Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - MatthewCA

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4
1
Rules Questions / Re: Post errata Band of Misfits + Cargo Ship
« on: February 18, 2020, 12:19:05 pm »
Side question, is there any kind of rule or generally accepted conventional way of dealing with parentheses in card text unless its explicitly stated on the card? Let me use examples. We know that Governor tells you exactly what the parentheses mean because it tells us. Cargo Ship uses parentheses to let us know where specifically on the table we should put the set aside card so that we remember to put it in our hand at the start of the next turn, but this isn't necessary, just a "best practice" way to make sure you actually do what the card says. My question is, do all parentheses on cards indicate "best practices" for tracking effects, unless the card says explicitly what the parentheses are for, like Governor.

*edits for clairity

2
Rules Questions / New Overlord with Highway
« on: December 10, 2019, 04:15:34 pm »
Quote
Overlord

Play a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to $5, leaving it there.


Quote
Highway

+1 Card
+1 Action
While this is in play, cards cost $1 less, but not less than $0.


I play an Overlord with the new errata ( with the Command type) to play Highway. Since Highway isn't in play, do I still get the cost reduction?

I can't seem to find the answer on the wiki or in the thread about the rules tweaks and errata if "while this is in play" stuff still works with new Overlord and BoM

3
Rules Questions / Re: Fleet extra turns
« on: April 30, 2019, 12:29:17 pm »
Yet one more way of saying it:

If any player has bought Fleet, there will be a Fleet round after the game would normally end. Only players with Fleet get a normal turn in this round. Otherwise it is exactly as if the game is extented for one normal round.*

*except that these turns don't count for tie-breaker.

Basically it sounds like Fleet changes the timing between when the end of game is triggered and when its resolved. (With the obvious caveat that only players who bought Fleet get to participate in the final round.)

4
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Shitty Rules Questions
« on: February 06, 2019, 10:39:51 pm »
If I'm playing with the Empires expansion against the 45th president of the United States, and he wants the Wall landmark, but I don't, is he allowed to shut down Dominion for 5 weeks?

5
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Shitty Rules Questions
« on: February 05, 2019, 10:54:12 pm »
If I play Possession, but I'm already possessed by a real spirit, do I regain control of my body for the duration of the Possession turn?

If you're actually possessed by a real spirit, then you didn't play Posession, the spirit did. So the player to the spirits' (and your) left takes a turn where the spirit makes all the decisions.
But that suggests that possession is different to Possession, where the latter has it that the possessed player is the one playing their turn. Does this need an official ruling?

Needs an official ruling for sure. It's not like a 3 card combo that will never come up in a game. We are talking about something as simple as a card and a paranormal phenomenon that completely breaks the game.

6
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Shitty Rules Questions
« on: February 05, 2019, 04:22:50 pm »
After opening my copy of Adventures, I was throwing out my cardboard frames, and accidentally tossed one of my Champion cards that had gotten mixed up with cardboard trash.

When I play a Lurker, can I gain that Champion from my trash can?

If your trash can is on the table with the rest of the kingdom, you can do this.

7
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Shitty Rules Questions
« on: February 05, 2019, 03:21:41 pm »
If I play Possession, but I'm already possessed by a real spirit, do I regain control of my body for the duration of the Possession turn?

If you're actually possessed by a real spirit, then you didn't play Posession, the spirit did. So the player to the spirits' (and your) left takes a turn where the spirit makes all the decisions.

8
Rules Questions / Re: Strange Inventor question
« on: November 26, 2018, 04:52:17 pm »
I assume the "then" on Inventor is meant only to (redundantly) indicate sequence, just like it does on Wishing Well or Cellar. Also, I assume that if it were actually meant to indicate a dependent effect, the FAQ would have pointed that out.

This. I see now that this is probably the way it is.

I'd like to take this opportunity to apologize for wasting everyone's time on this.

9
Rules Questions / Re: Strange Inventor question
« on: November 26, 2018, 04:10:36 pm »
Contingent as in if you don't gain a card there will be no cost reduction? No, there is no "if you do" clause and therefor it doesn't matter if you fail to follow the instruction.

In fact, I think it's edge case-free impossible to occur since curses/ruins, coppers and estates needs to be out for that to even be considered.

That is what I was thinking.

The word "Then" on the card confused me a bit I guess. It could matter for trader or posession, or anything with "when you would gain" timing, play inventor, gain an estate, reveal trader to instead gain a silver instead.  (why not just use inventor to gain the silver, but I digress) Do I still get the cost reduction?

Since its understood you resolve things top to bottom, the fact that the word "then" is on the card leads me to believe that Gaining a card costing up to $4 has to happen to get the cost reduction.

10
Rules Questions / Strange Inventor question
« on: November 26, 2018, 03:34:40 pm »
When you play an Inventor, is the cost reduction contingent on gaining a card costing up to $4? I honestly can't think of a situation where it would matter, I'm just curious.

11
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance and Border Guard
« on: November 13, 2018, 09:33:12 am »
My intuitive reading is as follows:

Inheritance says "Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to $4. Move your Estate token to it. (Your Estates gain the abilities and types of that card.)". Your Estates don't transform into Border Guards. They only copy the abilities and types of Border Guard:

Name: Estate
Ability: +1 Action
Reveal the top 2 cards of your deck. Put one into your hand and discard the other. If both were Actions, take the Lantern or Horn.
1 VP
Cost: 2
Types: Action - Victory

The Horn and Lantern both refer to Border Guard. Your Estates still aren't Border Guards. Even if you have the Horn, your Estates will still be discarded as normal at the end of your turn. Even if you have the Lantern, your Estates will still only reveal the top 2 cards of your deck. Your Estates cannot inherit the abilities of Horn or Lantern, because these are not cards costing up to 4. Your Estates are still only Estates, even though they gain some additional abilities and type(s).

This is my take, anyway. Inheritance isn't worded like BoM, which specifically says "Play this as if it were a cheaper Action card in the Supply. This is that card until it leaves play." No mention of gaining abilities and types here. I don't think they should work identically.

This was my initial thought too. But I do see the line of reasoning behind Lantern working, but not Horn.

Reading the comments, I have been convinced that Lantern should work with Inherited Border Guard.

12
Rules Questions / Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« on: October 06, 2018, 08:05:22 pm »
So if you Procession a Band of Misfits-as-Catacombs (where Catacombs has the -$2 token on it), what happens?

From the Wiki for Band of Misfits

Quote
If you Procession a Band of Misfits, you will gain a $6 Action, since Band of Misfits will be in the trash (and thus cost $5, since it has left play) when Procession checks its cost.

EDIT: And I imagine you'd gain a card costing less than the cost reduced Catacombs

13
Rules Questions / Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« on: October 06, 2018, 06:30:30 pm »
My understanding of the rules and rulings regarding BoM seem to confirm that this is the case as well. If you play it as Island, its removed from play and reverts back to being a BoM on the Island mat. Once BoM as Embargo is trashed, it's out of play and loses all of Embargo's abilities. It doesn't matter that this happens while you're still playing Embargo, BoM can't play abilities it doesn't have and has no access to.

In addition to what GendoIkari said, there seems to be a rule that when an ability is triggered, you resolve it in its entirety no matter what.

Unless you can not do it. Classic example is play a Smithy with an empty discard pile and only 2 cards in your deck. You can not completely resolve that because where does the third card you should draw come from?

Quote
It's clear that BoM-as-Embargo reverts back to BoM after it's trashed, before you add an Embargo token. But there is no ruling saying that this has any impact on the ability that has already been triggered. There are just rulings saying that (1) if you play the card again, it's a BoM, and (2) an ability checking the card finds a BoM.

What I'm saying is after BoM as a one shot tells you to trash itself, all other instructions on the card are lost, because it's not the one shot anymore. I can use an example without BoM that has the same behavior. Suppose I Inherit Mining Village and then Throne Room an Estate. The first time I play the Estate, I get +1 Card +2 Actions, and I choose to trash the Estate for +$2. The second time I play the Estate, nothing should happen, because the Estate is in the trash and is not mine. The condition giving that card the abilities is gone, therefore the abilities are gone too.
Quote


Thare are rulings (even in the rulebook) saying that when you trash a BoM-as-Fortress, the when-trash-ability of the Fortress is resolved, even though you actually resolve it when the Fortress is a BoM. So this supports the rule that you always resolve a triggered ability.

This doesn't affect BoM as a card with a when trash ability because when you trash the card with a when trash ability, two things are happening at the same time, the when trash ability triggers, and BoM loses all of its abilities it got from being played as an action card from the supply. You can simply choose to resolve the when trash ability before BoM loses it.

14
Rules Questions / Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« on: October 06, 2018, 05:06:23 pm »
[...] BoM can't play abilities it doesn't have and has no access to.

Why not?

Because if BoM can follow all the instructions on a card even after it's been removed from play, then why can we not call BoM as a reserve card back into play from the Tavern mat? When we Throne Room a BoM as a one shot, why do we play the one shot the first time we play BoM, and then as BoM the second time we play it? If BoM can (for lack of a better word) remember what card it was before it was removed from play, why can't it do it all the time.

15
Rules Questions / Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« on: October 06, 2018, 04:13:35 pm »
BoM says "This is that card until it leaves play."  Once BoM has moved to the Tavern Mat, it has left play and ceases being a Ratcatcher.  BoM never says that you may call call it from the tavern mat so it's stuck there forever.

Can the same be said for one-shots? Because they leave play just like reserve cards do. I've been thinking about this, and in order to be consistent it seems like as soon as a one shot is trashed, it's no longer that card and can't do the thing it's supposed to do. Lets look at am example.

I play BoM as Embargo. I follow the instructions on Embargo top to bottom (like I'm pretty sure I should) get +$2, then trash the Embargo that is actually a BoM. Since the card is no longer in play, do I get to put an embargo token on a supply pile? The BoM left play, and BoM doesn't tell me to put embargo tokens on things. Logic tells me I don't get to put an embargo token on anything. Am I wrong? And if so, why?

The card doesn't have to be itself, or even exist, to cause you to follow its instructions. You were told to play BoM "as Embargo", which means that you effectively "play Embargo", meaning you follow all instructions written on the Embargo card. The "this is that card until it leaves play" part doesn't matter here; even if BoM never became Embargo, you still would have been instructed to play BoM as Embargo.

The "this is that card until it leaves play" part of BoM only matters for effects look at or care what cards are in play.

Being told to play a card, and a card telling you to play itself as though it was another card are not effectively the same.

What I see is a situation where, by playing a card, you've changed the instructions you have to follow on the card you just played. While you're trying to follow all the instructions on "Embargo", it reverts back to being a BoM. Everything you're being told to do after the card is removed from play is not resolvable because BoM specifically says, "this is that card until it leaves play". I take that to mean that after BoM is removed from play, its BoM again and loses all of the abilities it had when it was being played as Embargo.  That line (this is that card until it leaves play) matters because there has to be a time at which BoM stops being the card that its played as, and reverts back to BoM. What I'm trying to say is that, I see an issue with cards that change their abilities based on whether they are in play or not and I'm trying to better understand this interaction. I know the cards don't have to exist to be played, and that cards can be played from many different locations.

My understanding of the rules and rulings regarding BoM seem to confirm that this is the case as well. If you play it as Island, its removed from play and reverts back to being a BoM on the Island mat. Once BoM as Embargo is trashed, it's out of play and loses all of Embargo's abilities. It doesn't matter that this happens while you're still playing Embargo, BoM can't play abilities it doesn't have and has no access to.

16
Rules Questions / Re: Band of Misfits as Reserve Cards
« on: October 06, 2018, 12:28:47 pm »
BoM says "This is that card until it leaves play."  Once BoM has moved to the Tavern Mat, it has left play and ceases being a Ratcatcher.  BoM never says that you may call call it from the tavern mat so it's stuck there forever.

Can the same be said for one-shots? Because they leave play just like reserve cards do. I've been thinking about this, and in order to be consistent it seems like as soon as a one shot is trashed, it's no longer that card and can't do the thing it's supposed to do. Lets look at am example.

I play BoM as Embargo. I follow the instructions on Embargo top to bottom (like I'm pretty sure I should) get +$2, then trash the Embargo that is actually a BoM. Since the card is no longer in play, do I get to put an embargo token on a supply pile? The BoM left play, and BoM doesn't tell me to put embargo tokens on things. Logic tells me I don't get to put an embargo token on anything. Am I wrong? And if so, why?

17
Dominion: Renaissance Previews / Re: Your reviews of the previews
« on: September 30, 2018, 12:41:52 pm »
Cool, I never knew that you designed fans!

I will forgive your ignorance out of sheer habit.
And let me just say, that sheer habit is quite fetching.

I'll be fetching this expansion as soon as I can.

18
How many projects will be in the set?

19
i'm not sure the number people they playtest with is that important.  I mean how many expansions into this thing are we and it is pretty dang fun.

Well, the methods don't matter as long as the results are good. However, the number of people they playtest with could turn out to be important if some later set includes cards that work poorly for competitive play and nobody catches that before the set is released.

Or, worse yet, a broken interaction is missed because playtesting wasn't done at certain player counts (Masquerade pin, anyone).

However I think those days are behind us, as Donald and the playtesters as a whole have gotten better at making cards

20
It's worth mentioning (in my opinion) that this could be a symptom of a large skill gap among the player community. I think it's easy for us to forget that not everyone who plays Dominion frequents these forums, or reads strategy articles, or is familiar with all of the cards. A combo or synergy that may seem obvious to a veteran player will elude a newbie every time. Yes, BM is not as good as a properly functioning engine, but the BM player probably doesn't know how to build a properly functioning engine yet.

Further complicating this is that in 1st edition Base set, gold was (arguably) the best card in the game. I'm guessing a lot of people didn't challenge that assumption and always go for gold, and try to play as many gold as possible. Gold does have it's place in today's game too. When it's not possible to build a treasureless deck, gold will provide economy. I think in some situations, having access to the treasure cards drastically speeds up the game. Gold and silver a re a fail safe that can keep a boring kingdom from being a boring and painfully slow kingdom. Keeping the game fun for as many people as possible is the goal, not making the best things for a 2 player game.

21
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance interaction
« on: May 18, 2018, 09:47:23 am »
Quote
Once per game: Set aside a non-Victory Action card from the Supply costing up to $4. Move your Estate token to it. (Your Estates gain the abilities and types of that card.)

Simple question, but I have not seen it asked yet, and I apologize if this does nothing to further the discussion, but once an Estate is no longer yours, it loses the abilities and types it had when you inherited it. For simplicity's sake, let's say you inherit Embargo, then Throne Room an Estate. The first time you play it, Throne Room looks at the Estate, the Estate trashes itself, and puts an Embargo token on a supply pile. The second time it gets played, Throne Room checks the estate (like it does for Band of Misfits or Overlord), the estate is no longer yours, therefore doesn't have the abilities and types it inherited (because it is no longer your Estate). Playing the Estate does nothing the second time does nothing because it's just a victory card at that point.

Am I talking crazy here or does this make sense?

22
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Synergies within individual sets?
« on: February 28, 2018, 12:40:45 pm »
Adventures: Treasure Trove - Magpie, Ferry and anything

Intrigue: Minion with more Minions, Nobles with more Nobles, Lurker with more Lurkers

2E Base: Festival - Artisan (basically gain a card costing up to $5 then play it, this is even better in the presence of Library, after getting hit by Militia)

(Edit to fix spelling errors)

23
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance and Nomad Camp
« on: February 19, 2018, 03:19:58 pm »
I know I'm not the best at this sort of thing, but I feel like Nomad Camp should be worded like this

Quote

+$2
+1 Buy

When you gain a Nomad Camp, put it on top of your deck


Or something like that, because that's how it looks like it behaves.

It used to be worded like that! The problem with that wording is that it seems to imply that (1) first you gain it, and then (2) you put it on your deck. But that's not what it's intended to do, and it leads to annoying interactions with the lose-track rule.

Then maybe Nomad Camp is gained to the top of your deck

I feel like  naming the card itself, you get rid of the problem with gaining Nomad Estates by other means than buying. The big problem with this proposal I'm seeing it also means that buying Nomad Estates will not top deck them. But I feel like I need to say that I understand that I didn't create this game, and whatever quirks I see in the rules and card interactions probably won't be change as a result of me posting in a forum.

24
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance and Nomad Camp
« on: February 19, 2018, 02:36:38 pm »
I know I'm not the best at this sort of thing, but I feel like Nomad Camp should be worded like this

Quote

+$2
+1 Buy

When you gain a Nomad Camp, put it on top of your deck


Or something like that, because that's how it looks like it behaves.


25
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Favorite Expansions in 2018
« on: February 01, 2018, 12:27:05 pm »
For what it's worth, I'll rank the expansions. I will not rank the ones I have not played.

1. Adventures- adds the most to the game imo and just gives you so many options on a given turn.

2. Intrigue 2e- this is a close second for me. Fixing this set was such a good idea.

3. Prosperity- yes it's good, but I see this as the real power creep expansion (instead of Seaside), and kind of over rated. What it does well, it does really well, but it has a lot of duds. 

4. Dark Ages- it's probably only in this position on my list because I haven't played many games with it.

5. Base set 2e- same as Intrigue 2e, remove the boring, introduce new cards that are actually fun.

6. Seaside- I give this set props for introducing some of the best mechanics in the game, durations, mats, and tokens. I do see it's flaws though, and for everything Seaside does right, I feel it does something wrong. I just like the things it does right more than I hate what it does wrong.

7. Hinterlands- good set that doesn't really have a standout card or cards imo. I feel strongly that each set should have a big powerful game warping card or two, and I don't feel that Hinterlands has one. Kind of like the opposite of Seaside in that the good is really good but the bad is really bad. I just feel like Hinterlands is kinda meh.

8. Guilds- again, have not played much with Guilds, would probably go up with more play, but what I have played I feel was not as good as other sets.

9. Alchemy- everyone has already pointed out the problems with Alchemy, you don't need to read it again.

Unranked (because I haven't played them)

Empires- I could have gotten this for my birthday last year, instead I got Stone Age. I think I made the wrong decision. (Stone Age is good, don't think I'm knocking it,  its just that everything I've seen says Empires is better)

Nocturne- I'm excited to try the heirlooms, and see how the night phase and cards change the game, but thus far, I have not been able to try it.

Cornucopia- sounds good, for a small set. Just have not played it at all, so I'm not gonna comment on it.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Page created in 0.09 seconds with 19 queries.