Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - dereeder

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2
1
Rules Questions / Re: Possession+Ball
« on: September 04, 2017, 11:52:29 pm »
Tokens don't lose track?

2
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Most points without a decision?
« on: May 12, 2015, 10:54:16 am »
Then have all the golems in your deck to start with, so develop can't gain a card costing one more than P-stone.  But I think Faust's idea is better.

Edit: although grafting the fairgrounds smuggling and the vineyards developing together is probably better than either.

3
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Most points without a decision?
« on: May 12, 2015, 09:52:20 am »
Oops. OK, hand is Pstone1-4, Herald1

Prince-TR1-Herald1

Herald1 (1): draw Golem1, play Highway1, draw Pstone5
Herald1 (2): draw Pstone6, play TR2 on Golem1
Golem1 (1): reveal Herald2, Herald3
Herald2: draw Golem2, play Highway2, draw Pstone7
Herald3: draw Pstone8, play TR3 on Golem2
Golem2 (1):  reveal Develop1, Develop2
Develop1: Pstone1 into Vineyard1, Golem3
Develop2: Pstone2 into Vineyard2, Golem4

Clearly you can pull off 8 vineyards. I'm sure there's a lot to optimize.

4
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Most points without a decision?
« on: May 12, 2015, 09:03:38 am »
With your -2 cost token on P-stone and a hand full of 8 P-stones (from Caravans) plus a single Golem, Prince of TR into Golem-Herald-Develop all the P-stones into Vineyards and SPs or Apothecaries, scoring a bazillion points from a deck stuffed full of actions +/- SR and Gardens. I think that has to beat anything with provinces or bishop.

5
Game Reports / Re: Dear My Opponent: I am Sorry
« on: May 07, 2015, 07:49:11 pm »
Dear Big Tuna,

I'm sorry that your Soothsayer plays on turns 9-13 against my Masterpiece deck drew me the treasure I needed to buy provinces on each of those five turns:

http://www.gokosalvager.com/static/logprettifier.html?20150503/log.518171c5e4b00de2f7e3ac32.1430699314497.txt

6
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: March 07, 2015, 03:45:17 pm »
You don't want them to clog up your deck during your outpost turn?

7
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: January 10, 2015, 08:35:06 am »
BoM and Minion.

8
Game Reports / Re: Dear My Opponent: I am Sorry
« on: January 06, 2015, 11:25:03 pm »
gokosalvager.com isn't getting the game logs today, but...

Heisenberg, I'm sorry that my single Moat blocked all 15 of your Cultist attacks while I gave you all 10 Ruins despite you having won the Cultist split 6-4.  And while it's true that the last nine were blocked because I used Count to top-deck Moat, the first six (which could have won you the game) were just dumb luck.

9
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Really bad card ideas
« on: December 19, 2014, 09:42:22 pm »
Jack of No Trades

Gain a copper.
Look at the top card of your deck. Put it back.
Draw until you have 4 cards in hand.
You may trash a card from your hand that is a Treasure.

10
Game Reports / Re: Upgrade Rats
« on: December 12, 2014, 03:51:57 pm »
After your T13 your deck was 1 duchy, 7 upgrade, 6 rats with an empty rats pile. You had no way to gain an eighth duchy except by upgrading upgrade into gold and buying it. He gave you the 3-pile opportunity when he bought a duchy himself.

11
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: December 10, 2014, 02:21:06 pm »
What about pill-age and pot-ion?

12
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: December 09, 2014, 09:14:44 am »
And BoM.

13
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: December 01, 2014, 11:16:29 pm »
That card that cares about how many different treasures are in the trash?

Opponent opened embassy on $5, giving you a silver, so you bought masterpiece to power up your forager/fortress/ draw to X deck.

14
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: October 29, 2014, 11:52:18 am »
A Mine/Madman doppelgatnger, eh?
2P Game night: Remodel Dame Anna

FTFY

15
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: October 23, 2014, 09:16:51 am »
New puzzle, hopefully there are fewer answers. This one didn't actually happen. As first player, begin turn 3 with some number of cards in hand that isn't 5. For simplicity, no noble brigand shenanigans.

Buy Fool's Gold on Turn 1 or 2 (or both). Draw it/them at the end of T2. Any opponent buys a Victory card in their T2, so you trash the FG / FGs, and start your T3 with 4 / 3 cards in hand.

Baker board with estates.

Open CCCCC, buy Doctor, overpay 3 (using coin token), trash EEE.
Draw CC(shuffle)CCC
Play CCCCC, buy Mint
Draw CC, Doctor, Mint


16
Dominion General Discussion / Re: silverspawn's Design Rankings
« on: October 17, 2014, 11:53:52 pm »
I certainly would take a free Scout over a free Thief on most boards

(Mini-puzzle: under what gameplay circumstances would you make this decision?)

You've possessed your opponent and decide to play swindler for the $2. You swindle your own caravan, but the caravan pile is empty. So your choice is between potion, thief, and scout.

17
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: October 14, 2014, 08:26:05 pm »
Another one (Supply Cards only):

Abandoned Mine, Candlestick Maker, Copper, Curse, Fool's Gold, Native Village, Pearl Diver, Poor House, Ruined Library, Ruined Market, Ruined Village, Secret Chamber, Survivors.

One card is missing.


18
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: October 14, 2014, 01:03:23 pm »
Cards whose name is a substring of the name of another card.

19
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: October 05, 2014, 09:32:12 pm »
Another easy one:

Throne Room
King's Court
Golem
Herald
Procession
Prince

While there is only one left, there is a simple way to relax the condition(s) that adds two extra cards to the list.

Actions that can resolve another action card during their own resolution

Cultist.  You can resolve another card (i.e. another Cultist) during its own resolution.

Relaxing the condition to "cards that can resolve another card of the same type during their own resolution" allows Venture and Counterfeit

20
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Name the one card that completes this set
« on: October 04, 2014, 10:05:37 am »
Band of Misfits

Each of them has a property which is useless if the kingdom contains no actions other than that card.  (For vineyard and quarry, "no actions other than that card" means simply "no actions", because those card aren't actions.

Tunnel, Market Square, University, Golem, Feodum, Catacombs, Hunting Grounds

Venture (as mentioned) can activate Tunnel.  Farmland can activate MS, Feodum, Catacombs, HG.  Golem could play (one) necropolis, which isn't a kingdom card. 

And TR/KC can play more TR and KC.  But Procession and University are solid counterexamples.

I'll try again. 

The first list (Beggar, Horse Traders, Lighthouse, Moat, Secret Chamber, Squire) is a list of Kingdom Action cards that have this property: each card X on the list references a card type (in each case it happens to be Attack) that is not necessarily in the Kingdom when X is in the Kingdom.  The second list (adding Quarry and Vineyards) is a list of Kingdom (not necessarily Action) cards with the same property.

Vagrant (which references Ruins, but does not add Ruins to the Kingdom) completes both lists.  I can't think of another card that has that property.


21
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Name the one card that completes this set
« on: October 04, 2014, 12:33:42 am »
Band of Misfits

Each of them has a property which is useless if the kingdom contains no actions other than that card.  (For vineyard and quarry, "no actions other than that card" means simply "no actions", because those card aren't actions.

22
Rules Questions / Re: Haggler, Farmland, Border Village
« on: October 01, 2014, 10:01:11 am »
Yeah, Quarry's what I was getting at.  I can't think of an edge case that does not involve Quarry.

23
Rules Questions / Re: Haggler, Farmland, Border Village
« on: September 30, 2014, 09:37:30 am »
Next challenge: you have a Haggler in play and buy Farmland, upgrading another card to BV.

Find a case in which (1) you'd want the Haggler gain first, and (2) the card you gain off BV is not a victory card.

24
Rules Questions / Re: Haggler, Farmland, Border Village
« on: September 29, 2014, 02:14:08 pm »
Challenge: Imagine you could choose the order. Find an edge case where the order of BV vs. Haggler here matters. Bonus: find a case where you'd want Haggler first.

For the first:

You'd want BV first to gain an Island that you want to shuffle into your deck with Inn from Haggler.

Can't think of anything for the second.

You want to gain Cultist off Haggler and trash it to Watchtower to trigger a shuffle (fewer than 3 cards left in your deck) before you gain a Duchy off Border Village.

25
Goko Dominion Online / Re: Goko Dominion Salvager Discussion
« on: September 08, 2014, 11:10:50 pm »
Challenge: think of situations in which each of the plays in question would be rational.
Simple: You need the +actions from Madman for some reason.  If you have that many Madman plays, you're probably looking for a megaturn, maybe you have a stack of Goons or Bridges and you can end the game with all of them in play.

I was thinking of the other case, in which you play KC or Procession on nothing, then all of the Madmen one at a time (for no draw).  With HoP and Poor House, I guess there could be a situation in which you might play Procession of nothing, Madman, Madman.  I can't think of it for KC, though.

Pages: [1] 2

Page created in 0.103 seconds with 18 queries.