Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Chappy7

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 21
1
Weekly Design Contest / Re: WDC 151: Now or Later
« on: May 11, 2022, 03:38:45 pm »


This should probably have some accountability language in case a player has no cards in hand that are not already in Exile. Also, "Exile" should be capitalized every time (see Bounty Hunter, Sanctuary):

Quote
Exile a card from your hand that you don't have a copy of in Exile (or reveal you can't).

I presume it's you intend that the player still gains the card, even if they were unable to Exile anything.

Ah frick you're right.

Yes, it was split into two sentences so the gaining happens regardless of the exiling.


2
Weekly Design Contest / Re: WDC 151: Now or Later
« on: May 11, 2022, 02:03:09 pm »
Where do you exile the card from?
From your comments it looks like you mean from your hand, but I think that needs specifying on the card - the exile mechanism has no default location to exile things from.

Yes it's from your hand.  My bad


3
Weekly Design Contest / Re: WDC 151: Now or Later
« on: May 11, 2022, 12:51:23 pm »


A picky exiler that may force you to exile good stuff, but no worries, if you exile good stuff that costs less that 4 you can get it right back by gaining.

Might compare too favorably to Cobbler and Falconer? Both gain $4s to your hand, but one is non terminal and one can be played on someone else's turn. Niether of them are total powerhouses though so IDK.

4


It guarantees that there will be +Buy in the kingdom (yay) which means the cost reduction will probably be more helpful.  Then again, the 3 locked piles could be duchess, explorer, and harvest, and then key becomes a copper for $4...(not yay). Such is the way with cards that rely on other cards, like Commander, Prince, etc.

There's already something named Key (Treasurer's Artifact).

Huh I forgot that.  Let's pretend mine is called Key Ring

5


It guarantees that there will be +Buy in the kingdom (yay) which means the cost reduction will probably be more helpful.  Then again, the 3 locked piles could be duchess, explorer, and harvest, and then key becomes a copper for $4...(not yay). Such is the way with cards that rely on other cards, like Commander, Prince, etc.

6
Just had a merchant camp and tactician board.  Not only is merchant camp disappearing money, but it also helped me play bard and other terminal money without running out of actions, easily enabling double tactician. 

7
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 23, 2022, 11:42:57 am »


The Acting Troupe of favors, kinda. Sometimes lots of favors at once wont be too great.  Sometimes this could be pretty awesome. $3 might be too cheap?

If this is the only card on Kingdom with a different type from the standard ones (Victory, Action, Treasure, Curse), you wouldn't be able to activate it if you trash your 3 starting Estates, are not beeing cursed and still don't start greening. Is it a intended downside?

Edit: supposing that Kingdom also don't have Alt-VP.

Doesn't seem like an issue to me honestly.  As long as at least four types are available, I'm not worried.  Maybe it isn't very good on a few boards with no other types, but that isn't uncommon among dominion cards (to be not good in certain kingdoms)

Edit: and 3 types seems too easy imo

8
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #146: Contacts
« on: March 21, 2022, 05:31:46 pm »


The Acting Troupe of favors, kinda. Sometimes lots of favors at once wont be too great.  Sometimes this could be pretty awesome. $3 might be too cheap?

9
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #144: A one time thing
« on: February 28, 2022, 12:55:26 pm »


Pretty much a beggar, but one time only you can trash all the crap you've amassed (provided you can get most of it in your hand or discard pile) The decision comes from wondering how long to keep using the easy $3 early in the game, and when to cleanse the deck.  Or maybe you never want to gain coppers and you just want to use it to scrap your starting coppers. 

10
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Research Lab
« on: January 24, 2022, 12:15:46 pm »
I like the card and the fix, but the image really looks like a toaster

I will never be able to unsee this.
I literally thought it was a toaster.  Can't figure out what else it would be lol. 

11
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #133: A Time to Feast
« on: November 02, 2021, 11:02:29 pm »


Kinda like Banquet except, you know, different.  Probably pretty un-fun in a gardens rush, but then again, gardens rushes are pretty un-fun to begin with.

12
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #130: Sidekicks
« on: September 30, 2021, 05:55:09 pm »


This goes on top of Cobbler.  I love Cobbler and I want it to be better.  The Boot token would make it much better in most kingdoms. There is only one Boot Token, so the price reduction applies to everyone.  (Pretend the card says "Action-Duration" on the bottom.  Looks like I forgot that part)

13
FWIW, when Magic decided to print a card with "End the turn" on it, they had to add a whole new rules section to the comprehensive rules to describe the 6-step process that happens when you end the turn.

I wonder if you can just get away with "You cannot play any more cards or buy any cards or events this turn".

That would work and it would be a fun card, but it wouldn't fit this contest anymore.  Thanks for the suggestion though

14


Great for early gaining of golds or $5 cards.  Terrible for engines later on.  Can't tell if this is way too good or terrible, so I'm hoping that means it's just right.

Reminds me of a much more complex card I have. I really like Heist's simplicity, but I don't think it can really get away with "End your turn." It just creates too many rules questions. Many people will think you still do your Clean-up phase, and some will realize you don't.

"Gain a card costing up to $6. End your Action Phase.  Skip to your Cleanup Phase."
Does that sound too stupid? At this point, is the "end" even necessary? It's basically just there to clarify that you're done playing action cards now. I may have to scrap this idea.

15


Great for early gaining of golds or $5 cards.  Terrible for engines later on.  Can't tell if this is way too good or terrible, so I'm hoping that means it's just right.
Clarification question: What happens when you play this with Throne Room or Golem?
you could probably change it to "it is now your Clean-Up phase", which'd still allow you to keep playing the card and also still short-circuits the villa/cavalry effect.

What would that mean for the Throne Room interaction? Could you play it a second time if it's your clean-up phase?

16


Great for early gaining of golds or $5 cards.  Terrible for engines later on.  Can't tell if this is way too good or terrible, so I'm hoping that means it's just right.
Clarification question: What happens when you play this with Throne Room or Golem?

Good question.  Logically, I would say it fails to play the second time.  IDK how that translates to the actual rules of confusing situations in Dominion though.  What I had in mind was it's the end of your turn, period.  Anything still resolving gets ended.  I'll try to think of an elegant wording to portray this, unless someone has a good suggestion that makes sense.

17


Great for early gaining of golds or $5 cards.  Terrible for engines later on.  Can't tell if this is way too good or terrible, so I'm hoping that means it's just right.

18
Rules Questions / Re: Moving action cards when you play them
« on: July 08, 2021, 12:43:43 pm »
I'm aware of the Stop-Moving wall, of course. But it doesn't seem to apply in this case.

It's not playing Throne Room that puts the card in play; Throne Room plays the card, and then playing the card puts it in play.

Surely, if we argue that Throne Room can determine that playing Smithy will result in it being in play, we can also argue that Throne Room can determine that playing Embargo will result in it being in the Trash? Why would Throne Room know one but not the other?

Throne room doesn't read the action cards it plays, it only knows that they are action cards capable of being played.  It doesn't know what's going to happen after it is in play. 

19


Hopefully the 21 words is okay.  Funny enough, this would have qualified last week too.  Anyway, in a normal game this could end up being +2 Cards and +$3, which is cool.  Obviously with Platinum, Capitol, or other treasures it could be better.  If you don't get your deck trim enough, or if you don't get lucky, it could end up being +2 Cards +$1.  Not nearly as cool.  You can get yourself some Golds to help it work, but the Coppers could get in the way.

20


Kind of a weird Shephard thing.  You can't discard and redraw the same Victory cards.  It can help you gain victory cards. The draw could scale really big, but that would mean you have a junky deck. 

21

An issue with this might be the size of the Horse pile. It only takes 5 Farrier plays revealing Gold to empty to empty the pile. In a multiplayer game, that could leave one player perpetually stranded without Horses.

It's not that difficult to empty the Horse pile in certain Kingdoms with Livery as well, for what it's worth.  In any case, it's unlikely to happen before your first Farrier play (each of your opponents would need to play Farrier, reveal a high cost card, and not play any Horses in order to empty the pile). 

That said, maybe a cost limitation on the revealed card wouldn't hurt to minimize the risk of snowballing.  For instance, if you're already ahead and were able to buy a Colony, revealing it with Farrier to gain 11 Horses increases the chances of you being able to find both Farrier and Colony again in subsequent turns.

Victory cards are not targets of Farrier. A cost limitation might be difficult in the context of the rules of this contest round.

Oh right, I missed that wording on the card regarding the limitation to Actions and Treasures.   I think you would still face the same potential issue if you are able to reveal a Platinum though.

Cost limitation could be achieved with something along the lines of "costing less than this" in order to fit the contest rules, but it might not be what's optimal for the card.

Yeah I put treasure or action to exclude province specifically.  Plat Colony boards are rare, and in that case I'm okay with this card being bonkers.  It's not the only thing that greatly benefits from certain kingdoms.  I actually thought about saying something like "costing less than this" but in order for the card not to be total garbage, it would have to cost 5 or 6, and then it might be too expensive....idk.  A $6 one might be fine.  I'll think about it a bit but for now I'll leave it how it is

Yeah, “Costing less than this” would make it too weak unless it was buffed somehow.  Another option could be to discard the revealed card (so if you do reveal a Platinum, you would possibly lose the chance to play it in the same turn).

If that was the case I'd need to allow victory cards, I think.  It feels really weak if you have to choose between gaining horses or playing your expensive card.

22

An issue with this might be the size of the Horse pile. It only takes 5 Farrier plays revealing Gold to empty to empty the pile. In a multiplayer game, that could leave one player perpetually stranded without Horses.

It's not that difficult to empty the Horse pile in certain Kingdoms with Livery as well, for what it's worth.  In any case, it's unlikely to happen before your first Farrier play (each of your opponents would need to play Farrier, reveal a high cost card, and not play any Horses in order to empty the pile). 

That said, maybe a cost limitation on the revealed card wouldn't hurt to minimize the risk of snowballing.  For instance, if you're already ahead and were able to buy a Colony, revealing it with Farrier to gain 11 Horses increases the chances of you being able to find both Farrier and Colony again in subsequent turns.

Victory cards are not targets of Farrier. A cost limitation might be difficult in the context of the rules of this contest round.

Oh right, I missed that wording on the card regarding the limitation to Actions and Treasures.   I think you would still face the same potential issue if you are able to reveal a Platinum though.

Cost limitation could be achieved with something along the lines of "costing less than this" in order to fit the contest rules, but it might not be what's optimal for the card.

Yeah I put treasure or action to exclude province specifically.  Plat Colony boards are rare, and in that case I'm okay with this card being bonkers.  It's not the only thing that greatly benefits from certain kingdoms.  I actually thought about saying something like "costing less than this" but in order for the card not to be total garbage, it would have to cost 5 or 6, and then it might be too expensive....idk.  A $6 one might be fine.  I'll think about it a bit but for now I'll leave it how it is

24
This is not an entry.  I originally wanted to make a victory card, then I went away from it when it felt awkward, but I wanted to post it anyway to get some advice. What would be the best wording for the middle section? It's looking at card types, like Courtier. "worth %1 per different type of card in the trash" sounds better, but then it seems like it's less clear.  The goal is for it to easily be worth 3 points, usually be 4 or 5, and with some work, it could get up to 6+.  It might be too good in comparison to Duchy, but I'm mostly looking for wording advice since this isn't an official entry.


25
Zombie Goat
cost $3 - Action - Zombie
After drawing your next hand, trash a card from your hand.

I like the idea.  I like thinking about what the image would look like even more lol

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 21

Page created in 0.128 seconds with 18 queries.