Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Jimmmmm

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 ... 362 363 [364] 365 366 ... 382
9076
Game Reports / Two Hail Mary Comebacks
« on: November 10, 2012, 09:17:56 am »
Just played two games in a row in which I was dead in the water, realised that my only hope was to try something a little bit different, and to my surprise pulled it off. Unsurprisingly, both had King's Courts.

In the first game I opened Council Room/nothing, hoping to pull in an early King's Court before trashing away all my starting cards. That clearly didn't work, and my opponent was King's Courting well before me. By turn 13, he had a 2-Province lead, and I was still putting my engine together. Turn 14 I had $15, plenty of buys, and a choice. I could follow him into the Provinces and likely be following him for the rest of the game, or I could buy more King's Courts and stuff and hope for a big mega-turn. Instead, I decided to trash all my treasure, Remaking my 3 Silvers into Barons, and my Gold into a King's Court. With my remaining $6, I bought back some Estates. My opponent responded by buying 2 more Provinces and a Smithy. Fortunately, I then managed to King's Court all three of my Barons, discarding 6 Estates and gaining 3, giving me enough money to buy out the rest of the Provinces and win by 4 Estates.

In the second game, my opponent bought the first Province of the game in turn 10 and already had a handy lead from his Monuments. Seeing as the only source of +Buy on the board was Contraband, there was no way I was going to catch up in the Province race. So I decided to forgo buying Provinces altogether, and bought a Contraband. I then put together a King's Court/Envoy/Oracle/Monument engine (Oracle was necessary after I realised Envoy can't draw your whole deck) that was netting me 10-20 VP/turn, and as I had hoped, his deck slowed down enough that he couldn't finish the game before I caught up to him. Fortunately for me, he kept prohibiting me from buying Victory Cards, allowing me to buy two engine pieces per turn until I had 7 Monuments and was King's Courting all of them nearly every turn. I finally bought the last Province when I was confident I had the lead.

In both games I was frustrated early and thought I had lost, but they just reminded me that quite often there's a different way of going about things that can bring the odds back in your favour.

9077
General Discussion / Re: What's your username mean
« on: October 30, 2012, 01:46:55 am »
Mine is basically my name, which is Robby. My little brother (well, he's 20) always called me Robs, but the "z" gives me more credibility on the streets. The "8s" are the truly neat part, though; my birth date is 8-8-88.

I blogged under "Robz888" on a fan site for the TV show "Lost." (The wesbite was darkufo.blogspot.com, and has become an excellent general TV forum called SpoilerTV.) Eventually, this just became my nickname for forums in general.

Nice thread, by the way!

+1 for Lost.

9078
Anyone know how iso/DougZ codes this interaction?

Not sure, but I know I once finished a game with 11 Schemes.

9079
General Discussion / Re: Winter
« on: October 28, 2012, 06:41:15 pm »
Just heading into Summer here. :)

9080
Dominion General Discussion / Re: All reactions in 1 kingdom
« on: October 27, 2012, 09:51:45 am »
Just noticed that Trader and Market Square seem to work well together. MS gives you the buys to grab heaps of Coppers that actually turn out to be Silvers, and trashing an Estate or Silver giving you two extra Silvers and a Gold or two has got to be a pretty good deal. And that's your economy dealt with, so you can spend all your buys on more Market Squares and a couple more Traders.

9081
General Discussion / Re: What's your username mean
« on: October 26, 2012, 08:26:07 pm »
I was feeling particularly non-creative when I signed up for iso, and Jim was taken so I added a few extra 'm's.

9082
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Minister
« on: October 26, 2012, 06:43:07 am »
Well I thought the Action had to be relatively weak, because of how strong the Reaction can be. Here's my second version:

Minister
Action - Reaction
Cost: $5

+ 1 Card
+ 1 Action

Look at the top card of your deck. Trash it, discard it or put it on top of your deck. If you trashed it, you may gain a card costing less than the trashed card.
-----
When one of your cards is trashed, you may reveal this from your hand. If you do, put the trashed card in your hand. If the trashed card costs $6 or more, trash this. Otherwise, discard this.

9083
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Minister
« on: October 23, 2012, 04:53:18 pm »
Yeah my thought was that maybe the action part wasn't good enough to justify buying it in the absence of a good trash-for-benefit card. Maybe if I added +1 Card and made it $5. That makes the action fairly comparable to Upgrade (at least when you're trashing Coppers with it), except it gives you less control over what you trash, but doesn't cost you a spot in your hand.

Edit: Or what about something like, "If you trashed it, you may gain a card cheaper than than the trashed card."

9084
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Pure treasure deck!?
« on: October 22, 2012, 05:29:06 pm »
OK, I see how to buy them all in one turn

You get precisely $64 and 8 buys.  Wow, that's cool!

Have a hand of five Ventures.
Play a Venture1 from your hand, draw and play venture, draw and play venture, ... , and so on until 6 Ventures are in play and then draw and play Counterfeit.

Play Venture2 from your hand, drawing and playing Contraband and then Counterfeit.

Play Venture3 from your hand, drawing and playing Contraband and then Counterfeit.

Play Venture4 from your hand, drawing and playing Contraband and then Counterfeit.

Play Venture5 from your hand, drawing and playing two Banks.

None of these treasures are trashed until after the second Bank is played by this ordering.

$14 from Venture
$4 from Counterfeit
$9 from Contraband
$18 from Bank1
$19 from Bank2

$64 total.

1 base buy, +4 buys from Counterfeit, +3 buys from Contraband.

By the way, it's not possible using treasure alone to get Horn of Plenty up to $8.


Neat.  I have no interest in finding the quickest way to build up to this turn, however.

Nice! I was almost there, just didn't think to put the Banks in the right place so the others weren't trashed.

9085
Rules Questions / Re: Watchtower and the lose track rule
« on: October 22, 2012, 04:35:22 pm »
What do you know, the article on the front page of Dominion Strategy is wrong. Guess I should read the actual cards then...

9086
Rules Questions / Re: Watchtower and the lose track rule
« on: October 22, 2012, 01:01:26 pm »
To the great annoyance to those of us with a little OCD, Catacombs, Cultist, Feodum, Fortress, Squire and Overgrown Estate read "When you trash this", while Hunting Grounds, Rats and Sir Vander read "When this is trashed". It'd be nice if Guilds gave a reason for this seemingly unnecessary difference in wording.

9087
Rules Questions / Re: Watchtower and the lose track rule
« on: October 22, 2012, 12:36:59 pm »
As far as I know, there's no way to trash card that is not yours. Am I wrong?

Agreed. Though the way Market Square is worded makes me wonder if there's going to be a trash-from-supply card or the like coming up in Guilds.

I'm not sure exactly what you mean, but "trashing a card that is not yours" happens frequently if we're taking that statement literally (Swindler, Saboteur, the Knights and Dames, maybe some more I'm not thinking of).

Do you mean "trash a card that's in the supply that's not yours" or "trash a card that is about to become yours but isn't really yours yet"? I'm not trying to split hairs, I just don't think it's clear from what you're saying.

No, when an opponent plays a trashing attack, you trash your own card. Swindler: "Each other player trashes the top card of his deck", Saboteur: "He trashes that card", Knights: "Each other player... trashes one of them". So regardless of whether you want to, or who plays the card which initiates it, the only cards you can trash are your own.

9088
Rules Questions / Re: Watchtower and the lose track rule
« on: October 22, 2012, 12:15:43 pm »
As far as I know, there's no way to trash a card that is not yours. Am I wrong?

9089
Variants and Fan Cards / Minister
« on: October 22, 2012, 12:09:44 pm »
Minister
Action - Reaction
Cost: $4

+ 1 Action

Look at the top card of your deck. Trash it, discard it or put it on top of your deck.
-----
When one of your cards is trashed, you may reveal this from your hand. If you do, put the trashed card in your hand. If the trashed card costs $6 or more, trash this. Otherwise, discard this.



Thoughts?

9090
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Pure treasure deck!?
« on: October 22, 2012, 06:21:46 am »
I though I had it until I realised Bank doesn't count Treasures that have been trashed.

You don't have to trash to Counterfeit - just use it for +Buy.

I doubt you will have enough coins to buy Provinces

Yeah if you just want the +buys you may as well use Contraband. I think you really want Counterfeit in order to play more treasures.

9091
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Pure treasure deck!?
« on: October 21, 2012, 10:45:10 am »
I though I had it until I realised Bank doesn't count Treasures that have been trashed.

9092
Game Reports / Re: Dear My Opponent: I am Sorry
« on: October 20, 2012, 07:27:30 pm »
Dear irata,
I'm sorry I got literally perfect shuffle luck for a Chapel/Bishop golden deck.

Open Chapel/Silver.

Turn 3: Chapel, Copper, Estate, Estate, Estate => trash Copper and 3 Estates.
Turn 4: Silver, Copper, Copper, Copper, Copper => buy Gold.
Turn 5: Gold, Silver, Copper, Copper, Copper => buy Bishop (and trash Copper to opponent's Bishop).
Turn 6: Chapel, Copper, Copper, Copper, Copper => trash 4 Coppers.
Turn 7: Bishop, Chapel, Gold, Silver, Copper => trash Chapel, buy Gold.
Turn 8: Bishop, Gold, Gold, Silver, Copper => trash Copper, buy Province => Golden deck.

Seriously, how often do you draw your Chapel with a Copper and three Estates on turn 3, and again with 4 Coppers on turn 6?

9093
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: A card idea I've been working on
« on: October 19, 2012, 11:13:00 am »
I'd also agree though that gaining to the bottom of your deck is an idea that Dominion hasn't really explored yet, and is actually very interesting.

It'd be nice to have something to combo with Pearl Diver.

9094
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Bishoping VP Cards
« on: October 18, 2012, 09:00:38 pm »
Case in point.

My opponent gains four Bishops on turns 3, 5, 6 and 17 and ends up with a total of 19 VP tokens.

I gain a total of one Bishop on turn 12 and get 30 VP tokens from it.
Well, this is more an effect of his entire strategy being substantially dumb.

Well there's that.

9095
Dark Ages Previews / Re: Dark Ages combo ideas
« on: October 18, 2012, 03:39:58 am »
I haven't really played with Counterfeit yet, but I kind of see it as a better Moneylender in the early game and a Salvager that only works on Treasure in the late game. Does its price mean it's worse than Moneylender for Copper-trashing?

9096
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Bishoping VP Cards
« on: October 17, 2012, 06:22:22 am »
Case in point.

My opponent gains four Bishops on turns 3, 5, 6 and 17 and ends up with a total of 19 VP tokens.

I gain a total of one Bishop on turn 12 and get 30 VP tokens from it.

9097
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Dethroned
« on: October 16, 2012, 12:33:57 pm »
I was really hoping for:

Dethroned Room:
Choose an action.  Play it 0 times.

Normal Room:
Choose an action in your hand. Play it once.

That could get pretty crazy if you chain them.

9098
Rules Questions / Re: Possession + Fortress
« on: October 15, 2012, 01:50:33 am »
Thanks. I considered the whole "you choose the order" thing, but thought that it didn't makes sense. Turns out I was wrong.

9099
Rules Questions / Possession + Fortress
« on: October 14, 2012, 11:25:46 pm »
What happens when you trash a Fortress on a Possession turn? Possession wants to set Fortress aside, but Fortress wants to be put into your hand. Which one takes priority?

I guess this might be important: in the text of Possession, what does "are trashed" mean?
Does it mean:
A) any cards that are (still) trashed (present tense adjective) at the end of the turn (ie not including Fortress); or
B) any cards that are trashed (past tense verb) at any point?

When are the trashed cards set aside? Is it when they are trashed or at the end of the turn? Are the cards:
C) "[set aside and returned to his discard pile] at end of turn"; or
D) "[set aside (when trashed)] and [returned to his discard pile at end of turn]"?

I suspect it's D, since C would mean that while Possessing someone you could make them trash a card then Graverob it, and take it for yourself.
But that means that for Fortress the setting aside happens at the same time as the putting in hand. So again, which one takes priority?

9100
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Bishoping VP Cards
« on: October 14, 2012, 05:41:56 pm »
Early-game, the VP advantage of Bishop vs. no Bishop is extremely strong

But SO bad for your economy. Sure, it's not that bad when you trash your Estates, but when you trash a copper, it's effectively a Monument for no coins. Much better to get the Bishop later and gather VP chips faster with your more expensive deck.

Pages: 1 ... 362 363 [364] 365 366 ... 382

Page created in 0.167 seconds with 19 queries.