Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - majiponi

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 ... 27 28 [29]
701
Rules Questions / Choosing multiple effects
« on: October 31, 2015, 07:52:31 pm »
From Cornucopia rulebook (p9.l1-l4):
First choose any two of the four options; then do those options in the order listed. So if you choose both +2 Cards, and the last option, you will draw cards before you gain the Silvers and put your deck into your discard pile.

It says I cannot gain before drawing. But I cannot understand why.
The card text just says "choose two." Which is correct interpretation, "arrangement" or "combination?"
That is: I choose gain, and I choose draw. I do them. / I choose draw and gain. I do them.
Even if this is "combination", I have another question. Why don't effects happen at the same timing?
What happens on choosing? Let me know.

702
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance/Vineyard
« on: October 31, 2015, 06:16:48 am »
Yes.

From rulebook p17.l6-:
For the rest of the game, all of your Estates have the abilities and types of the set aside card.

"The rest of the game" includes the VP-counting phase. So, inherited-Estates count as an Action when calculating Vineyard's score.

703
Solo Challenges / Re: Become king at turn 3
« on: August 30, 2015, 08:38:51 pm »
Kingdom: Stonemason, Nomad Camp, Advisor, Inn, Baker, King's Court, Peddler, 4 others. Use Shelters.
Great Job!
However, this answer depends on your left player's choice.
Rewritable.

The other answer, which Hiroki found, is

1T: CC-3Shelters. Buy a Vagrant.
2T: 5C, use a cointoken. Buy a Border Village, gain a Develop.
3T: Necropolis, DV, BV, VG, Hovel.
Play NC, DV. Trash a BV to gain Dame Josephine and a King's Court.
Play Vagrant. Play KC, choosing DJ.

704
Solo Challenges / Become king at turn 3
« on: August 30, 2015, 06:37:30 pm »
Thanks to Hiroki, I could learn the existence of an answer.

Q. Play King's Court on turn 3 to play an Action 3 times.
(Dominion - Guilds Only)

705
Solo Challenges / Re: Puzzles(Easy) Q1-5.
« on: August 28, 2015, 09:33:55 am »
Q2 Hard:
Turn 1, draw HovelCCCC. Buy Doctor, overpaying $1. Reveal OE, trashing it and drawing Necro. Turn two, draw CCC[shuffle]CDoctor. Play Doctor, name Copper, draw and trash 3 Copper. Play 4 Copper, use Baker's coin token, buy Mint.
Perfect! Thanks for playing.
The A5. is beyond my imagination. You managed to gain 3 cards! My answer was
1T: Hand:CCCC-OE, buy Nomad Camp.
2T: Hand:NC-NP-CCC, use a cointoken, buy SM, gain 2 Peddlers

but your answer is more attractive!

706
Solo Challenges / Re: Puzzles(Easy) Q1-5.
« on: August 28, 2015, 09:02:22 am »
Q1 Hard: Turn 1, CCCEE. But Doctor, overpay 1 with Baker coin token, trashing Estate from top of deck. Draw CCCC[shuffle]Doctor. Turn 2, play Doctor naming Estate.

Q2: Turn 1, CCEEE. Buy Expedition with Baker coin token. Draw CCCCC[shuffle]CC. Turn 2, buy Mint.

Q3 Hard: Open Treasure Map/Market Square. Play Treasure Map, discard Market Square to gain Gold.

Q4 Hard: Open Estate, reacting with Hovel.

Q5: Turn 1 Nomad Camp. Turn 2 Necropolis Nomad Camp buy Peddler.

Q5 Hard: Turn 1 Stonemason/Nomad Camp/Nomad Camp (using Baker coin token). Turn 2 Necropolis Nomad Camp Nomad Camp buy 2 Peddlers.
Tres bien!
Q1 has a simpler answer.
Q2 Hint: Shelters

707
Solo Challenges / Puzzles(Easy) Q1-5.
« on: August 28, 2015, 05:03:52 am »
<Common Rule>
You may decide supplies freely (including up to 2 Events).
You may use Colony/Platinum and Shelters.
You can control your luck.
T1 means the first turn, and so on.
(Following extra instructions, you can enjoy HARDMODE.)

Q1. Before the cleanup of T2, trash your all 3 Estates.
(HARD: Before Adventures Only)

Q2. Before the cleanup of T2, trash your all 7 Coppers.
(HARD: Before Adventures Only)

Q3. Before the cleanup of T3, play Treasure Map and gain a Gold.
(HARD: Before Guilds Only)

Q4. React during T2.
(HARD: Before Guilds Only)

Q5. Before the end of the cleanup of T2, gain a card costing 8 or more.
(HARD: Before Adventures Only, gain 2 costing 6 or more)

Please enjoy!

708
Rules Questions / Clarification of Beggar reaction
« on: August 27, 2015, 07:52:54 pm »
Beggar reaction text:
When another player plays an Attack card, you may discard this. If you do, gain two Silvers, putting one on top of your deck.

I'd like to avoid putting on my deck, because the attack is Sir Martin and I know the both top two are Estates. And I have a Trader in my hand. But I wonder how many times I should reveal.

A. "get 1, get 1(put top)" -> I should reveal once.
B. "get 1(put top), get 1" -> I should reveal once.
C. "get 1(put top), get 1(put top if the first gaining was canceled)" -> I should reveal twice.
D. "get 1, get 1, put one from discard" -> I should reveal once (the latter) because the first one has lost track.

Which understanding is correct?

709
Rules Questions / Re: Scoring
« on: August 20, 2015, 07:58:27 pm »
Thank you for your advice.
Now I can explain the way of scoring more naturally.

710
Rules Questions / Scoring
« on: August 17, 2015, 12:55:20 am »
From rulebook:
(l. 23, p. 5) Cards on Tavern mats are included in decks when scoring at the end.
(ll. 33-37, p. 11) At the end of the game, Distant Lands is worth 4 vps if it is on your mat, or 0 vp if it is not. It counts as part of your deck either way (for example it can contribute to how many vps a Gardens is worth).

From the first quotation, DL has no chance to be worth 4 vps because it is included to my deck, not TM. On the other hand, from the second, it can be worth 4 vps.

Any misunderstanding?
Cards on TM are belong to my deck?
(Unlike Islands, returning is needless?)
If not, why can it contribute to Gardens points?

What does "deck" mean?
Is it the same idea of Philosopher's Stone's flavor?

Please explain.

711
Rules Questions / Re: Is Duplicate callable?
« on: August 04, 2015, 10:48:28 pm »
I thought of upgrading next turn.
Now I see calling is not contingent on gaining another.

712
Rules Questions / Is Duplicate callable?
« on: August 03, 2015, 09:51:27 am »
From Duplicate text:
When you gain a card costing up to 6 coins, you may call this to gain a copy of that card.

Can I call this when I cannot gain a copy?
(to upgrade it to Duchy)
(For example, Dame Sylvia)

Can I call this when I am possessing to mess up the opponent's deck?

I thought both are NO.
Is this correct?
Please let me know.

713
Rules Questions / Re: Choosing an effect
« on: June 04, 2015, 09:24:37 pm »
Thanks for your judge.
Now I see.

714
Rules Questions / Re: Choosing an effect
« on: June 04, 2015, 04:07:41 am »
I think this is what he's asking:

Say set A is the set containing only the Raze (this), and set B is the set containing all cards in your hand.

Does Raze ask you to select exactly one card from the union of A and B?  Or does it ask you to select one of the sets A or B, then select exactly one card from the set you chose?

In other words, does Raze just have you make a single choice, or does it first have you make a choice between two groups of cards, then potentially have you choose a card from that group?

It would matter, for example, if you played Raze as the last card in your hand.  In the first case, you'd be forced to trash Raze because there would be a card for you to select from the available options for your one choice.  In the second, if you didn't want to trash anything, you'd be able to first select the (empty) set of all cards in your hand and then fail to select exactly one card from it, letting you trash nothing.

You guys are saying it's the second interpretation, but are you sure we know that's how it works?  I don't know of any precedent that suggests it works one way or the other.  Hermit is the only other effect that has you select a card from two distinct groups like that (discard pile or hand), and it's never mattered how exactly that works because it's optional.

This is exactly what I wanted to ask!
Thanks for recognizeing me.

715
Rules Questions / Re: Choosing an effect
« on: June 04, 2015, 12:40:53 am »
Raze text:
+1 Action
Trash this or a card from your hand. ...

The point is, whether my duty is
1. choosing a trashable card (from my hand or play), and trashing it
2. choosing "trashing the Raze" or "trashing a card from my hand", and do so

I am poor at reading English, so please let me know the reason.

716
Rules Questions / Choosing an effect
« on: June 03, 2015, 12:41:25 am »
TR - Raze case.

At first time I chose trashing Raze and look two cards, putting one into my hand, discarded the other.
At the second time, can I choose trashing Raze again (failure)?
If so, can I look two cards, putting one into my hand, discard the other?
Or should I trash another card?
This text differs to Count?
Please explain.

717
Rules Questions / Re: Band of Misfits as Feast then Island
« on: June 03, 2015, 12:16:55 am »
BoM doesn't get set aside, because it expects itself to be in play and it isn't.
So, this is also applied to the case

TR - BoM - 1st as Island, 2nd as Feast

Set-asided BoM is not trashed because it is not on-play, even though Feast doesn't explicitly say "trash it FROM PLAY", right?
(Similarly, at TR-Feast case, at the 2nd time, Feast does not trash itself from Trash.)

718
Rules Questions / Re: What does "exchange" mean?
« on: May 04, 2015, 10:15:54 am »
Thanks a lot!

719
Rules Questions / What does "exchange" mean?
« on: May 04, 2015, 05:44:24 am »
Is Band of misfits played as if Page exchangeable?
I'd like to ask what happens when I try to return Band of misfits to "its" pile. Please explain.

Pages: 1 ... 27 28 [29]

Page created in 0.075 seconds with 19 queries.