Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - chipperMDW

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12]
276
Dominion General Discussion / Re: CARD OF THE WEEK #3: Moat
« on: April 07, 2015, 09:07:01 pm »
There's also no way to ensure that Moat will even adequately defend against an opponent attack because it has to appear in the initial 5-card hand for its reaction to work. +card durations do not alleviate this at all because they don't draw in the clean-up phase. Cards such as Courtyard, Mandarin, or Count can top-deck Moat from hand to hand, but of course these are all terminal. Top-of-deck sifters such as Cartographer, Apothecary, or Scout can increase the likelihood of Moat being in the next hand. There's also Scheme, but that requires having played the Moat.
Expedition is another thing that would increase the chances of seeing Moat in your starting hand.

277
EDIT 2015-04-07: I was wrong! Something in the new expansion Adventures triggers on drawing a card, namely the removal of a token from your deck. It has been confirmed that Library actually draws you cards, so I'll have to change this at some point.
Oh, good, you noticed. I was just coming here to point it out!

By the way, your definition for Black Market says "You may buy one of the revealed cards," but your definition of "buy a card" is only in terms of selecting and buying cards from the tops of supply piles; nothing says what it means to buy one of a set of individual cards that aren't in the supply. I know that's being especially precise, but I guess that's the whole point of your project.

And nice job!

278
My recommendation is to hold back showing ... Witch at first.
This was probably implied, but I guess you might also want to bend the rules and leave out Curses entirely until the first time people see Witch or something else that would make them relevant.

279
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #5 - Lost Arts, Borrow, Inheritance
« on: April 05, 2015, 10:18:14 pm »
Borrow: Now, this is a nice card. So, for the rest of the game, I essentially have a coin token available to me, but with the drawback of not being able to buy a card.
But it doesn't really cost you the ability to buy a card, does it? I mean, you have to use a Buy to get its effect, but then it gives you the +1 Buy back. So it's like a "buytrip."

280
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #5 - Lost Arts, Borrow, Inheritance
« on: April 04, 2015, 11:09:05 am »
Let's say that Transmute is referring to the state of the card at the moment it checks (like Procession); thus it will no longer be your Estate with all that means.
Does this apply to all "Trash for X" cards? For example with a Quarry in play your inherited Scouts are worth 0, so if they get swindled, you may end up with a Curse. And if you Salvage them, you get +0$.
Actually, according to what Donald said last, it should mean the reverse.  If the Estate is no longer yours when Swindler checks its cost, it's no longer an action card, so it just a regular $2 Estate again, and Swindler's giving you a $2... maybe another Estate that turns into a $0 Estate-Scout once it's back in your possession.

And Salvager would give +$2 even though the card was a $0 when you trashed it.

Note also that his latest response means, with regards to your earlier question, your initial guess was correct: if you Transmute an Estate-Scout, it's not yours anymore when Transmute checks it, so it's just a victory card and you only get a Gold, not the Duchy+Gold he initially told you.


Personally, I've always hated the rule that said Procession was supposed to follow its trashed cards around who-knows-where to see whether or not they had turned back into Band of Misfits. (Like some kind of "Keep Track At All Costs" rule.) Looks like Inheritance will bring that rule into play a lot more often, and many trashers will now have to follow their cards around to see whether they've changed types or, with Quarry, costs.

281
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #5 - Lost Arts, Borrow, Inheritance
« on: April 03, 2015, 04:08:34 pm »
*ish too lazy to read the whole thread* So wait, with Borrow does this mean you get an extra coin in your buy phase in exchange for drawing one fewer card next turn? Or the whole game?
Next time you draw cards.

So it's a one-time thing, right? That's mostly what I was wondering. Is there any time when "next time you draw cards" wouldn't be cleanup phase?
If you bought a Rats and used Watchtower to trash it.

282
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #5 - Lost Arts, Borrow, Inheritance
« on: April 03, 2015, 02:24:01 pm »
So to clarify: If I transmute Estate-Scout do I gain Gold+Transmute? I suppose not, because the card is already in the trash when the second part of Transmute is resolved. However when I trash Estate-Fortress, it goes back to my hand, doesn't it?
If you Inheritance Scouts and then Transmute an Estate, it was an Action-Victory card, so you gain a Duchy and a Gold.
The rules for Band of Misfits say when you use Procession on it and play it as, e.g., Fortress, you "gain an Action card costing exactly $6 ($1 more than Band of Misfits, which has left play and so is no longer copying Fortress)." So there, you don't care about what a thing was at the time it was trashed, but what it is at the time you're evaluating the instruction.

But here, you say you do care about what a thing was when it was trashed.

What's the difference? Do you check costs at the time of evaluation, but types at the time of trashing?

283
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #5 - Lost Arts, Borrow, Inheritance
« on: April 03, 2015, 11:45:39 am »
The token only affects drawing, with the additional caveat that Envoy is misworded and does not draw those cards.
How about Library?  Is it serious about the word "draw"?  It's a weird kind of drawing that doesn't happen anywhere else, so I always thought of it as more like: "look at a card, maybe put it into your hand, maybe do something else," since that's how everything else does stuff like that.  Like, maybe Library it was released too early to have gotten that wording or something.

But now I'm guessing that, since it does say "draw" and you didn't mention it just now, it's probably really and truly drawing, and it's just weird.

Luckily, I don't think there's any confusion there. The token is not an Action card, so it just gets "drawn", a.k.a. removed, and then you go on with the rest of Library.
Well, if Library is really drawing, then it works like all the other draw-up-to-X cards and effectively counters the token. If it's not (for whatever reason), then it leaves the token alone.

284
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #5 - Lost Arts, Borrow, Inheritance
« on: April 03, 2015, 11:33:37 am »
The token only affects drawing, with the additional caveat that Envoy is misworded and does not draw those cards.
How about Library?  Is it serious about the word "draw"?  It's a weird kind of drawing that doesn't happen anywhere else, so I always thought of it as more like: "look at a card, maybe put it into your hand, maybe do something else," since that's how everything else does stuff like that.  Like, maybe Library was released too early to have gotten that wording or something.

But now I'm guessing that, since it does say "draw" and you didn't mention it just now, it's probably really and truly drawing, and it's just weird.

285
Adventures Previews / Re: Preview: Messenger
« on: April 02, 2015, 11:58:57 am »
I think I can see how this combos with Scout.

286
  Wharf doesn't resolve until I've gotten my +2 Cards/+1 Buy on my next turn.

This is wrong. Wharf is completely resolved right after you play it. The thing it does when it resolves is to give you 2 cards and a buy now, and to give you 2 cards and a buy at the start of your next turn. It's not still being resolved on your next turn.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Think of it like this: the game has these event-triggered "thingies" that say "When X happens, do Y."

Sometimes, one of those thingies lives on a card and it's always there.  Like with Border Village.  "When you gain this, gain something cheaper."  That's easy.

But, sometimes, something creates one of those thingies out of thin air, and, since the thingy doesn't live on a card, it kinda floats around waiting to be triggered. That's what Wharf does.  When you play it, it gives you +2 Cards and +1 Buy, then it creates a floating thingy that says, "At the start of your next turn, +2 Cards and +1 Buy."  Then Wharf is done; it's resolved (and you can Coin of the Realm it), but the thingy it made is still floating around. Later, an event (the start of your next turn) makes that floating thingy trigger (giving you +2 Cards and +1 Buy).  And, since that event can only happen once (you only have one "next" turn), the thingy can't trigger anymore, so it's effectively gone.

(That's why duration cards usually stay out, by the way: as a courtesy to remind you that they made an invisible floating thingy that's still hanging around waiting to be taken care of.)

Prince also makes one of those floating thingies.  But, unlike Wharf's thingy, Prince's thingy triggers on an event that can recur (the start of each of your turns), so it sticks around (potentially) forever.  But, similar to the Wharf case, Prince was finished resolving after he initially created the perpetual thingy, so you can Coin of the Realm him, too.

287
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Adventures^^
« on: March 09, 2015, 06:27:41 pm »
Events are things you can buy that are not cards.
I'm still quite confident in what I guessed. ... Events can be bought like the other cards ...
This is the contradiction I can't reconcile.

But maybe I'm just being pedantic and we're actually all on the same page, i.e. we think Events will be printed on cards and the playtesters are just emphasizing that they aren't "compatible" with cards we've seen before.
I figure Events will be cards only in the sense that the Trash Pile Card is a card. They won't be cards in the sense of things that go into your deck during a game. I'm guessing they'll be printed with different backs, too.

By the way, the Adventures blurb actually says that Event cards give you something to buy besides cards. Which isn't confusing at all.

288
Dominion General Discussion / Re: List of card art avatars
« on: March 09, 2015, 03:48:45 pm »
I thought about claiming the artwork of some guys working in a cave, but I figured everyone else would just say, "Hey, that's Mine!"

289
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: March 09, 2015, 03:21:50 pm »
Play Highway, Play Haggler, Play Gold, Play Talisman.

Buy Sir Michael.
Choose to resolve Talisman's on Buy effect first.
Gain Sir Michael. (reveal Sir Martin)
Resolve Haggler's on Buy effect.
Gain Sir Martin.
Yup, that's it!

(And the buy does indeed "fizzle.")

290
Some relevant older quotes on this topic:

Silver isn't awful, and the game has this "only play one action per turn" rule. Those both seem like good things, but together they lead to, sometimes you can do well without many actions. Not playing many actions is just one of the basic solutions to only being able to play one per turn. There are other solutions though, and the main set has them: I can play lots of +1 action cards like Lab, I can play Village and more terminals, I can play Remodels and Remodel Remodel, I can go for Gardens and just live with lots of terminals.

Playing one action per turn is extremely simple and opens the door for making cards like Village and Spy (and less obviously, Remodel and Vault and Bank and Gardens).

291
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: March 09, 2015, 02:43:43 pm »
Okay so, buy Dame Anna or whoever with Haggler, gain Squire from Haggler, trash Squire with Watchtower, gain… no, Dame Anna is still on top, so you gain her from the Squire and then your buy… fizzles? I'm actually not sure what happens in this situation, but the buy fizzling seems more likely than it being transferred to the next Knight down.
Then play 2 Hagglers.
That works!

There's a trickier solution that doesn't use Squire, though.

292
"Spammable Terminals" isn't quite right.
How about "Soft Terminals"? Like, they can collide, but it's not too bad.

And the other ones would be "Hard Terminals."

293
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: March 09, 2015, 09:30:29 am »
Buying a non-Martin knight with Haggler in play, revealing Martin, gaining Martin off Haggler.
That's a partial solution, but not quite sufficient. You'd resolve the Haggler's effect before you gained the top Knight, so Sir Martin wouldn't be available to gain yet. You need a component or two more to make it work.

294
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: March 09, 2015, 02:35:51 am »
During my buy phase, I buy one Knight and, as a result, I gain the top two cards from the Knights pile.

How?

295
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Village of Smithies
« on: March 07, 2015, 01:56:24 pm »
Why are you phrasing it that way instead of as a "choose one"?
You need an "if you do" to prevent you from getting the +3 Cards if you choose not to discard an action card. It's pretty awkward to put the "if you do" part in there if you also use the "choose one" phrasing. It'd have to be "Choose one: You may discard a card and, if you do, +3 Cards; or +1 Action."

The "You may ... If you do ... Otherwise" phrasing is also consistent with Baron and Explorer.

296
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Village of Smithies
« on: March 05, 2015, 07:56:49 pm »
Instead of playing an action card without it doing anything, isn't it simpler to put an action card into the play area without playing it?

Perhaps:

+1 Action
+$1
You may put an action card from your hand into play. If you did, +3 Cards. Otherwise, +1 Action.

Maybe a (parenthetical) "without playing it" if you want to further clarify.

That's basically the same as the "set aside" version (ignoring Peddler, etc.), but it doesn't need the extra wording about when to discard it.

Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12]

Page created in 0.101 seconds with 19 queries.