Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - GendoIkari

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 363
1
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance + Garrison
« on: September 30, 2022, 02:36:48 pm »
While I understand the reasons to not want tokens to be put on a Garrison that isn't in play (especially one that is still in the supply), I'm not understanding what rule causes that. Lose-track / stop-moving shouldn't come into play at all; unless that rule is getting errata to state that a card which is lost track of can't have tokens placed on it. I mean, the Garrison could have been shuffled back into your draw pile I suppose, at which point it's physically impossible to put a token on it.

A simple errata to fix it could be if Garrison itself just said "This turn, when you gain a card, add a token here if this is in play".

2
Feedback / Re: Cant login
« on: September 19, 2022, 10:16:33 am »
Check out the Shuffle iT forums: http://forum.shuffleit.nl/. This forum is not directly related to Dominion Online; the "feedback" section here is for feedback about this forum.

3
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: September 15, 2022, 04:18:24 pm »
I’m guessing this may have been discussed a while ago, but… why isn’t Lich a duration card? It does something after your turn is over, and it feels like it would be helpful to stay out and remind you to skip a turn. Seems like the same thing as Outpost really. Just played a 3-player game where someone forgot to skip a turn.

4
Other Games / Re: Temporum Earth United
« on: September 13, 2022, 10:28:44 pm »
Dang, still no answer? I'd forgotten about this question until now.

5
Also, for the record, Peddler is > $4, since Poacher is a Peddler-with-a-drawback that costs $4.

Yeah but it's like $4.1 at best.

6
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Plunder
« on: August 30, 2022, 05:22:01 pm »
It's a shame that you have to wait until Dominion: Encampment is out of stock until you buy this. Isn't that seriously limiting the market for this? Especially because people who run into financial difficulties are required to return their copies of Encampment. Seems like a rip off to me.

It's really not a big deal; just play a Battle Plan.

7
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Subterfuge
« on: August 27, 2022, 10:32:36 pm »
Ancient Laboratory (current Reserve version) doesn’t need “while this is on your tavern mat”; see other Reserve cards for examples.

8
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing and Priest
« on: August 24, 2022, 01:22:57 pm »
Wait, I'm confused. Has anybody, Donald or anybody else, ever claimed that Innovation+Livery should work differently from Innovation+Priest because Priest says "for the rest of this turn" while Livery just says "this turn"? I don't remember reading that and can't find it now.

Also, isn't "this turn" short for "for the rest of this turn"? It seems very strange to interpret them differently.
"This turn" and "For the rest of this turn" mean the same thing.

Of course this only works within the context of the Dominion cards we've been talking about. Various MTG effects say things like "if you gained life this turn", in which case it means the exact opposite of "for the rest of this turn".

9
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Monet
« on: August 24, 2022, 12:11:00 pm »
Yes, the original cost $1 but gave you 1 coffers per $1 overpay. So at $2 both give 1, but at $5 the original gave 4. It’s possible that the new one goes too far the other way of course. I’m worried about putting a +Buy as then it would become an automatic buy if you have left over coin, but maybe that’s necessary.

Yeah I think adding +buy would make the balancing harder for sure, and just take away much of the decision about when to use it or not. The current version seems pretty good to me, even though it's situational. It definitely might get bought mostly in the opening or near the very end of the game, if all that matters is hitting .

10
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Monet
« on: August 24, 2022, 11:13:26 am »
Money Changer is OP? It doesn't give +buy, so it only does anything when you have an extra buy, but not enough to purchase something you actually want to purchase. So basically if you have exactly leftover with no worth buying. If you had a great turn which produced an extra along with an extra buy, surely you'd rather buy a than get 2 coffers for a later turn? Or it could be good early, if you open with or then it lets you get / instead.

*Edit* Looks like it was already updated. Would be nice if the OP included both versions, because otherwise it makes the comments confusing. Was the original just 1-to-1 instead? Even then you're forfeiting buying a card now to get a better card next turn.

11
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing and Priest
« on: August 23, 2022, 04:32:32 pm »
Wait, I'm confused. Has anybody, Donald or anybody else, ever claimed that Innovation+Livery should work differently from Innovation+Priest because Priest says "for the rest of this turn" while Livery just says "this turn"? I don't remember reading that and can't find it now.

Also, isn't "this turn" short for "for the rest of this turn"? It seems very strange to interpret them differently.

Yeah all the discussion I remember having about whether it means "starting now" or not had equally applied to Livery and Priest; don't remember any discussion about "for the rest" mattering.

Ok, because I think that's what Dominionaer was saying, and it seemed you were agreeing with, and maybe also Donald was agreeing with.

Ah, no my reply to Dominionaer was assuming he was talking about both Priest and Livery the same.

12
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing and Priest
« on: August 23, 2022, 01:57:49 pm »
Wait, I'm confused. Has anybody, Donald or anybody else, ever claimed that Innovation+Livery should work differently from Innovation+Priest because Priest says "for the rest of this turn" while Livery just says "this turn"? I don't remember reading that and can't find it now.

Also, isn't "this turn" short for "for the rest of this turn"? It seems very strange to interpret them differently.

Yeah all the discussion I remember having about whether it means "starting now" or not had equally applied to Livery and Priest; don't remember any discussion about "for the rest" mattering.

13
Lord Rattington had a 5/2 on a chapel board. He bought chapel on the 5 instead of the 2.

Just had a great Lord Rattington moment. Chapel/Mountebank board. He gets super lucky and opens 5/2. Turn 1, he plays his 5 Coppers and.... he buys a Chapel.

14
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing and Priest
« on: August 16, 2022, 09:57:35 am »
i think i understand the reasoning but need to clarify why i have a doubt here:

The general rule is, when during resolving an effect due to a trigger an effect get added to the list of effects applicable for that specific trigger, the added effect is usable to the actual triggering already. Correct so far?

So under Innovation there is one effect lingering to "when a card is gained". Gaining Livery and playing it with Innovation adds another effect to the same trigger and due to the general rule gets resolved immediatly; the Livery provides a Horse for its own gaining. Still correct?

I understand GendoIkari's answer to the Priest played during resolving Catacomb's trashing effect adds Priest's bonus effect for trashing to the list of effects usable to trashing Catacomb and so gives $2 for trashing that Catacomb. Correct?


That's all correct. The only thing that makes Priest/Catacombs a little different than Livery is that the timing of Innovation interrupts things; you have to deal with a "when gain" while you're still also within the "when trash" timing window.

Quote
If so, my doubt is in Priest's "For the rest of this turn". For me that translate to "from now on (and not applicable to previous occurences)". Catacomb got trashed before Priest changing conditions. Although a trigger opens a "window" in which multiple things can happen seemingly "simultanously", the phrase in question indicates a timing, dividing before versus after. Furthermore: if Priest would not have that phrase, it would just work as said by Gendolkari. But since it have it, …

I agree with you, but Donald X does not. That specific interpretation is actually discussed by me in the linked thread. Or more accurately, based on stuff Donald said on Discord as quoted in that thread, he used to agree with that but changed his mind.

15
Rules Questions / Re: Trashing and Priest
« on: August 15, 2022, 12:57:38 am »
Seems like this should work just the same as Innovation + Livery, which does work as per this thread. So yes, you get +$4.

16
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Heroes
« on: August 03, 2022, 11:34:24 pm »
I don't understand Cloister. Does "play it" refer to playing the Cloister, or playing the Victory Card? If playing the Victory Card, what exactly does playing a Victory Card do? I mean if it's an Action-Victory then you get the benefit of saving an Action over playing it normally. But otherwise, what's the point? And does the Cloister stay set-aside forever?

*Edit* Ok, now I'm pretty sure it means play the Cloister again; discarding the victory card is just there to nerf the re-playing of Cloister slightly, so you can't trash the only Estate you have early on. But is it necessary to set the Cloister aside to replay it? Wouldn't "you may play this again" work just the same and be clearer? If the concern is for a Cloister that has left play, the regular lose-track rule, combined with the newish rule that you can't play lost cards, should be all you need.

The "set aside" clause of Cloister, I really wish I could've done without, but unfortunately, Throne Room exists. 3/4 into the making of Heroes, I had to change the wording of Cloister to deal with Throne variants. The problem is, you could Throne a Cloister. Next turn, you could decide, on your first play, to discard a Victory card to trash a card from your hand, and on your second play, to not replay Cloister. The end result is a Cloister that is now replayed once each turn, but with a Throne Room still attached to it. Thus, a tracking issue arises. The worst offender is Citadel, which may add an extra Cloister play (or not) each turn, making it so easy for you to loose track of how many times you may or may not replay Cloister. The set aside clause effectively forces Cloister to detach itself from any Throne Room that may linger with it.

Admittedly, it's not a big deal, because who would want to trash that much constantly from their starting hand? Still, in the end, I decided to be thorough about it. Maybe the massacred wording made Cloister not such a great addition to Heroes in the end.

Makes sense. Part of the confusion came from me not immediately realizing how discarding a victory card was relevant at all if Cloister was being replayed; thus thinking that maybe the victory card is being played instead. That's just my oversight; although it's not great if you need to grasp a design/strategic decision in order to fully understand the wording on the card. Maybe just find out if I'm the only one who was unclear about what "it" was referring to.

17
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Heroes
« on: August 03, 2022, 03:57:34 pm »
I don't understand Cloister. Does "play it" refer to playing the Cloister, or playing the Victory Card? If playing the Victory Card, what exactly does playing a Victory Card do? I mean if it's an Action-Victory then you get the benefit of saving an Action over playing it normally. But otherwise, what's the point? And does the Cloister stay set-aside forever?

*Edit* Ok, now I'm pretty sure it means play the Cloister again; discarding the victory card is just there to nerf the re-playing of Cloister slightly, so you can't trash the only Estate you have early on. But is it necessary to set the Cloister aside to replay it? Wouldn't "you may play this again" work just the same and be clearer? If the concern is for a Cloister that has left play, the regular lose-track rule, combined with the newish rule that you can't play lost cards, should be all you need.

18
General Discussion / Re: Movies: Any movie buffs?
« on: August 02, 2022, 11:28:27 pm »
I just watched Upstream Color last week (finally). And then just watched it again tonight. It's wonderful, and definitely something that needs to be watched more than once. Not something that's for everyone, though.

19
Rules Questions / Re: Donating your Entire Hand
« on: August 01, 2022, 01:26:39 pm »
* Sacred Grove (The Mountain’s Gift)

Or opponent plays Sacred Grove so much that you get 3 Will-o'-Wisps from Swamp's Gift, and then a Gold from Sky's Gift. (Or just Will-o'-Wisp plus the right Way).

20
Rules Questions / Re: Donating your Entire Hand
« on: July 31, 2022, 12:23:58 am »
Ambassador, Embassy, Mountebank, and Messenger can get you out of it. But nothing you can do without some help from opponents.

21
This one might not even be a negative synergy, but an inverse reverse negative synergy?  Possession and Barbarian.  If your opponent has Barbarians it becomes pretty dangerous to play them, as Barbarian smashes to a curse like 30% of the time.  You won't lose the cards you trash, and if you faux trash good cards, you could get some free lower-cost cards, but if you could easily cause yourself to gain a curse too.
Anyone not possessed still trashes their cards, including the possessor.

oof. u are right.then it is even better.  as you force them to choose between the 2 coins or trashing their own cards.  Really makes Barbarian a nice possession counter.  More fun than greening your deck to death to spite them.

That’s just all attack cards, though.

22
Rules Questions / Re: Donate "first"
« on: July 22, 2022, 01:12:00 am »
I’ve always interpreted “until” as being a separate thing from setting up a future trigger. That is to say “until your next turn, X” is different than “starting now, X. At the start of your next turn, stop X”. So when it becomes your next turn, Haunted Wood simply instantly stops; it doesn’t set up a trigger to handle the stopping of Haunted Woods, where you treat it like other triggers that you can order and such. It’s just a statement of fact, it is currently your next turn so Haunted Wood’s time is over.

Same with “this turn” stuff. It’s not setting up something where at the end of turn you handle the trigger to stop doing it. Rather it simply means that it doesn’t work anymore if it isn’t still this turn.

23
As I recall, the origin of the second thread was that AdamH was hoping for the first thread to involve strictly real scenarios and not theory-crafting about potential combos, but then too many people were posting general discussion about various potential combos. So the second thread was created not because there was debate over what constituted an interaction, but rather to post only things that actually happened in a real game, thus avoiding tangent discussions about other possible combos that may or may not ever happen in a game.

As you can see from my last post in that second thread, the idea of it didn't quite work out as hoped.

24
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Fan Mechanic: Jail
« on: July 19, 2022, 03:48:55 pm »
The wording on the Jail mat is a bit confusing, since it refers to "the first played card", but I assume it means "the first jailed card"? Outlaw should probably say costing less than this instead of up to , to deal with cost reduction properly. Renegade shouldn't have a dividing line; other "this turn" cards don't.

As a whole I'm not sure how the concept would play out. In general the strongest use would probably be to get rid of junk, but then after 4 junk cards are already there, people can't use it to get rid of junk anymore. Puting good cards in jail seems dubious; you'd rather have them in your deck and you risk giving your opponents a free good card.

25
Dominion General Discussion / Re: 2022 Additional Errata
« on: July 19, 2022, 01:47:36 pm »
Me, holding my giant King's Court, Witch, and Cultist mega-combo hand that will give my opponent 10 Curses and 10 Ruins on my turn, waiting for him to finish his turn.

My opponent, buying new Donate on his turn.

Me, releasing that new Donate wording isn't really relevant here, with old Donate my opponent would have simply bought Donate the turn after I played my combo instead of the turn before.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 363

Page created in 0.141 seconds with 19 queries.