Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - chipperMDW

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12
Rules Questions / Re: Caravan Guard - Reaction and +1 Action Timing
« on: January 16, 2019, 11:47:24 pm »
The card actually says +1 Action has no effect if it's not your turn. If that's true, you don't even get the normally useless action.

Rules Questions / Re: Procession a Band of Misfits-as-Catacombs
« on: January 13, 2019, 02:53:30 pm »
Duplicate, Groundskeeper, Academy, etc, are in another category. They only trigger when a specific kind of card is gained. They never look back at what a card was.

But since an ability may not become available to trigger (indeed, may not even exist (e.g. with BoM)) until long after the triggering gain (as a result of other abilities triggered by that gain), checking the trigger condition at that point necessarily involves checking the gained card at the time of the gain, which is in the past. Right?

Rules Questions / Re: Procession a Band of Misfits-as-Catacombs
« on: January 12, 2019, 11:38:23 am »
Generally, card wordings refer to the "current state" of a card (itself or another), with minimal exceptions (I mentioned Ritual, Jeebus added Treasure Map).

From another thread:
Duplicate looks for a card costing up to $6 being gained, which didn't happen, so you can't use it.

I think that means this type of card (those that check the state of a card at the time their triggering event occurred) can also be added to this list of cards that look at the past.

Rules Questions / Re: Hands of non-Fleet players
« on: January 10, 2019, 10:02:28 am »
During the Fleet turn, do the non-Fleet players keep the hands they drew in their last Clean-up? This matter for Moating etc.
Yes, they're still fully in the game, just not getting a turn.
So Smugglers and Treasure Hunter look at the last turn they really had and not the Fleet turn they skipped, right?

Rules Questions / Re: Procession a Band of Misfits-as-Catacombs
« on: January 09, 2019, 01:32:47 pm »
Generally, card wordings refer to the "current state" of a card (itself or another), with minimal exceptions (I mentioned Ritual, Jeebus added Treasure Map).

I'd throw Smugglers in there, too, even though it's slightly different.

Rules Questions / Re: Spend Coffers tokens at any time
« on: January 06, 2019, 07:10:50 pm »
That thread was based on an earlier discussion where this was made clear, but I'm not sure what thread that was.

You may mean the one that Gendo linked to in his reply in this thread.

Rules Questions / Re: Throned Enchantress
« on: January 05, 2019, 11:49:04 pm »
"Following Y's instructions" isn't still occurring, and that's the problem. It doesn't say to "replace" Y's instructions with Z, then execute Y's now-changed instructions, it says to ignore Y's instructions entirely and do the entirely unrelated thing Z. Ignoring the instructions and getting +1 Card +1 Action are completely independent events. The former event can't stack, but the latter arguably can.

So, I wouldn't call "ignoring the instructions" an event; I'd call that, like, an event failing to occur. And I'd say the word "instead" creates a dependency between the event that would have occurred and the event that is to occur in its stead. If the first event would no longer occur, then it has no stead in which another event can occur.

(They are, of course, separate events in that, like, Ironworks doesn't think it gained a Silver when you use Trader to replace its gain.)

The most relevant comparison is with Swamp Hag. "Gain a Curse when you buy something" stacks, so there's no reason not to think "+1 Card and +1 Action when you play your first Action card" doesn't as well.

The big difference here is that Swamp Hag never uses the word "instead," so it never replaces one event with another; it just tacks on a new event after the event that triggered it.

Imagine a Bog Hag that says "the first time any other player would gain a card on their turn, they gain a Curse instead." If you played two Bog Hags and your opponent gained a card, then that effect would not stack because there's only one (first) gain event in whose stead another event could occur. (Ninja'd.)

Rules Questions / Re: Throned Enchantress
« on: January 05, 2019, 08:34:47 pm »
It seems to me that the clearest interpretation consistent with other Dominion rulings is that +1 Card, +1 Action should take place twice, i.e. it should act like a Lost City. (This of course is not what anyone plays.)

Consistent with what other rulings? There are very few things in Dominion that cancel an event that's about to occur and replace it with another event. Besides Enchantress, I count Trader and Possession. (Maybe Fleet.)

After revealing Trader to replace "gaining an X" with "gaining a Silver," nobody assumes that the original "gain an X" is still occurring for the purpose of being able to reveal a Trader again to gain a second Silver (and so on, ad infinitum).

So why should it be different with Enchantress? After one Enchantress replaces "following Y's instructions" with "+1 card; +1 action," why should one assume that "following Y's instructions" is still occurring for the purpose of having a second Enchantress effect replace it?

(In M:tG, this kind of thing is called a replacement effect. You can't "double replace" an event there, either.)

Dominion Articles / Re: The Top 20 Best Designed Cards
« on: January 04, 2019, 11:15:29 am »
Is Council Room still the only +Cards with +Buy?  That is a cute and subtle point of power for Council Room, and instructive too.

Ranger, Margrave, Tragic Hero, Silk Merchant. Wharf. Powered-up City. Tactician if you want to count that.

In a 3-player IRL game today, I passed a Province when someone else played Masquerade in order to have all unique cards in my hand for Menagerie to kick off my engine so I could buy the last two Provinces. Otherwise my engine would have stalled that turn.

How confident were you that you weren't going to get passed a duplicate?

They were all on the Tavern mat.

Rules Questions / Re: Fleet extra turns
« on: December 23, 2018, 01:12:29 pm »
Just to check the corner case on the corner case, am I right that if someone plays Possession during the Fleet round and makes the Possessed player buy Fleet, the Possessed player does then get a Fleet turn

No, this was answered by Donald earlier in this thread.

Although I guess I didn't ask enough to determine exactly when it's too late to buy Fleet meaningfully. Based on the wording on Fleet, I assume it's "after a turn has ended with a game end condition being met." But it might also be "after a player's turn has been skipped in the Fleet round" or "after a player has taken a Fleet turn." (Not that there should be a way to do anything between when the Fleet round starts and the first Fleet turn, but hey, maybe someday.)

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Card and Token quality
« on: December 20, 2018, 12:10:05 pm »
Contact RGG; they may let you send the extra tokens back.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: December 11, 2018, 12:05:50 pm »
Ah, but how much of that time was necessary...

To an alcoholic, is drinking "necessary"?

Rules Questions / Re: Reserve cards + Necromancer
« on: December 09, 2018, 10:49:57 am »
Quote from: Necromancer
Play a face up, non-Duration Action card from the trash, leaving it there and turning it face down for the turn.

No that phrase only stops the card from being moved into play. What stops the card from moving itself is apparently that it has already Lost Track of itself due to being played from an unexpected location.

Necromancer stops the played card from being moved to "in play," and that's all it stops. However! A card that for example trashes itself from play is looking for itself in play, and won't move itself if it's not there.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Order of Types
« on: December 05, 2018, 02:27:55 am »
Tip: If you want to make ASCII art diagrams, put them in a [tt][/tt] block. That way, all the characters are displayed with the same width and you can line everything up the way you want.

| Like this |

If you play Royal Carriage, then play an Action, then call Royal Carriage, then Royal Carriage is "an Action card you played this turn that's in play", but is it "an Action card you played this turn that's still in play". Answer (by my understanding): no, you've Lost Track. It's now in play again, not still, and you can't play Scepter on it.

Although I agree with your conclusion, it seems like you're implying that this is an instance of the Lose Track rule. The reason Scepter doesn't work here is specifically because it says "still"; I don't believe the Lose Track rule comes into play.


Dominion General Discussion / Re: Bane Marker
« on: December 03, 2018, 10:57:09 am »
It seems like the image is already on the wiki. You can find it on the Young Witch page.

Let's Discuss ... / Re: empires: overlord
« on: December 02, 2018, 02:35:45 am »
-i mean seriously. why would you need paradoxes for robot defense when you could just say, alright. you play an overlord and there's count, artificer, archive, graverobber, cartographer, and tactician on the board.
i have no idea what this means at all

In science fiction, one can often thwart an artificial intelligence by presenting it with a paradoxical question, presumably sending it into an infinite loop as it tries to answer the unanswerable. Your above comment humorously suggests that, as an alternative to this method, one could simply ask an A.I. (or "robot") which card to play Overlord as, and that decision would be sufficiently complex to effectively disable the A.I.

I have now explained your joke to you, thereby making it funnier.

Rules Questions / Re: Sewers + On-Trashing Draw
« on: November 28, 2018, 04:55:09 pm »
If I have bought sewers, and then use chapel to trash 2 rats, can I draw 2 cards before I decide whether to trash any more cards from my hand with sewers?

When you trash two Rats with Chapel after you've bought Sewers, four effects trigger: two optional trash effects and two draw effects. Those effects can be handled in any order you choose. So, yes, you may choose to draw two cards before you decide whether to trash the up to two cards from Sewers.

Also, If I have bought sewers, and then chapel 2 rats, assuming I can draw 2 cards before I decide, if I use sewers to trash 1 more rats, can I draw a card before I trash a second card with sewers?

Based on the answer in this thread, I'd say you must draw a card from the Sewer-trashed Rats before you can go back to trash a second card from the other Chapel-trashed Rats.

Rules Questions / Re: Strange Inventor question
« on: November 26, 2018, 04:28:47 pm »
I assume the "then" on Inventor is meant only to (redundantly) indicate sequence, just like it does on Wishing Well or Cellar. Also, I assume that if it were actually meant to indicate a dependent effect, the FAQ would have pointed that out.

I solve all this using the house rule 'don't look at the back of the top card of your deck'. Takes some practice but it works. Alternatively I could devise some sort of object that obscures your deck.

Setup: Each player puts their Uncertainty Token on their deck.

Rules Questions / Re: Fleet extra turns
« on: November 10, 2018, 03:22:57 am »
Say an extra round starts with player A. Player A has bought Fleet, and player B, to his left, hasn't. If player A, during his Fleet turn, Possesses player B, then has him buy Fleet during the Possession turn, will player B end up getting his Fleet turn, or is it too late for that?

Adventurer might not be totally worthless with Capitalism. It'd give Venture/Capitalism a run for its money.

Um, Adventurer + Capitalism almost reads +2 cards. I mean, it skips over Victory cards which is nice... but that sounds terrible.

Hence the "might" (i.e. depends on board) and the "not totally worthless" (as opposed to, like, "decent").

Adventurer might not be totally worthless with Capitalism. It'd give Venture/Capitalism a run for its money.

Rules Questions / Re: A Couple of Buy Phase Clarifications
« on: November 07, 2018, 07:56:54 pm »
I am interested in further opinions on "Coffers token conversion after Capitalism-Black Market buys."

My opinion is that you should have it work however you initially envisioned it to work, even if the rulebook (and mat, I guess; I haven't seen the mat) could be interpreted otherwise. I feel like only literal-minded programmer types would even consider the possibility that Black Market might stop you from playing Coffers, and even then they would probably say, "Nah, it can't possibly mean that." I figure more than 95% of players (even ones who carefully read the rulebook) would be absolutely dumbfounded to discover that Black Market stopped you from playing Coffers. Mark Rosewater used to say something like, "If you go against players' expectations, you're fighting a losing battle."

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12

Page created in 0.073 seconds with 18 queries.