Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - majiponi

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 29
Rules Questions / War Chest
« on: May 31, 2022, 12:12:13 pm »
2-players game. It's my turn.
I play a Witch.
Alice plays a Sheepdog and a Vassal (Way of the Mouse).
She discards and plays a Crown.
She plays a War Chest from her hand.

Q1. Do I contraband, or does she?

Duchy is banned.
After that, I play another War Chest from my hand.

Q2. Can I gain Duchy if she names another named card?

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Prosperity 2E Preview 2
« on: May 31, 2022, 06:29:20 am »
Why is Clerk Reaction? Just saying

+$2, Attack, if there is no different named Action card in play, +1 Action.

isn't enough?

Rules Questions / Re: Choosing cards with Hunter
« on: May 20, 2022, 04:02:38 pm »
I would suggest a potential third option, that it's both atomic but you still don't have to draw Village. You can choose the same card multiple times, so in your example where you say "there are none" for Victory, instead it's "I choose Mill" again. Same outcome as choosing one at a time, but a different way of thinking about it.

I don't think that's convincing. Usual cards like a Pawn say "(The choice must be different.)" So, cases like below, you cannot deny "putting 3".

You have bought Capitalism. You play a Huter and reveal a Mill, an Opulent Castle, a Stronghold. (Each is Action-Victory-Treasure.)

Rules Questions / Re: Blockade
« on: May 16, 2022, 05:40:03 am »
If you Blockade a Curse, then yes you can potentially give out the entire Curse pile. It doesn't sound very scary in practice. For one, they can skip gaining anything you Blockaded, and you can only Blockade $4's. And unlike Swamp Hag, doing this lowers Curses, so it's not going to stalemate.

Some Japanese players do this with Black Cat.

Alice gains a Mill.
Bob reacts with Black Cat.
Alice gains a Curse.
Alice gains a Curse.

Rules Questions / Blockade
« on: May 16, 2022, 03:25:56 am »
Do 2 Blockades give my opponent 29 Curses if I gain a Garden and a Curse and they gain a Garden on their turn?

Rules Questions / Re: Inn and Gatekeeper
« on: May 04, 2022, 12:27:59 am »
It used to be that a card that has been covered up cannot be moved by an effect such as Gatekeeper. But this actually changed with the 2019 errata, so now cards in the discard can be moved even if covered up. So “stop moving” rule doesn’t apply and the gained Inn will be exiled unless you shuffled it into your deck. Having another Inn in your discard doesn’t change anything; and when revealing an Inn to shuffle it into your deck you have to specify if you are revealing the new one or the old one.

I mean, I can topdeck Inn with Scavenger without revealing, so he doesn't know whether the Inn in my discard is what I've gained or not, unless I gained it from Black Market.

Rules Questions / Inn and Gatekeeper
« on: May 03, 2022, 07:05:21 pm »
(1) My opponent has played Gatekeeper.
I have an Inn in discard. I gain another.

(a)  I reveal it and shuffle my deck. Nothing will happen.
(b)  I reveal that Inn, shuffle my deck, and Exile what I've gained.

Are both correct?

(c)  I play a Sheepdog as Vassal (using Way), play a discarded Scavenger, and topdeck a Copper. (He doesn't know.) Can I deny Exiling? (Has he lost track?)

Rules Questions / Re: Exact timing of skipping several turns (Lich)
« on: April 14, 2022, 12:18:38 am »
When you play Lich, you take a "-1 Turn token".  Between turns, if you would take a turn, if you have any "-1 Turn tokens", you return one to cancel that turn.

Is it what Lich does?

Rules Questions / Re: Plateau Shepherds + Cost reducer
« on: April 06, 2022, 11:00:54 am »
Cost reducers normally apply to turns, for instance Ferry:

Move your -$2 cost token to an Action Supply pile. (Cards from that pile cost $2 less on your turns, but not less than $0.)
So at the end of the game, when you're tallying points, it's not "your turn" (or anybody's turn) so the cards just have their normal costs.

Highway and Princess say "while this is in play". Duration-Highway (way of the mouse) stays in play even when scoring, I think. Distand Land stays on Tavern Mat when scoring. Old Native Village and Island told you to put your cards on your mat into your deck, but those were for Gardens or Dukes. So when scoring, Duration cards we used on our last turn are in play, I suppose.

Rules Questions / Lich skipping
« on: March 11, 2022, 08:34:16 pm »
What does "skip" mean?

Ex. Alice, Bob, and Cathy are in table.
T1: Alice played Lich.
Bob and Cathy played their turn.

1. Cathy says "Bob, it's your turn."
2. Cathy says "Alice, it's your turn. Oh, you played Lich. Skip your Action, Buy, Night, and Clean-up phase."

This matters when Bob plays a Smuggler. Does he gain something what Alice gained on T1?

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #138: A Revealing Contest
« on: December 22, 2021, 05:51:23 pm »

When something causes you to reveal this (using the word "reveal") you may discard your hand. If you did +5 Cards

Super strong with Shepherd, I think.

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #136: ‘Tis the Season
« on: December 03, 2021, 10:20:57 am »
cost $4 - Action
Trash a card from your hand.
Gain a card costing up to $3 more than it.
Each other player may trash a card from their hand.
If they do, they gain a card costing exactly $1 more than it.

EDIT: cost $3 -> $4. It was too easy to 3-pile out.

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #135: Go Big or Go Home!
« on: November 23, 2021, 09:42:48 am »
Queen's Park
cost $7 - Action
Gain a card costing up to $7 to your hand.

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #134: This is Worthless
« on: November 12, 2021, 03:55:32 am »
Copper Rush
cost 0* - Event
When you buy this, you may overpay for it. For each $1 you overpaid, gain a Copper, setting aside. At the start of your next turn, put those into your hand.

Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: October 02, 2021, 06:33:08 pm »
Border Guard is set aside with Way of the mouse.
I have Lantern, and have a Haunted Woods in play.
I gain a Province.
My opponent plays a Black Cat to play Lantern.
Does she reveal two cards?

(Isn't Lantern's effect different from "during your turns" effect, right?)

Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: September 30, 2021, 11:34:48 pm »
I played an Opulent Castle and discarded a Tunnel.

Am I FORCED to gain a Gold?
(An Opulent Castle forces me to reveal what I discard.)

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #129: In Play
« on: September 29, 2021, 09:44:12 pm »
Warlock by Majiponi
Interesting idea. I can see this being very powerful, the question is how long it takes to set up by getting the right cards onto your Warlock mat. I wonder if this could be a golden deck enabler by getting the right cards onto the Warlock mat.

This is not my card. I just said it needs fixing.

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #129: In Play
« on: September 27, 2021, 07:48:18 pm »

Quote from: Warlock
Warlock -- $5
Action - Night
If it's your Action phase, play a card from your Warlock mat twice, leaving it there.
Otherwise, put a non-Command Action card you would discard from play this turn onto your Warlock mat.[/font]

Sorry this is last minute (I was trying the get the Fan Mechanic Contest judged). Here's my entry: a twist on Necromancer, it puts your Action cards onto a mat, and later lets you throne those Action cards from the mat. Like Mandarin or Monastery, it moves cards that are in play.

You need Command type to stop infinite loops.
You play set aside Warlock to play itself twice, once to play a Smithy, once to play itself twice, ...

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 19, 2021, 11:00:07 am »
This was a tough one!  I'll post the results now, as I'm feeling sleepy now...
I'll post detailed feedbacks later...zzz.

WINNER:xyz123's Shaman

2nd place:Mahowrath's Altruist
3rd place:Boomyday's Orchestra&Instruments

Thank you for all your works, everyone!

Foraging Village
$3 - Action
+1 Card and +1 Action. Trash a card from your hand. If it is a Victory card, trash this and +1 Card. Otherwise, +1 Action per differently named Action card in the trash.
This is similar to Hideout. Instead of gaining Curse, this is one-shot and $3-cost. Interesting, but +1 Action per a trashed Action card won't work well in most games; who wants to trash their precious Action card to help their opponents?

$5 - Treasure
+1 Buy
Choose one: +$2; or +$1 per copy of Commodity in the trash; or trash this for +2 Coffers.

+2 Coffers is nice, but we usually don't like sacrificing $5-cost card. I think the second option rarely works.

When scoring, 1 VP per Action card you have that has a copy in the trash.


$5 - Treasure
Cards in the trash cost $2 less this turn. You may buy a card from the trash.
Setup: add to the trash a random unused Supply pile costing $5, and one Gold per player.

Sounds nice. Maybe you should imply that you can play Treasures before buying.

Junk Shop
$4 - Action
Choose one: Trash 2 cards from your hand, or gain a card costing up to $1 per differently named card in the trash. If it costs more than this, trash this.


$4 - Action
You may trash a card from your hand for +1 Card per differently named non-Zombie Action card in the trash. If it was an Action, +1 Action.
The first time you buy this in a game, trash an Action card from the Supply.

Maybe you should say "differently named Action card trashed in this game in the trash" to go crazy with Shovel and Knights..., but not bad.

Altruist - $5
Action - Duration
Trash any number of Treasures from your hand for +$1 each.
At the start of each of your Buy phases for the rest of the game, you may gain a Treasure from the trash to your hand.
(This stays in play.)

Excellent! This works very well with other trashers like Remodel or Salvager!

Relic Excavators
$4 - Action
Exile a non-Victory card from the Trash. If it is an...
Action card, play it twice from Exile, leaving it there.
Treasure card, +2 Coffers.
Copper, discard all Action cards from your Exile.
(Heirloom: Worn Shovel)

Worn Shovel
$4 - Treasure - Heirloom
Trash a card from your hand. If it is an...
Action card, gain 2 Horses.
Treasure card, +$2, +1 Buy.
Victory card, gain an Action card costing $4 or less.

Too nice for $4.  +2 Coffers is a $5-cost effect.

$4 - Action
+1 Action
Trash a card from your hand.
Choose one: +1 Card; or draw until you have 2 cards in hand for each differently named Treasure in the trash.


$5 - Action
Trash a card from your hand. Gain a card costing up to $2 more than it.
Choose a non-Victory card from the trash. You may Exile it's copy from the Supply.

Good, but I don't see why you gain from the Supply. Just saying "You may Exile a non-Victory card from the trash." isn't simpler?

$4 - Action
Choose one: trash 2 cards from your hand; or look at one card from the top of your deck per card type in the trash. Trash or discard any number of them. Put the rest back in any order.

Wow! Strong Lookout or Doctor! It kills Looters almost completely! Very nice!

Way of the Vulture
Play a non-Command Action or Treasure card from Trash costing less than this, leaving it there.

Fine, but it'll be dead without a trasher.

Book of the Dead
$4 - Project
When you play an Action, if you have no other copies in play and at least one in the trash, play it twice instead.

Zzz...will it work often?

Ritual Tithe
$2P - Victory
Worth 1vp per differently named Treasure in the trash.
When you gain this, you may trash a card from your hand. Gain a Spoils per $1 it costs. Gain a Spoils onto your deck if it has P in its cost.
Heirloom: Chalice

$3P - Treasure - Heirloom
When you discard this from play, +1 Coffers.

Seems interesting, but as other players suggests, Chalice sometimes makes games too swingy.

$4 - Action
Trash a card from your hand, and gain a card costing exactly $1 more from the trash.
Setup: Put the instruments in the trash.

I don't fully understand Orchestra and its Instruments, but they "sound" nice. Great work!

Tomb Defiler
$5 - Action - Attack - Command
Choose 1: Play an non-command Action card in the trash twice; Or Trash a card from your hand. Each other player discards a copy of it, or reveals a hand with no copy of the card.

Fmm... I don't think the first option will be used so often.

Chain Reaction
$2 - Action - Reaction
+1 Card
Trash a card from your hand.
When one of your cards is trashed, you may play this from your hand. If you do, +2 Cards and gain a non-Victory card from the trash.


$5 - Action
Trash this or a card from your hand. If there are no cards in the trash which cost more $ than it, gain a Wish from its pile. Otherwise, gain a card costing exactly $1 more than it.

Nice work.

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 18, 2021, 11:43:46 am »
Submission Closed!
The result will be posted within 48 hours.

Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 09, 2021, 09:56:43 pm »
I don't really see how Thief qualifies, considering that it only cares about what it trashed.

It gains from the trash, not from your opponent's discard pile or revealing zone. So I have to admit that Thief qualifies.

Weekly Design Contest / Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 09, 2021, 08:29:36 pm »
Design a card or a landscape that refers to cards in the trash.

I do like Trash-for-Benefits like Graverobbers and Salvager. Let's enjoy trashing!

Your card has to look at the trash; gaining from it, counting Treasures in it, playing a card in it (leaving there), or a kind of thing is accepted.

Official cards that would qualify include:

Official cards that would not qualify include:
Swindler (it just cares the cost of the trashed card),
Treasure Map (it just cares what you trash),
Possession (it doesn't use the trash)

Oh, I've never imagined I'd got a first prize! We've enjoyed this week's contest. Thank you X-tra!

Contest 128 will be posted within 2 hours.

You are both correct. I don't spend money on Dominion Online (nothing against it, I just vastly prefer in-person play), and I haven't had menagerie for very long, so I didn't realize that card already existed. Sorry folks, I'll think of something new.

Also, just a quick note on how Landscape cards are exceptionally not accepted for this week's contest, sorry!

Castle Town
cost $4 - Action - Reaction
+1 Card
+2 Action
When you trash a card, you may discard this to put that card into your discard pile.

Just to make sure, this is using picture 3, right?
Right. I forgot to write.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 29

Page created in 0.088 seconds with 18 queries.