Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Honkeyfresh

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 22
26
Not sure if defensive combos count here, but Horse traders is a great counter to archer.  The reaction makes you have 4 cards in hand ergo it nullifies the Archer attack.  Also is helpful against the warrior, but really shines vs the annoying AF archer.

Eta same with Diplomat.

27
Sailor/souk, or church/souk, luckily i had both which was even better!

But sailor helps Souk a lot.  Its a + actions stop card, so you get cards out of your hand which souk likes.  It helps add coins and trash on your next turn, enabling more souk gaining, or trashing with the +2 on duration, or just adding coins to a souk in that hand by lessening hand size.

church is fairly obvious as its a + action card that can pull cards out of your hand to enable your souks, and also trash to lessen the next hand, since odds are you'll have a souk there too. Also helps if you need to collide + action cards and multiple souks.

28
Lord Rattington had a 5/2 on a chapel board. He bought chapel on the 5 instead of the 2.
classic

29
It says when you get this, play this, but since you never gain the second berserker I don't see how colonnade applies since it applies when you get another copy of a card in play, not itself when its only played once.

It doesn't have to be another copy, it just has to be a copy. It's fine if the copy you're gaining and the copy you have in play are both the same copy.
I get it now.  Had to re-read the specific syntax of colonnade a little more but now it totally makes sense.  Thanks for the OG post and for explaining it 7 times, sometimes It takes a while to get through my thick skull....  This combo is actually pretty nasty, especially if you can spring it on someone who doesn't yet have a berserker and can pin them someway (voyage, island folk, seize the day etc).

30
Buying Berserker when you have any Action in play activates Colonnade, since it puts itself into play while Colonnade's trigger window is still open. Then using the Berserker's on-play to gain a copy of the Action you already had in play activates it a second time, which gives you a free +4 VP on top of what would already be probably at least a decent move without the extra VP.

Then, unless someone gains Colonnade points some other way, the points are going to get split unevenly for at least a 4 VP difference.

This is really good to know.  But isn't it s glitch?  Colonnade is supposed to only activate when you gain a card with it in play.  You gain the Berzerker before the berzerker plays, and thus don't have a berserker in play until after the gain? so how does it count itself for colonnade?

It works exactly like it's supposed to.

  • 1. Gaining Berserker opens the "when you gain a Berserker" trigger window
  • 2. Then everything that triggers from "when you gain a Berserker" keeps triggering until the window closes, which it does when there are no more things that trigger from it:
    • 2a. Berserker itself triggers from "when you gain a Berserker" and puts it into play
    • 2b. then we check if there's anything else that can trigger from "when you gain a Berserker" and if there is, it triggers, otherwise the window closes
    • 2c. we see that Colonnade can now trigger from "when you gain a Berserker" because the Berserker is a copy of an Action you have in play
    • 2d. then we check if there's anything else that can trigger from "when you gain a Berserker", but now we've finished resolving everything so the window closes

Everything from 2 on makes sense to me. But I just don't see why 1 is true.  I mean I believe you, but reading word by word it seems that the "when you gain a berzerker trigger window" is considered activated as by the wording of the card the berserker occurs first.
It says when you get this, play this, but since you never gain the second berserker I don't see how colonnade applies since it applies when you get another copy of a card in play, not itself when its only played once.

31
Garisson + populate = bonanza.  Obviously loading your deck with 7 or so action cards and then drawing about half of them the next turn has some advantages...
I had a 9 action board and with a garisson in play and a few good gainers (Governor, hill fort--always w/garisson too, falconer) drew me something like a 14 or 15 card card bonus on the next hand. 19/20 card hands turn out to play pretty well!

32
Buying Berserker when you have any Action in play activates Colonnade, since it puts itself into play while Colonnade's trigger window is still open. Then using the Berserker's on-play to gain a copy of the Action you already had in play activates it a second time, which gives you a free +4 VP on top of what would already be probably at least a decent move without the extra VP.

Then, unless someone gains Colonnade points some other way, the points are going to get split unevenly for at least a 4 VP difference.

This is really good to know.  But isn't it s glitch?  Colonnade is supposed to only activate when you gain a card with it in play.  You gain the Berzerker before the berzerker plays, and thus don't have a berserker in play until after the gain? so how does it count itself for colonnade?

33
Tide pools and Guide/desert nomads. B/c you can choose to resolve the tide pools discard first, u can just use the guide to draw an entirely new hand. It's like putting everything on a credit card, but never having to actually pay it off.

34
Dominion General Discussion / Re: What cards do you ban and why?
« on: August 13, 2022, 07:51:52 am »
Banned: Lurker, Coin of the Realm, Graverobber, Rogue, Royal Carriage, Tomb, Keep.  Room for another landscape - had Basilica for a bit until it got fixed.  I don't like the reliability of Coin/Carriage and the other cards allow the game to move forwards less. Lurker is particularly annoying for also being swingy/powerful.  Could welcome Rogue back in if I needed the slot since it usually doesn't do that much.  Keep is just annoying to track.

Disliked: Possession, Villa, Procession, Cultist, Stonemason, Lost Arts, Pathfinding, Training.  Sad about possession - in some senses it and Mindslaver are my favourite cards in their games, Possession a much improved version - but in practice in modern Dominion there's just too much ability to make a mess with it.  The others are very explosive.  The Adventures tokens again lead to too much consistency and don't feel like they fit in to me.

Is Mindslaver Mastermind?   

35
Monkey and Black cat has a super nasty interaction.  Because you get a card when they draw the curse too, which also enables you to draw more black cats to add to the carnage.

36
Got a colony with 0 coins in play from 7 unique Vp cards.  Had a warlord in play and drew opulent castle , estate, duchy, province, territory, colony and haunted castle.


37
I think we all know by now that Trail interacts with trashing. It, like, says it right on the card itself.

This is off topic.  This thread is to discuss Neat and potentially useful card interactions, not what you think that we all know.

38
Trail plus virtually any trash for gain card. Some noteworthy I have actually encountered:

With each you of course get to play the trail and get a card and an action.

Scrap - pick 4 options
Salvager $4,
Bishop - 3 points
Trader - 4 silvers, (very useful with a Feodem)
Forge - trash 2 and get a Province
Expand - gain a card up to $7
Remake - gain a $5 card or 2

The more of these I discover, the more ridiculously potent I think this card is.

research is pretty great. get a village and 4 cards next turn

39
This one is nasty af.  Messenger and Defiled Shrine.  Always has been a good combo on its own as you get the extra buy to buy the curse and get the messenger buy to add vp to the file.  Well, that option is still avail, but new errata adds a nasty hook.  You can also now just opt to gain the curse as the messenger gained card.  Since you gain yours first you take all the vp and get to hand out a curse to boot! Plus you get to spend all remaining coins on cards not just wasted like usual when u choose to buy the curse.

40
Any doppleganger card (captain, overlord etc) and way of the horse.  Get to use as way of the horse and then get card back.  Captain gets really bonkers here as your option is play any card or a just use it as a lab.

41
With the new Tax, Black Cat can give your opponent debt (assuming it's reacting to a Victory card they bought or otherwise gained during their Buy phase)

I'm not sure if that would ever be a particularly strong effect, but it's certainly a novel one, since up till now there's never been a way to give someone debt (the -$1 token being the closest thing)

just played a swindler tax game.  funny to tax curses and then give a debt with curse on the next turn.  JOAT was also on board.  Taxing the silver becomes a pretty strong attack, especially if you don't get a JOAT yourself.  But in that game he swindled me one b/c he was so sick of me doing it.

With Tax you only take the debt if itís your Buy phase. So Swindler, JoAT, and any gainers/Attacks played in the action phase wonít give debt.

I am pretty sure that you gained the tax when you gained the silver, but I'm high a lot so I may be misremembering. Maybe it was something else that caused the silver gains as I definitely know the debt got assumed.

i think I may be confusing two games here.  I think they actually swindled me a swindle b/c I had loaded up on so many market squares. I still coulda swore the JOAT took the tax on the silvers, and I am almost positive that I've taken debt with gainers under the new rules. Gonna have to watch this again next time closer.

eta I think the gains were coming from Lucky Coin which I still think of as a gainer, but it does gain from the buy phase, and I just didn't notice that all the tax gains were still coming from buys. 


42
One that doesn't draw cards.

doh.  I call em terminals.  I was thinking like stopping the opponent through an action a la warlord or archer

A terminal and a stop card arenít the same. Native Village and Gold are both stop cards, while also both being non-terminal. And on the other hand neither Moat nor Merchant are stop cards, even if one is terminal and one is not. Terminality is a key characteristic of cards useful in any discussion. ďStop cardĒ is a phrase mostly relevant in discussing engines. I used to not care about what a stop card was, content to leaving it to MtG elitists (my POV at the time) from which these terms (like Cantrip) come from. But now Iím very much one of them :P ;D

Yeah cantrip really includes the +1 card thing, but yeah for cards like NV, merchant camp coven etc I can see this being a useful term.  Thanks.

43
With the new Tax, Black Cat can give your opponent debt (assuming it's reacting to a Victory card they bought or otherwise gained during their Buy phase)

I'm not sure if that would ever be a particularly strong effect, but it's certainly a novel one, since up till now there's never been a way to give someone debt (the -$1 token being the closest thing)

just played a swindler tax game.  funny to tax curses and then give a debt with curse on the next turn.  JOAT was also on board.  Taxing the silver becomes a pretty strong attack, especially if you don't get a JOAT yourself.  But in that game he swindled me one b/c he was so sick of me doing it.

With Tax you only take the debt if itís your Buy phase. So Swindler, JoAT, and any gainers/Attacks played in the action phase wonít give debt.

I am pretty sure that you gained the tax when you gained the silver, but I'm high a lot so I may be misremembering. Maybe it was something else that caused the silver gains as I definitely know the debt got assumed.

i think I may be confusing two games here.  I think they actually swindled me a swindle b/c I had loaded up on so many market squares. I still coulda swore the JOAT took the tax on the silvers, and I am almost positive that I've taken debt with gainers under the new rules. Gonna have to watch this again next time closer.

44
Had a game with Tent + Way of the Mouse being Secret Cave. You could use Secret Cave's duration, but then also topdeck Tent, so you'd get the duration effect without the card staying in play. Fortunately it was an online game, but in an IRL game, tracking would probably be pretty tricky. This would apply to any other Duration card as Mouse, and to Merchant Camp, Walled Village, and Border Guard with Horn (the other self-topdecking cards have the self-topdecking as part of their on-play effect, which would be replaced by Mouse's effect)

weird.  seems like you shouldn't be able to top deck it with the card moved thing or something.  this is kinda huge. thanks!

45
Just had a game with Haggler and Guildmaster + Architects' Guild. One of the few times where you actually see one card being strictly better than the other.

...and then my opponent went for Haggler and just to make sure I would not go for the inferior version too they Taxed Haggler three times  :o
It's not strictly better because it costs 2 favors to gain a cheaper card and guildmaster only gives one favor when you buy a card.
This is wrong. Guildmaster gives a favor when you gain a card. So if you play Guildmaster, gain a card, and use Architects' Guild to get a cheaper card, you spent 2 Favors and gained 2 Favors. Since you start with a favor, you can already do this the very first time you play Guildmaster.

Unrelated:



Now imagine you could merge these two boards and you have a Guildmaster in play with architects guild. :0

46
One that doesn't draw cards.

doh.  I call em terminals.  I was thinking like stopping the opponent through an action a la warlord or archer

47
Death Cart + Collection + Way of the Horse. Effectively 3 Horses + 3 VP per Collection in play for $4!

My opponent resigned early on, but I was curious how high I could get the score, so I continued with a bot game. Final score:



Each turn, once I had all the Collections, was just playing every Action card as Horse, then buying 5 Death Carts (bringing 10 Ruins) + 4 Border Guards = 19 Action cards at 10 VP each = 190 points per turn!


This is just bonkers.  How could the opponent let you get 10 collections on this board?  ;D ;D

FYI I figured out a way around this annoyingly huge screenshot problem.  It's pretty easy using awesomescreenshot.  Under annotate you just resize to like 1000-300 width and it will autoscale the height.



48
With the new Tax, Black Cat can give your opponent debt (assuming it's reacting to a Victory card they bought or otherwise gained during their Buy phase)

I'm not sure if that would ever be a particularly strong effect, but it's certainly a novel one, since up till now there's never been a way to give someone debt (the -$1 token being the closest thing)

just played a swindler tax game.  funny to tax curses and then give a debt with curse on the next turn.  JOAT was also on board.  Taxing the silver becomes a pretty strong attack, especially if you don't get a JOAT yourself.  But in that game he swindled me one b/c he was so sick of me doing it.

49
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Homage to the Best Card
« on: August 05, 2022, 01:04:51 pm »
lol, so I think if you use Messenger to give a copy of Secret Passage to Revenge Witch, she eventually plays the card and can't decide what to do.  Because the AI is based on them never owning cards it isn't going to buy or gain?  Crazy.

This should probably be a comic or meme somehow but I don't have a plot yet.

Revenge witch?
I think thatís the name of a bot, not some new card.

Revenge Witch
$5 Action - Reaction - Attack
Each other player gains a Curse.
-
When another player plays an Attack card, you may play this from your hand twice.

yikes that's OP. Much better than actual witch.  But I guess so is sea witch.

50
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Homage to the Best Card
« on: August 05, 2022, 01:03:10 am »
lol, so I think if you use Messenger to give a copy of Secret Passage to Revenge Witch, she eventually plays the card and can't decide what to do.  Because the AI is based on them never owning cards it isn't going to buy or gain?  Crazy.

This should probably be a comic or meme somehow but I don't have a plot yet.

Revenge witch?

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 22

Page created in 0.08 seconds with 19 queries.