Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Chris is me

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 100
26
Rules Questions / Re: Considering Trader errata
« on: May 05, 2020, 08:37:41 pm »
This fixes a lot of silly rules junk and dumb infinite's.

27
Rules Questions / Re: Cost of Animal Fair revisited
« on: April 14, 2020, 08:15:11 am »
So if I'm reading this right, basically the trashing thing bothers Jeebus because people use the word cost to describe it, and the card's property Cost is always $7.

Let's try this: Animal Fair costs $7. You can buy the card by paying $7, or alternately, you can trash an Action card from your hand instead of paying its cost in Coins. This trashing of an Action is an alternate... resource that you consume to buy the card. But not a cost.

28
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Menagerie
« on: April 07, 2020, 03:58:29 pm »
For what it's worth, I got my copy off Amazon on Sunday after ordering Friday. So those who wait until it's in stock on Amazon: hey, it is!

Also, they put the divider label thingy in the manual to protect it this time. A nice touch.

Cards seem fine.

29
The word "current" in "current version", versus the word "prior" in "prior version", implies that the two sets of rules, or versions, are not the same. Of course they contradict - that's the consequence of changing the rules.

30
Populate can't gain Rocks, it's not an Action.

31
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Menagerie Previews 5: More Cards
« on: March 06, 2020, 07:55:46 am »
When you Mastermind a Duration, do they both stay out until the final target has resolved? Masterminding a Mastermind doesn't seem nearly that amazing anymore then.

32
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Is Recruiter too good?
« on: February 22, 2020, 04:57:52 pm »
Rebuild isn't as good as Recruiter for sure - but to say it has more strategic depth than Recruiter is laughable. There's not zero depth, sure, but almost all Rebuild strategies are highly monolithic. Recruiter plays very differently on different boards.

33
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Is Recruiter too good?
« on: February 22, 2020, 12:17:28 pm »
Very powerful cards are mainly bad if they are monolithic and decisions become automatic. Imagine like, +1 action, gain a Province. You'd just buy and play that card over and over. Powerful cards that work in the rest of the board, that can be played more than one way, and don't win the game by themselves? They're good for the game. That's Recruiter.

34
Dominion Articles / Re: Combo: Scheme/Herbalist
« on: February 12, 2020, 07:13:09 am »
So uh, is this a combo? You're just saying "one card lets you do one thing and the other lets you do another thing. Occasionally you want to do both!"

Very few cases where you ever want Herbalist's effect, even fewer when you would want Herbalists effect *because of Scheme*.

You generally don't want to topdeck your payload, because that's two cards that aren't draw or actions. You're much more likely to dud.

35
Consider the case when you're greening. Starting every turn with an extra Action is suddenly a lot better than getting Villagers from card buys you aren't buying anymore. The Villagers are only better when you don't have to use them and can thus stockpile them.

That said I agree either could cost $5 or $6 and it doesn't really matter. Who cares.

36
Rules Questions / Re: Cellar may have just broke
« on: January 09, 2020, 09:09:14 am »
"That many" is referring to the actual number of cards you discarded.

37
Nah, the gold memberships just match with each other, and are generally higher ranked. If you could always match with Golds without having to get one yourself, why would anyone ever get one?

38
Rules Questions / Re: Crown + Small Castle
« on: December 19, 2019, 08:10:46 am »
When I use Crown (or Throne Room I guess) on Small Castle, is it possible to use the "trash this" option both the first and second time playing it to gain the next two Castles?

If not, why? What I want to know is if either of these (hypothetical) rules apply here:
  • Crown "loses track" of Small Castle when it trashes itself?
  • Small Castle cannot trash itself for benefit when it's already in the trash?

It is actually both of those rules. Either of those things by itself would be enough to stop you from gaining a second castle, and they both hold true.

A classic example of this exact same thing is Throne Room + Mining Village. The fact that you can't trash it twice with Throne Room is spelled out in the official FAQ.

The lose track rule doesn't apply in this case, though.  A card that trashes itself can still be played from the trash.  E.g., if you play a Tragic Hero with a Throne Room/Crown, and it gets trashed on the first play, you can still play it the second time.

Yes, it does. Lose track has nothing to do with playing a card - you don't have to have track of a card to play it. The lose track rule is invoked when the card tries to trash itself and can't find itself. Nobody in the entire thread has claimed that Small Castle isn't played a second time.

39
Rules Questions / Re: Crown + Small Castle
« on: December 18, 2019, 08:08:59 am »
Crown can be used to play Small Castle twice. The first time, you choose to trash itself, and gain a castle. The second time, you choose to trash itself, but Small Castle has lost track of itself because it is not in play. "If you do" fails and you do not gain a second Castle.

40
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Maximum points
« on: December 17, 2019, 05:15:09 pm »
The exhaustive, and large, solution above has been broken by the changes to Command cards. You can now only have 10 Goons in-play effects.

41
Dominion Articles / Re: Inheritance - Highway PSA
« on: December 16, 2019, 02:26:36 pm »
Yesterday I thought it was a good idea to inherit Death Cart.

Turned out that I had a poor grasp about what "this" is. Estate would not trash itself (and not give you the 5) but would trash an Estate from hand.

Gotta get out of the old inheritance paradigm when discussing these! Estate isn't the source of the effect - it's the set aside Death Cart! All the Estate does is make you play it.

42
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Why is the server so fuct right now?
« on: December 02, 2019, 01:35:28 pm »
#isotropicwasbetter

honestly at this point other than logs there's nothing really left to miss about iso

43
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Zombie Villager
« on: November 15, 2019, 04:32:06 pm »
This makes Necromancer way too strong.  Necromancer is already strong with the ability to choose whether it plays as a terminal or +1 Action card.  Choosing between 0, 1, or 2 actions would be bonkers.

I wouldn't call Necromancer "strong" right now. Like it's fine, but not *strong*. Giving it a once a turn Village effect doesn't seem like the end of the world.

44
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Why is the server so fuct right now?
« on: November 10, 2019, 11:41:11 pm »
It's on your end.

45
No rules are written about resignations in any format, technically. The game technically can't continue with a missing player, but I suppose you could just say that player takes no actions and buys nothing every turn, shuffling their deck if the contents of their hand / deck ever become important.

46
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: The Missing Nocturne Curser
« on: November 07, 2019, 07:24:02 pm »
How is Idol not a "straightforward Curser"? It repeatable distributes Curses when you achieve a relatively common condition. Nocturne undeniably has a Curser in the set already.

47
Rules Questions / Re: Tormentor
« on: October 24, 2019, 02:36:01 pm »
With the new errata overlord as tormentor (first cards played) gives hex. since it counts as overlord and then tormentor.

It gives a hex, but not for the reason you are saying. It doesn't count as both cards at once. It only counts as Overlord. The Tormentor, which is played but not put *into* play, checks for "other cards", sees the Overlord, and then gives a Hex.

48
Colonies and Fleet each tweak the game-end condition; on reflection I'm kinda surprised there aren't more things that change it.
I've tried some.
On a related note: What is the reason that Provinces still end the game in Colony games, instead of Colonies simply taking their place for the end-game condition?

One big benefit is that there's a way out of a game when Colonies are unattainable and gains are too limited for any reasonable three pile to happen quickly.

49
Help! / Re: So many options...
« on: October 08, 2019, 08:02:08 pm »
Open Urchins; there's no better trasher and the attack will hurt. I think you basically are trying to set up a lot of Bridge Trolls, so you'll get Fortresses, Experiments, and ideally a couple King's Courts along the way. Maybe a Remodel once you have Fortress so you can straight gain Bridge Trolls or whatever.

Bishop / Fortress is here, but it's much weaker with a discard attack and you need KC or Experiment for the draw to make up for that, so I don't see it being much of a factor.

I wouldn't really go out of my way for Inheritance but if I spiked it I would consider Inheriting Fortress.

50
Dominion General Discussion / Re: ThunderDominion Card List Results, 2019
« on: October 03, 2019, 08:52:31 pm »
95+% cards are worse than margrave. That is really is no Argument against tragic hero.

There are, however, no cards that are strictly worse than Margrave at the same cost. Except for Tragic Hero in BM decks.
In BM, Margrave sifting may actually help your opponent, so Tragic Hero isn't strictly worse.

It also totally doesn't matter, because unless both are in the same game, being strictly worse than another card doesn't have any sway on whether the card is good or bad, especially when that other card is top tier.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 100

Page created in 0.211 seconds with 20 queries.