Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - AJD

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7
51
Rules Questions / "Resolve"
« on: April 26, 2015, 09:54:23 am »
The Adventures rule book doesn't really define what it means to "resolve" an Action card, but I guess the intended interpretation is something like "finish executing its on-play effects (but not its other effects)"? This is important for when you can call Coin of the Realm and Royal Carriage.

In this BGG thread, for instance, Donald explains that you can't call Royal Carriage after calling another Reserve card; executing its on-call effects doesn't count as "resolving" it. And there are other Action cards that you can play to have effects other than when you play them: you call Royal Carriage on Duration cards right after you play the Duration card, not after you're done "resolving" its effect at the beginning of your next turn. I assume you call Royal Carriage on Scheme after you get the +1 Card and +1 Action, not after you "resolve" what Scheme does in the cleanup phase.

52
Rules Questions / "Naming" a card
« on: April 13, 2015, 11:08:29 am »
So when you name a card, you're not forced to name an actual card that's being used in the current game; this comes up, for example, when you play Mystic but and want to make sure you don't draw anything. You don't even have to name a card that could in principle be in your deck; you're free to say "the Knights randomizer" or "the Three of Clubs" or "Black Lotus" or whatever.

This has led to an assumption on these board that the instruction "name a card" is actually equivalent to "say some words", whether it's the name of a card or not—and if the words you say happen to be the name of a card, then you get the intended effect.

But with the introduction of Events, "name a card" can't just be "say some words", right?

If you play Contraband, and your opponent "names a card" by saying the word "Expedition", that doesn't actually block you from buying Expedition that turn, right? Because Expedition, the Event, isn't a card, and so your opponent hasn't actually succeeded in naming a card to block you from buying.

So I think, as a board, we need to revise our interpretation of what's covered by the instruction "name a card".

53
Game Reports / Weak Colony board
« on: January 22, 2015, 12:25:44 am »
So I just played a three-player (IRL) Colony game with the following cards:

Village
Workshop
Advisor
Farming Village
Herald
Quarry
Smithy
City
Contraband
Bank

Things to note: no trashing whatsoever; copious +Actions; only +Buy is Contraband and powered-up City.

What ended up happening in this game is basically, I and one opponent both assembled a Smithy engine with Contraband and Workshop to pick up components, and a couple of Banks and a Platinum. (The other opponent basically noodled around without a plan, but her presence did contribute to emptying piles and whatnot.) Emptying the Smithies meant we could mostly draw our decks using 3 or 4 Cities each but couldn't do much with the $30ish we were producing. We held off from greening for a while while we played chicken over emptying the Farming Villages; I managed to Workshop the last one in mid-turn to finally activate City's +buy, but didn't have enough buys to both take the lead and empty a third pile until two or three turns later (fortunately my opponent's engine stalled on the same turns mine did).

Was building a draw engine and then waiting for City to activate the right strategy here? Or would it have been more effective to just try and produce a Big Moneyish deck that could produce $11 on most turn and try to grab Colonies one at a time?

54
Puzzles and Challenges / Buy but don't gain?
« on: December 16, 2014, 08:14:31 pm »
In Dominion, buying is separate from gaining: (1) first you pay for a card, and any on-buy effects happen, and (2) after that you gain a copy of that card from the supply, and any on-gain effects happen.

As far as I can tell, there are seven events in Dominion which can stop (2) from happening if (1) has happened. Two of them are pretty well-known, and the other five have something in common.

What are they?

55
Variants and Fan Cards / Buy but don't gain?
« on: December 16, 2014, 08:06:06 pm »
In Dominion, buying is separate from gaining: (1) first you pay for a card, and any on-buy effects happen, and (2) after that you gain a copy of that card from the supply, and any on-gain effects happen.

As far as I can tell, there are seven events in Dominion which can stop (2) from happening if (1) has happened. Two of them are pretty well-known, and the other five have something in common.

What are they?

56
Game Reports / Lucky? with Rats
« on: September 15, 2014, 05:19:26 pm »
I played a 4p Shelter game yesterday with the following kingdom:

Poor House, Beggar, Squire, Watchtower, Rats, Spy, Counterfeit, Adventurer, King's Court, Forge

I opened Watchtower/Rats and got very lucky early draws—my Rats never failed to line up with my Watchtower and I bought a Forge on turn 4. After that I was at a bit of a loss as to what to do; I was thinking I would Forge pairs of Rats into Provinces, but my Rats always lined up with my Watchtower and on each individual turn it seemed like a better tactical decision at the time to trash rather than keep the incoming Rats, so I never actually had a pair of Rats to Forge. I eventually just ended up buying Gold and drawing for it with Watchtower, which probably wasn't ideal—though I ended up finishing second, and would have won if I'd been paying better attention to the score and Forged Province into the last Province to end the game on my turn.

Thoughts on the best approach on this board?

57
Dominion General Discussion / Moneylender or Baron?
« on: May 05, 2014, 01:52:34 am »
I just played a 3-player game with this kingdom (no Colonies, no Shelters):

Vagrant, Fishing Village, Woodcutter, Baron, Bureaucrat, Moneylender, Bazaar, Upgrade, Goons, Hunting Grounds

Is it better to use your $4 opening on Baron (to try to spike an early Goons) or Moneylender (to get an early start on trashing)? Or something else (e.g., a double–Fishing Village opening)?

Once people have said what they think the right approach is, I'll say what I did and how it worked out.

58
Puzzles and Challenges / What's missing?
« on: April 06, 2014, 12:49:57 am »
What do these cards have in common, and what is the one other card that has this property but isn't on the list?

Band of Misfits
Beggar
Catacombs
Conspirator
Cultist
Feodum
Fortress
Horse Traders
Hunting Grounds
Lighthouse
Market Square
Moat
Procession
Quarry
Rats
Secret Chamber
Squire
Tunnel
University
Vineyard

Honorable mention: Vagrant

Edit: Also Prince!

59
Dominion General Discussion / They learn fast
« on: February 17, 2014, 10:26:05 am »
A friend of mine got the base game recently. She reports: "We've been playing Dominion at least three or four times a week since then. We've played so many games, we actually played one board where Adventurer was useful! …I still didn't win with it, though."

60
Dominion General Discussion / Nonterminal percentage
« on: January 23, 2014, 11:58:13 pm »
So, the base set has way fewer non-terminal Actions among its kingdom cards than any expansion except Prosperity (which makes up for its small number of non-terminal Actions with a large number of Treasures). Any idea why this is the case?

Prosperity: 26%
4 nonterminal, 12 terminal, 1 King's Court

Dominion: 27%
6 nonterminal, 18 terminal, 1 Throne Room

Hinterlands: 37.5%
6 nonterminal, 11 terminal, 3 variable

Seaside: 38%
10 nonterminal, 16 terminal

Intrigue: 41%
7 nonterminal, 11 terminal, 5 variable

Guilds: 42%
5 nonterminal, 7 terminal

Cornucopia: 45%
5 nonterminal, 6 terminal
…Maybe demote it to 42%, since Tournament can add terminals to your deck.

Dark Ages: 45%
13.2 nonterminal, 16.8 terminal,  2 variable, 1 Procession

Alchemy: 72%
6 nonterminal, 3 terminal, 1 Golem

61
Puzzles and Challenges / Gain and play
« on: January 07, 2014, 10:15:43 pm »
With the famous University/Watchtower combo, you can gain a card and play it the same turn: gain with University, topdeck with Watchtower, play Watchtower and draw the gained card, play the gained card.

There are lots of other ways to gain a card and play it the same turn, but most of them involve having a deck-drawing engine.

However, there is at least one other two-card gain-and-play combo: two cards X and Y that are sufficient to guarantee your ability to gain a card and play it on the same turn.

(By "sufficient" I mean that no cards' abilities other than X and Y are used to execute the gain-and-play, and it can be done regardless of the condition of your deck and discard pile. There may still be edge cases that could prevent you—e.g., University/Watchtower fails if your handsize is larger than 7 or if there are no Actions costing up to $5 left in the supply—but I'll trust you to recognize such situations as mere edge cases that don't invalidate the premise.)

What are X and Y? There may be more than one valid answer, though I only have one in mind.

62
Game Reports / Bad opening shuffle luck
« on: November 22, 2013, 09:03:48 am »
Debating with yourself over whether to open Wharf/nothing or Young Witch / nothing becomes moot when you draw 5/2 on turns 3 and 4 also and your Wharf and Young Witch collide on turn 5.  :-\

…That's all, I just wanted to whine about that.

63
Innovation Game Reports / Order is important
« on: November 11, 2013, 09:01:09 pm »
I'm very proud of one particular tactical point in this very close game:

http://innovation.isotropic.org/gamelog/201311/11/game-20131111-170653-8067fb74.html

Talia had built up a huge lead in points, most of it via Lighting and therefore in 7s. When I lucked into drawing Mass Media, then, returning all her 7s was the obvious way to go. (Turn 20.)

When I was about to return Talia's 7s, I realized that I had Atomic Theory on my board, and the 7 pile was otherwise empty. That meant if I paid careful attention to the order in which I returned Talia's 7s—rather than just shoving them at the bottom of the pile the way I usually do—I could plan out exactly my next however-many melds with Atomic Theory. And so I made a point of putting the 7s in the order in which I thought I could use them.

And it worked out exactly! Well, Combustion may have been a bit of a wash. But if I hadn't melded Railroad and Publications when I did, I wouldn't have won; and if I hadn't known exactly what cards Atomic Theory was going to draw, I probably would have tried drawing 8s instead of 7s since there are so many duds in the 7 pile. So paying careful attention to the order in which I returned a whole pile of cards absolutely saved the day for me.

64
Variants and Fan Cards / Token
« on: November 04, 2013, 12:46:19 am »
Extra cards with the "Curse" type may cause confusion.

I see what you did there.

(New thread so as not to distract from the discussion in that thread.)

65
Dominion General Discussion / Okay, Halloween kingdom:
« on: October 30, 2013, 05:47:44 pm »
Scheme
Tribute
Masquerade
Band of Misfits
Witch
Jester
Urchin
Forager
Harvest
Horn of Plenty

66
Dominion General Discussion / Non-terminal attacks
« on: October 14, 2013, 05:56:13 pm »
I just noticed how few non-terminal Attack cards there are. This makes sense, of course—repeatedly attacking your opponent can be very strong and very annoying. Having Attack cards be mostly terminal makes it that much harder to just load your deck up with Attack cards so you can Attack every turn; to do that you need to either also invest in a lot of villages or run the risk of your terminals colliding.

So what are the exceptions?

Sir Bailey and Dame Molly—these are only 2 out of 10 Knights, so you can't load your deck with them
Familiar—has a Potion cost so you can't get a lot of them fast
Urchin—a very weak attack
Spy—a fairly weak attack, especially if not stacked
Scrying Pool—has a Potion cost and the fairly weak Spy attack

...and what does that leave?

Minion. The only non-terminal Attack that (a) is relatively easy to stuff your deck with and (b) reliably has a decently-strong effect on the opponent (discard-5-draw-4 is probably on average at least as effective as Margrave, and it's idempotent rather than weakened by repetition). So no wonder people find Minion annoying to play against—not just because it's disappointing to discard your hand, but because it's the only card that makes it really easy to very reliably hit with an attack of pretty decent strength.

67
Rules Questions / Parentheses are meaningful
« on: September 22, 2013, 09:50:08 pm »
Parentheses are meaningful!

I think.

Cutpurse says: "Each other player discards a Copper card (or reveals a hand with no Copper)."

If it said "Each other player discards a Copper card or reveals a hand with no Copper," I think standard Dominion interpretation would give the opponent the choice of which to do. And then, if you had Copper in hand, you could choose "reveal a hand with no Copper", and then just "do as much as you can", as the saying goes (just like with Torturer, you can choose to gain a Curse even if no Curses are in the supply).

Obviously you can't do this, so we have to infer that "X (or Y)" doesn't mean the same thing as "X or Y" on Dominion cards.

68
Puzzles and Challenges / Breaching the Fortress
« on: September 22, 2013, 04:47:10 pm »
I trashed my Fortress. It did not return to my hand. Why not?

69
Dominion General Discussion / Digging Vagrant more powerful?
« on: September 19, 2013, 01:35:09 am »
Quote from: Donald X.
Vagrant: It's a Lab where the extra card is always bad. Actually that would be more powerful
—Secret History of Dark Ages

...Wait, is that true? If Vagrant were a Lab where the extra card is always bad—i.e., if it were +1 card, +1 action, dig for a Ruins, Shelter, Curse, or Victory card—wouldn't the main result of that be making you miss your good cards a lot of the time? Kind of like a worse Advisor (or anti–Hunting Party). There are boards where increasing your handsize is more important than not skipping your good cards, but it's not obvious to me that there are enough such boards to make Digging Vagrant more powerful than Vagrant.

I dunno, maybe Donald just meant "+1 Card, +1 Action, +1 more card which magically is always a bad card that coincidentally happened to be on your deck" would be more powerful, which I suppose is the case.

70
Puzzles and Challenges / Spot the theme
« on: July 21, 2013, 09:27:43 pm »
Let's say I were to build a Kingdom consisting of the following ten cards:

City
Explorer
Farmland
Fishing Village
Hermit
Knights
Merchant Guild
Mine
Nobles
Worker's Village

What is the unifying theme that guided my choice of cards here? I.e., what do they have in common?
Hints, in order of increasing helpfulness:
  • This set of ten is not totally unique for the theme, but it's close to unique; in a few cases I got to choose which to include out of two or three possible cards.
  • You have to look outside of Dominion to spot the theme—but not very far beyond Dominion.
  • There is a third hint, but this isn't it. Can you find it?

71
The Self Service lobby is fine, but the Collaboration lobby is empty for me—no list of people, no "propose game" button, no "your status is empty" message or expansion checkboxes.

72
Dominion General Discussion / King's Court–Big Money combos?
« on: July 01, 2013, 01:55:42 pm »
So, on another thread,

I've yet to play a board with KC that hasn't been an insane engine or megaturn game.

...and there followed some discussion about boards where King's Court is a bad investment because there aren't any other good engine pieces.

But what I'm interested in for this thread is boards where KC can be a good investment even without other engine pieces. Do they exist? Ordinarily KC isn't good in Big Money because you don't have enough Action cards to reliably line up your KC with one. So, you know, KC-Bridge is a great combo, but KC–Bridge–Big Money is not a winning proposition because you've got no good way of getting your Bridge and KC in the same hand, and when they're not, KC is a $7 Confusion.

KC-Wharf is probably fine for Big Money, but if you're doing that, you may as well make a whole draw engine out of it, nesting KCs to play multiple Wharfs a turn?

I'd like to nominate KC-Navigator as a decent Big Money combo, though (I mean, it can't really be called an engine): KC plus Navigator plus two Coppers or a Silver makes a province and three chances to try to ensure that your next hand has the combo in it as well, which in a deck with a decent number of KCs and Navigators could make pretty good odds. I played this combo once and won with it, though it was ages ago and I don't remember whether my opponent was playing well at all or not. What do you think?

And are there other good Actions to pair with King's Court for a non-engine strategy?

73
So, I played a game with the following kingdom and took a risk with the opening; it worked out, but I wonder whether others think it was a good idea or not:

Merchant Guild
Baker
Herald
Familiar
Philosopher's Stone
Masterpiece
University
Candlestick Maker
Transmute
Vineyard

...So obviously what you want to do here is go University/Vineyard. It seems like there are three reasonable openings on 4/3:

Potion/Potion
Potion/Silver
Potion / Candlestick Maker

Potion/Potion is the riskiest, obviously; it'd be nice to get two Universities on the second shuffle (or a University and a Familiar), but if the Potions collide you'll be sad. That's how I opened, and it worked out fine (i.e., the Potions didn't collide); but I'm wondering if people think one of the others is a better bet.

74
Dominion General Discussion / Common misconception
« on: June 23, 2013, 10:20:42 am »
It seems to be a common misconception that Intrigue has "a lot of Attacks". Like, in this what-expansion-should-I-buy thread, the poster says maybe he shouldn't get Intrigue, because "there are so many attack cards"; I feel like this happens a lot.

But Intrigue has fewer Attacks than either vanilla Dominion or Seaside (or Dark Ages)! It has the same number as Cornucopia (if you count Followers) or Hinterlands (if you count Ill-Gotten Gains).

I guess when people think Intrigue has "so many Attack cards", what they're really thinking of is how Intrigue has the most annoying attack cards: two trashing attacks (which as Donald has said people don't seem to like much), the only discard-your-whole-hand attack (which means it's harder to plan your upcoming turn), and the aptly-named Torturer. So their estimate of the number and severity of Attacks in Intrigue is thrown off by their memory of the emotional response to those Attacks, I guess.

Meanwhile, as usual, the consensus of the thread was that the expansion he should get to play with his friends who don't like Attack cards is the one that includes Ambassador, Ghost Ship, and Sea Hag.

75
Dominion General Discussion / Tasty kingdom
« on: June 06, 2013, 07:35:18 pm »
The Guilds previews have inspired me to create the following tasty kingdom:

Feast
Horn of Plenty
Baker
Butcher
Vineyard
Spice Merchant
Herbalist
Mint
Sage
Hermit

Enjoy!

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7

Page created in 0.134 seconds with 17 queries.