Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - majiponi

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 29
1
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #164: Read the Fine Print
« on: September 24, 2022, 10:09:13 am »
Storebox
cost $3 - Action
You may trash or discard any number of cards from your hand. +$1 per card you trashed or discarded.
---
When you gain this, each other player may trash a card from their hand.

2
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #163: Cleaning The Banlist
« on: September 21, 2022, 05:06:02 am »
Marionette (Majiponi)
If I was being really strict about the rules i'd discount this since durations didnt exist in Alchemy, but it doesnt really matter since durations went on to just be a card type as opposed to a set specific gimmick. This one confuses me though. Drawing your hand happens at the end of your go, not the start. So would this just give the player to your left no cards on their next turn. I like the concept but i think it would have to get a lot wordier to work properly.

Deck is what you draw from. Your left player does not discard their hand. So they starts from 5-card hand.

3
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #163: Cleaning The Banlist
« on: September 11, 2022, 08:18:13 am »
Marionette
cost $6P - Action - Duration
If the previous turn wasn't yours, take another, at whose start your left player puts their deck in their discard pile and reveal all cards there, and you may play one of the revealed Action card, leaving there.


A new Possession harms little to your left player.

4
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #162: You Can Trip at $5
« on: September 06, 2022, 05:00:50 am »
Buyer
cost $5 - Action
+1 Card
+1 Action
This turn, when you pay for a card, +1 Buy.


Infinite buys! Do not use to pile out Coppers.

5
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Hireling's Guild
« on: August 25, 2022, 07:52:37 pm »
KC Hireling with Way of Horse can go infinite, isn't it?

Or in a single turn?

6
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: August 24, 2022, 10:56:41 pm »
Hand: Improve, Watchtower, Procession, Trail, Falconer

Earn as many vps as possible in this turn.


Answer
play Procession to play Improve twice
trash it to gain Trail, playing it, playing Falconer  to gain Procession
play Procession to play Trail twice
trash it to replay, gaining Falconer, topdecking
play Watchtower to draw that Falconer (and 2 Coppers)
play Falconer to gain Improve
play Improve
(play 2 Coppers)
buy Duchy (or Province)
trash Procession, 2 Trails to gain 3 Duchies

7
Tradesman
cost $2 - Action - Caste
+1 Action
+$1
+1 Buy
You may rotate the Caste.
You may immediately buy a card to topdeck it.

Crafter
cost $3 - Action - Caste
Gain an Action card costing up to $5.

Farmer
cost $4 - Action - Attack - Caste
You may trash a Treasure from your hand to gain a Gold.
Each other player gains an Estate.

Samurai
cost $5 - Action - Caste
+1 Action
You may Exile a Victory card from your hand.
+$1 per a Victory card on your Exile mat.

Japanese Caste, Shino-kosho.

Edit: forgot to write the bold phrases.

8
Rules Questions / Re: Inn and Patron
« on: August 19, 2022, 11:21:23 pm »
Even if you reveal Patron, it is your Buy phase, so no Coffers.

9
Rules Questions / Trashing and Priest
« on: August 14, 2022, 06:21:04 pm »
I bought Innovation.

When I trash a Catacombs to gain and play a Priest, do I get $4?

10
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #160: Two Base Cards
« on: August 13, 2022, 12:35:46 am »
Midas
cost $8 - Project
When you trash a card, if it is a ...
Treasure card, exchange it for a Copper
Victory card, exchange it for a Silver
Action card, exchange it for a Gold

He protects you from trashing Attacks. Once I tried exchanging a card costing up to $4, but that was crazy with Highways and a Chapel.

11
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: August 12, 2022, 10:10:55 am »
This came up in a game I played against Lord Rattington recently and I was too busy thrashing him to notice that this was possible until after the game:

Gain the entire Wish pile in a single turn.

I've thought of multiple solutions so I added some "hard modes", which I spoilered to keep from giving hints:
No villages/splitters.
No returning to your action phase. (My kingdom had this + only Trusty Steed as a splitter which is really no splitters.)
No landscapes.
All of the above - I haven't found a way to do this though, I can do any 2 but not all 3.

Bonus puzzle: If there were unlimited copies of wish how many can you gain in a single turn? I can get to 65 given perfect shuffle luck but I bet someone can do better.

Hard mode

play 10 Experiments to draw 9 Processions and 6 Leprechauns
play 6 Processions and a Leprechaun twice
play 6th Procession again to play another Leprechaun twice
play 5th Procession again to play another Procession to play another Leprechaun twice
play 7th Procession again to play another Leprechaun twice
play 4th Procession again to play 2 Processions and
another Leprechaun twice
play another Leprechaun twice

12
Weekly Design Contest / Re: Weekly Design Contest #159: Some Nights
« on: July 28, 2022, 11:19:27 am »
Sir Nightking
cost $5 - Night - Attack - Duration - Knight
At the start of your next turn: +1 Card, and each other player reveals the top 2 cards of their deck, trashes one costing $3 - $6, and discards the rest; If anyone trashes a Knight, trash this.

Until then, when another player plays a Knight, it won't affect you.


EDIT: Dark Ages, include it Knight pile

13
Rules Questions / Re: Donate "first"
« on: July 24, 2022, 09:20:13 am »
Just to restate what Gendo said.
"At the start of your turn" is a triggered ability. Out of all those triggered abilities, Donate is first.
When you begin resolving "start of turn" triggered abilities, your turn has started already. This means that all abilities that lasted "until your next turn" are over.

So it's
1) Your turn starts (meaning your Action phase starts)
2) Resolve "start of turn" abilities

Now I  see. Thanks!

14
Rules Questions / Re: Donate "first"
« on: July 21, 2022, 11:45:28 pm »
* Unlike other "start of turn" effects (such as Archive or Clerk), Donate happens first. So if you have any Clerks in your starting hand, you can't play them until you finish Donating.
* Regardless of what your original hand size was, you draw 5 cards after trashing.
   - just pulled from the wiki

The “first” on Donate means it has a separate, earlier trigger than all other start of turn triggers/effects, including Haunted Woods +3 cards. But maybe I’m not understanding the question?

Haunted Woods has 2 effects: at the start of your next turn, +3 Cards; until the start of your next turn, attack other players. Donald has already told us the second effect happens directly after starting turn;  before deciding which effect like playing Clerk or drawing 3 cards happens first.

15
Rules Questions / Donate "first"
« on: July 21, 2022, 09:40:57 am »
Now Donate tells us to resolve its Durative effect first.

Haunted Woods and Swamp Hug tell us to end its Attack at the start of our next turn (before desiding which Durative effect to resolve first).

Which one wins? I assume Haunted  Woods win and SECOND we resolve Donate.

16
Rules Questions / Treasury and Cavalry
« on: June 30, 2022, 06:14:28 am »
One Japanese player told me.

play 5 Treasuries
buy and gain a Cavalry
topdeck those Treasuries
play them again
play Cavalry as Horse

infinite coins

Is it a correct behavior?

17
Rules Questions / Overpay 2022
« on: June 27, 2022, 11:06:31 pm »
Now Stonemason has a different wording.
Do we overpay BEFORE gaining or AFTER?

This matters when we use Basilica or "Priest and Watchtower" (before overpaying, trash Stonemason to overpay more).

18
Mined Silver
cost $4 - Treasure - Reaction
+$2
---
In games using this, at the start of your turns, if this is the top card of your deck, play it.


(This card has a different back like Stash.)

19
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: June 09, 2022, 11:10:42 pm »
Playable Kingdom Cards: Chapel, Bandit Camp, Highwayman, Horn of Plenty
Landscapes: none
Starting Cards: 7 Coppers, 3 Estates

Create a deck to gain 8 Provinces in a single turn. (Maybe your opponent can help you.)

20
Rules Questions / Re: Emissary and Order of Masons
« on: June 07, 2022, 07:47:34 pm »
Notice that this wording that's supposed to maintain Stash 1E's functionality says "set this aside." (And the reason this wording wasn't used is because it's just so wordy for no real gain.)

To maintain the old functionality, [Stash] would be something silly like

$2
Before shuffling cards that include this, set this aside, look at any cards not being shuffled but about to be seen, and after shuffling, put this anywhere in the shuffled cards.

I'd argue that Stash 1E and 2E aren't actually different from each other (just like how Nomad Camp in 2011 is the same as Nomad Camp in 2017), but it's pretty hard to put effort into figuring out how Stash works.

Oh, I didn't know that thread. What I thought 1E Stash does is,

1. shuffle all cards in my discard pile,  including Stash
2. find Stashes from the new shuffled deck, looking at backs
3. reposition found Stashes.

I admit nobody does like this, but this is what I understood Stash literally.

21
Rules Questions / Re: Emissary and Order of Masons
« on: June 07, 2022, 12:45:56 pm »
I think if Order of Masons shenanigans means that you shuffled nothing, then that should also apply to Astrologers, Star Chart, and Stash too. It seems clear to me that you're not shuffling the Stash, you're just Secret Passaging it into the cards you're shuffling.

Unlike Order of Masons, Stash creates a new deck.
Quote
When you shuffle, you may put this anywhere in your deck. (Stash 1st Edition)
1E Stash is repositioned after shuffling. Is 2E different? That is the question.

22
Rules Questions / Re: Emissary and Order of Masons
« on: June 07, 2022, 11:26:34 am »

What do you think about the -1 Card token scenario?

I for sure agree with you there. The rules for -1 Card token just sound very clear, they cause you to draw 1 fewer card. Whereas, I don't think Star Chart causes you to Shuffle 1 fewer card.

What do you think about Stash? Does Stash ever get shuffled?

I think shuffling has done when at least one card is in the new deck, but I am not sure. Are 3 Stashes shuffled? Dominion is so complicated.

23
Rules Questions / Emissary and Stash
« on: June 07, 2022, 10:39:41 am »
My deck is empty. My discard pile has nothing but a Stash.
I play Emissary.
I topdeck that Stash.
Did I shuffle?

(2) I topdeck that Stash with Star Chart. Did I shuffle?

I assume both Emissaries give me +1 Action and +2 Favors, but I am not sure.

24
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Prosperity 2E Preview 3
« on: June 02, 2022, 05:15:02 am »
Collection is brokenly strong with Supplies, isn't it?

25
Rules Questions / Re: War Chest
« on: May 31, 2022, 08:24:03 pm »
Thanks.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 29

Page created in 0.078 seconds with 18 queries.