Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - AJD

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 120
1
Rules Questions / Re: Coffers Rules Change
« on: January 16, 2022, 10:19:47 pm »
Before, the two subphases were "get coins" (play Treasures and spend Coffers tokens) and "use coins" (buy things and pay off Debt).

I don't think this is right? You can pay off Debt before playing Treasures if you choose.

2
Having Cathedral, Squire, and Cultist on the same board was fun. Even when I didn't have a junk card in hand to trash, I could trash a Cultist to start my turn with free draw, or a Squire to replace the Cultist I trashed last turn.

3
Rules Questions / Re: Playing Diadem on another players' turn
« on: December 30, 2021, 02:31:45 pm »
Diadem doesn't give Coffers (if that's what you meant by 'coins').  Also you don't have any Actions in another player's turn, so Diadem would give zero '$' in the scenario you outline.  I had been going to say that it was in any case impossible to spend anything when it's not your turn, but then it occurred to me that if Caravan Guard is in the Kingdom together with Way of the Mouse with Black Market as its set aside card, then it is possible.  I think!

Oh my gosh, this is amazing. You attack me with your Legionary? Ha-ha, I play my Caravan Guard via Way of the Mouse to play Black Market, play all my Treasures (including my Diadem) to empty my hand, buy something with the accumulated cash, and then net +1 card—all on your turn!

4
Priest/Bonfire! (with +Buy).

Had $7 going into the buy phase, bought Bonfire, trashed a couple of Pearl Divers or something, and bought my Province.

5
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« on: November 18, 2021, 06:56:01 pm »
...Okay, how did this happen?

6
He didn't already have Dame Natalie; it's not clear from the log screenshot, but he used Captain to play Dame Natalie in the supply.

7
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Semi-Interesting Dominion Moments Thread
« on: September 25, 2021, 09:21:38 pm »
My opponent had tons of Black Cats, so what do I do? Gain an Estate in my Action phase with Falconer to bait them into attacking, gain a bunch of curses, and then draw into the curses, trash them with Forager and Goatherd, and then buy a Province with impunity.

8
Rules Questions / Re: Citadel and Captain
« on: September 17, 2021, 12:57:15 pm »
I see what you mean by Trader, but I still don't see what you mean by Citadel playing a card. You said: "consider a Smithy set aside with Summon. Citadel is able to put it into play." Surely the thing that's able to put the Smithy into play is Summon? Why is Citadel playing a card that Summon is trying to play? And how does this lead to a Captain'd Smithy going into your play area?

Clearly Citadel triggers when you're about to play a card. It can't trigger after you already played it (like old Citadel did), because then it can't play it twice, which is the whole point of the errata.

So it triggers before you've actally played the card. When you "would play" it.

I see that Donald X. has already responded, perhaps making this moot, but I don't see how this reading is supported by the (original version of the) revised Citadel text. It says "the first time you play an Action card", not "the first time you would play an Action card"; for it to be the "first time you play an Action card", the card has to already be played by the time that kicks in.

9
Rules Questions / Re: The new rule for playing cards - like lose-track?
« on: September 10, 2021, 09:46:37 am »
(This is tangential to the point, but Jeebus, the scenario you describe would not cause Village Green to be trashed.)

10
Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: September 04, 2021, 06:45:55 pm »
Quote
If you play an emulator such as Band of Misfits, which then plays a Treasure Map, you can't trash the Treasure Map from the supply, so you will fail to gain 4 Golds.

I dont understand, why i'm trashing the Map from the supply? BoM is in play, emulating Map, so the emulated Map tells me to trash itself and another Map from my hand? Do i missunderstand an emulator?

BoM is in play, emulating Treasure Map; you don't have a Treasure Map in play. So you can't trash a Treasure Map from play. The emulated Treasure Map is itself in the supply, but what it wants you to do (implicitly) is to trash it from play. So you can't trash it from play because it's not in play; and you can't trash it from the supply because it wants you to trash it from play. (This in an instance of the "Stop-Moving Rule": you can't follow an instruction to move a card if the card's location is not where the instruction presupposes it to be.)

11
Rules Questions / No Boons
« on: August 20, 2021, 01:03:04 am »
I suppose, in the unlikely event that the Boons deck and discard pile are both totally empty when you're supposed to receive a Boon, nothing happens?

12
Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: August 19, 2021, 04:28:29 pm »
Black Market basic rule:

The treasures played in my action phase remain in play until clean up? So, we're saying, if black market would be non-terminal, and i play conspirator after some money, i would get the cantrip effect of consp.?

Only if you played another Action as well. Black Market is an Action; you play some Treasures while playing Black Market, but those are probably not Actions; and then you play Conspirator, which would be your second Action. Conspirator only gives you the cantrip effect if it's your third action or later.

And yes, Treasures played in your Action phrase remain in play until clean-up (unless something removes them early, such as using Monastery to trash them).

13
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: August 10, 2021, 02:27:45 am »
Vassal is to Gamble as...

Mountebank is to...
Event: $2
Each other player gains a Copper and a Curse.

Mandarin is to...
Event: $3
Put a card from your hand on top of your deck.

Death Cart is to...
Event: $5
Trash an Action card from your hand

Noble Brigand is to...
Event: $1
Perform Noble Brigand's attack.
These Events are all missing a +Buy.

Oops.

14
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: August 10, 2021, 12:44:03 am »
Vassal is to Gamble as...

Mountebank is to...
Event: $2
Each other player gains a Copper and a Curse.

Mandarin is to...
Event: $3
Put a card from your hand on top of your deck.

Death Cart is to...
Event: $5
Trash an Action card from your hand

Noble Brigand is to...
Event: $1
Perform Noble Brigand's attack.

15
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Early Conspirator activation
« on: August 06, 2021, 12:59:53 am »
With Innovation and a villager, first play Kiln, then play a Conspirator. Before resolving Conspirator, gain a Conspirator and play it using Innovation. The second Conspirator is the third action played and thus an activated Conspirator. And by the time the first Conspirator is resolved, you have already played three actions so that it's also an activated Conspirator.

Yay!

16
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Early Conspirator activation
« on: August 05, 2021, 07:27:48 pm »
Sounds like Command card shenanigans of some sort.

Not saying whether or not this is my solution, but... can you make it work? Remember, playing Band of Misfits / Conspirator counts as two separate Action card plays, even though the Conspirator never enters the play area.

17
Puzzles and Challenges / Early Conspirator activation
« on: August 05, 2021, 02:47:36 pm »
Hey, someone just added something to a rules-clarification section on the wiki, which I thought seemed like an oddball enough scenario to make a good puzzle. If you've seen the wiki edit, don't answer!

On a given turn, I carry out exactly three plays of Action cards. The second and third Actions I play are both "activated" Conspirators—i.e., they're both Conspirators that give me +1 Card / +1 Action in accordance with the text on Conspirator, stipulating that that happens if you've played three or more Actions this turn.

How on earth can this happen?

18
Rules Questions / Re: What happens if you Mastermind a Tactician?
« on: August 01, 2021, 07:05:42 pm »
Usually no. Tactician's effect is only triggered if you discard a card when you play it. So Mastermind plays your Tactician three times: first you discard your hand, then you are told to discard your hand but have no cards to discard; last the same thing happens again. So only the first time you played Tactician has an effect for your next turn.

Now, if for some reason you have the +1 Card token from the Adventures expansion on Tactician, then it would trigger three times on the next turn: each time you played Tactician, you would draw a card and then discard your hand, so each play of Tactician would successfully discard your hand, and so all three plays would activate on your next turn.

19
Dominion Articles / Re: Dominion is getting worse with each expansion
« on: August 01, 2021, 07:02:36 pm »
I mean, of course, by the same token you could say that, for instance, games with Horses are more interesting than games without them. In that case, you're stuck at 100% uninteresting kingdoms until Menagerie comes out, and then Menagerie drastically increases the rate of interesting kingdoms. Therefore new expansions make Dominion better.

20
Hmm, well, you could end the game in one of the normal ways, and then someone plays an extra turn with Fleet and returns something to the supply?

21
Rules Questions / Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« on: July 22, 2021, 06:40:41 pm »
The card Visit doesn't say the Relative takes turns at any time other than when you play Visit. It says who plays the turn when the Relative does have a turn (you do), and it says what their starting deck is; but the card text provides no mechanism for your Relative to take any other turns.

22
Rules Questions / Re: Visit (2017 Holiday Kingdom) + Masquerade?
« on: July 22, 2021, 01:09:53 pm »
Sure they pass cards (if they have some in hand), why wouldn't they?

I don't think this is right. Masquerade passes cards to the "next player"; the Relative isn't a player.

23
Rules Questions / Re: Timing of Ball
« on: July 14, 2021, 01:31:45 am »
You are correct; they are (selected and) gained one at a time, so gaining the first one reduces the cost of Destrier and takes up space in your discard pile before you select the second one.

24
Rules Questions / Re: Moving action cards when you play them
« on: July 09, 2021, 11:34:47 am »
Putting a card into play isn’t a separate step that is caused by playing a card
And yet the rules literally say "playing an Action card has three steps...".

Right, putting the card into play isn't caused by playing a card; it's part of playing a card.

25
Rules Questions / Re: Moving action cards when you play them
« on: July 09, 2021, 01:16:10 am »
I guess there are implied exceptions to "if it specifies where the card is coming from", where specific sources are inferred but not specified. If you're supposed to discard something from your hand, "discard" is sufficient without explicitly stating where it's coming from; if you're supposed to gain something from the supply, "gain" is sufficient without explicitly stating that.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 120

Page created in 0.093 seconds with 20 queries.