Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Erick648

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
126
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Each opp. trashes copper or gains curse
« on: July 27, 2015, 07:15:02 pm »
Against an engine deck without trashing, it slowly replaces your opponent's 7 starting Coppers with up to 10 Curses, leaving him with a thinner deck (but costing him money in hand) in between. 

Against an engine deck with strong trashing, it's a straight-up curser, but your opponent will likely be able to deal with the Curses (although the fact that you can chain them increases your chances of breaking his engine if you manage to get several hits in a row; although, if it's a deck drawing engine, he'll have no cards in his discard pile, so he'll draw the Curses last).

It counters Copper trashers (or Copper sifters) like Spice Merchant and Stables pretty hard, but is countered hard by non-Copper trashers (like Jack, which also benefits from the handsize reduction, or Hermit, which suddenly is able to eliminate all your starting cards).

The main comparisons I see are to Cultist (which is also a weakened Laboratory with weak junking that benefits from playing multiples in the same turn) with a bit of Swindler (which often turns Copper into Curses in the early game).

127
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: A Traveller with 2 different routes
« on: July 24, 2015, 12:13:10 pm »
So, i have looked up "Petty", because i felt something was off with the name. Looks like it is usually a negative word, meaning "narrow-minded" or "irrelevant". Not sure that's what you intended.
"Petty" also has a second, more archaic meaning, meaning "small" or "minor" (doubtless related to "petite").  For example, the crime of "petty larceny" (or "petty theft") refers to stealing property worth a small amount of money (as opposed to "grand larceny" or "grand theft," which refers to stealing more valuable property).  Likewise, medieval/fantasy literature often uses the term "petty lord" to refer to a nobleman who isn't part of a great noble house and doesn't have a lot of power (e.g., you have the great lords competing for power, each supported by an array of petty lords).  Admittedly, I've never heard the term used in this way outside of legal or medieval settings.

"Minor lord" might be less ambiguous, but it does lose a bit of the medieval flavor, IMO.  I guess it's a question of whether you want more medieval terminology at the cost of some accessibility to modern readers. 

As for the cards themselves, I love the concept of a Traveler with two routes, as well as the concept of a Traveler that can only be upgraded under certain conditions (similar to Urchin or Hermit).  I haven't playtested the cards yet, so I can't really give a more specific assessment (these cards are unique enough that it's hard, for me at least, to assess them based solely on reading them).

128
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: July 23, 2015, 06:11:18 pm »
We've brought harm to children and politics to Dominion. Now watch the Dominion spinoff we've all been waiting for be the Dominion equivalent of Star Wars Episode 1-3.

Unwanted Follower
$0 Action - Curse - Ruins
Worth: -3VP
Yousa reveal cards of yousa deck until yousa reveals one costing $3 or more.  Yousa trashes that card and be discardin' da rest.  If yousa do, place desa card in anodda playa's discard pile.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
When yousa trashin' desa, place it in yousa discard pile.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
When yousa be gainin' desa, place it in anodda playa's discard pile.

129
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 23, 2015, 06:04:50 pm »
Here's another quick challenge. Gain a Gold in 2 turns. I can think of many ways so far. Solo play, no P2.

Turn one, draw five coppers, baker or borrow is on the board.
Or draw four coppers, Baker and Borrow are on the board.

130
Rules Questions / Re: Are 'Reaction' cards considered Action cards?
« on: July 23, 2015, 01:07:37 pm »
Just to clarify a bit further, there are no sub-types in Dominion.  While people tend to think of Action, Treasure, Victory, and Curse as the "main" types because all cards (except Hovel) fit into at least one of them and because several cards (e.g. Ironworks) expressly reference the Action, Treasure, and Victory types, that doesn't mean that the other types are subsets of those types.  The words listed at the bottom of its card are the complete list of its types (unless something like Inheritance changes those types).  Thus, Inheritance's "non-Victory Action card" requirement simply asks whether the bottom of the card says "Action" and does not say "Victory."  Any other types listed don't matter.

Wow, if Inheritance covered Victory cards, that would be really really good, like brokenly good. Every Estate is also an Island? That's a $2 Duchy that removes itself from the game!
IIRC, DXV gave that as the reason why it doesn't cover Victory cards: "it was too automatic" to use it on Action-Victory cards if they were available.

131
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 21, 2015, 11:00:32 pm »
Caravan Guard in response to Relic?
Yep.

132
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 21, 2015, 10:35:43 pm »
We all know the ways to play a Treasure card during an Action phase, but how does one play an Action card during a Buy phase?

133
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Asper's Cards
« on: July 21, 2015, 09:22:44 pm »
I like Research as well.  I love cards that add to reliability.  However, it looks like you can make a Golden Deck with no other Kingdom cards using Potion-Potion-Gold-Gold-Gold.  You can also add a third Potion and Kingdom cards if it's more convenient (e.g., Smithy + Silver x4 + Potion x3, Mystic x2 + Silver x2 + Potion x3, Village + Conspirator x4 + Potion x2, etc.). 

I'm not sure this is necessarily a red flag since most of these take some effort to build (or at least some good trashing to get the right hand in the first place), but I think it's something that should be watched for in playtesting.  If it proves troublesome, you can always kill it by adding a "once per turn" limit, which prevents you from topdecking your Potions (unless, of course, you topdeck only your Potions, which probably isn't terribly useful).  You could still topdeck a stack of Labs or Hunting Parties or other one-card-engine cards, but then you'd still need to draw your Potion regularly.

Interestingly, Research actually has some synergy with Alchemist: use your Potion to topdeck your Alchemists, then use Research to topdeck your Potion.  This is especially useful because in many games you don't have anything to spend your Potion on once the Alchemists are gone, making Research effectively free.

134
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: July 17, 2015, 12:00:44 am »
Police
$6 Reaction
When another player plays an attack card, you may discard this from your hand.  If you do, you are unaffected by that attack, trash that attack card, and the player who played it ends his turn and loses his next turn.

Lawyer
$3 Action - Reaction
You may play an attack card.  If you do, it loses the Attack type.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
When another player's card affects you, you may reveal this from your hand.  If you do, that card gains the Attack type and counts as having been played, and the effect that affects you counts as an on-play effect.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
When another player reveals a Lawyer from his hand, you may reveal this from your hand to make that Lawyer have no effect.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
When you reveal this from your hand, you may trash a treasure from your hand.  If you don't, return this to the supply.

Yes, it is a rules nightmare. Kind of ironic, actually.

135
Rules Questions / Re: +Card token and when-you-play
« on: May 03, 2015, 10:04:11 pm »
I'm guessing this applies to Reserve cards as well, since they remove themselves from play, correct?  I'm also guessing that if you Throne BoM, playing it first as a Feast and then as a Reserve card, it moves from the trash to your Tavern mat, but this doesn't count as "gaining," correct (even though it's yours again for purposes of Gardens/Vineyards)? 
BoM as Reserve card expects to see itself in play, because played cards are put into play. It didn't make it into play so it fails to move to the Tavern mat.

"Lose track" should list "failing to move" as a reason for losing track.
Ah, I didn't realize it could lose track of itself due to its own effect.  Now that I see the reasoning behind Mining Village (that cards can lose track of themselves due to being moved by their own effects, as long as its not the effect of the same play), it makes sense (I'd always assumed you didn't get $2 for the second Mining Village because you can't trash a card that's already in the trash).

136
I really like the Peasant line because being able to add any vanilla bonus to any Action card is just fun (Disciple and Fugitive are fun cards, too, which I kind of wish could be normal Kingdom cards).  This is probably my favorite expansion; lots of interesting new mechanics.

137
Rules Questions / Re: +Card token and when-you-play
« on: May 03, 2015, 12:15:44 am »
Quote
* If you use Throne Room on Band of Misfits, choosing to play Band of Misfits as a self-trashing card (for example, Feast), the Band of Misfits will be in the trash after the first play as Feast, meaning it has left play.  Throne Room then plays Band of Misfits again, allowing you to make a new choice as to what Band of Misfits should emulate.  However, since Band of Misfits is in the trash, you will only get the on-play effects of the emulated card.  Similar logic applies to one-shots that do not trash themselves, but still leave play, such as Island.
I'm guessing this applies to Reserve cards as well, since they remove themselves from play, correct?  I'm also guessing that if you Throne BoM, playing it first as a Feast and then as a Reserve card, it moves from the trash to your Tavern mat, but this doesn't count as "gaining," correct (even though it's yours again for purposes of Gardens/Vineyards)? 

For that matter, if you King's Court BoM, playing it as Mining Village, Guide, and Mining Village (choosing to trash Mining Village each time), do you get $4 (I'm guessing the second trashing counts because it's on your Tavern mat rather than in the trash, in contrast to Throning Mining Village where it's already in the trash on the second play)?

138
Some I've encountered in Adventures:

Market Square-Bonfire:  Market Square works nicely with any trasher, but the nice thing about Bonfire is it's always available, so you don't need to collide your Market Square with your trasher; you just need to collide it with $3.  I wonder how double-Market Square compares to Market Square-Silver (assuming no stronger openers are available).

Bridge/Highway/Bridge Troll/Ferry-Inheritance: Now you can inherit more expensive cards (note, however, that the cost reduction doesn't affect the cost of Inheritance itself).  Ferry is particularly effective since you don't need to collide it with your $7 hand.  As an added bonus, Estates are often free in games with cost reducers (except Ferry).  Of course, even when this combo's available, the delay might not be worth it, but it can still be very helpful on the right board (i.e., a longer game with strong $5 cards and weak $1-4 cards). 
Note that I didn't mention Princess with the other cost reducers because I imagine that would almost never be fast enough to be useful.

139
Dominion Articles / Re: The Haiku Card Challenge
« on: March 30, 2015, 12:45:19 pm »
Tactician
An autumn harvest
Means a sacrifice in spring
Unless you cheat it

140
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: March 23, 2015, 10:42:11 pm »
Rat King's Fortress
Action - $4
+3 Cards
+3 Actions
Gain a Rat King's Fortress.
Do this three times: Trash a card from your hand that is not a Rat King's Fortress (or reveal a hand of all Rat King's Fortresses).
                                                                                     
When you trash this, put it in your hand.

Note: There are 60 copies of this card in the Supply.

141
Dominion General Discussion / Re: List of card art avatars
« on: March 23, 2015, 06:50:05 pm »
Hey, all!  I've been lurking here for a while, but just decided to make an account.  I'm using King's Court (blue-robed scribe).

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]

Page created in 0.174 seconds with 19 queries.