Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - jamuspsi

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2
1
Dark Ages Previews / Re: What is your favorite Dark Ages card ?
« on: September 04, 2012, 06:44:41 pm »
Band of misfits makes me feel smart every time I play it.

2
Council Room Feedback / Re: Anyone want to maintain councilroom?
« on: August 27, 2012, 12:33:22 pm »
oh shit, one week?  Yeah, I'll do it.  I'm a python/unix guy.

3
Dominion General Discussion / Keeping your friends
« on: August 19, 2012, 03:20:31 am »
I recently bought the whole set (minus DA) physically, and I've been teaching everybody I can get my hands on the beautiful game that is dominion.

I usually open a game by picking the cards and arranging it so that there's a little of everything in it- a caravan or wharf, some kind of trasher, a reaction, terminal draw, a villiage or two... that kind of thing.

The problem is that I usually end up feeling pretty crappy when I end up pile driving the provinces.  It's kind of hard to sandbag myself because then I feel like I'm not giving them a good example.  On the other hand, I don't think it's very fun for them- that first game- to lose horribly.

So, does anyone have any advice on how to introduce your friends to dominion.. and keep them?

4
Dominion Isotropic / Re: Dougz - I would like to send you money
« on: August 17, 2012, 07:05:51 pm »
Me too

5
Goko Dominion Online / Re: Goko email update
« on: August 17, 2012, 05:27:18 pm »
What is it about this game that attracts so many programmers?

6
Goko Dominion Online / Re: Do we know when exactly it's going up?
« on: August 17, 2012, 05:10:43 pm »


I don't think it's the JSON parsing; seems more likely to be the way it renders the chat string in the window. Probably creates a new div and then sets its innerHTML to the chat text (which will cause scripts to run).

I hadn't been able to get into the game since I heard about it to test.  I JUST posted elsewhere exactly what you just said!  I think that's likely.  A global replace of < to &lt; should prevent the injection, right?  (Of course, full escaping would be nicer.)

7
Goko Dominion Online / Re: Do we know when exactly it's going up?
« on: August 17, 2012, 04:31:55 pm »
I'm just kind of praying that they don't do something silly like wrap the chat input in quotes or something, in a naive attempt at preventing injection.

It's honestly really strange that that problem even exists.  My suspicion is that they take your chat input, stick it in an object and turn it to json for transport, but at the other end they eval it instead of using JSON.parse.  And that's really just a guess because it's the only reason I can think of that they'd be using eval anyway.

8
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion with all cards available
« on: August 16, 2012, 09:16:28 pm »
Band of Misfits would be pretty strong here.

Especially since it can only copy things that haven't run out in the supply.  So maybe a more interesting variant would be, you start out with 5 bands of misfits and nothing else, with one of every card in the supply.  That way there's not a swingy rush on them.  Both players get to figure out how to play it, but buying a card would lock it out from the other player- but also lock yourself to only playing the one copy, and diluting your super-flexible deck.

I'd probably start with.. ironworks, ironworks (gaining bridge and throne room), fishing villiage, nomad camp, smithy (drawing bridge and throne room), throne room bridge.  With 5 money, 3 buys, 2 less cost, I'd buy king's court.

Or... (bom)Ironworks bridge
(bom) worker's villiage drawing bridge
(bom) throne room the bridge
(bom) throne room a (bom) ironworks
.....

Screw it, here's your puzzle.  Can you gain and play a king's court with something useful on the first turn of this game?


9
Dark Ages Previews / Re: graverobber+possession
« on: August 16, 2012, 08:13:35 pm »
Oh geez, you're definitely right.  Cards don't go into the trash during possession- they're set aside.

I feel silly!

10
Dark Ages Previews / graverobber+possession
« on: August 16, 2012, 08:08:53 pm »
Say you possession someone, then trash a card.  The card goes into the pretend-trash.  Then you graverobber it out of the trash; the possessor gains it.

At the end of the turn..?

11
Dominion Isotropic / Re: Dougz - I would like to send you money
« on: August 16, 2012, 05:41:18 pm »
..yeeeeah, except I'm not gonna send money blind.  That's kinda silly.

But seriously dougz, I've gotten at least as much entertainment out of iso as several games I bought on steam, so let's see a gracious acceptance on here!

12
Dark Ages Previews / Re: DA, first Printing, Misprinted?
« on: August 16, 2012, 05:39:03 pm »
Is it significant that Market Square's reaction triggers on 'When one of your cards is trashed' rather than 'When you trash a card'?

Maybe not the intention, but I think this wording will help alleviate confusion from people playing Swindler.  "I played Swindler and trashed your card, so I can reveal Market Square now, right?"  Nope, not right.

I think that's specifically that each other player reveals the top card and trashes it- the victim does the trashing anyway.

13
Dark Ages Previews / Re: DA, first Printing, Misprinted?
« on: August 16, 2012, 05:36:42 pm »
re wishing well intentional failure: you are down to 6 cards in your deck.  You know that you have not played your counting house.  You need one more card from wishing well to hit $8 this turn.  If you guess correctly, you'll force a reshuffle when you draw your next hand, and your coppers won't be in the discard anymore.

14
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Official Version Launching 8/16?
« on: August 16, 2012, 04:30:27 pm »
Having played the beta, I can say that it's really improved a lot in the last month or so.  After a few games when I got over the fact that it isn't arranged like and doesn't feel like iso, it became enjoyable just the same.

I also got the feeling- speaking of gut feelings- that the developer(s) have kind of gotten into the game.  Dominion has always seemed to be an extra-attractive game for programmers.  I've seen a few bugs, sure, but I've also seen some really careful attention to detail- like being able to reveal moat twice to one action, for instance.  I'm much more optimistic about it than I was a couple months ago, and I think the extra time they're taking actually supports that.

15
Dark Ages Previews / Re: Band of Misfits rules questions
« on: August 15, 2012, 06:23:17 pm »
Essentially:

Play Throne Room.
Choose a card.  (What card?  BoM.)
Play that card twice.  (What card? BoM-as-Feast.)

vs.

Play Throne Room.
Choose a card.  (What card?  BoM.)
Play that card twice.  (What card? BoM-as-Feast.)
Play the chosen card. (BoM-as-Feast)
Reevaluate the status of the chosen card.
Play the chosen card. (BoM)


Scenario 1 looks like Throne Room... simple and direct.
Scenario 2 adds in a lot more that isn't simply or directly on Throne Room.

Scenario 1 definitely acts more like a traditional throne room in terms of what it eventually does.  But that's why this is a weird interaction!  I think my issue is that there is no such thing as BoM-as-Feast.  It is one single card from your hand that goes through more than one identity.  Throne room does not say "Choose a card from your hand.  Play it, then play it again as the same card it was when you played it the first time."


16
Dark Ages Previews / Re: Band of Misfits rules questions
« on: August 15, 2012, 06:02:19 pm »
But (and now I'm repeating a point from another thread), then I think that Procession-BoM should gain a card costing one more than the card BoM pretends to be, not one more than the BoM itself. Why would Procession suddenly see BoM for what it really is when it enters the trash if Throne Room doesn't?

Probably because of order.  "Trash a card.  Gain a card costing exactly $1 more than it."  In the first step, BoM moves into the trash and then turns back into BoM.  "it" still refers to the card you trashed, which at the time of the second step, is a BoM.  (Rather than, for instance, "Gain a card costing exactly $1 more than the trashed card cost when it was trashed.")

Unfortunately, I don't think it holds water.  Good observation, but the problem is that Round 2 of the TR does not specify that the card has to remain in play, just that the card had to have been the one selected for play.  In this case, TR selected a BoM-as-Feast, not just a BoM simply, and thus the effects of its Feastiness must be what happens during TR2.

I think TR selected an action card from your hand, which was most definitely BoM at that step, since it hasn't been (about to be) played yet.  At any rate, regardless of whether it selected BoM-as-Feast, that card is no longer BoM-as-Feast by the time TR2 rolls around.

(Obviously, Donald has prerogative to issue clarifications or errata whenever he feels, but I don't think the cards as written suggest the ruling as given for TR-BoM-Feast.)

17
Dark Ages Previews / Re: Band of Misfits rules questions
« on: August 15, 2012, 05:52:06 pm »
Not sure what you mean there.  TR-Card is a general case, but what is that Card?  In this case, it is Feast.  And the second time, when TR plays "it", "it" still refers to Feast.

I think "it" refers to the card you chose, which has since transformed back to BoM because it moved to the trash.

Edit:

Because of the text of Throne Room.  "Choose an Action card in your hand. Play it twice."  In fact, if it said "Action" and not "Action card" I think I'd have a different opinion here.  As it is, "it" seems to me to refer specifically to the card you chose, regardless of what it has changed into between the two playings of it.

18
Dark Ages Previews / Re: Band of Misfits rules questions
« on: August 15, 2012, 05:46:23 pm »
I sort of feel like BoM throne rooms itself.  When you play it, the instruction is to play it (again) as a different card.  It stays in play, turns into a different card, and I play it again (from in play).

This is incorrect though.  As discussed earlier in the thread, BoM's mimicry is not an on-play effect.  That is, you don't play BoM and then subsequently play it as something else.  Rather, it's very first play is already as something else -- it mimics another card before being played.

Therefore, when you play TR-BoM, TR has no idea that the card being throned was, is, or will be a BoM.  It just sees it as a Feast (or whatever you choose).  You don't actually play TR-BoM, you play TR-Feast, with the peculiarity that the Feast you are playing is really a BoM in disguise.

Even if that's the case, there's not really, I don't think, such a thing as TR-Feast.  There's TR-Card.  If it transforms just before you play it (because it says play this as) then it becomes feast for TR to play it the first time.  As part of becoming another card, it loses its transforming text until it leaves play, so Smithy wouldn't allow you to pick twice.

But if it becomes feast, gets played as feast by TR, leaves play, becomes BoM again, then the TR plays "it" again and a new selection needs to be made so that TR can play it as some other card.

19
Dark Ages Previews / Re: Band of Misfits rules questions
« on: August 15, 2012, 05:23:00 pm »
I agree with most of this, but when Throne Room plays a card that's in the trash, it can't move it to play, because it has lost track of it. So step "1.3" is not quite right, in my opinion, since "it moves from trash to in play" doesn't happen.

I agree with that, come to think of it; I think I parsed Donald's ruling on feast as being that it can't be trashed the second time (because it's in the trash) but can be played twice anyway.  So it doesn't move out of the trash into play.  Either way, it's been played FROM the trash, and having made a stop at the trash, I think it probably isn't the feast anymore, and should be played as a fresh BoM.  Throne room shouldn't retain any magic about what BoM turned into after it played it the first time- all it cares about is "Play it (that card) twice."  Whatever that card happens to be at that moment.

20
Dark Ages Previews / Re: Band of Misfits rules questions
« on: August 15, 2012, 05:11:29 pm »
I think throne room explicitly acts on cards, and I think that BoM is one of those cards that is affected by the whole "while this is in play" thing.  Like highway.

As I understand it, throning a highway doesn't reduce costs by $2, because it goes down like this:
1. Play throne room, moving it from hand to in play.
2. Choose highway from hand
3. Play highway, moving it from hand to in play
4. Play that same highway, not moving it because it is already in play.
Conclusion: There is only one highway in play.  It was played twice.

When playing with cards I feel this is like playing the highway, then picking it up, then playing it again.  So the card's instructions happen when it hits the table, and throne room causes it to hit the table twice (though it never leaves play).

I sort of feel like BoM throne rooms itself.  When you play it, the instruction is to play it (again) as a different card.  It stays in play, turns into a different card, and I play it again (from in play).

As for the throne room-BoM question, I think you pick once for normal cards, twice for cards that remove themselves from play.  Throne room specifically says that you play the CARD (that card) twice.  BoM refers to that same card (this card) with its transformation and replay.

So throne room-bom-smithy would be like:
1. Throne room, from hand to play
1.1. Choose the second card in my hand that is a BoM
1.2. Play that second card.
1.2.1. That card becomes a smithy
1.2.2. Play that card.
1.3. Play that second card again (from play).  It never left play, so it is still a smithy.


But throne room-bom-as-feast would be:
1. throne room, from hand to play
1.1. Choose the second card in my hand that is a BoM
1.2. Play that second card.
1.2.1. That card becomes feast.
1.2.2. Play that card (from play)
1.2.2.1 Trash that card.  (it becomes BoM in the trash)
1.2.2.2 Gain a card
1.3 Play that second card again (from the trash, since throne room doesn't lose track of feast, it shouldn't lose track of BoM).  It moves from trash to in play.
1.3.1 That card becomes smithy (or anything)
1.3.2 Play that card (from play)

Is there another way to reconcile it with how "while this is in play" interacts with throne room/kings court?

21
Dominion Articles / Re: Combo: The Embargoed Spice Venture
« on: August 03, 2012, 06:57:28 pm »
If the ventures aren't embargoed before you get, say, 4 or 5 of them, it probably won't matter.  A hand of 4 curses + 1 venture gets your whole chain off anyway, in theory.  The real problem is that it would drain the curse pile earlier- which makes me wonder how it would play in multiplayer? 

22
Mini-Set Design Contest / Re: Mini-Set Design Contest, Part 3!
« on: July 19, 2012, 04:56:31 pm »
I thought I'd missed it, then saw rink's post and threw together my ideas.  They are consequently probably terrible!  But I'm hoping for a better showing than thirty-somethingth place like my last entries. :X

23
Mini-Set Design Contest / Re: Mini-Set Design Contest, Part 1!
« on: July 02, 2012, 05:56:02 pm »
There's a lot of good ideas here!  Crossing my fingers for my submissions, but I was definitely able to find others to vote for.

24
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: July 02, 2012, 02:26:29 pm »
Tactishanty Town is a lot of fun to say.

I had basically the same reaction

25
Mini-Set Design Contest / Re: Mini-Set Design Contest, Part 1!
« on: June 25, 2012, 04:37:32 pm »
I have my ideas figured out.  Do we post them or PM them?

Pages: [1] 2

Page created in 0.164 seconds with 18 queries.