Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Donald X.

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 185
51
General Discussion / Re: Brag Board
« on: April 23, 2018, 06:22:28 pm »
My wife is pregnant!!!!   :D
This works the other way too. She got her period!!!

52
General Discussion / Re: Random Stuff Part IV
« on: April 20, 2018, 04:23:46 pm »
Wait... WAIT. I know the US uses a lot of Imperial units, but do you seriously like not even use cm and m on a daily basis? Like, do schoolkids not have standard 15cm/30cm rulers? Do people not know doorframes are about 2m high? Is it not common knowledge that 1 mile is 1 kilometer, 609 metres, 34 centimetres and 4 milimetres? Okay that last one is maybe not common here either but still, this blows my mind that you guys are using feet and inches for... most things?
And j is the easiest to type letter on our keyboards, and the tenth month is October.

53
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: April 17, 2018, 04:59:20 am »
Did the well-known blue dog discussion inform the development and naming of Faithful Hound?
The card name wasn't based on that, but when I made the card I thought, sweet, a blue dog.

I tried two cards at the same time for that slot, two reactions that cared about being discarded. The other was a Black Cat. That would have been cool too. But the blue dog was better.

54
As noted in the other thread, we expect Base Cards in about a month, Alchemy in 2-3 months.

55
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing the new Guilds & Cornucopia!
« on: April 16, 2018, 06:17:10 pm »
Wero caught this and I've reported it. Also the Possession FAQ has right for left, but that one wasn't printed yet.

It sounds like it's printed now(?). Hopefully you also caught this error, for Scrying Pool:

If you run out of cards without revealing an Action card, shuffle your discard pile and keep going.

I'm pretty sure this should be "non-Action card", as it was in the 1st edition rules.
It is not printed yet and I will report this error.

56
Dominion FAQ / Re: What good is Dominion Big Box 2nd edition?
« on: April 16, 2018, 06:15:52 pm »
Can we say that no matter what their intention was (laziness, deception or not smart) it does deceive the buyer?
The way they did the box the on the first version was right.
There was zero intent of deception and I'm not sure I would even call it laziness; new art was not going to help convey anything. If you find it on a store shelf rather than online, it's probably next to some regular boxes, and clear that it can't be holding two boxes. I don't have one handy to check that out.

My latest dates are about one month from now for Base Cards, 2-3 months for Alchemy.

57
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing the new Guilds & Cornucopia!
« on: April 16, 2018, 03:57:02 pm »
I just noticed that there is a printing error in the rules PDF. In the FAQ section, the image for Followers is repeated instead of the image for Trusty Steed. Of course it's too late to fix this in the published game, but it can be fixed for next time.
Wero caught this and I've reported it. Also the Possession FAQ has right for left, but that one wasn't printed yet.

58
Dominion FAQ / Re: What good is Dominion Big Box 2nd edition?
« on: April 16, 2018, 03:53:07 pm »
Base Cards is out of print, but will be back in print soon.

That cover art isn't trying to fool anyone; it was just the no-work way to have an image for that box cover.

59
I would like to get a new set of the base cards, but the only ones I find online are 2-3x RGGs SRP. I'm assuming this is because they are sold out. Is that the case? If so, when will they be reprinted?
Soon. I don't know if it's printed and on the boat or what, but our work on it was done a while ago.

Alchemy hasn't been printed, so that one will be at least 2 months.

60
Online when you play a Caravan Guard against an Attack in other player's turn and call a Coin of the Realm on the play, the CotR isn't discarded from play until the Clean-up of your next turn. Should it be discarded in the Clean-up of the opponent's turn? It doesn't replay the CG, so it has no reason to remain in play like you call it on a Duration in your turn.
The intention was that all cards were discarded in the clean-up of the last turn in which they did anything - whoever's clean-up. That doesn't matter though, if contradicted by the rulebooks. I know it means more if I read the rulebook for you, but I don't have the time. Go by the newest rulebooks, not the old ones. If a bit doesn't talk about it, or appears to make a blanket statement that couldn't work, well that's a basic problem of communicating the rules for a game with rules on cards - no blanket statements work, and yet you need blanket statements to communicate with the players who aren't poking at the rules.

61
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: April 11, 2018, 02:33:47 pm »
Royal Carriage is the only card that on its own combos with Masquerade to enable a complete pin. At the time that Royal Carriage was printed, was the fix to Masquerade in 2nd Edition Intrigue already planned?
I don't know without checking, but I can tell you that there's no connection; there was no point at which I was thinking, wait, consider this particular interaction, what will I be doing about that. I did Royal Carriage because it was a cool card and I fixed the Masquerade pin because I had the opportunity and it seemed worth fixing.

62
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: April 11, 2018, 02:31:26 pm »
Why were Boons called Boons and not Gifts? Or, rather, why weren't they called "The Earth's Boon", "The Field's Boon", etc.?
I had names I liked and I used them! There is no interesting story here. I like Boon, I like The Earth's Gift. I don't feel compelled to put the name of the category into the names of the elements.

63
For a while, all of the Nocturne cards except Changeling were programmed and being tested. Changeling required autoplay.

64
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: April 09, 2018, 02:50:49 pm »
The Kingdom-space of Dominion is large enough now that the game feels robust to certain combos that would have felt game-breaking when the card pool was smaller.

Do you agree?

Has this changed your philosophy when designing/developing cards?
I wouldn't say my philosophy has changed, but rather that it's always included a "how many cards are there" factor.

A two-card combo that requires two specific cards isn't a problem once you don't see it that often. If they're in the same set you see the combo too much, if the combo is dominating (and not also "we always love doing that"). If they aren't you don't... unless you have a particular mix of expansions that you totally might. If the combo is Capital plus Mandarin, well maybe you just bought Dominion, Hinterlands, Empires. That's not some ludicrous scenario. But nevertheless, if it's a specific two cards and they're in different sets, I feel less worried. I factor that in. Like, Feodum didn't get to kill Masterpiece.

If it's a card plus a category of cards then it's a problem; a card that's broken with Militias is just broken. If it's three cards then man whatever. I did fix the Masquerade pin, which was two cards plus a category. I mean that's another thing: what am I giving up by fixing the problem? If nothing, probably I fix it, even if it's a two-card combo that won't come up much.

65
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing the new Guilds & Cornucopia!
« on: April 05, 2018, 01:34:13 am »
That is 2nd Edition.  The first edition did not have mats.
Also you can tell from the card images (on the back cover) - two of them have the large font.

Somehow I forgot about the "first editions of Intrigue" thing when doing that back cover.

66
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: April 04, 2018, 06:32:59 pm »
If you had the opportunity (or requirement) to create a reskin or variant of Dominion based on an existing IP, what IP would you want to use?
We were approached some years ago by FFG with the idea of making a Star Wars version of Dominion. Either a new game, or just a reskin.

I did some research. My two sources of information were Amazon and BGG. For Star Wars themed games based on an existing game, the existing game sold way better - people buy way more Operation than they do Star Wars Operation (it's R2-D2, so that's cute). For new games, Star Wars didn't look like it applied any kind of magic to sales; there were tons of complete duds with the Star Wars theme. One that stands out: the Wizards of the Coast TCG. Made by people who might know something and everything, with a team of people working on it, and plenty of promotion. No sale.

At the same time, the rights holders expect to be paid a lot for the rights. In this case it was even worse, since FFG wasn't the ultimate rights-holder for either thing and yet of course needed their share of the take. So the deal just looked awful. It would have needed to be crazy successful, selling many times what Dominion was, to be worth doing, and there was just no reason to believe it would do anything like that.

So we said no and so much for that. This was all before the new movies were announced. Star Wars had gone from being "those three movies people remember fondly even though one of them actually sucked" to being "That endless parade of awfulness." The new movies... just make it some random sci-fi IP, like Star Trek is now. But I digress.

Your question!
- If no-one is approaching us with an offer, I have no special interest in pursuing an IP. I'm happy just having Dominion. If I make a spin-off, I'm happy making up flavor for it.
- If someone approaches us with an offer, we'll consider it, but given what I already know, I'm not optimistic. I wouldn't rule out any IP that didn't just suck, though of course some things would sound better than others. Listing the good ones is beyond the scope, I mean it's an endless task of thinking of entertainment I've enjoyed. We could list thousands of things and not get to say Lizard Music, and yet, Lizard Music, I wouldn't just rule that out.
- If I had to pick an IP to use, I was always struck by how much Dominion fans admired the prototype images that came from The Princess Bride. But like, there was a point where I was interacting with the company that I knew had those rights, and I didn't say, hey, what about...

67
Other Games / Re: Terraforming Mars
« on: April 04, 2018, 12:23:29 pm »
Ouch, failing at Statistics 101.
Theory, please check if this is a formerly banned poster.

68
Other Games / Re: Terraforming Mars
« on: April 03, 2018, 10:29:12 pm »
The law of large numbers disagrees with you.
Speak for yourself, Holunder9! You're the one disagreeing. You aren't math, and it's not on your side.

69
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Favorite Expansions in 2018
« on: April 03, 2018, 10:26:59 pm »
What was wrong with March? Not useful enough? Too useful?
Without looking it up, I'm going to guess that it was just, it adds nothing but shuffling. It doesn't open up strategies, it doesn't give you something interesting to think about. You buy it when you can and shuffle more.

70
Let's Discuss ... / Re: Let's Discuss Nocturne Cards: Tragic Hero
« on: March 31, 2018, 05:23:16 pm »
About Tactician: I've been wondering for a while, why doesn't it just say "if this is the first time you have played Tactician this turn"? I feel like this would simultaneously make it less confusing, eliminate the cheats with Golem and the +Card Token, and also eliminate those annoying times when you forget to leave stuff in your hand. This would also be similar to the way Outpost already does it.
I do not get to consider every hypothetical wording for an effect, and spent less time on considering wordings back then. The premise of Tactician was, discard your hand, but next turn is doubled. Throne Room was too much. Checking to see if you discarded did the trick of making it not Throne-able, yes except when it is. I did not look further.

I am not sure "If this is the first time" is good there, as it looks like you can't possibly play two, so it makes people wonder, what are they missing. There might be a better wording though. I don't care about the Golem / Pathfinding stuff, it's rare enough.

Outpost does not have an optimal wording. If time had permitted I would have tested versions that said e.g. "at the start of that turn, discard down to 3." That's a much simpler way to get the smaller hand into the extra turn, and clarifies various interactions. Time did not permit.

71
Let's Discuss ... / Re: Let's Discuss Nocturne Cards: Tragic Hero
« on: March 31, 2018, 05:18:49 pm »
No, I just did not get it after you said that you did not care about incidental interactions so thanks for clarifying that the way Tragic Hero interacts with Throne Room is intentional whereas the Necromancer interaction is a mere coincidence.
The way Tragic Hero interacts with Throne Room is not intentional, it is random. It is "whatever it turns out to be." Throne Room was not a consideration at all. Tragic Hero has the best wording to communicate the concept of Tragic Hero, absolutely failing to care what that means for Throne Room. It could have gone either way and it would have been fine by me.

72
Let's Discuss ... / Re: Let's Discuss Nocturne Cards: Tragic Hero
« on: March 31, 2018, 04:29:15 am »
So you are saying that the Necromancer and TR interactions were irrelevant and the fact that Tragic Hero did not have
Pixie's wording, i.e. "trash this to gain a Treasure", which looks fine as well is purely coincidental?
Is your guess that I was trying to be intentionally misleading with my reply to your post? Because otherwise, you should know the answer.

A small number of cards actually go out of their way to stop Throne. Tactician, Outpost, Madman, probably a few more. Tragic Hero had no need to do that and so does not. Its wording is just the best wording.

73
Let's Discuss ... / Re: Let's Discuss Nocturne Cards: Tragic Hero
« on: March 30, 2018, 04:57:56 pm »
When Tragic Hero triggers, you trash it and gain a treasure, but gaining a treasure is not contingent on trashing.  In other words, the hero didn't need to die!  It truly is a tragedy.
I guess this was an intentional choice by DXV to enable the Necromancer interaction.
I care more about having the best wording than I do about incidental interactions.

74
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: March 30, 2018, 05:05:31 am »
The fanciness (size, whatever) of the castles in the Castle art is supposed to be indicative of the card's price, right? If so, have you ever had someone unfamiliar to them to sort them by fanciness without knowing their price, and if so was it close to their price order? Were castle arts ever swapped during development?
Yes there's this idea that the more expensive castles are grander in whatever ways. No I have not had that experience, no no arts were swapped.

75
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing the new Guilds & Cornucopia!
« on: March 29, 2018, 03:42:28 pm »
Being a christian myself, I felt a little bit uneasy when Nocturne came out. It's by far the darkest expansion so far, thematically, and almost all of the cards have some reference to the occult. But I kinda got over it. I figured God won't condemn me just because of a card game.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 185

Page created in 0.138 seconds with 18 queries.