Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Donald X.

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 216
26
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Improving play at 3+ players
« on: January 31, 2020, 04:24:19 pm »
It's certainly possible to win while skipping the attack(s), but if that works in multiplayer it also works in 2-player. I can't think of an example where an attack would be a must-have in 2-player but becomes ignorable in multiplayer.

I've seen it several times. Especially with cards that don't help your deck, like Sea Hag.
Jeebus has it right. Witches and Militias both fall in importance with more players; everyone will already be discarding to someone's Militia, and your percentage of the Curses isn't much higher than theirs.

27
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: January 31, 2020, 04:19:05 pm »
What is your opinion on the existence of the wiki?  In particular, are you bothered by the idea that since every card image is available there, that someone could potentially "print and play" and play without buying a physical set?
It's fantastic that the wiki is there, and I do not even consider worrying about that. This has come up repeatedly; if someone say prints out a list of Events to play with without those sets, they aren't supporting me, but they're not stealing from me either. The people who want you to believe otherwise are evil.

28
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Errata Redux
« on: January 30, 2020, 03:51:39 pm »
So, when new sets are printed with the errata, will there be any way to determine whether a given set has the errata in the store?  Like, will they say Second (Third?) Edition on them, or will the box be the same?
"Second Edition" is only for Dominion and Intrigue, since they got new cards.

I don't know if there will be a way to tell from a box if it's the errata version. There might be, if the back cover needed changing somehow, which well there are a bunch of ways it might change so it's not so unlikely. So far the only set we have done layout work for post-errata is Dark Ages. We haven't done the back of the box yet.

29
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Empires Format
« on: January 30, 2020, 03:38:39 pm »
Have you ever tweaked the card texts in Empires? Rocks doesn't exactly follow the new model of "gain onto your deck" for instance.
It hasn't happened, but it's something I'll look at when updating Overlord. I know Opulent Castle wants to say "revealed."

For that matter, have you ever tweaked the card texts in any of the other sets after the "second editions"?
We redid the layout on Intrigue, Seaside, and Prosperity. There were a lot of things to fix, but I don't remember offhand if any card texts changed; possibly not. [This was in advance of that batch of errata, so no change to Embargo.]

We're doing Dark Ages now. There are no surprises; aside from the errata, I dropped e.g. "from the Spoils pile."

Any change that isn't that errata is extremely likely to be either "keep you honest" like Opulent Castle or non-functional like no "from the Spoils pile." But if there's a confusing wording somewhere it might change.

30
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: January 29, 2020, 06:11:18 pm »
Maybe this was answered before, but why is playing a card mandatory for Herald, but optional for Vassal? Is it just that "you may" doesn't fit in the text on Herald easily?
There's no story; I put you-may on Vassal, and there it is. I looked for discussion of that and didn't find any. I guess I was in a generous mood that day.

It was always you-may, but the first version left the card on top; a main reason to change that was, if you play Vassal and it misses, it's a bummer that the next one is locked into missing too. And if it's not an action, often you'd like to discard the card anyway. So, it discards it. I did not anticipate Faithful Hound, which is confusing there. Obv. it could have only discarded unplayed cards, to clear that up.

31
Right now the most recent versions of the Duration paragraph cover Royal Carriage and Scepter in that particular way. As written they create this issue with Vassal, that isn't really an issue except for e.g. Stef's program and Jeebus's document. This rules issue doesn't weigh on me enough to want the Duration paragraph to be in any way worse, in particular more complex. Just changing it at all is hard to agree to, just because, I have a working paragraph and want to be consistent. I did live with changing it for e.g. Royal Carriage and well that was a thing that really came up in games.

So that aside, it could be that I made "replay" special, or cared about the Duration card being in play. I guess I prefer replay there, because caring about Duration cards being in play leads to, wait why can a Duration card function at all without being in play - these other rules changes that I'm not making because ultimately they make players sad. Making "replay" special would mainly be, reverting to the previous Duration paragraph and uh maybe updating those FAQs.

It's not compelling yet though. I don't know that I get anything out of it.

32
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: January 28, 2020, 06:42:33 pm »
I have two questions about Nocturne, both about pile sizes -
1: Why 13 cards for Imp? I don't think there's another pile with 13 in the game at all
2: Why 12 hexes, rather than a thematically unlucky 13?
I had the card slot; I could make it blank, that wasn't happening, or add one to one of the non-Supply piles. Adding it to Imp meant there were 13 Imps, which I thought some people would mildly appreciate.

That slot could have been a 13th Hex. Then the hexes wouldn't match the Boons, which I don't like; also the Hexes were hard to come by. In retrospect I wouldn't do Hexes at all.

33
At $5, Academy gives you a decision as to when to get it, that I like, and at $6 it would sometimes be, one player doesn't hit $6 for a while and is penalized. So I like it at $5.

Barracks could have also been $5. There's no good reason for it to be $6 instead, though costing $6 isn't as bad here as it would be on Academy. It's not the worst mistake in the set, and the set overall doesn't have me losing sleep, it's good times. But sure, why is Barracks $6.

34
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion: Empires Format
« on: January 26, 2020, 09:30:04 pm »
Just so I understand, do Intrigue, Seaside and Prosperity have three printed versions then? 1st Edition, 2nd Edition, and a 2nd Edition (Revised). Do you have any visual examples of a card that has changed across all three?

I know Treasury in the Seaside 2nd Edition was misprinted with its horizontal dividing line missing and that has now been fixed, but were there several other cards too?
It's just whatever minor fixes, mostly to layout. I don't have scans. But for example, http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/File:Pearl_Diver.jpg has a black horizontal line under the top banner. That wasn't supposed to be there. For later printings that's fixed.

35
As things stand, the fix here is to not provide ways to get Duration cards out of play, since with the errata to Procession there's just Bonfire and and Mandarin. Bonfire is easy. Mandarin would look weird. But, it's something I can consider still when those sets get reprinted.

It's not just Bonfire and Mandarin though. :( With Capitalism, it's also Mint and Counterfeit.
I wondered if there were more, and there they are.

36
So if I gained the Merchant Ship with Graverobber, the Vassal would stay out?

Edit: what if there are multiple Merchant Ships in the trash? Do I get to choose which one I gain?
In the OP I am making a ruling that specifically says, it's a different Merchant Ship now, Vassal does not stay out. Prior to this ruling, there was no way to know f Vassal should stay in play or not.

The reason it would matter which card was used to gain it is because Graverobber topdecks it. My question would also apply to gaining it with Rogue or Lurker and then revealing Watchtower etc. So is it being in the trash that makes it stop being "that card" or only being shuffled into a deck? I'm sorry if I'm not understanding something obvious.

I'm not clear on the answer to this question. I play Merchant Ship, buy Bonfire and Villa. I Graverobber the Merchant Ship onto my deck. I play Vassal. So the Vassal stays out, since nothing got shuffled? But as J Reggie says, if there are several Merchant Ships in the trash, how do we know if this was the same one? I would think that any card that is trashed can never be "that card" either, since the trash pile is an unordered pile where you can have several copies of cards.
I misread his post, sorry. It's all clear now.

I have to make a ruling for, in what circumstances is a card no longer "that card." I need this because we can actually lose a card while still caring if it's "that card." In particular if it's shuffled into a deck we've lost it; so, a card shuffled into a deck is no longer "that card."

Trashing a card can't mean "it's no longer that card" because then Thief wouldn't work. Putting it onto your deck can't mean it's no longer that card, because rulebook rulings say you can e.g. buy Nomad Camp and then trash it with Watchtower.

In practice we can totally know if we have the right card; and if we aren't sure which physical card is which that doesn't matter, I can say, "I take the one that's the same one" or "I take a different one." In these situations that never come up. But, shuffle it into a deck and man, we don't know and there's no way out (except now this ruling).

37
Rules Questions / Re: Command cards + Distants Lands
« on: January 25, 2020, 07:40:14 pm »
How do the new command cards from the 2019 errata work with Distant Lands? For instance, if you Overlord a Distant Lands do you put a Distant Lands from the supply onto your tavern mat (and thus gain 4 VP at the end of the game)?
Distant Lands tries to move itself from play, and doesn't find itself there, so it doesn't move.

38
If this was at all common, I'd be suggesting that instead of trashing cards from play, Bonfire should put tokens on cards to designate that they should be trashed when discarded from play.

If such a mechanic were introduced, it could also deal more neatly with Improve, Scheme and self-trashers - albeit not identically.

It would, IMHO, be way cleaner. But a lot of trouble to go to for a corner case.
The cleanest way to do Bonfire is just, trash up to two Coppers from play. You are almost always trashing Coppers, and they aren't Duration cards. Putting tokens on cards to remember to do things later is in no way clean.

39
For clarification: When the original card was trashed, would it or would it not have the duration effect on the next turn?
Trashing a Duration card doesn't stop it from functioning (except for below-the-line stuff e.g. Bridge Troll's cost reduction).

But it should stop it from functioning - if there's no card in play, how can one be sure that the players will remember all the effects on that player's next turn?
If I got to make the game from scratch today, sure. It's bad to have an effect you're supposed to remember without the card reminding you. I would totally get rid of that.

I'm not making the game from scratch today though. I'm dealing with not just an existing game with all its cards, but also an existing body of players. So like, ideally you wouldn't be able to "play" a card without putting it into play - if you can't put it into play, you fail to play it, and nothing further happens. A similar thing. I considered this change when doing the errata to fix Band of Misfits etc. People absolutely hated it. So I didn't do it. In a new game though, sure, don't let cards function without being in play, absolutely.

As things stand, the fix here is to not provide ways to get Duration cards out of play, since with the errata to Procession there's just Bonfire and and Mandarin. Bonfire is easy. Mandarin would look weird. But, it's something I can consider still when those sets get reprinted.

40
So if I gained the Merchant Ship with Graverobber, the Vassal would stay out?

Edit: what if there are multiple Merchant Ships in the trash? Do I get to choose which one I gain?
In the OP I am making a ruling that specifically says, it's a different Merchant Ship now, Vassal does not stay out. Prior to this ruling, there was no way to know f Vassal should stay in play or not.

41
For clarification: When the original card was trashed, would it or would it not have the duration effect on the next turn?
Trashing a Duration card doesn't stop it from functioning (except for below-the-line stuff e.g. Bridge Troll's cost reduction).

Ideally there would be no way to get Duration cards out of play until the Clean-up that they're done. Procession has been fixed; Bonfire and Mandarin have not.

42
so if you top-decked it with mountain village, then vassal'd it, it would be the same merchant ship? or once it is face-down, it is anonymous and couldve been any merchant ship?

basically: is the shuffle the key operation, or is the returning-to-deck?
We let you remember a topdecked card, e.g. I can gain a Nomad Camp and trash it from the top with Watchtower. So the shuffle is the key thing. We can conceivably know the 10th card down and well. When we do, we do know it; that's not a rules hole to fix and this situation was never happening to start with, and is even less likely there.

43
so if you top-decked it with mountain village, then vassal'd it, it would be the same merchant ship? or once it is face-down, it is anonymous and couldve been any merchant ship?

basically: is the shuffle the key operation, or is the returning-to-deck?
The current version of the rule is, if card X causes a Duration to be played multiple times, like Throne Room or Royal Carriage, then card X remains in play with the Duration. But if card X causes a Duration to be played only once, like Herald or Vassal, it's cleaned up as usual this turn.

Right, so why would Vassal ever stay in play? It's not a Command and it's not Throne-like.

Yeah I’m missing something. Even if it were considered the same Merchant Ship; the Vassal wouldn’t have cause it to be played multiple times... it would have caused it to be played a second time. It wasn’t responsible for the first play; so it doesn’t get credit for playing it multiple times no matter what.

Scepter and Royal Carriage stay in play, even though they're not responsible for an Action being played the first time, only the second time. In the scenario in question, Vassal is responsible for playing the card a second time like those.
Correct. Vassal (and other cards will do this too, e.g. Herald, Golem) is just like Royal Carriage here. If it played a Duration card for a second time, it should stay in play. But there's no way to know if it did or not, in this very contrived example.

44
I play Merchant Ship. I buy Bonfire to trash it and Villa to go back to my Action phase, more to do. I gain the Merchant Ship with Rogue and trigger a shuffle with Vassal and it plays a Merchant Ship. Is it the same Merchant Ship? It matters. If it is Vassal stays in play, otherwise it doesn't.

But there's no way to know. Throne Rooms care "is this that card" in just the way I was trying to get rid of in other cards.

So, the ruling in these situations is, once you've shuffled a card into a deck, there are no cards that are "that card." For my example, Vassal does not stay in play.

Edit: Later in the discussion below, this turned into: "In the circumstance where you can no longer move a card, it's also no longer "that card" for effects that track a specific card."

45
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Changeling's on-gain ability
« on: January 24, 2020, 04:07:26 pm »
Just played a game with Changeling, maybe for the first time. It never actually got bought, but made me realize... what's the point of the on-gain ability? It seems like it would only be useful in somewhat rare edge-cases... The vast majority of the time that you are gaining a card costing or more, it is because you bought it, or because you got to "gain a card costing up to X". In either of those cases though, you could have just gained Changeling directly instead.

So it seems like there are only 2 situations when you would actually use that ability... when there is another card that has an on-buy or on-gain ability that you want, but you actually want Changeling. Or, when you play something that allows you to gain an action, treasure, or victory card specifically; and you would rather have a Changeling.

Are these situations common enough to warrant what amounts to more than half the text on the card? Or is it just that it's very late, and after playing a bunch of games of Dominion in a row after having not played for a while, which is causing me to miss something obvious?
Changeling started out as just the top, and I liked it. The bottom half gave it more flavor (which comes at a cost in complexity), but also made it way more interesting. It comes up plenty, mostly with ways to gain Silver but certainly with other cards. There's that game Mic won due to taking Changeling instead of an Ambassador'd Province, for example.

Changeling is pretty fun. For people who know the published card, I think any positive feelings they have are due to the bottom half. They can't compare the simple card that doesn't exist, and it can't sound that great. But Nocturne is too complex over all and Changeling does its part there. So, it's really still a question, should it have been the simpler card. It's hard not to go with the more fun thing and Nocturne is full of that decision going that way.

46
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks
« on: January 14, 2020, 06:30:13 pm »
I don't want to make it specific to Durations. I changed the Mining Village part.

How do you see it as different to the TR+TR+Duration rule in this respect?
I don't understand the question. There is no TR+TR+Duration rule; just a FAQ since people will ask rather than work it out.

47
Rules Questions / Re: Necromancer + Band of Misfits + Duration
« on: January 14, 2020, 06:25:29 pm »
Donald, I'm actually wondering if Necromancer is supposed to be covered by this rule? I know that you included it in the rule, but you later stated that the FAQs for each card would explain how this works. Are you really planning to cover it in the FAQ for Necromancer? Necromancer can't play a Duration directly, so the only way for it to be affected by this rule is if it plays a BoM, Overlord or Inherited Estate, playing a Duration. Captain is exactly the same.
These days I try not to go too nuts in the FAQs these days; I try to answer questions people will actually look in the rulebook for the answers for. Here we're dealing with errata so probably I do need to cover it in the FAQ when the time comes.

So you're saying that the tracking rule also applies to Necromancer and Captain, even though it means that you have to specify just this corner case?
It's possible I don't understand the question or your perspective.

There's a general rule for dealing with tracking when playing a card without putting it into play. It certainly applies to Necromancer and Captain.

48
Rules Questions / Re: Necromancer + Band of Misfits + Duration
« on: January 14, 2020, 03:08:34 am »
Donald, I'm actually wondering if Necromancer is supposed to be covered by this rule? I know that you included it in the rule, but you later stated that the FAQs for each card would explain how this works. Are you really planning to cover it in the FAQ for Necromancer? Necromancer can't play a Duration directly, so the only way for it to be affected by this rule is if it plays a BoM, Overlord or Inherited Estate, playing a Duration. Captain is exactly the same.
These days I try not to go too nuts in the FAQs these days; I try to answer questions people will actually look in the rulebook for the answers for. Here we're dealing with errata so probably I do need to cover it in the FAQ when the time comes.

49
Rules Questions / Re: New lose-track rule: The Sun's Gift
« on: January 14, 2020, 03:03:05 am »
I gain a Blessed Village onto my deck (e.g. with Artificer) and receive The Sun's Gift. I leave the Blessed Village on top. I'm pretty sure that under the old lose-track rule the Blessed Village was now lost track of. I can't see any reason that it would be different with the new rule?
You do lose track of the card still. It moved to set-aside.

50
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion 2019 Errata and Rules Tweaks
« on: January 14, 2020, 02:39:59 am »
(I still think the best option is what I wrote in my previous post.)
I don't want to make it specific to Durations. I changed the Mining Village part.

Quote
Some cards, like the new Band of Misfits, can play a card that isn't put into play. When you play Band of Misfits, leave it in play as long as you would have left the card it plays in play. Normally that will be the same turn's Clean-up. For a Band of Misfits playing a Duration card, it will be the Clean-up of the last turn the Duration card has any effects. For a Band of Misfits playing a Throne Room playing a Duration card, it will be the Clean-up of the turn the Duration card leaves play. For a Band of Misfits playing a card that can move itself from play, like Mining Village, the Mining Village can't move itself, and Band of Misfits would still stay out until Clean-up anyway, due to the normal rule for leaving cards out until Clean-up. If a Band of Misfits plays multiple Duration cards (e.g., you used Throne Room on it), leave it out until the Clean-up of the last turn that one of them still had effects.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 216

Page created in 0.11 seconds with 18 queries.