VI
« on: December 18, 2018, 10:04:54 am »
Announcing the Inca!


85
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Renaissance First Impnressions
« on: December 17, 2018, 09:53:35 am »
I have been quite impnressed with Renaissance overall.

86
Other Games / Re: CIVILIZATION VI
« on: December 11, 2018, 11:48:18 am »
BLAME CANADA


87
Other Games / Re: CIVILIZATION VI
« on: December 05, 2018, 08:49:12 am »
Maori announced!


88
Other Games / Re: CIVILIZATION VI
« on: November 27, 2018, 11:13:01 am »
New expansion announced!



And new civ!


89
Got my copy of Renaissance, all scans are up on the wiki.  I got a copy of Seaside 2E at the same time, and the Treasury glitch is fixed!  The dividing line is back!  Will probably scan those next week, currently travelling.

90
Honestly, all the backs from all the expansions I've ever gotten have had slightly different colorations.  If you stare hard enough, you can tell which are base set cards and which are not.  So don't stare hard at your deck.  At least this can possibly be ignored, whereas whatever the hell happened to the first printing of Adventures really couldn't be.

91
Other Games / Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« on: November 15, 2018, 12:14:04 am »
I'm actually currently running a homebrew campaign once a week.  Tips:

* You don't necessarily need to write a full narrative for a session, but at least be familiar with your setting.  Know your NPCs, and which monsters are lurking where, in case your players head there.
* Always be ready to improvise.  It's usually more fun to roll with whatever the players make up, rather than saying "nah, this guy wouldn't do that, that's dumb".  Let your players have their fantasy, as long as it's not too ridiculous.
* Challenge your players.  A fight where they all almost die is going to be remembered better than one where they kill everything in two turns.
* If you have an idea of where you want your players to go, try to make it happen naturally.  Make it seem like their decision.  Entice them into your story, rather than frogmarching them down your narrative.
* Honestly, have fun with it.  Make up silly voices for your NPCs.  Make weird noises for your monsters.  Narrate all the little details about how their weapons cleave off which body parts, or how their spells affect their enemies.

92
Rules Questions / Re: Star Chart and Inn
« on: November 12, 2018, 03:26:19 pm »
* Gain Inn.
* Poke through your discard pile and pick some Actions, which can include Inn.
* Shove them in your deck.
* Look at the cards in your deck and pick one.
* Shuffle the rest, put the picked one on top.

93
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Spices > Gold
« on: November 11, 2018, 05:17:26 pm »
I thought this was ehunt replying to his own thread at first.

Guys, this is why I made the card art avatar thread

94
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Why Peasant Will Be On My Ban List
« on: November 10, 2018, 08:40:24 am »
All these words spent in this thread and still no one has reminded Seprix that Warrior trashing Warrior is far more swingy than anything the Peasant line does.

95
Again, this does not in any way bother me, as long as the backs are not also faded. This has no mechanical effect on gameplay. They're going to feel the same when shuffling. The missing dividing line on 2e Treasury bothers me a lot more.

96
Honestly, this doesn't really bother me.  Every single set has slight variations in banner coloring - just look at the recommended kingdoms on the wiki and you'll see.

97
Here's the Amazon link, listed as currently unavailable:
https://www.amazon.com/Rio-Grande-Games-RIO558-Dominion/dp/B07HM7WZT9/

That has a release date of December 14. Damn.

98
Rules Questions / Re: A Couple of Buy Phase Clarifications
« on: November 08, 2018, 10:00:39 am »
Alright. :P Guess I need to update the wiki to make it clear there are two distinct parts to the Buy phase.

99
Rules Questions / Re: A Couple of Buy Phase Clarifications
« on: November 07, 2018, 07:53:17 pm »
Hmm. I mean, I can't even think of an instance where it would actually matter if you can play more Treasures after buying from Black Market, as the card lets you play more Treasures while it's being played anyway. The only potential problem I can think of is more than one Black Market, which can just be played by the first Black Market anyway.

100
Rules Questions / Re: A Couple of Buy Phase Clarifications
« on: November 07, 2018, 05:21:25 pm »
It's not that I think your interpretation is clearly wrong, it isn't. It just that you quoted one sentence, that is summing up 4 paragraphs of buy phase explanation, IMO out of context. The first two of those paragraphs start with

> First you can play any number of Treasure cards from your hand, in any order....
> Then, you can buy one card, costing as much as you have or less....

I think this is a strong indicator for a conceptual division of the buy phase (though not explicit, agreed). Also the sentence you quote says "You cannot go back and play more Treasures..." If you played a Black Market during the Buy phase, there would be no 'going back', as you never left the part where you play Treasures. Again, in the context of a base Dominion rulebook that just two paragraphs before feels necessary to say that "Buying cards does not use up Treasure cards; you still have the cards." it should be a possible interpretation that the sentece you quote refers to the normal buying in the buy phase.

But again, there isn't really a "Treasure-playing part" explicitly in the rules, or even mentioned on any cards.  We treat the "start" of phases differently because cards refer to them, and their timing can be noted.  This is why a Summoned Transmogrify can be called immediately - it's still the start of your turn.  This all progresses very neatly from the basic rules and what's on the cards.

Transmogrify can be called at the start of your turn --> Summon plays a card at the start of your turn --> Summoned Transmogrify goes on your Tavern mat at the start of your turn --> That same Transmogrify can now be called

It's a neat, logical process that you can deduce.

The Buy phase rules come down to "you can play Treasures until you buy a card."  No part of these rules says Treasures are played at the start of your Buy phase.  In fact, the start of your Buy phase is before "normal" Treasure playing - look at Arena.  Dominion players have been playing "I can't play any more Treasures after I buy something" for a decade now.

Now if Black Market were doing literally anything else - playing Actions, gaining without buying, reducing costs, getting resources, trashing, discarding, whatever - of course you could play more Treasures afterward.  But Black Market specifically lets you buy a card, which is what matters about Treasure play timing.  The official FAQ for Black Market mentions that buying a card in your Action phase doesn't matter with regards to your Buy phase, but the rules are pretty clear about the Buy phase.  It doesn't matter whether the Buy is a Buy that uses up one of your Buys (a "normal" Buy) or the special one Black Market lets you do - it's still a Buy.

Let's imagine there's a new type of card - let's call them Preactions.  The rules on Preactions is you can play any number of Preactions at the start of your turn.  Once you play an Action, you can't "go back and" play more Preactions.  But what if there were a Preaction that could play an Action?  It would be pretty clear that if that Preaction played an Action, you couldn't play any more Preactions afterward.  It doesn't matter that that Preaction playing an Action doesn't count as using up your Action for that Action phase, you played an Action, no more Preactions.  That's the rules for Preactions.

I feel I'm just rambling at this point, but really I don't see allowing more Treasure plays after buying a card through Black Market during your Buy phase as being at all justifiable.

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 315

Page created in 0.112 seconds with 19 queries.