Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - werothegreat

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 312
Or even subsumed into the Borg Rats!

Rules Questions / Re: Order of gaining card vs. on gain effects
« on: October 01, 2018, 02:08:01 pm »
Compare to Trader's effect, which happens before you (would) gain the card in question.

I guess my question was actually if Renaissance rules were a change to the Empire rules here; and Iím taking your reference to Empires as a ďnoĒ.
The rulebook for Renaissance hasn't been posted yet, so I looked in the Empires rulebook. I've said a bunch of stuff about Renaissance, so I can understand thinking, who knows, maybe he'll answer this; what does it matter if people know this anyway? OTOH at the point at which this information will be useful, you will be able to find out the answer without me. So the question doesn't leave me feeling particularly generous.

You know that old wisdom: "if you can't say anything nice don't say anything at all"?

Although the question was not particularly consequential, you didn't have to answer it. Instead, you answered a question about Renaissance by saying "I checked the Empires rulebook for you", which doesn't even make sense, and the "for you" just makes it slightly rude.

Recently on the forums I saw some posts back and forth where you kept using "your mom" insults. Being the creator of the game we all love gives you status. We're the customers. You should use your status to take the higher ground and set an example for everyone else.

Just be glad we have Donald X and not sirlin

Hmm.. If you play a Crown in your Night phase, I suppose it does nothing?


Innovation, when your first gain is in your buy phase can you use the coin supplied by the purchased and played card? What about coffers? I'm pretty sure it's a no for coffers. If you buy a crown and innovation plays it does it have to be played as an action?

Coins, yes. Coffers, no.

Crown is not "played as an Action". It is both an Action and a Treasure. If gained during your Buy phase, Innovation can play it, and since it is your Buy phase, you will be able to play a Treasure twice.

How many Experiments are there? We have 12 Ports, will we also have 12 Experiments?

Just 10.  The fact that they return to the Supply makes it fine.

Butcher + Silk Merchant

Obvious and potentially useful turbo remodel variant.
Silk Merchant guarantees 5 on the first shuffle. Amass Butchers and Silk Merchants, turning some starting estates into Silk Merchants early. Maybe mill a Silk Merchant for+4 Coffers and +2 Villagers. With 1 extra token, Butcher can take Silk Merchant straight to Province in the end game. The Villagers should allow multiple-Butcher turns. There are interesting decisions around when to play Silk Merchants.

Welcome to the forum.

Nocturne got a bunch of Attacks mainly to show off the Hexes, I would think.

I adore that the art for Villain is Jaime Lannister lounging on the Iron Throne.

For old time's sake, presenting: COMBOS WITH SCOUT (RIP)

Mountain Village: One of the big problems with Scout is when you buy it, you don't get to play it until your next shuffle. But Mountain Village solves that problem by letting you pluck your freshly purchased Scout from your discard pile and put it into your hand. For better results, add in more Scouts (note: the pile is likely to run).

Seer: Scout cab't draw itself. But Seer can draw Scout, and it will draw those pesky Estates so that Scout can draw the Victory cards you really want in hand, like Duchies or something.

Scholar: This makes you discard your hand, which is a huge problem: say goodbye to your precious green cards! That's where Scout comes in, drawing them back into your hand for you, where you want them.

Now I see why Donald had to remove Scout--he realized any game that had Renaissance cards and Scout would just be over too quickly.

Priest: Trashes away everything other than Victory cards, so your Scouts draw more reliably.

So what happens if you play an experiment you bought from black market?

Congratulations, you smuggled in a Laboratory on a Ferry.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dutch Nocturne is 'expected'...
« on: September 21, 2018, 08:36:44 am »
On a tangent: How do you use "every other" in English so that it doesn't take the meaning of "Every other Wednesday I do sports"?

You can say "all other".

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: September 20, 2018, 10:39:14 pm »
At least Nocturne doesnít have the version of Tormentor that flipped two Hexes and let each opponent choose one to receive.

See, that would have actually been flavorful as a "torment".  But yes, probably for the best overall.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dutch Nocturne is 'expected'...
« on: September 20, 2018, 07:25:48 am »
(is 'orderable' even a word?)

In English, anything can be a word

Rules Questions / Re: Anything needed for Empires?
« on: September 19, 2018, 11:14:09 pm »
As printed, Overlord comes after Royal Blacksmith in the rules (presumably because RB was supposed to be called Old Blacksmith until Alayna Lemmer happened).  It should probably come before, going alphabetically.  Same for the box insert.

Rules Questions / Re: Pilgrimage With Split Piles
« on: September 17, 2018, 01:11:55 pm »
Lose Track is not involved here.

Clearly, this is why Bridge Troll is the single best card in the game. :)

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Wiki etiquette?
« on: September 05, 2018, 10:22:43 pm »
Please feel free to just change the advice.  That's the whole point of the wiki format!  I don't always catch when someone puts something stupid up there.

Rules Questions / Re: Watchtower+Market Square
« on: September 01, 2018, 05:14:55 pm »
After you buy the Copper you gain it.  And it is yours.  I'm not really seeing why this might provoke confusion.

But while you buy it?

For the purposes of Watchtower and Market Square, the question of whether or not you own a card while you're buying it doesn't matter.  It only matters for Inheritance.

Rules Questions / Re: Watchtower+Market Square
« on: September 01, 2018, 12:46:11 pm »
After you buy the Copper you gain it.  And it is yours.  I'm not really seeing why this might provoke confusion.

Dominion Articles / Re: Feodum
« on: August 22, 2018, 04:54:06 pm »
Maybe mention Conquest?

It can be a Silver-gainer (to complement other gainers) for going after Feodum points OR Feodum trashing can be a means of generating more Conquest points.

I think Conquest can be implied.  It's not the best Feodum enabler, though.  Feodum giving more Conquest points might be better off in a Conquest article.

Dominion Articles / Feodum
« on: August 22, 2018, 01:52:39 pm »

Feodum, like its counting Victory card brethren, is a rather niche card.  In a few instances, it can be worth a staggering amount of VP, vastly outweighing Provinces; however, it is also often ignorable, and can sometimes be worth nothing at all.  There does exist a middle ground, though, where it can be treated like a pinata full of Silver, or where it can help add a few tie-breaking points in a sloggier game.

If Feodum is on the board, quickly run through this mental checklist:
* Is there a way to gain Silver very quickly?
* Is there a way to gain Silver more slowly?
* Is there a way to trash Feodum?
Letís look at each of these individually.

Feeding the Feoda

The time Feodum shines brighter than a supernova is when there is a powerful Silver gainer.  Masterpiece and Delve are the cream of the crop here, letting you buy multiple Silvers per turn.  Also noteworthy is Raid, which has the added benefit of hurting your opponent, though it does require you to gain a few Silvers the hard way first.  All of these are helped by any kind of strong draw: Masterpiece and Delve want as much $ as possible to spend on a Buy, while Raid wants you to get as many Silvers into play as you can.

If you find yourself in this optimal situation, your aim should be to empty out the Silver pile as quickly as possible, picking up Feoda along the way (assuming your opponent mirrors).  In this specific combo instance, winning the Silver split is more important than getting more Feoda (though if you donít get any, youíre screwed); if you get 27 Silvers and 3 Feoda (27 VP total), that will beat an opponent with 13 Silvers and 5 Feoda (20 VP total).  If your opponent goes for Provinces instead, emptying the Silver pile isnít strictly necessary; you just need enough to make sure your Feoda give more points than their Provinces, so make sure you actually grab Feoda before the game ends!

In a Masterpiece game, ideally you want to finish with a three pile ending: Silvers, Masterpieces, and Feoda.  However, if the Masterpieces donít quite run out (or youíre using an Event gainer), your deck jammed full of Silver is perfect for buying Provinces, and can easily end the game conventionally.

If your opponent doesnít try to mirror you, youíre looking at a maximum of 8 Feoda worth up to 13VP each - more than Colony!  In such a case, run down the Silver and Feodum piles as quick as you can while your opponent dawdles trying to get Provinces.  Do not buy any Provinces yourself until youíve secured enough VP to trounce them.

The Middle Ground

Unfortunately, most Silver gainers are not as dramatic as those mentioned above.  However, that doesnít mean Feodum is down for the count!  In a game with Bureaucrat or Squire, while emptying the Silver pile entirely is unrealistic, itís perfectly reasonable to expect to have 10 or more Silvers by the end of the game.  In such cases, Feodum becomes a cheaper Duchy, and another option for three-piling.  While itís no longer the star of the show, it can still be a nice supplement to your main VP from Provinces.

If youíre aiming to use Feodum in this way, try to get your Silver gainer early.  Not only do the Silvers help your Feoda, they also, as previously discussed, make buying Provinces easier.

Some Silver gainers can also trash.  Jack of All Trades, Hermit, and Amulet can also fill this middle ground role, but donít mind if you get a Feodum early, just to trash for the Silvers inside.  Jack and Hermit are better for this, as they can trash and gain Silver at the same time.  In such cases, if youíre uncontested, the Feodum pile is unlikely to empty, so youíre not really losing any VP, as you can always just pick up another one, now worth 1VP more!

A word of warning, though: in a lot of these cases, thereís usually something better to do on the board than just slowly trickle Silvers into your deck, so keep an eye out for faster or more productive strategies.

Silver Slogs

In junking games, particularly with Cultist, the game can be extended significantly as players wade through Ruins or Curses.  In such cases, you might end up buying 12 or more Silvers throughout the course of the game, making Feodum particularly attractive as the game drags on.  In these cases, try to keep track of how many Silvers you think youíll have by the end of the game; if itís at least 9, start buying Feodum over Duchy, and keeping adding more Silver as you can.

Popping the Pinata

But what about trashers that donít gain Silver?  Mass trashers like Chapel and Donate see Feodum as an early game boost; in this case, you donít really care about the VP, but the 3 Silvers are very nice.  Working with only a single card trasher is a little risky, as itís harder to line them up, but with Remodelers like Upgrade or Remake, or trash for benefit cards like Salvager or Bishop, it can be worth it, especially since a popped Feodum provides three more pieces of fodder for later use.  Upgrade can actually get a significant amount of VP from Feoda, as it can convert Estates into Silvers, Silvers into Feoda, and Feoda into more Upgrades.

Trader is an interesting example: it can generate a lot of Silvers for Feodum, but requires fodder to do so.  Popping open a Feodum gives you 7 Silvers, while Tradering a Silver gives it back to you with two more.  Itís not quite as reliable as Masterpiece or Delve, and you need to make sure you donít trash too many Feoda, but it can be very potent, though you may still want to supplement with Provinces.

If you have a single card trasher that doesnít scale, like Forager or Trade Route, itís probably not worth the trouble.  An exception would be Ratcatcher, as itís cheap, and a lot easier to line up with a target.

Being able to trash a Feodum on gain can also be quite nice - Watchtower and Salt the Earth are prime examples, essentially letting you pay $4 for 3 Silvers, and a little bonus.


Feodum provides a decent defense against trashing Attacks, particularly Knights.  If it gets hit, you still get 3 Silvers, which then in turn are preferred targets of the Attack, keeping your more valuable cards safe.

At first thought, it might seem like Treasure Hunter would be a good Feodum rush enabler, but it can be pretty easy for your opponent to play around letting you gain lots of Silvers with it, and Feodum and Silver are both prime targets for Warriors.

Dominion Articles / Re: Gear
« on: August 19, 2018, 09:28:27 pm »
Also, Haven is a pretty good card!

I despise Haven.  Though not as much as Tax.

Imp/Conclave and Reserves

This isn't a huge combo but as the Reserve is not in play anymore it makes Imp/Conclave a little bit better.

Then Prince the Imp so you can call the Reserve on the same turn. :)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 312

Page created in 0.182 seconds with 19 queries.