Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - schoeggu

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
1
Recruiter / Fortress. Awesome Engine or just Village Idiot on steroids?

2
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Weird German Dominion promotion video
« on: November 01, 2017, 07:44:58 am »
That one guy played a Mine after playing his Treasures.

They play with the old rules where trashing was not optional and he needs the Mine to activate his Conspirator but does not want to trash coppers because of Well. 
So he played the coppers, bought Villa, played Mine (with +Action token) and will now play the Villa and Conspirator to activate his mega turn.

Edit: Added Quote for clarity because my post is on a new page

3
Possession. Whenever it's on the table I think "I better play bad so my wife cannot buy 6 Provinces with a King's Courted Possession again."

4
Just played a game with Sacrifice+Fortress+Tomb..... trash-tastic!

It's insane. Add a Scheme to your deck and you're guaranteed to always start with Fortress in hand.

5
Hunting Grounds and Donate (and a +buy source otherwise it's difficult)
When trashed Hunting Grounds gives you either a Duchy or three Estates.
The trick is to have two piles empty and then buy Donate to trash all your Hunting Grounds and using the gains to either empty the Estate or Duchy pile. You will get 3VP per Hunting Grounds (unless you need to gain 1 or 2 Estates to empty the pile), plus all the VP gained during your turn (where you can still use your Hunting Grounds).
Because the endgame state is checked after your turn but before you Donate your opponent gets a last turn. But they cannot use Donate to trash Hunting Grounds as the game will finish after their turn.

So in this game, I bought two Provinces and made sure two piles were empty. And with the last remaining buy I bought Donate.
With Donate I trashed my four Hunting Grounds, gaining a Duchy and 8 Estates. Thus so emptying the third pile. (23VP)
The opponent would have to been able to buy 4 Provinces (24VP) to get ahead of me which she wasn't ;)

6
Dominion FAQ / Re: Dominion empires release other languages
« on: October 01, 2016, 03:50:44 am »
Sadly the 5VP tokens aren't the same size as the ones from Prosperity

7
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Dominion and Intrigue second editions
« on: September 24, 2016, 07:55:58 pm »
So Scout is now a Smithy.

9
Let's Discuss ... / Re: Let's Discuss Landmarks: Tomb
« on: September 21, 2016, 04:52:13 am »
Fortress-Rats can make up to 20 VP each turn. If you add a Scheme (to topdeck the Fortress) you are guaranteed to make n VPs each turn where n is the number of rats you have in your deck.

It's extremly easy and fast to setup.
Buy 1 Scheme, 1 Fortress and at least 1 Rat. And then the golden deck will build itself in a few turns.

10
Crossroads & Advisor
If you have enough Crossroads you'll gladly discard the Gold and take two green cards.

11
Dominion FAQ / Re: Dominion empires release other languages
« on: September 15, 2016, 06:06:54 am »
From a comment on their facebook page:
Quote
Nicht nur die deutsche Version lässt sich noch ein wenig Zeit, das sind einfach Verlagsentscheidungen die bei Rio Grande Games liegen. ASS Altenburger selbst ist lediglich für den Vertrieb auf dem deutschen Markt zuständig.
So it's not that it takes so long to translate, but that they aren't allowed to release it earlier.
German version was supposed to be released on 1st of September. (This info is also taken from their facebook page, the website does not have any info about Empires).

12
Dominion FAQ / Re: Dominion empires release other languages
« on: September 15, 2016, 02:27:31 am »
Does anyone have the German version yet? Or is there a PDF of the German rulebook available somewhere? I would love to know translations of the card names so I have the dividers ready when my copy finally arrives.

13
Rules Questions / Conspirator, Crown and Villa
« on: September 06, 2016, 02:55:26 am »
Play Crown during buy phase.
Buy Villa, return to action phase.
Play Conspirator.

Does the Crown count as an Action played for Conspirator?

Rules say:
Quote
To play an Action, the player takes an Action card from his hand
and lays it face-up in his play area.
But it's under the Action Phase section.

Conspirator Text states:
Quote
If you’ve played 3 or more Actions this turn (counting this): +1 Card, +1 Action.

14
Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: September 04, 2016, 07:23:37 am »
So I can use Seaway on Small Castle or Opulent Castle (with cost reduction), but not Pathfinding/Training/Lost Arts, as they require an action pile?

15
Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: September 03, 2016, 09:35:43 pm »
Seaway on Gladiator, does the +Buy also apply for the Fortune?
I think yes, but I'm not sure.

Seaway Text:
Quote
Gain an Action card costing up to 4.
Move your +1 Buy token to its pile (when you play a card from that pile, you first get +1 Buy).

16
Dominion General Discussion / Re: How good is Alchemy?
« on: August 17, 2016, 05:59:34 am »
Since you will get all expansions eventually it doesn't really matter which you get next.  ;)

I think the problem most people have with Alchemy is the potion cost. The cards are cool. But it's often difficult to know wheter buying a potion is justified if there there are only one or two potion-cost cards.

17
Simulation / Re: Empires... simulate it
« on: July 27, 2016, 04:34:48 am »
Is there a way to specify what to trash? Or in which order to play actions?

18
Dominion: Empires Previews / Re: Favourite Card/Event/Landmark?
« on: June 09, 2016, 06:25:49 am »
I like interesting decisions where there is no clear best way to play and optimal play depends on what the opponents do.

Card: Castles Even when you're not going for castles you need to buy some away from your opponent, or salt them. Which castle do I trash with the small castle and which do I gain? Buying the penultimate castle is risky especially in multiplayer games.

Event: Ritual The ultimate endgame thrash for benefit.

Landmark: Keep Keeping a few coppers or even buying with leftover buys during endgame. Is it worth it? Does it clutter my deck too much? Can I upgrade the gold into a province or do I loose the gold lead?

Mechanic Gathering (Altough Landmarks are a close second). The decision wheter to take the VP or add a VP to the pile. Do I play Farmers Market for +3 Coin and let the opponent get the VP or do I wait?

19
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Homage to the Best Card
« on: June 07, 2016, 04:23:19 am »


Or we could build some castles to hide in.

20
Dominion: Empires Previews / Re: Release date
« on: May 18, 2016, 08:23:56 am »
I've sent an email to the dominion-welt.de guys last week, asking when we can expect the German version.

The answer:
Quote
Geplant ist zur Zeit eine Veröffentlichung voraussichtlich Anfang September dieses Jahres. Weitere Informationen finden Sie dann auch demnächst auf der Dominion-Welt Website.
:'(

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 19 queries.