Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Gubump

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 49
1
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #136: ‘Tis the Season
« on: December 02, 2021, 11:27:04 am »
Lab is significantly better than Scheme, so Toy Train should probably provide a Horse.

Did you miss that you also get the +1 Card? It's Scheme + Lab for you, not just Scheme.

2
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #135: Go Big or Go Home
« on: November 26, 2021, 01:31:06 pm »
I think that card wordings should be simple and reflect how you actually play (I never considered the blue dog issue you referred to to be an actual issue). Nobody puts the card in their discard pile and the moves it onto their Exile mat, they directly put it there. So „Exile instead“ makes more sense than „ gain and then Exile“.

But it is a trivial difference as you rarely want the junk to be able to leave the Exile mat (what your „gain and Exile“ Version enables you to do). This brings us back to my initial point: with your version most folks would not even be aware that you could discard stuff from Exile because they would intuitively read the card, no matter how it is worded as „ah OK, I can directly put it on the mat“.

What matters is that the wording should be clearer because currently you can easily misread the card, as arowdok did, as „gain and Exile another copy from the Supply“.

Border Wall uses the same wording as Gatekeeper. And I haven't seen people get confused about Gatekeeper or complain about its wording.

Also, with your logic, Watchtower should say "to instead either trash that card or put it onto your deck" and Replace should say "if you would've gained an Action or Treasure, instead put it onto your deck."

3
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #135: Go Big or Go Home!
« on: November 24, 2021, 03:03:19 pm »
You might wanna word it as something like "Exile it instead".

Replacing the gaining instead of adding something to it opens up a new can of worms. Trader was changed to avoid that for a reason.

4
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #134: This is Worthless
« on: November 19, 2021, 12:13:43 am »

One of your images (the middle one that isn't visible) is just
Code: [Select]
http:// Rather than the full URL.

5
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #134: This is Worthless
« on: November 16, 2021, 11:23:49 am »
Quote
Census Office
$0 - Project
At the start of your turn, if you have at least 5 cards in hand, +2 Cards then discard four cards.
If at least 3 of the cards you discarded were either Actions or Gold, +1 VP.

I took this as a challenge to make a $0 cost Project.
A self-Margraver could be useful sometimes. Added the VP for a little incentive (or temptation) if you aren't sure.

Only the topmost discarded card is visible to your opponents, so this needs to say "discard four cards, revealed." See Silos and Shepherd.

6
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #133: A Time to Feast
« on: October 31, 2021, 08:32:08 pm »

7
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #133: A Time to Feast
« on: October 31, 2021, 12:58:38 pm »
Stonemason should be considered a Remodeler if Altar is imo.

Stonemason is borderline for me.  I figured I would allow it since it can increase your deck size unlike Altar (barring games with Fortress).

Would Develop qualify for the same reason, then?

8
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #133: A Time to Feast
« on: October 31, 2021, 12:45:46 pm »
Stonemason should be considered a Remodeler if Altar is imo.

9
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #132: All Hallow's Eve
« on: October 30, 2021, 10:52:48 pm »
Congratulations, Timinou!

Bummer that I didn't win, but I made Black Knight mostly for the "Night - Knight" meme, so I didn't set my hopes too high. :)

10
Rules Questions / Re: Counterfeit + Duration + Capitalism
« on: October 26, 2021, 02:18:44 am »
If I have Capitalism, and I use Counterfeit to play something like Merchant Ship twice, I know I'd get $4 this turn and $4 next turn, but does Counterfeit stay out the same way Throne Room or pre-2019 errata Procession would?

Pre-2019 errata Procession didn't stay in play when Processioning Durations. Counterfeit would not stay in play; per the Throne Room FAQ (on the wiki), if you Throne a Duration and that Duration somehow leaves play early (such as via Bonfire, or in this case immediately via being trashed by Counterfeit), the Throne gets discarded from play at the end of turn even if that Duration still has things left to do on future turns. This is true of all Thrones, not just Throne Room.

11
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #132: All Hallow's Eve
« on: October 25, 2021, 07:17:22 pm »


Would this be added to the standard Knight pile?

Yes, but you could also select 10 random Knights to use out of 11.

12
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #132: All Hallow's Eve
« on: October 24, 2021, 05:48:20 pm »

13
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Fan Card Mechanics Week 21: Curse you!
« on: October 12, 2021, 11:51:12 am »
On Cursed Cargo
I don’t think it’s clear how long this stays in play.  Is the intent that it stays in play until you run out of Curse tokens, when the Curse pile empties, or both?
I checked Crypt and used its wording, since Durations check at clean up whether they can do something next turn.
So it should only stay while you have Curse Tokens: Coppers/Curses do not trigger its duration effect.

The way I want it to work, is if you end up with multiple Cursed Cargo you might play them in such a way that one or more of them end up with 3 Cursed Cargo and 1 Curse Token.
One cursed cargo takes away the last Curse Token.
Two cursed cargoes left each give a curse since  you no longer have Curse Tokens.

I'm imagining interactions with other cards that give/remove Curse Tokens to you/others that might mess with your Cursed Cargo!

THE POINT: It should stay around until you run out of Curse Tokens.

Also after thinking about it, $4 is far too cheap, it should be $6! at least?

It shouldn't have the dividing line if that's supposed to be part of its on play effect. The unnecessary diving line makes it unclear when the below-the-line effect is supposed to be active. See, well, Crypt:

See, no dividing line.

Wording issues aside, this is actually way too weak imo. If you use it like Workshop (gaining cards that cost or less), it's Workshop with a downside (both being slow because of staying in play, and potentially costing you ). Even just getting a causes it to be in play for a total of 3 turns! And it just gets even slower from there.

14


Quote
Ritual Attendant - $3+
Action - Attack - Fate - Doom
Receive a Boon. Each other player receives the next Hex.
----
When you buy this, you may overpay for it. For each $1 you overpaid, discard the top Boon and Hex. You may remove 1 Hex and/or 1 Boon discarded this way from their pile.

A cheap/weak attack that can be made better by thinning the Boon and Hex piles. I am not sure if it is priced correctly for the ability to get both a Boon and hand out a Hex, but the randomness early on should make it harder to maximize the effectiveness of either part. Hate buying a single Ritual Attendant to get rid of the most damaging/beneficial cards from each pile is definitely an option. I originally tried having it have a base effect of +1 Buy or +$1, but was not sure if it could stay cheap enough for the overpay ability to be used. Feedback is more than appreciated.

Shouldn't this fail to qualify for the same reason as The Alchemist's Bibliothecary? It's also a "pay for 1 thing" overpay.

not quite - the things are flattened into one thing (well, one removal from each pile) regardless of how much you overpay. If someone wanted to make a "for each $1 you overpay, reveal the top card of your deck. Put one of the revealed cards onto your deck, and discard the rest", that would also qualify. The intermediate step scales at 1:1, but the end step is ∃:1.

Isn't that how Stonemason works too, though? Its intermediate step is determining the cost of the gained card, so its intermediate step scales at 1:1, but the end step is ∃:1. Or does this count as unique because overpaying with does nothing, unlike Stonemason?

15


Quote
Ritual Attendant - $3+
Action - Attack - Fate - Doom
Receive a Boon. Each other player receives the next Hex.
----
When you buy this, you may overpay for it. For each $1 you overpaid, discard the top Boon and Hex. You may remove 1 Hex and/or 1 Boon discarded this way from their pile.

A cheap/weak attack that can be made better by thinning the Boon and Hex piles. I am not sure if it is priced correctly for the ability to get both a Boon and hand out a Hex, but the randomness early on should make it harder to maximize the effectiveness of either part. Hate buying a single Ritual Attendant to get rid of the most damaging/beneficial cards from each pile is definitely an option. I originally tried having it have a base effect of +1 Buy or +$1, but was not sure if it could stay cheap enough for the overpay ability to be used. Feedback is more than appreciated.

Shouldn't this fail to qualify for the same reason as The Alchemist's Bibliothecary? It's also a "pay for 1 thing" overpay.

16
Totem
Action $4

+1 Card
+1 Action
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
While this is in play, when you buy a non-victory card you may overpay $1 per $2 it costs (round up). If you do gain a copy of it.



- Don't know if this is in the rules for this or not, so apologies if it isn't.
This qualifies, this is a novel way to use overpay. If you use this with, say, Masterpiece, do you also do Masterpiece's overpay (that is, is it double dipping)? Or are the two forms of overpay separate?

If you have enough money available you can use either or both overpay options.

Note though that the additional card from Totem is gained, not bought, so you can only use the overpay option on the card you initially bought, not the second copy gained with Totem. This only makes a difference with Stonemason though.

That doesn't really answer spineflu's question. What he meant was, if you buy Masterpiece and overpay by , do you gain an extra Masterpiece and 2 Silvers, or would you have to overpay for Totem's effect and another for Masterpiece's overpay separately? I gather from your "if you have enough money available" qualifier that you intend for the latter?

17
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #130: Sidekicks
« on: October 08, 2021, 01:00:54 pm »


Farmer: Forms a split pile with Farmland. 5 Farmers then 5 Farmlands, independent of player number.

The on-play effect alone seems too strong for a $4 cost. At the start of a (non-Shelters) game, this effect is quite a bit better than Laboratory.

The on-play is a risky peddler that requires a collision with a victory. Even when it does collide, it's just a peddler with a single card restricted cellar effect, which is already a weak $2. The people on the discord in fact preferred the on-play priced at $3, not $4, so I don't think it's better than a lab in the open.

Do the people in discord know that discarding a victory card's not a real cost in early game, so it's better than a peddler? And how is it risky when it's always a cantrip, and when it's not better than that your hand is already really good? There isn't always trashing.

Also, without the coin, this is comparable to fugitive.

I agree that it's better than Peddler early on, but I definitely don't agree that it's "comparable to Fugitive" without the coin. Fugitive discards after drawing (which is much stronger) and can't whiff to be just a plain Cantrip.

18
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #130: Sidekicks
« on: October 02, 2021, 01:24:22 pm »
I don’t know if it’s necessary to reveal cards in your discard pile and hand rather than looking through it (a la Hermit).  I don’t think accountability would be an issue since it should be clear where the trashed Coppers are coming from (but if it’s a concern, it could be done sequentially from the hand then the discard pile).

The revealing is necessary because the Copper trashing is mandatory. Your opponents don't get to look through your discard pile and hand to make sure there aren't any Coppers you're lying about not being there to trash.

19
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #129: In Play
« on: September 28, 2021, 07:31:08 pm »
It would have cost $5, and been "+$2. You may trash a card you have in play. If you did, gain a card costing exactly$1 more."

I don't think that's a $5-cost card.  It's arguably better than Improve, but not unequivocally.

In fact, I'd say that's actually WORSE than Improve. It's basically just Improve but you have to have the target card in play at the time you play Recast instead of by the end of your turn. That's significantly worse, and the only advantages that version of Recast would have over Improve are being able to activate on-trash effects at a more convenient time and being able to play the gained card in the same turn. Both of those are minor advantages compared to the huge disadvantage of not being able to trash cards that are played after Recast.

20
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #129: In Play
« on: September 26, 2021, 04:27:49 pm »
24 hour warning should've been yesterday...

21
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #129: In Play
« on: September 19, 2021, 11:19:08 pm »

22
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 14, 2021, 01:06:50 am »
Old Drum is crazy. Even if you do not intend to exchange it, a cantrip trasher for $3 is overpowered as you can open with two copies of it.

The Instruments start in the trash. You can't open with one copy of it, let alone two.

23
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 11, 2021, 11:14:50 am »


Foundry
Action ($4)
+1 Action
Trash a card from your hand.
Choose one: +1 Card; or draw until you have 2 cards in hand for each differently named Treasure in the trash.

Thinking back to the DtX contest and I thought the idea of a "variable" DtX was really interesting so I wanted to give it a try. It also has a +1 Card option for better use early on.
Hopefully the wording on the DtX part makes sense, I'd be happy to hear any suggestions on how to make it clearer if anyone has any :)

EDIT: Lowered price to $4, made trashing mandatory, and changed it to only count Treasures but for 2 cards each instead of 1.

I think this buff makes it too strong for just .

24
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 11, 2021, 12:42:56 am »


Foundry
Action ($5)
+1 Action
You may trash a card from your hand.
Choose one: +1 Card or draw until you have 1 card in hand per differently named card in the trash.

Thinking back to the DtX contest and I thought the idea of a "variable" DtX was really interesting so I wanted to give it a try. It also has a +1 Card option for better use early on.
Hopefully the wording on the DtX part makes sense, I'd be happy to hear any suggestions on how to make it clearer if anyone has any :)

I feel like it's very unlikely for the 2nd option to draw any cards at all, let alone multiple. Which would make this a pretty sad $5, considering that the first option is usually worse than Sanctuary for 3 reasons: 1. No +Buy, 2. trashes instead of Exiling (Exiling is almost always better, except for Curses), and 3. does so before drawing.

25
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 09, 2021, 09:02:19 pm »
I don't really see how Thief qualifies, considering that it only cares about what it trashed.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 49

Page created in 0.097 seconds with 19 queries.