Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - mxdata

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 43
1
Death Cart + Collection + Way of the Horse. Effectively 3 Horses + 3 VP per Collection in play for $4!

My opponent resigned early on, but I was curious how high I could get the score, so I continued with a bot game. Final score:



Each turn, once I had all the Collections, was just playing every Action card as Horse, then buying 5 Death Carts (bringing 10 Ruins) + 4 Border Guards = 19 Action cards at 10 VP each = 190 points per turn!


This is just bonkers.  How could the opponent let you get 10 collections on this board?  ;D ;D

FYI I figured out a way around this annoyingly huge screenshot problem.  It's pretty easy using awesomescreenshot.  Under annotate you just resize to like 1000-300 width and it will autoscale the height.



I'd only had three Collections at the point where my opponent resigned, so the other seven were picked up while playing against Lord Rattington's strategic brilliance :)

2
Had a game with Tent + Way of the Mouse being Secret Cave. You could use Secret Cave's duration, but then also topdeck Tent, so you'd get the duration effect without the card staying in play. Fortunately it was an online game, but in an IRL game, tracking would probably be pretty tricky. This would apply to any other Duration card as Mouse, and to Merchant Camp, Walled Village, and Border Guard with Horn (the other self-topdecking cards have the self-topdecking as part of their on-play effect, which would be replaced by Mouse's effect)

weird.  seems like you shouldn't be able to top deck it with the card moved thing or something.  this is kinda huge. thanks!

Actually it seems like it be a bug, since if you played as Way of the Mouse, you wouldn't discard it from play that turn (if you used Secret Cave's duration benefit). From the wiki:

Quote
If the set-aside card is a Duration, then a card played this Way will stay out as long as that Duration would

And Tent's below the line:

Quote
When you discard this from play, you may put it onto your deck.   

That's a good point. That's definitely how it played online, but now that you mention it, it definitely shouldn't've worked that way

3
I did it with Necropolis + Way of the Pig.

There are several other combinations with Necropolis that would do that trick, too. I can think of Necropolis + Ways of the Sheep, Horse, Monkey, Mule, Otter, Owl, and Seal, and sometimes Mouse, depending on which card is set aside. Also, Necropolis + Cursed Gold and Necropolis + Baker

Necropolis + Nomad Camp + Way of the Butterfly or Necropolis + Trail/Villa + Way of the Butterfly could work as well

4
I had a 5/2 opening in a game with Summon, Horse Trader, and Berserker. So, turn 1, bought Summon to gain Horse Trader. Turn 2, play that Horse Trader, discarding two Estates, leaving me with $5, which I used to buy a Berserker, and since I had Horse Trader in play, that meant I got to play Berserker on Turn 2. Not often you get to play Berserker in the opening!

5
Death Cart + Collection + Way of the Horse. Effectively 3 Horses + 3 VP per Collection in play for $4!

My opponent resigned early on, but I was curious how high I could get the score, so I continued with a bot game. Final score:



Each turn, once I had all the Collections, was just playing every Action card as Horse, then buying 5 Death Carts (bringing 10 Ruins) + 4 Border Guards = 19 Action cards at 10 VP each = 190 points per turn!

6
Death Cart + Collection + Way of the Horse. Effectively 3 Horses + 3 VP per Collection in play for $4!

7
Trail + Replace + Harem

Trail + Replace is already a nice combo. Trashing a Trail with Replace is already non-terminal and can get you good cards, not to mention being able to turn your Estates into Trails. But add Harem, and you can now Curse your opponent while gaining a Harem, for a 3 point swing, and it's non-terminal!

8
Had a game with Tent + Way of the Mouse being Secret Cave. You could use Secret Cave's duration, but then also topdeck Tent, so you'd get the duration effect without the card staying in play. Fortunately it was an online game, but in an IRL game, tracking would probably be pretty tricky. This would apply to any other Duration card as Mouse, and to Merchant Camp, Walled Village, and Border Guard with Horn (the other self-topdecking cards have the self-topdecking as part of their on-play effect, which would be replaced by Mouse's effect)

9
Way of the Mouse with Underling - and that was the only Liaison. So, in effect, the Way caused an Ally to be in the game

10
With one Province left, I started my turn with a Gold, two Coppers, and a couple of Victory cards in my hand, with 2 Coffers. Not quite enough to buy the last Province

But, then I realized, I had two Favors with Crafters' Guild as the Ally. And I'd bought the Guildhall Project. So, I used Crafters' Guild to gain a Silver, giving me an extra Coffer, and now I had $8 to buy the last Province!

11
Well, is the Curse worse than the two Ruins?
Collection + Death Cart is nice as endgame accelerator.

Your Death Cart can later trash those Ruins for +$5 each, so depending on how easy it is to line them up, it can be

12
Buying a Death Cart with a Cauldron in play = instant Cursing!

13
Not that this one requires a PHD to figure out but Toil and Souk is just bonkers.  as long as you have 2 coins avail you play every souk without the coins deducting your souk+7.  2 coins and 3 souks produces 12 coins.

Capitalism + Souk is even stronger, not even needing the $2

14
Way of the Turtle makes Guard Dog's reaction rather useful against discard attacks. It sets itself aside so that, a Militia attack, for example, against a 5-card hand with one Guard Dog only ends up forcing you to discard one card, and then at the start of your turn, you've basically got a Lab effect

15
Dominion General Discussion / Re: cauldron is kind of funny
« on: July 25, 2022, 08:07:43 pm »
Cauldron + Collection is a funny combo, too. VP for me, Curse for you!

16
In a game with Warlord winning the Magpie split suddenly becomes a lot less appealing...

Had a really bad Warlord interaction in a recent game. Peasant game with Highway. I bought a bunch of Highways and put the +buy token on the pile

... And then ended up frequently only able to play two Highways and having a hand full of unplayable Highways, because my opponent managed to get 3 Warlords

17
Rabble no longer topdecks Curses if Charlatan is in the kingdom

18
Rules Questions / Inheritance + Royal Galley
« on: July 15, 2022, 09:49:29 pm »
So, since an Inherited Estate is not a Duration card, even if the set-aside card is a Duration, you can play an Inherited Estate with a Royal Galley. Tracking can be tricky, but not really any rules confusion

But what if the set-aside card is itself a Royal Galley? How would that work?

If I use Royal Galley on an Estate playing Royal Galley, and in turn use that to play another Estate playing Royal Galley, and then use that Royal Galley to play a regular Action card, what happens on the following turns? Would it mean that at the start of my next turn, I would get to play two Action cards from my hand, and replay them at the start of the third turn (since both of those Estates are being played again at the start of my second turn), even as the Royal Galleyed card from turn 1 is being replayed?

19
Dominion General Discussion / Prince of Highways
« on: July 15, 2022, 09:39:10 pm »
The old Highway was terrible with Prince, but with the new version of Highway, a Princed Highway suddenly becomes ridiculously strong

20
So, I had a recent game with both Pirate and Charlatan. This is an interesting combo since Charlatan, by making Curses into Treasures, can trigger Pirate's reaction, both for your opponent's play and for your own play. Anyway, at one point, the hand I drew had a Charlatan, a Pirate, and $5 worth of Treasure. So, my plan was, when it came to my turn, to play Charlatan and react to my opponent's gain with my Pirate. That would give me $8 for that turn and an extra Gold on the turn after that. But then my opponent played their own Charlatan and I accidentally used the reaction. So, I ended up with a total of $11 to spend on turn, with no extra buy, and not a Colony game, meaning that the extra Gold went to waste. And no extra Gold on my next turn, which turned out to be crucial as I was just a little short of being able to buy a Province on that turn (I think I ended up with $7 if I'm remembering right, but definitely an amount that an extra Gold would've been crucial). So, I ended up only being able to buy a Duchy instead of a Province. There were enough turns after that that I can't say for sure that it cost me the game (since both of us would probably have made different choices), but the final score ended up close enough that it likely did. Very annoying mistake


Just another example of why this change needs to be made. 

http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=21265.0

Why reactions don't get the same confirmation as trashes makes 0 sense.  It basically means you can't replay in ANY game that has a reaction attack possible. 

I mean if you preplay a card as an action that should not even be able to engage a reaction. I mean it can't tell that it was played before the reactionable card/situation was triggered?  Just dumb and leads to mistakes that no one would ever make, like accidentally prohibiting War Chest from gaining a hunting grounds or City Quarter, etc

Well, this wasn't preplay, it was me hitting the reaction without thinking. I've never used preplay (don't really see the point)

21
In a game with Warlord winning the Magpie split suddenly becomes a lot less appealing...

Alchemist really hates Warlord too

22
So, I had a recent game with both Pirate and Charlatan. This is an interesting combo since Charlatan, by making Curses into Treasures, can trigger Pirate's reaction, both for your opponent's play and for your own play. Anyway, at one point, the hand I drew had a Charlatan, a Pirate, and $5 worth of Treasure. So, my plan was, when it came to my turn, to play Charlatan and react to my opponent's gain with my Pirate. That would give me $8 for that turn and an extra Gold on the turn after that. But then my opponent played their own Charlatan and I accidentally used the reaction. So, I ended up with a total of $11 to spend on turn, with no extra buy, and not a Colony game, meaning that the extra Gold went to waste. And no extra Gold on my next turn, which turned out to be crucial as I was just a little short of being able to buy a Province on that turn (I think I ended up with $7 if I'm remembering right, but definitely an amount that an extra Gold would've been crucial). So, I ended up only being able to buy a Duchy instead of a Province. There were enough turns after that that I can't say for sure that it cost me the game (since both of us would probably have made different choices), but the final score ended up close enough that it likely did. Very annoying mistake

23
Donít you need Ferry to make Border Villages gainable for Berserker?

Berserker can't gain BV directly. But you can use Butterfly to return Berserker to its pile to gain Border Village

24
I haven't had this particular combo in a random game, but I realized it would have an interesting effect: You could empty out the entire Berserker pile in a single turn

Play a Berserker. Choose Trail for the cheaper card. Use Trail's reaction to play it, but play it with Way of the Butterfly. Return it to the Supply for another Berserker. Play that one. Keep repeating until the Berserker pile is empty. An interesting quirk here is that since all of this is reacting to the very first Berserker's play, the discard doesn't happen until the Berserker pile is empty, which could theoretically be relevant if your opponent has a Monkey in play. You could also start this process by playing a Trail from your hand if you have at least one other Action card already in play. A similar trick would work with Villa. In a Shelters game, this could even happen on turn 1 (although it wouldn't really be a sensible move to fill your deck up with 10 Berserkers so early) - play your Necropolis and 4 Coppers, buy a Trail, play it with Butterfly for Berserker, and then you've got this process started

Replacing Trail with Border Village allows instant emptying of the BV pile. With at least one other Action card in play, you play a Berserker from your hand as Butterfly. Return it to its pile to gain a BV, then choose Berserker as the cheaper card (thus getting back the same Berserker you'd just returned) and repeat the process until the BV pile is empty, or, alternately, you buy a BV, gain a Berserker, play it with Butterfly, and start the cycle from there

With both Trail and BV, you could thus empty two piles in a single turn. Potentially before your first shuffle in a Shelters game with the right shuffle luck. And then, with a deck full of Border Villages and Berserkers, you could gain all the Duchies in a few turns (gain a Trail, play it with Butterfly for a Duchy, using the BV's to play multiple Berserkers each turn). I tested that out in a bot game and ended the game on turn 6 with all 8 Duchies, and the BV and Berserker piles empty, plus one VP token from a Chariot Race, for a ending score of 25-0

Obviously not a combo that's going to come up very much, so not exactly a practical strategy, but pretty wild to play

25
Capital City + Guard Dog is a nice combo. By discarding for the +$2, you can then set up your hand to get +4 Cards from Guard Dog

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 43

Page created in 0.076 seconds with 19 queries.