Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - GendoIkari

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 287
1
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: Today at 11:28:57 am »
24 hours left

You totally missed your chance to post this image instead:


2
Feedback / Re: Chrome Extension for f.ds!
« on: Today at 11:19:33 am »
Ok, thanks to an idea from Chappy7, and much help from tailred's Woodcutter logging services, the new game-log-kingdom-visualizer-feature is done!

To use this new feature... type a game number, including a "#" at the start, like #21439056. Highlight the whole thing and hit the "Kingdom" button. It will replace the game number with the list of cards in the Kingdom. Upon posting, it will replace the [kingdom ] tag with the card images, just like before.

You can still use the Kingdom button and the [kingdom ] tag exactly like it used to work also. Just list out any number of card names, separated by commas, surrounded with the [kingdom ] tag, and it will post images for them when you post. The "Kingdom" button will only check the Woodcutter logs if the text starts with a "#".

Remember, your game log needs to be loaded into Woodcutter for this to work.

3
Introductions / Re: Hi I dont know how to forum
« on: Today at 11:15:40 am »

[kingdom ]13895351[/kingdom]

All right, I guess I don't know what the kingdom button or the card image button do.

This is now a thing, thanks to your idea!

4
Rules Questions / Re: Swindler?
« on: January 20, 2019, 12:42:32 pm »
Theyíre all the same. The * and + are just reminders that thereís something special about buying the card; itís not really part of the cost.
But when you click on a card on the wiki at the bottom it says cards costing 3+ as if it's different

Iím not sure exactly what you mean... but the Wiki can choose to list cards by whatever grouping the people want. They may find it helpful to list $3 cards separately from $3+ cards, but that doesnít mean the actual cost is different.

5
Rules Questions / Re: Swindler?
« on: January 20, 2019, 09:51:39 am »
Theyíre all the same. The * and + are just reminders that thereís something special about buying the card; itís not really part of the cost.

6
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: Enterprise (Beta)
« on: January 18, 2019, 05:33:46 pm »
Refurbish: Action, $4  ★★★☆☆
+1 Buy
You may trash a card from your hand to gain a Silver.

While this is in play, Silver produces an extra $1.
It's coppersmith for silvers, but stronger. if it only had the "coppersmith effect" it would still be worth because the silvers would hurt your deck less then more coppers

What you are missing is that you start with 7 Coppers and 0 Silvers. That means that if you buy a Coppersmith right away for , you already have 7 cards that it works on. It is pretty likely that the first time you play that Coppersmith, it will give you + or even +. Refurbish's Silver-boosting effect will take a while to be worth it. The first several times you play one, you probably aren't even going to get to play a Silver that turn.

7
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Alchemy theme.
« on: January 18, 2019, 04:40:34 pm »
What is this a quote from? One reason that it can make sense to say that Herbalist is Potion-related is that one of the defining characteristics of the Potion-cost cards is that often you can only get one per shuffle. Sure you can buy more Potions, but that sucks for other reasons. So Herbalist allows you to get more than one Potion-cost cards in a shuffle. That's important.

I'm more interested in why it says that Possession is not useful in multiples!

You can only have one potion max. in your deck?

Already addressed in bold. LittleFish gave one good reason why it's generally bad. It's also just a card that you really don't want to have to have in your deck in general; due to its limited use.

I do remember a game where I built up a nice engine; then towards the end I spent one turn buying a bunch of Potions, so that on the next turn I could buy a bunch of Vineyards.

8
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Alchemy theme.
« on: January 18, 2019, 03:05:13 pm »
What is this a quote from? One reason that it can make sense to say that Herbalist is Potion-related is that one of the defining characteristics of the Potion-cost cards is that often you can only get one per shuffle. Sure you can buy more Potions, but that sucks for other reasons. So Herbalist allows you to get more than one Potion-cost cards in a shuffle. That's important.

I'm more interested in why it says that Possession is not useful in multiples!

9
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Card Tokens?
« on: January 18, 2019, 12:37:04 pm »
Would these token gainers be events or cards?


10
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: January 18, 2019, 10:49:31 am »


I think the intention is that Blight setup happens after all other setup instructions?

Correct.

I think it's all accounted for by "rules on cards override rules in the rulebook", which covers the setup of Shelters and Heirlooms

Yeah, although there might be some need for a ruling to go along with it; I think the most reasonable interpretation is that "Setup" instructions would affect the version of the starting deck that the rulebook says you are using. Things like Shelters and Heirlooms aren't setup instructions; they're updates to the game rules that re-define what your starting deck looks like. Blight says to change your starting deck; which means the starting deck as it is defined by the rules. Thus, in a game with Shepherd and Blight, you never have Pasture; and in a game with Shelters and Blight, you never have Overgrown Estate.

11
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Best cards for Black Market Pile cards
« on: January 17, 2019, 02:40:40 pm »
Treasure Map
Fool's Gold
Port
King's Castle
Avanto
Magpie
Cultist
Transmute
Peddler
Villa

12
Rules Questions / Re: Caravan Guard - Reaction and +1 Action Timing
« on: January 17, 2019, 02:21:33 pm »
As is the case with most Dominion rules questions*, simply literally following the wording on the card is a simpler explanation than going by the detailed wording in the FAQ. Caravan Guard says you can play the card from your hand, so that's it. You play it from your hand. Playing it at that time is exactly like playing it normally. You play the card; you follow the instructions on the card. Don't add extra complexity by wondering if maybe for some reason playing the card at that time is different than playing any other card at any other time.



*Yeah, not including all those recent threads about Inheritance and BoM and Capitalism.

13
Rules Questions / Re: Caravan Guard - Reaction and +1 Action Timing
« on: January 17, 2019, 01:55:11 pm »
The former means off-turn-CG gives you 1 action, and that action has no effect (whatever that might mean);

It means it doesn't let you play Actions on your opponent's turn. Which, as it turns out, is what it means.

Quote
Playing this during another player's turn is similar to playing it during your own turn - you put Caravan Guard into play, get +1 Card and +1 Action, and will get + at the start of your next turn - the very next turn you take. However getting +1 Action during someone else's turn does not do anything for you; it does not let you play other Action cards during that playerís turn.

t. rules

The part that is 'confusing' to me is the

"... get ... +1 Action, ... the very next turn you take ..."  It makes it sound like you get ANOTHER "+1 Action" on top of your default ABC "+1 Action" on the very next turn you take (like an unspent +1 Villager token on your mat.. it is waiting for you to 'use' ... on 'the very next turn you take'.  It seems opposite of the fact that you get you use the +1 Coin on your next turn, but you cannot use the +1 Action?

You're grouping the wrong words together; missing where the word "will" comes in the sentence.

It's "(get +1 Card and +1 Action) and (will get + at the start of your next turn - the very next turn you take.)"

It is not "(get +1 Card and +1 Action and will get +) (at the start of your next turn - the very next turn you take.)"

The "will get ... at the start of your next turn" is only referring to the +. This is exactly the same as playing a Caravan normally. When you play it normally, you get +1 Card and +1 Action right now, and you get + at the start of your next turn. You don't get all 3 at the start of your next turn.

14
Rules Questions / Re: Caravan Guard - Reaction and +1 Action Timing
« on: January 17, 2019, 12:51:08 pm »
That +1 Action is thus normally useless.

>normally
Is there an edge case where it matters?
Not as things stand, but if there were ever a Dominion situation where an Attack could be played on another player's turn, it would.

Why? If I have Caravan Guard in hand, on my turn, and someone else plays an attack during my turn, the text in italics doesn't apply at all. It says +1 action has no effect if it's not your turn. It doesn't say it has no effect if it's being used as a reaction.

15
General Discussion / Re: Maths thread.
« on: January 17, 2019, 11:23:31 am »
What do you all think of this problem?  The result is so unexpected when you first hear it.  I managed to solve it myself, but I still think that the result is fascinating.

Ha, I was just coming here to post this video.

This blew my mind. Like, Pi is an unending irrational number. There's no reason in the world that the first some number digits of Pi, without the entire thing, should ever mean anything.

Well, there's some reason.

I haven't put too much thought into solving it; just waiting for the part 2 video. But I assume it must be something where as one block approaches infinite size; some physics equation about collisions approaches something that involves a circle. But even then, you aren't ending up with Pi, you are ending up with Pi * 10^x.

I know that he says pi always involves a circle, but my solution doesn't actually use any geometry.  I just kept dealing with equations and eventually complex numbers showed up and then the solution was pretty simple.  I'm looking forward to his solution because I know it will be different than mine.

The way I see pi in the original problem is that pi always involves oscillations, and the block on the left is constantly oscillating back and forth.  This oscillation happens to be perfect enough that it make pi jump out.

I don't know the physics off-hand to know how the velocity of each object changes after collision.

16
General Discussion / Re: Maths thread.
« on: January 17, 2019, 11:17:55 am »
What do you all think of this problem?  The result is so unexpected when you first hear it.  I managed to solve it myself, but I still think that the result is fascinating.

Ha, I was just coming here to post this video.

This blew my mind. Like, Pi is an unending irrational number. There's no reason in the world that the first some number digits of Pi, without the entire thing, should ever mean anything.

Well, there's some reason.

I haven't put too much thought into solving it; just waiting for the part 2 video. But I assume it must be something where as one block approaches infinite size; some physics equation about collisions approaches something that involves a circle. But even then, you aren't ending up with Pi, you are ending up with Pi * 10^x.

17
General Discussion / Re: Maths thread.
« on: January 17, 2019, 11:12:36 am »
What do you all think of this problem?  The result is so unexpected when you first hear it.  I managed to solve it myself, but I still think that the result is fascinating.

Ha, I was just coming here to post this video.

This blew my mind. Like, Pi is an unending irrational number. There's no reason in the world that the first some number digits of Pi, without the entire thing, should ever mean anything.

18
Rules Questions / Re: Caravan Guard - Reaction and +1 Action Timing
« on: January 17, 2019, 10:41:35 am »
You can get something that has no effect.
Sure, but the card doesn't say you get an action that can't be used for anything; it says that "+1 Action" has no effect, where that instruction usually has the effect of giving you an action.

Or maybe you were joking and I missed the joke.

At the risk of diving deeper down a semantic rabbit hole, "X has no effect" and "the effect of X is nothing" are synonymous. The statement in parentheses is clarifying that the effect does nothing.

I think you're misreading Chipper. The question isn't whether there's a difference between "X has no effect" and "the effect of X is nothing". The question is whether you literally do still get +1 Action or not. Does the text "+1 Action" have no effect? Or does the action sitting around in your action bank have no effect?

19
Rules Questions / Re: Caravan Guard - Reaction and +1 Action Timing
« on: January 17, 2019, 10:40:05 am »
You can get something that has no effect.
Sure, but the card doesn't say you get an action that can't be used for anything; it says that "+1 Action" has no effect, where that instruction usually has the effect of giving you an action.

Or maybe you were joking and I missed the joke.

I think the intention behind "(+1 Action has no effect if it's not your turn)[/i]" is to say "The extra action cannot be used if it's not your turn". But indeed, as worded, it does seem to literally say that you don't actually get the +1 Action.

Fortunately, there isn't anything in the game that can make this matter. There could be some day, though. The simplest thing I could think of is if there were a -1 Action penalty token, like the -1 Card and - tokens. In this case, you would expect normally that playing Caravan Guard when it isn't your turn would remove the -1 Action token, but due to the italicized wording, it's reasonable to interpret it that you wouldn't.

20
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Bane Marker
« on: January 17, 2019, 09:59:35 am »
It's a card sized thing. The young witch is around the same size as on the card
So you just stick the Bane Mat underneath the Bane pile but keep portion stuck out so you can see the 'mat' underneath the Bane pile? I figured that the Bane mat would have been bigger so that you could see the mat underneath the Bane pile.

Thanks for the feedback though.

Itís sideways; so it stickes out he left and right sides. You can see the picture on the wiki.

21
Rules Questions / Re: Innovation wording
« on: January 16, 2019, 03:14:07 pm »
The first time you gain an action card in each of your turns, you may set it aside. If you do, play it.

My question is why do you set it aside first, and what does this change? Or how does setting it aside first make it play differently?

Is it just so you can't play tricks like gain an action play it (innovation) reveal trader to gain silver instead or watchtower to trash it?

It affects things like Watchtower, Royal Seal, and Travelling Fair.

Without that wording, you could gain a card, put it onto your deck, and play it. It would stay on your deck because of lose-track, but still get played. This would cause tracking issues, as well as some confusion about lose track, and make it stronger.

Note that it wouldn't affect Trader at all; with Trader you never end up gaining the card, so Innovation would never happen.

22
Rules Questions / Re: Innovation and Haggler
« on: January 16, 2019, 01:57:20 pm »
I bought Innovation.

While a Haggler is in play, I bought Province. I gained and set aside another Haggler. I played it.

Do I gain another card cheaper than Province?
Yes.

When you're in the window for resolving effects that trigger on a particular thing, new things that show up also work. This goes back to Secret Chamber / Moat - I play Militia, you use Secret Chamber, you get Moat from it, you use the Moat on the Militia.

The part I don't follow is hagglers text says "while this is in play when you gain a card" how can the it be in play before the province is gained?

I can kind of follow the secret chamber most reasoning, but I still struggle with it.

It's very similar to playing a Guide at the start of your turn with Summon or Ghost. Even though Guide wasn't on your Tavern mat when your turn began, until there's nothing left you want to or can do that's part of "at the start of your turn"; it is still considered to be during the "at the start of your turn" window. So you can call that Guide right away.

In this case, until there's nothing left you want to or can do that's part of "when you gain a card", you are still considered to be during the "when you gain a card" window.

Or, it's similar to the MTG rules... any time something happens, the game checks to see if the game state matches any trigger conditions. It continues to make this check until all triggered abilities are dealt with. So in both MTG and Dominion, you gain a card, and then game asks "does anything happen because you gained a card?" If no, you are done. If yes, you deal with that thing, but then the game asks does anything else happen because you gained a card?" the game keeps asking this until it gets a "no". And during one of the times that it asks, it gets the answer "yes, Haggler is in play, and it says that it does something when you gain a card while it is in play".

23
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Shitty Rules Questions
« on: January 16, 2019, 01:41:21 pm »
This reminds me of the Standoff in Honolulu.

24
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Counter Magic
« on: January 15, 2019, 12:54:08 pm »


Please correct the text, because i am a non native speaker.

Wording stuff:

+2 Cards
Each other player gains a Copper.
You may trash a card from your hand, for +1 Card and +1 Action.
________________________________________________________
When you draw a card during another player's turn, you may discard this and any number of other cards from your hand, then draw that many.


I removed the non-action part, is there a reason to limit it to discarding "non-action cards"? You will almost never want to discard action cards anyway; so it would almost always be used the same way anyway without that extra wording. It only really makes a difference in games with Ruins. I also removed the "have to draw" part, because I think that causes confusion about when that applies... if your opponent plays Vault, and you discard 2 cards, you then have to draw a card. But you also could have chosen not to discard 2 cards, so does "have to draw" apply here?

But I think that reaction wording actually has issues... you discard all the cards at the same time, and you don't have to reveal Counter Magic if it's not the one you put on top of your discard. So for accountability, you would need some really awkward wording... "when you draw a card on another player's turn, you may discard this from your hand. If you do, discard any number of cards, then draw that many, then +1 card."

I don't understand the point of the reaction as a whole though, I think you should just leave it off. It is very rare that you draw a card during another player's turn; so this will do nothing in the vast majority of games. There's only a very small handful of cards that make this happen. And even when it does happen, I think you would rather have this card in your hand for its main ability than you would want to discard it for a Cellar effect.

*Edit* I think there are only a total of 7 cards in Dominion that could cause this reaction to be used... Council Room, Legionary, Lost City, Governor, Margrave, Minion, and Soothsayer.

For the main effect... as a general rule, pure Copper junking like this is bad, because there are a huge number of Copper cards, and that number also differs per game, based on both player count, and whether or not players have chosen to combine treasures from 2 base sets (which the rules say you can do, and should do for higher player-counts). It seems like this should just give Curses instead... I'm not even sure if that would be stronger or weaker, due to the fact that Curses will run out.

The card is also super powerful. Of course Potion-costing cards generally are... but this is way over powered. Look at how strong Masquerade is, just due to having +2 cards, trash a card. This is +3 cards, +1 action, trash a card. That's insane. AND it is a junking attack on top of that. Compare this to Familiar... +1 card, +1 action, junk opponents. This is Familiar, with an extra +2 cards and trashing on top!


25
Other Games / Re: Breath of the Wild
« on: January 14, 2019, 11:04:42 am »
So, after not playing for almost a year, I decided to try out Master Mode.

My goal was to play enough that I could be strong enough to beat the game, without doing any of the divine beasts.

It was a lot of fun. Exploring around to randomly find shrines felt mostly new, as I didn't remember where most shrines were. The beginning is super tough; you basically just have to avoid all enemy encounters, as you won't be able to defeat most enemies before you break every weapon you have.

I eventually got enough shrines to get the master sword (trading in the couple stamina upgrades I'd gotten to get it sooner). With the Master Sword, I was able to defeat most enemies, though I still died a fair amount of the time. Upgrading armor seemed to help a lot.

So once I got 16 hearts and a couple stamina upgrades (64 shrines done), I headed to Hyrule Castle. Got the Hylian Shield. The Ganon fight is insanely difficult. Having to go through all 4 bosses wasn't too bad, though it used up several of my healing items.

The second half of the first phase of Ganon is where it gets crazy. He will be invincible most of the time; you can only damage him when he does something that you can counter. (Either parry a beam, or flurry rush a sword strike). This lets you do a bit of damage before he goes invincible again. The problem is, in Master Mode, he heals while you aren't doing him damage. And he's invincible, so he's going to heal every time. You need a combination of luck, hoping that he attacks quickly enough that he hasn't healed too much yet, and perfect play, because if you miss a single counter, then he will almost always be fully healed before you can touch him again.

The first time I did this fight, I spent over an hour fighting him. Him constantly healing back to full (technically back to half, where he is when he enters the second part), and me constantly healing back to full thanks to having lots of food. But he won the war of attrition; eventually I used up all of my hundreds of healing items. And eventually my Hylian Shield broke, at which point it becomes just a waiting game until you die. I was using damage+ items as well, but they ran out too quickly.

The second time, I prepared more... got several fairies, several more full-heal items, several more damage+ items. And upgraded my armor more. I over-prepared though; I eventually beat him with a fair number of healing items, attack+ items, and fairies left. The final phase is just as easy in Master Mode as it is normally. Still fun though.

The last thing I want to do before I call it quits again is to get enemies upgraded to the new Gold level. I finally found some Gold Lizalfos... they did not disappoint. Aside from just being Gold, they seem to increase their numbers as well. The camp I found had 2 Black, 2 Silver, and 2 Gold Lizalfos. Even though I had multiple fairies going into it, I died 4-5 times before I finally defeated them all. I'll keep killing more random enemies until I see Gold of all 4 types (including the Gold Lynel), and then I'll be done.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 287

Page created in 0.228 seconds with 19 queries.