Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Gubump

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 55
1
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #164: Read the Fine Print
« on: September 25, 2022, 10:16:12 pm »

Quote
Icy Venture
$5 - Treasure - Duration
+$2
Reveal cards from your deck until you reveal an Action or Treasure. Discard the other revealed cards. If you revealed a Treasure, play it. Otherwise, set it aside and play it at the start of your next turn.
-
When you reveal this, set it aside, and keep revealing cards as if you hadn't revealed it, then discard this when the current card is resolved.
A Venture that can't hit copies of itself. (not sure about the best wording).

What about "reveal cards from your deck until you reveal an Action or Treasure other than an Icy Venture"?

Then it wouldn't qualify.

2
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #163: Cleaning The Banlist
« on: September 11, 2022, 12:28:15 pm »
Upcycle
Action
$5

Trash a card from your hand. Gain a card costing up to $3 more than it, that it shares a type with it.

Notes
- Replacement for Rebuild
- My objective to to stop the card having a monolithic strategy. To do this the card is now terminal and now trashes from your hand instead of digging through your deck. It now behaves more like the more traditional remodel family members.
- To keep the spirit of Rebuild, the price gap is still $3 so you can still turn Estates into Duchies and Duchies into Provinces, etc.
- To give something back to the card and to open up the scope of its use, it no longer just trashes and gains Victory cards. That restriction is now that the trashed and gained cards must share a type.

From the Allies Secret History: I also had an Expand that required the gained card to share a type with the trashed card. It only cost $4 and still wasn't exciting most games.

3
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #162: You Can Trip at $5
« on: September 03, 2022, 11:02:36 pm »
Savant
Action
$5

+1 Action

Gain a card to your hand costing up to $1 per differently named card you have in play - the number of Savants you have in play.

I would suggest to reword the - to a minus. Its a small technicality but I think its much clearer and more in line with official card wording (might just be a personal thing, it just took me a minute to realize what this meant lol)

Glad it wasn't just me.

Is this too close to being a lab variant?  (If so, I'll try to think of something else. But this one of my favorite cards that I've made.)

Quote
Mad Scientist
$5  - Action
+1 Card
+1 Action
You may trash a card costing at least $2 for +2 Cards. If you don't, gain a Silver.


Needs to specify where you're trashing from. I'd also suggest saying "$2 or more" if you want to be more in-line with official cards.

4
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #162: You Can Trip at $5
« on: September 03, 2022, 01:06:42 am »

Does this cost a buy?

Edit: From the Black Market FAQ:
Quote
\A card bought during the Action phase does not count as a card bought in your Buy phase, so you do not need an Action card giving you +1 Buy to still buy a card during your normal Buy phase.

http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Black_Market#Official_FAQ

It does not, for the same reason Black Market's buy does not cost a Buy.

5
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #162: You Can Trip at $5
« on: September 02, 2022, 05:13:46 pm »

6
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #162: You Can Trip at $5
« on: September 01, 2022, 07:16:31 pm »


If you know what Mao is, this is my submission, otherwise dont look it up and I submit a less-polished Past-Ap. Stop reading here. A Psudo-trasher that lets you gain one of the trashed cards conditionally and helps prolong games in times of need, it is surprisingly hard to get the trashing going without the variable cost, and can even be impossible to trash certain cards in some kingdoms.



If you dont know what Mao is, Post AP is a cantrip attack that has non-attack interaction. I wish there was an elegant way to let you reveal a moat, etc, or use lighthouse on yourself playing this, but it makes it a gamble, and isnt much of a change. You get first chance to draw and last chance to trash in case of ties. Players will always get either +1 cheap card or +1vp, even if they trash 2 cards. And revealing a moat gets +1vp, hence the non-attack interaction.

Both of these are way too long. Mao has 10 lines of text and 80 words, and Post AP. has 11 lines of text and 77 words. The longest official card is Possession, with "just" 8 lines of text and 60 words. These cards would be way too long even if they were simple cards that just took a lot of words, like how Native Village has a lot of text but is actually very simple in effect. But both of these try to do way, way, way too much.

7
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #162: You Can Trip at $5
« on: September 01, 2022, 06:45:12 pm »


If you know what Mao is, this is my submission, otherwise dont look it up and I submit a less-polished Past-Ap. Stop reading here. A Psudo-trasher that lets you gain one of the trashed cards conditionally and helps prolong games in times of need, it is surprisingly hard to get the trashing going without the variable cost, and can even be impossible to trash certain cards in some kingdoms.



If you dont know what Mao is, Post AP is a cantrip attack that has non-attack interaction. I wish there was an elegant way to let you reveal a moat, etc, or use lighthouse on yourself playing this, but it makes it a gamble, and isnt much of a change. You get first chance to draw and last chance to trash in case of ties. Players will always get either +1 cheap card or +1vp, even if they trash 2 cards. And revealing a moat gets +1vp, hence the non-attack interaction.

No image is showing up for me.

8


I know how little you like to read, so only 1 card; my first rotating pile; and it came out during allies previews. It uses unused cards like BM or YW.You can even get another split pile (partially) inside. In such a case, the pile gains the other split pile type as well if it a rotator. In the case of small castle, the pile also has the. castle type, which is interesting in 2p games with castles. Similarly a night can be taken. Unlike BM, horses and non-supply cards (that say so) cannot be chosen, but unlike YW cards are selected individually which allows for non-normal cards. If you get a night or zombie such that there is only 1 copy normally, using blanks is a good option.

No picture is showing up for me.

9
My submission: Toll Bridge


Quote
Toll Bridge $4 Action - Activation
+1 Action

While this is in play,
cards cost $1 less.

At the start of your turn,
if this is in play, discard a card.
-
When you trigger this,
+1 Buy, +$1

A bit wordy, but the concept is simple: a Bridge you can leave in play as long as you like, at a steep cost. Comparing to regular Bridge, Toll Bridge gives more flexibility. You can always use it as a regular Bridge if you like, but if you're happy to leave it in play (and forego the +$ and +Buy), Toll Bridge is non-terminal. I still think $4 is right because you can't throne Toll Bridge.

This is definitely one I wish I could playtest before submitting, but alas, no time this week. I considered changing the start-of-turn cost to a self-Rabble, which could open up some strategies, but the card is cluttered enough as it is.

Is the fact that this benefits your opponents intentional?

Oh gosh, no! That's an oversight, I'll fix it soon. Thanks for noticing.

Another thing I just noticed: You can trigger it immediately to get the same effect as Bridge, which makes it almost strictly better than Bridge for the same price (only way it isn't strictly better is that the +1 Buy and +$1 can't be Throned).

10
My submission: Toll Bridge


Quote
Toll Bridge $4 Action - Activation
+1 Action

While this is in play,
cards cost $1 less.

At the start of your turn,
if this is in play, discard a card.
-
When you trigger this,
+1 Buy, +$1

A bit wordy, but the concept is simple: a Bridge you can leave in play as long as you like, at a steep cost. Comparing to regular Bridge, Toll Bridge gives more flexibility. You can always use it as a regular Bridge if you like, but if you're happy to leave it in play (and forego the +$ and +Buy), Toll Bridge is non-terminal. I still think $4 is right because you can't throne Toll Bridge.

This is definitely one I wish I could playtest before submitting, but alas, no time this week. I considered changing the start-of-turn cost to a self-Rabble, which could open up some strategies, but the card is cluttered enough as it is.

Is the fact that this benefits your opponents intentional?

11

Quote
Colleague
$3 Action - Activation
Discard 2 cards.

When you trigger this, +3 Cards and +1 Action.

If you help your Colleague now, your Colleague will help you when you need it.

Amusingly, LastFootnote, the creator of the Activation mechanic, actually has a card with this exact effect except with +2 Actions instead of +1 (and costs ).

12


The Gatherers. A series of cards, most of which interact with the other Gatherers.

Bounty acts as a mini non-terminal vassal. The effect be used now or at the start of your next turn, including the pile rotation. Isn't particularly strong but has good control over the Gatherers, which increase in power.

Huntsman is an Oasis variant, which is a card that is usually weak, however Huntress allows for DtX combos to always be in kingdom. It can also gain Gatherers, which is useful as most Gatherers are powerful when gained in multiples.

Huntress combos with Huntsman and sometimes Deerstalker, with it's DtX. If you don't have a Gatherer in hand, it can still trash, but terminally. In combination with the other Gatherers it can be very powerful.

Deerstalker is a double lab with +buy, but makes you discard a card, and gets less powerful when played in multiples.

1. For Huntress, choices should be separated by semicolons, not commas.
2. The second clause for Huntress has accountability issues. You might want to choose the first option with no Gatherers in hand to avoid being forced to trash, but in that case there's no accountability for when you don't have a Gatherer in hand to play since it's mandatory. I'd fix this with "you may choose one."
3. Is it intentional that Deerstalker gets penalized for other players' Bounties? If not, it should say "discard a card per Gatherer you have in play."



Compass begins the game similar to a Goat but is eventually able to gain Action cards, provided it is played immediately preceding an Action. Typically, Treasures will be played after Actions, so you're likely gonna need some help to pull this off.

Chest is a delayed Tiara that can't topdeck. Take a coin as compensation. Oh look, now you can start your next turn with a Compass.

Merchandise acts as a Grand Market if you can find a way to gain a card in your Action phase. Worst case scenario, it's a Silver you can play to buy a second card.

Ancient Texts is another way to get Treasures in play during your Action phase, while also forcing your opponents to discard them.

Compass should say "Loot, first +" to specify timing. Chest has accountability issues since you might not have a Treasure in hand to set aside. It needs to either be optional or say "(or reveal you can't)." Ancient Texts has the same problem; it covers your opponents not having the Treasure you played, but it doesn't cover you not having any Treasures yourself.

13
Tradesman
cost $2 - Action - Caste
+1 Action
+$1
+1 Buy
You may rotate the Caste.
You may immediately buy a card to topdeck it.

Crafter
cost $3 - Action - Caste
Gain a card costing up to $5.

Farmer
cost $4 - Action - Attack - Caste
You may trash a Treasure to gain a Gold.
Each other player gains an Estate.

Samurai
cost $5 - Action - Caste
+1 Action
You may Exile a Victory card.
+$1 per a Victory card on your Exile mat.

Japanese Caste, Shino-kosho.

I don't think being the 2nd card in a rotating pile is enough of a downside to justify a card that's strictly better than either Workshop or Importer. Farmer and Samurai are both missing a "from your hand."

14
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #160: Two Base Cards
« on: August 17, 2022, 02:08:24 pm »
This is a $4 and far from $5 strength.

It is mainly useful as mandatory ActionStables which is a weak $4. That it draws before discarding is nice for consistency but you are still discarding the good stuff.


The other options are weaker than Smithy. A Smithy that converts the Coin of a Copper into an extra Buy? Well, can be useful. Discarding Curses hurts, discarding green is no option (although it should be if you want this to become a $5) and discarding Gold is only useful in very rare cases.

The option to not use this as ActionStables but as Smithy- (net drawing 1 and getting an extra Buy is weaker than Smithy) dont push this into $5 territory.

Id try this with the option to discard green for a Horse or an extra card and Id get rid of the Curse and Gold options to give this Iron-family clarity and symmetry. Then it would be a $5 (albeit likely still weaker than Lab and other $5 Lab variants).

The Curse and Gold options are necessary for the card to qualify for the contest. That said, if you have to add unnecessary features just to make it qualify, it's probably not a great fit for the contest imo.

15
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #160: Two Base Cards
« on: August 16, 2022, 12:51:03 pm »
My Submission:



Quote
Amphitheater $5 Action
+3 Cards
Discard a card. If it was an...
Action card, +1 Action
Treasure card, +1 Buy
Curse, discard a card
Gold, +$1

My submission is Amphitheater a drawer/sifter that is conditionally non-terminal, and which both makes you consider whether you want to sift what you normally would (e.g. Victory cards) and somewhat lessens the sting when you can't (e.g. when you only have Treasures and Action cards). I've played with this concept before, with just the first two conditional effects (and, last time I submitted it, a fan mechanic effect). Adding the two additional effects for the base cards makes it a little more interesting. Getting $1 back from Gold makes discarding it no worse than discarding a Silver (and fits with the lessening the sting theme). Making you discard another card for discarding a Curse (effectively not letting a Curse be the card you sift) fits with the sift-something-different theme.1

One of the things I like about this is how its conditionally non-terminal. The reason Laboratory is so much better than Moat (and, therefore, costs way more despite Moat's useful Reaction) is that you can play the Action cards you draw after playing a Lab, but not (without a village) the ones you draw after playing a Moat. But, on any given play of one card or the other, the distinction only matters if you have Action cards in your hand afterwards. If you end up with no Action cards, Lab is no better than Moat. With Amphitheater, in order for it to be meaningfully non-terminal, you need to have at least 2 Action cards in your hand after you draw (you also need to give up the use of one of them unless it has an on-discard Reaction).

FAQ:
If you discard a Gold, you get both the +1 Buy (for discarding a Treasure card) and the +$1.
If you discard a Curse, the second card you discard does not give you any of the bonus effects. So, if you discard a Curse, then discard a Copper, you don't get +1 Buy.



1 There is at least one circumstance where this could be a benefit. If your opponent played a Haunted Woods and you've drawn both a Curse and a Victory card, you can discard the Curse to also rid yourself of the Victory card (and not have it go back on your deck when you buy a card during your Buy phase).

Since the discarding is mandatory, this honestly looks weaker than vanilla Smithy imo.

16

Quote
Smithing Academy $5 Action - Duration - Activation
When you play this, +5 Cards. This card stays in play until activated.
-
Activation costs an Action per Smithing Academy you have in play. When you trigger this, discard it.

This card overcomplicates the staying in play. Activation cards already automatically stay in play until triggered. So you can simply say
Quote
$5 Action - Activation
+5 Cards
-
Triggering this costs an Action per Smithing Academy you have in play. When you trigger this, discard it.

17
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #160: Two Base Cards
« on: August 15, 2022, 12:30:01 pm »
[

Quote
Coin Press $4
Action
You may trash 2 Treasures from your hand. If both are Silver, gain a Gold to your hand. If no more than one is Silver, gain a Silver.

If you didn't trash anything, gain a Silver to your hand.

A Silver gainer that either nets $2 that turn or trashes 2 copper from hand. It can also trash 2 Silver later on to gain a Gold to hand. I want this to cost $4, but I am not sure if it should or not. Feedback is appreciated.

Edit: Adjusted wording. Should be functionally the same. You cannot only trash 1 Treasure from your hand.

You can if you only have 1 Treasure in hand. Like how you can choose to discard 2 cards with Mill even if you only have 1 card to discard (you wouldn't get the +$2). This still has the same accountability issue as before, for the same reason as before.

I was under the impression that if is says "you may", then you either do all of what it says or you don't. It says to trash 2 treasures from your hand, not up to 2. I understand how opting to discard 2 cards does not care how many cards you have in hand, but I was under the impression you would either trash two treasures or fail to do so.

I will try and change this again to avoid this ambiguity. Thanks for the feedback.

If it says "you may," you can choose to try to do so and do as much as you can. You can't trash just 1 Treasure if you have 2 Treasures, but you can try unsuccessfully to trash 2 Treasures even if you only have 1 Treasure in hand.

18
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #160: Two Base Cards
« on: August 15, 2022, 11:08:30 am »
[

Quote
Coin Press $4
Action
You may trash 2 Treasures from your hand. If both are Silver, gain a Gold to your hand. If no more than one is Silver, gain a Silver.

If you didn't trash anything, gain a Silver to your hand.

A Silver gainer that either nets $2 that turn or trashes 2 copper from hand. It can also trash 2 Silver later on to gain a Gold to hand. I want this to cost $4, but I am not sure if it should or not. Feedback is appreciated.

Edit: Adjusted wording. Should be functionally the same. You cannot only trash 1 Treasure from your hand.

You can if you only have 1 Treasure in hand. Like how you can choose to discard 2 cards with Mill even if you only have 1 card to discard (you wouldn't get the +$2). This still has the same accountability issue as before, for the same reason as before.



Quote
Sprite $4 Action - Attack - Duration
Each other player may discard a Silver from their hand, revealed; if they do not, they gain a Copper to their hand.

At the start of your next turn, you may trash a Treasure from your hand to gain a Gold.

This doesn't need the "revealed," that's only necessary when multiple cards can be discarded at once. Discarding a single card is public information, otherwise e.g. Cutpurse would need to say "revealed."



Crook is an Attack card that offers the player a choice of thinning two cards or gaining a Silver to hand, while turning a card in each other player's hand into a Copper. Early on, the attack won't hurt much and may actually help if they trash Estates or Curses, but it will get more painful as the game goes on and players trash their starting cards. Since the Coppers gained to hand can be repeatedly trashed, the attack usually won't stack more than once. Especially brutal if you can hit opponents with a discard attack beforehand.

This attack looks really swingy. One opponent gets to trash a Curse and another has to trash something good. Sure, this is true of e.g. Barbarian, but Barbarian gives some compensation when you trash something good instead of junking you on top.

19
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #160: Two Base Cards
« on: August 14, 2022, 12:44:31 pm »


Quote
Coin Press $4
Action
Choose one: Gain a Silver to your hand; or trash 2 Treasures from your hand to gain a Silver; or trash 2 Silvers from your hand to gain a Gold to your hand.

A Silver gainer that either nets $2 that turn or trashes 2 copper from hand. It can also trash 2 Silver later on to gain a Gold to hand. I want this to cost $4, but I am not sure if it should or not. Feedback is appreciated.

As worded, this has accountability issues. I'd have a good reason to trash a Copper from my hand with no other Treasures in hand, which this allows you to do but lacks accountability for.

20
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #160: Two Base Cards
« on: August 13, 2022, 11:44:17 am »
My Submission:


This looks too good compared to Explorer and Pirate. Pirate is only better as it can gain $5 Treasures but that does not compensate for the immediate hand-gaining.

Explorer's removed so I don't see a reason to care about that. Pirate's Reaction allows it to be non-terminal... not all the time, but a good amount of the time, where this will just never be.

1. I don't know how much you care about this, but Donald avoids making cards that are strictly better than existing cards even if said existing card has been removed. Pot of Gold is almost strictly better than Explorer.
2. Pirate's Reaction allows it to be non-terminal sometimes, and sometimes allows you to get the Gold immediately. Pot of Gold always allows you to get the Gold immediately, at the cost of always being terminal; I'd argue that always being terminal is worth always being able to use it immediately. There are also other Gold gainers to compare Pot of Gold to; I don't think any of the benefits the other Gold gainers get over gaining a Gold are on the same level as gaining it to hand; Pirate is delayed, Soothsayer gives out Curses but also a one-time Lab effect to your opponents, Bandit has an okay attack, Courtier requires collision with a multi-type card to get further benefit out of it, Treasure Trove is non-terminal, but produces $2 instead of $3 and junks you with a Copper, and Governor is non-terminal but also gives opponents a benefit, and doesn't even gain the Gold to hand. Gaining the Gold to hand is a better benefit over just gaining Gold than any other Gold gainer (except maybe Governor, which is S-tier anyway)--and that's just the gain to hand part, not even taking the ability to gain a 2nd Gold to hand into account!
Pirate sometimes having a benefit over Pot of Gold doesn't justify making Pot of Gold outclass it otherwise.

21
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Heroes
« on: August 02, 2022, 11:22:19 am »
Mistakes in rulebook v2.0:
  • 2nd bullet point in Undead FAQ still incorrectly says "as long as that card is yours."
  • Rest FAQ bullet point about drawing after a successful Rest buy still omits the word "when" in "you will still draw a card when another player plays a Council Room."

Mistake in Secret History: The picture for Witch-Hunt is Games a 2nd time.

22
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #159: Some Nights
« on: August 02, 2022, 11:02:17 am »
I suggest reordering "a card costing up to $6 from the supply that was gained this turn" into "a card costing up to 6$ that was gained this turn from the supply"

Two points:
I think all official cards say where to exile from so this technically would allow you to exile a card from somewhere other than the supply, no? This could probably be explained in the FAQ but is not consistent with the official cards.
It's minor, but it is also functionally different, in that with the original of someone gains a card from the trash, you could exile a copy (from the supply); with the new wording you can't. Like I said, minor.

I think I'd suggest going with "a card from the supply costing up to $6 that was gained this turn" just reordering the "from the supply" and the "costing up to $6".

Their grammar is slightly ambiguous, but in silverspawn's wording, "from the Supply" still applies to the card being Exiled, not the "that was gained this turn." If it said "a card costing up to $6 that was gained from the Supply this turn", THEN "from the Supply" would apply to where the card was gained from.

23
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Heroes
« on: August 02, 2022, 02:44:47 am »
Mistakes in the Rulebook:
  • Campfire FAQ claims Barracks is from Prosperity instead of Renaissance.
  • Grindstone FAQ claims is cheaper than .
  • Pikemen FAQ has multiple grammar mistakes. In the first sentence, the plurality of "player" doesn't agree with "are"; i.e. it should say "after each other player is done discarding their card. Also, "or not" should follow "gain a copy of that discarded card"; "decide if you want them to gain a copy of that discarded card or not." Next sentence should be "you can make different choices for different players"; plurality inconsistency again. Finally, the next sentence should say "if one of them discards a Copper.
  • Last bullet point in Troll FAQ omits a word: "That trashed Copper might even be..."
  • Apostrophe left out in "turns" in first bullet point of Kraken FAQ. Also, 4th bullet point (the one about playing Krakens out of turn) should end with "then they all take their extra turns in turn order."
  • The bullet point in Undead's FAQ that says that "if you trash a card and it isn't yours...then Undead does not trigger" is incorrect. As Undead is worded, it only says "the next time you trash a card." That wording does not care if the trashed card was yours, only that you trashed a card.
  • Crystallize FAQ bullet point about not being able to queue further extra turns should say "this effectively nullifies" instead of "this effectively nullify."
  • Overwork FAQ claims that you cannot use it to replay cards that have left play but returned to play; since Overwork does not qualify that you must "still" have the target card in play, you can actually do that (it does simply say that "you may not play cards that have left play that turn", but I'd clarify that you can play them if they've returned to play since).
  • Omitted word in Refurbish FAQ: "Even if you have a bigger handsize than normal..."
  • 2nd bullet point for Rest FAQ doesn't capitalize Rest like it should. Also, omitted word in bullet point about having cards in hand after a successful Rest buy: "You will still draw a card when another player plays a Council Room..."

As worded, Tactics allows you to discard e.g. other players' Informants, since it only says "from play" rather than "that you have in play." I assume from the FAQ for it that that's unintentional.

24
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #159: Some Nights
« on: July 28, 2022, 04:40:22 pm »


For Menagerie, Coyote is an Exiler and Duplicate variant that can Exile another copy of a card you already gained this turn. Early on, you can Exile a copy of an Action card you gained to pick up later like with Camel Train. Unlike Camel Train, it can Exile Victory cards from the Supply, so you can gain a Duchy and then Exile another one with your Coyote. The Reaction lets you reveal anytime other players (or you) Exile something, letting you Exile a copy of what they Exiled from your hand. Since it's a reveal trigger, this does allow you to reveal multiple times. So if your opponent Exiles an Estate, you can reveal your Coyote twice to Exile two Estates from your hand.

This needs to specify that it's revealed from hand.

25
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Asper's Cards
« on: July 20, 2022, 02:23:24 pm »
Border Guard:
If there is a Witch but no card that discards anything, Faithful Hound is strictly worse than Moat, so I don't think it means much if a card is strictly worse than another if its Reaction can't trigger.

Difference is, Moat and Faithful Hound still have the same on-play effects.
You said Border Patrol is strictly worse than Dungeon without its Reaction.

There is two ways to understand this:

The literal interpretation where you just pretend that the Reaction wasn't on the card, as you are doing for Faithful Hound and Moat. That interpretation is talking about a hypothetical which isn't the case, as the card DOES have the Reaction. It's factually true, but inconsequential.

Or you talk about the Reaction not triggering, in which case my point still stands. Faithful Hound and Moat have different triggers, a game may feature only one, in which case one card is strictly better than the other, or feature both to varying degrees, where neither is strictly better, or may feature none, where they are identical. A game may not feature Boarder Patrol's trigger, making it strictly worse than Dungeon, or may feature it, making neither strictly better.

Is your point that if there can be games where Border Patrol is strictly worse than Dungeon, there should be games where they are strictly the same? Or that there must be games where Border Patrol is striclty better? Why?

I'm not even saying that Border Patrol couldn't use a buff, you may very well be right about that.

Basically all I'm trying to say is that Border Patrol is laughably weak compared to Dungeon, which costs the same. Getting the effect now and next turn is huge compared to a Reaction that helps your opponents as much as it helps you. As I said in my last comment, Border Patrol is to Dungeon as Moat is to Wharf (approximately), except even worse because the Reaction is strictly worse than that of Moat!

Moat and Faithful Hound having boards where one is strictly better than the other is fine because their effects are actually somewhat close. Moat and Faithful Hound have the exact same on-play effects. A game with no Attacks leads to Border Patrol looking like a complete joke next to Dungeon, but the same can rarely be said of boards with ways to discard Faithful Hound but no Attacks or vice-versa. The fact that the Reaction even helps your opponents instead of just you means that it's really weak even in games that DO have Attacks.

It's fine for it to be strictly worse than Dungeon with no Attacks on the board, but if it's going to be so much worse than Dungeon with no Attacks, it ought to have a waaayyy better Reaction than protecting yourself at the cost of needing to have a Border Patrol while giving that same protection to your opponents for free.

Also, you pointed out an issue with it yourself, namely that the Reaction ceases to be strictly worse than Moat's in 1v1 games. That means its already low powerlevel drops by a not-insignificant amount as soon as you add a 3rd player. Card power levels shouldn't scale that poorly with player count.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 55

Page created in 0.109 seconds with 19 queries.