Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - bedlam

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5
26
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #5 - Lost Arts, Borrow, Inheritance
« on: April 03, 2015, 10:43:20 am »
The -1 card token goes on your draw pile, and the time you would draw a card, instead you just take the token off your draw pile. So if you would draw 5 cards, you draw 4 and remove the token. The Action token goes on a supply pile and is not affected by people buying cards from that pile.
And in fact the -1 Card token has text on it, you don't just need to consult the rulebook there. It says something like "When you would draw a card, remove this instead."

What about revealing/looking at cards?

The only time you would place that token on your deck is when you buy the event at the end of your turn, then it is removed immediately when you draw your cards for your next hand, so you would never have to reveal cards while the token is on your deck right?

27
Adventures Previews / Re: Quality of the Adventures expansion
« on: April 02, 2015, 11:15:13 am »
I'm the one in my IRL group that owns all the Dominion expansions and brings it to game night. That by default make me in charge of rules explanation and interaction clarification, (buy vs. gain, etc). They don't read f.ds. This expansion is going to blow their minds when it shows up on the table and I am going to have a lot of explaining to do. I'm so excited.

28
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #4 - Expedition, Trade, Mission
« on: April 02, 2015, 11:06:54 am »
Ok, example just to see if I know how this works. I play my hand in which I draw many of my cards in my deck, some of which are green, some are purple, and some are unused action cards (i'm not very good at this). I have two buys and Haunted Woods is in play. With my first buy, I buy a card, topdecking my green, purple and other cards. Then with my second buy, I buy a Mission, taking those cards I topdecked and 'playing' them (meaning mostly I just discard those green and purple cards). Is that one way to make this combination of cards work?

29
Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #4 - Expedition, Trade, Mission
« on: April 02, 2015, 11:03:20 am »
So how much pages of cards and card-like things do we now need on Goko for all the new stuff?

I fully trust them to come up with a neat solution that only works if you have a dual monitor setup and is completely unusable otherwise.

Either that or they'll just triple the number of lobbies, which, while not in any way related, is at least something they know how to do.

The man responsible for the number of lobbies has been sacked.

30
Adventures Previews / Re: Preview: Messenger
« on: April 02, 2015, 10:35:56 am »
Did I get it right: the gaining effect occurs when you buy Messenger, not when you buy something with Messenger in play?

Yes. But only if you didn't buy anything else this turn.

Or, to clarify, only if you bought Messenger with your first buy this turn.

31
Adventures Previews / Re: Preview: Haunted Woods
« on: April 01, 2015, 09:15:21 am »
So when my opponent is drawing his whole deck and it's near end game and I put this out there and he has to put his 9 or 10 green cards (he's a fan of the Duchie) back on top effectively ruining his next two turns?

32
"Start of your turn"
How does Guide interact with Durations and Prince?
Do I resolve Guide before or after Tactician draw for example? (After would be a poor choice - swapping 10 for 5, but cleaning up the first five and then drawing another five for Tactician would be nice.)

You choose!

Can you use Guide's mulligan ability in the exact turn you played via Prince?
(Okay, if you want something more realistic: via a Princed Throne Room/ Herald)

The only reasonable answer is yes. Princeing a Guide doesn't work, but if a Guide got played by a Princed card, you'd be able to call that Guide after the Princed card resolved (or after doing some other start-of-turn effects).

I think both answers are reasonable. To argue for the other one; Guide wasn't on your Tavern Mat at the start of your turn. So when the list of things that happen at "start of turn" is made, Guide isn't on that list.

That's not how Dominion works, though. Your Moat may not be in your hand when somebody plays an Attack card, but if you put one into your hand via Secret Chamber you can still reveal it afterward.

EDIT: Also, you never decide the complete order of simultaneous effects in Dominion before doing them. You do one, then decide which one to do next.

So my understanding of 'At the start of your turn...' was gather up all the supplies you need to start your turn (Tactician draw, durations, guide redraw, etc.) then when you do Prince's 'start of your turn' you play a card for free. Once you've played a card you are no longer at the start of your turn, but now are in the Action phase. Therefore, I think that you should not be able to call the Guide that you just played via Prince and placed onto the Tavern mat into play because you've played a card, even when playing that card was at the start of your turn. Prince's 'start of your turn' would be the last thing you do before your turn starts, wouldn't it?

But really, the real question here is the lose-track rule. When I play this Guide via prince I place it on the Tavern mat. I have failed to set it aside, so I have to stop playing it with Prince now. When I call my Guide into play, I am not playing it, and so therefore cannot set it aside again with my Prince when I discard it from play, I just have to discard it normally right?

EDIT: I guess it's not the lose-track rule, but simply resolving the instructions on the Prince card. If I am foolish enough to play a Guide with my Prince, unless I immediately call that Guide into play, I can no longer set aside that Guide back to my Prince at the end of my turn.
Seems odd to even want to Prince anything you would only get to play one time.

33
Adventures Previews / Re: Teasers!
« on: March 27, 2015, 12:04:55 pm »
I wonder if the arrows are on the artwork and have something to do with the directions listed in the game blurb...florst?

34
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Rate the Expansions!
« on: March 20, 2015, 11:51:41 pm »
I've played with all the sets for so long now that I don't really know which cards come from which set when it comes to those middle expansions. Of course I can recognize Base, Alchemy, some Seaside and Guilds, but which set did Minion come from? I dunno. It's all Dominion to me.

That being said, I enjoy Hinterlands the most because it was the first that I actually bought myself.

35
Dominion General Discussion / Re: List of card art avatars
« on: March 10, 2015, 09:56:49 pm »
There, happy?  Thankfully, there aren't *too* many of you nostalgians out there.  If I missed someone, please just post here.

I know I don't post much, but I use the iso Bishop as my avatar.

36
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Themed "challenge" boards
« on: December 16, 2014, 12:29:50 pm »
I've occasionally played with an all alt-vp game.

Gardens, Fairgrounds, Feodom, Island, Silk Road, Farm Land, Great Hall, Harem, Nobles, Duke

Not a lot of interactions, Island rush of course. Mildly Interesting once or twice.

37
Dominion General Discussion / Re: The list of Donald's fake cards
« on: December 13, 2014, 02:49:33 pm »

The context for the first 3 was all related to a question about what would happen if you played Copper during Black Market action, then later played a Coppersmith. People were wondering if the already-played Copper would get the bonus. Of course it doesn't.

Can I get clarification on this statement? Sure, if you had spent the copper you played in the black market action then it wouldn't get the bonus, but if it is unspent...Coppersmith doesn't say that coppers played after it produce +1coin, it says that copper in general produce +1coin. So why wouldn't a copper played during the black market action (but unspent) be worth 2coin during your buy phase?

38
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Horsie Traders/Minion interaction
« on: August 28, 2014, 12:16:21 pm »
Is this really how that combo works? I would think that after an opponents minion, even if I reveal HT, I would still have to discard my hand because I had 5 cards in hand when the attack was played. The HT helps us recover after an attack, not prevent it from happening.

39
Goko Dominion Online / Re: Point Counter Poll
« on: April 11, 2014, 05:23:26 pm »
By 'have to' the OP means that you are looking for a game and the only one available has the point counter on and you don't want to wait for another game to appear without the point counter.

40
Goko Dominion Online / Re: Goko bug, or what?
« on: March 01, 2014, 01:43:14 am »
From what I could tell, Goko still owns the rights to the game but has realized they don't know how to publish it correctly, so they sub-contracted the real work to 'Making Fun.'

41
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Here's a thought...
« on: December 10, 2013, 03:56:58 pm »
...curses...

42
Dominion General Discussion / Here's a thought...
« on: December 10, 2013, 03:45:28 pm »
Just restart Isotropic anyway. I doubt the lackies at Goko are maintaining a vigilant watch on all the old dominion websites since they can't seem to watch their own feedback website at all. As long as we don't talk about it here there will be nowhere that they can tell it's happening. The first rule of isotropic is you don't talk about isotropic...

43
Did you notice the stones being cut out of the quarry are the same ones being used in the upgrade during the remodel of the castle being built by the golem.

44
Dominion General Discussion / Re: New Dominion Deck Builder web app
« on: July 22, 2013, 12:45:52 am »
1) The recommended sets that follow do not show a statistics box or non-kingdom cards.

To The Victor, Dark Carnival, Lamentations, Infestations, Playing Chess with Death, Grim Parade, Expeditions, Far from Home, Blue Harvest, Honor among thieves, Peasants, Watery Graves, Invasion, Prophecy, Small Victories, The Spice of Life, High and Low, Bounty of the Hunt

2) The recommended sets that follow do not show up at all.

Shipwrecks, Decisions Decisions, Tricks of the Trade, Name that card, Gilding the Lily, Arts and Crafts, Clean Living

3) Urchin, Mining Village, Feast, and Horn of Plenty are marked as trashers? Since they only trash themselves, I'm not sure if that is supposed to be that way.

4) Maybe a setup note when coin tokens are required (when cards from Guilds are present that require them).

5) If I click the 'remove' button when the "---exclusion list---" line is highlighted, then it will remain greyed out when I have one card left on that list and I can no longer remove it.

6) Not a big deal, but the non-kingdom cards are listed alphabetically rather than in ascending order (copper, gold, silver instead of copper, silver, gold) (duchy, estate, province instead of estate, duchy, province). Of course I do have the "sort images by name" button selected so that might be why...

7) Very nice setup. I like it a lot.

45
Guilds Previews / Re: Preview #4: Butcher
« on: July 07, 2013, 07:10:21 pm »
I played a kingdom yesterday with Butcher, Peddler, Feodom, Horse Traders, Crossroads, etc. It was a very interesting mix where you could butcher a feodom into silvers and gain a feodom right back, or get a cheap peddler with plus buy and then butcher it into a province. A very fun kingdom to play. The rest of the kingdom was forgetable though. What cards do you think would add to the fun? Scout?

47
Guilds Previews / Re: Doctor
« on: June 15, 2013, 07:45:44 am »
You get to reshuffle turn 2 but what are you shuffling in? A silver? Your opponent probably gets to reshuffle his 7 coins tuns 3,4,5, and 6 by trashing so much early

48
Unfortunately this is designed to be beatable only by using multiple zaps. I think I read somewhere that Donald couldn't even beat this level without zaps.

49
Goko Dominion Online / Re: What's up with the Adventure Stars?
« on: June 11, 2013, 06:39:49 pm »
No, not min.  For Base Set part 1, I have six 3stars, 11 2stars, 3 1star ratings.  But my overall is 2 stars.

OK... maybe something like:

0 stars: 0 stars in every game
1 star: {something relatively poor)
2 stars: everything inbetween 1 star and 3 stars
3 stars: 3 stars in every game

which is still reasonable.  If 3 stars is the best you can do in an individual game, then 3 stars for the entire campaign should be the best you can do for the whole campaign, which is 3 stars in every game.

The overall star assignment is:

From 0 to 19 stars you get zero stars
From 20 to 39 you get 1 star
From 40 to 59 you get 2 stars
At 60 you get 3 stars.

60 is the most you can get in a adventure I think.

50
Guilds Previews / Re: First small Guilds Spoiler
« on: June 08, 2013, 12:32:29 am »

GPguild ($3) --> FO = Footman
HVguild ($5) --> GU = Guide

? Is footman a thematic thing?

Also, does anyone know if this can be preordered online anywhere yet?

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Page created in 0.142 seconds with 19 queries.