Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Doom_Shark

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17
1
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Asper's Cards
« on: July 01, 2022, 03:18:40 am »
I'm not sure why Ballroom would really need that change, but admittedly I have been out of the loop for a while. Ballroom doesn't emulate another card, it actually gains it and can only play it if that succeeds. I suppose one could rule out Command cards just to be sure, though: "Gain a non-Command Action from the Supply and play it."

I know it's been several months, but in case you hadn't figured it out, the Ballroom issue is a potential loop with Captain, cost reduction, and the -2 cost token. With the -2 cost token on Captain, and just a single cost-reducer, Captain costs and Ballroom costs . This allows Captain to play a Ballroom from the supply, which then gains and plays Captain, which plays a Ballroom from the supply, which gains and plays a Captain, which plays a Ballroom... up until the Captain pile empties.

As for giving Ballroom the Command type itself, that would prevent using Overlord with Ballroom to straight up gain s instead of just playing them (and Captain doing the same with some cost reduction)

2
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Outpost + Lich
« on: March 05, 2022, 09:16:19 am »
Well, clearly you would only have three cards on the next turn you take, as drawing a new hand happens in the cleanup of the turn in which you play the outpost. As for when it gets discarded, the end of the next turn you do take feels right to me, but I'm not sure

3
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: ReAlly?
« on: March 04, 2022, 09:21:17 am »
NaturAlly: When you do anything, you may spend a favor to do something else that makes sense instead.

4
Rules Questions / Re: Complete Dominion rules document
« on: January 13, 2022, 12:18:21 am »
I'm assuming he's waiting for allies to be released and related rules questions with it to be answered

5
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: ⭐Holiday Fan Card Contest: Round Robin⭐
« on: December 20, 2021, 12:08:51 pm »
Sorry, I wasn't clear - it was late and I was tired and I didn't articulate myself well. The cards that hand out states have wordings that only allow you to take them if you don't already have them. My point was that if you are deluded, you can't be made deluded again, not necessarily because of the rules or component limitatuons, but because the card says so.

Besides, a state that you can get multiples of is probably better implemented as a token mechanic of some sort, either as a new named token or a mat with coin tokens.

6
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: ⭐Holiday Fan Card Contest: Round Robin⭐
« on: December 20, 2021, 01:58:17 am »
Question: Are States inherently limited to one per player at any given time?  E.g., if there's a card that says "Take [X] state", would it automatically fail if you already have the State, or could you take a 2nd copy of that State, assuming there's one available?

unclear. We've only got a couple states as-is, so canonwise there's not a ton to go off of. I think for simplicity's sake, having a default rule be "you can't stack multiple of the same state" is fine.

I'll point out that of the official states, you can only get Deluded/Envious "if you don't have Deluded or Envious.'

7
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Dominion: New World
« on: December 12, 2021, 11:11:45 am »
I feel like Ball Game is a good candidate for the first multi-type landscape as a Law - Event, given that it's the only Law that can be purchased. I think multi-type laws in general could be interesting design space, for a sort of sequel, though I don't know how one would implement the existence of multiple law decks from different expansions.

8
Dominion FAQ / Re: Travellers and Exile
« on: December 11, 2021, 11:52:59 am »
About the only thing I can think of is getting another one trashed somehow and then gaining it out of the trash with lurker, graverobber, etc. To set that up though, you'd likely have to get a second one anyway, and unless you really need multiples for some reason, why go through all the effort at that point?

9


Quote
Embark
Event
You may set aside an Action card from your hand. At the start of your next turn, play it.

I might be missing something (and believe me, it's been happening a lot to me lately), but isn't this just Delay, except it now costs $3?

You aren't, it is exactly just Delay for instead of .

You are both correct. I don't spend money on Dominion Online (nothing against it, I just vastly prefer in-person play), and I haven't had menagerie for very long, so I didn't realize that card already existed. Sorry folks, I'll think of something new.

10
Entry withdrawn. Working on a new idea.

11


Great for early gaining of golds or $5 cards.  Terrible for engines later on.  Can't tell if this is way too good or terrible, so I'm hoping that means it's just right.
Clarification question: What happens when you play this with Throne Room or Golem?

Good question.  Logically, I would say it fails to play the second time.  IDK how that translates to the actual rules of confusing situations in Dominion though.  What I had in mind was it's the end of your turn, period.  Anything still resolving gets ended.  I'll try to think of an elegant wording to portray this, unless someone has a good suggestion that makes sense.

You could do MTG style reminder text spelling out exactly what "end the turn" means, or include such as a card FAQ. Alternatively, you could say, "For the rest of this turn, you cannot buy, gain, trash, or play cards." This effectively emds the turn by removing just about all game actions that could be taken, except for spending coffers/villagers and paying off debt.

12
Quote
Port of Call
Landmark
At the end of your action phase, if you have at least 2 unspent actions, take 2VP from here.

Setup: Put 6VP here per player.

just a suggestion, since Villa exists and can always hit this: "at the end of your first action phase in a turn"

I see your suggestion, and I considered similar wording; however, I decided that stopping the occasional easy vp from Villa or Cavalry shenanigans wasn't worth the extra words that would only matter with two cards out of several hundred.

13
Quote
Port of Call
Landmark
At the end of your action phase, if you have at least 2 unspent actions, take 2VP from here.

Setup: Put 6VP here per player.

14
River Guide $5
Action - Duration
Now and at the start of your next two turns, choose one:
+1 Card, +1 Action; +$3; trash a card from your hand.

15
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest 119: Triple Threat
« on: June 27, 2021, 12:31:11 am »
this card in its current form does not qualify for the contest, as it is not a Kingdom card.

I totally skipped over that part in your prompt. My only thought is maybe including a reminder of what qualifies as a kingdom card?

16
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: June 25, 2021, 09:20:02 am »
Hypothetically, if Miser were not in Adventures, would you put it in Menagerie using Exile instead of the tavern mat?

17
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest 119: Triple Threat
« on: June 25, 2021, 09:07:54 am »
Extortionist
Action - Attack - Reserve [$5]
+$2
+1 Buy

Each other player gains a curse to thier hand. Put this on your tavern mat.

When another player gains a card costing [$4] or more, you may call this to gain a Gold.

I almost missed the call line; maybe you could see about making it not as long?  :P

I'm not quite sure what you mean by that, can you elaborate?

18
Rules Questions / Which cost does Wayfarer actually look at?
« on: June 24, 2021, 08:09:43 pm »
 I'm sure this has been answered before, but it came up in an IRL game today and I couldn't find the answer. Does Wayfarer look at the current cost of the card, or the cost of the card at the time it was gained?

The example from the game today:
I have an empty discard pile and buy Fisherman for $2. Fisherman then goes to my discard pile and now costs $5. Does Wayfarer cost $2, or $5?

19
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest 119: Triple Threat
« on: June 24, 2021, 06:57:29 pm »


Quote
Extortionist
Action - Attack - Reserve
+
+1 Buy

Each other player gains a curse to their hand. Put this on your tavern mat.

When another player gains a card costing or more, you may call this to gain a Gold.

Edit: Fixed a typo, added image

20
Rules Questions / Re: Simple Rules Questions
« on: November 25, 2020, 04:49:10 pm »
Does discarding from Exile count for Tunnel's reaction?

21
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Set Expansion Contest
« on: November 25, 2020, 09:16:25 am »


Quote
Monkey - $3
Action
+1 Buy
+ $1
You may play a non-Monkey Action card. If it costs more than this, gain a Silver, otherwise, gain a Monkey.
----
When you gain this, +$1.

An optionally non-terminal +Buy and Coin. If you take advantage of the non-terminality you get a bonus, either a Silver or another Monkey. When you gain a Monkey you get a coin, so having those +Buys helps. Careful using this as you may balloon your deck full of Silver and Monkeys. Not sure if this is too weak. I could always bump up the below line bonus to make getting more Monkeys more appealing.

You want to specify that the non-monkey card comes from your hand.

22
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: November 23, 2020, 09:44:39 pm »


Quote from: text:
Junkyard
Victory - Reaction
2

Whenever you play a card, you may discard this to trash it.

23
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: November 19, 2020, 09:04:22 pm »
So, I've decided to scrap Repossess as I'm having trouble making it in a way I like. Instead, I give you:



Quote
Surveyor
Action - Fate
+1 card
+1 action

Reveal the top 3 boons. The player to your right chooses one of them for you to discard. Receive the other two.

24
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: November 17, 2020, 09:29:11 am »


Quote
Repossess
Action - Duration
Now and at the start of your next turn, +1 Coffers.
The player to your left takes an extra turn after this one. During that turn, whenever that player gains a card, you may gain a copy of it.

I think there are often many good things that the player to your left could do in this extra turn, besides gain cards: she can attack you, trash cards, exile cards, buy events, buy projects, play Coffers gainers, Villagers gainers or VPs gainers or do more specific things like gain a Madman, gain VP from Baths, play a Tactician, Play Barge or Village Green for next turn or play an Outpost and have a miniturn without gain restrictions.

If she gains the last card of a pile, you also gain nothing. Or she could gain cards that are good for her strategy but not for yours. She could even choose do nothing and in this case all you have is an expensive source of Coffers.

For all of this, I think Repossess tends to be better to the player to your left than to you.

Yeah, I hear you. I had trouble wording my original idea and so gave up and went for domething easier to template, which in retrospect completely screwed the design. I plan on re-doing it sometime this evening

25
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Set Expansion Contest
« on: November 15, 2020, 12:51:36 pm »
I personally was always surprised that there wasn't an overpay that converted coins to coffers.


Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17

Page created in 0.082 seconds with 19 queries.