Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - blaisepascal

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2
Dominion: Nocturne Previews / Re: Previews #5: Exorcist, Pixie, Vampire
« on: October 27, 2017, 10:23:55 am »
"At this point, Dominion Fans go through mood swings, becoming ecstatic then irritable, and often drop other activities and lose much sleep waiting and discussing."

Um...maybe I ought to get back to work ;-)

Dominion: Nocturne Previews / Re: Previews #5: Exorcist, Pixie, Vampire
« on: October 27, 2017, 06:23:32 am »
"Each other player receives the next Hex"

Does that mean that in a 4-player game, my 3 opponents all get hit by the same Hex, or do they each receive different hexes in turn?

Dominion: Nocturne Previews / Re: Is there any update on Nocturne?
« on: October 26, 2017, 04:36:08 pm »

Schrödinger's Cat
$π - Action

This pile is both empty and not empty.

Until you try to gain a Card from it.

"When you would gain this card, flip a coin. If heads, return the card to the supply pile instead of gaining"


I like the Adventures tokens, but it sounds like we need to someone to design some token-replacements out of those transparent playing cards. You could just drop them on the pile and still see the card underneath, but they'd only take up the space of a card and you could store them in a nice neat little stack.

Oooh, I like that idea. You'd have to arrange it so that none of the appropriate icons overlapped when stacked. Perhaps a row of icons per color, and one icon type per column... Let me think on it some.

Yup! Also Embargo Tokens. I just don't like the components. The actual mechanics are really fun. We don't even use the playmats irl. I don't want to have to dig through my boxes/storage solution for a piece of cardboard every time one specific card comes out on the table. I mean, Donald X made the right call from a design perspective on the playmats for user friendliness reasons- no doubt about it. They just aren't for me. And I wish the Adventures tokens had a more card-centric way of doing things. But that's just because I'm a card junky. Every non-card thing included gets in the way of my irrational need to own many, many different pretty cards.

The reason I'm ok with the 3 main metal tokens is because they have an additive quality to them that makes them more convenient than cards. For instance, if you're gonna design a mechanic around VP's that don't clog your deck, you have three options as far as I can tell: have players write down the running tally on a piece of paper (Let's call this the Milton Bradley method- which is the worst possible method), have a ton of extra cards that say "+1VP" on them that people set aside when gained, or have them be tokens. With cards, I have to pick up the stack and flip through to count how many I have. With tokens I can just glance down at them. So those make sense. Adventures Tokens though, don't save me time, just physical table space. Taking an Adventures token probably takes just as long as taking a State. So yeah, States are cool. End of rant  :P
I am sympathetic to this viewpoint. I like Adventures a lot, but do think it's a bummer that you have to get out a thing of chits to play with it. I do not mind the coins and VP, though I wouldn't have made Seaside without having more uses for the tokens in it (the prototype had not had tokens - Embargo itself went on the pile, treasures went on the mat for Pirate Ship).

I made it a point to not use tokens in Nocturne, since the last two sets had them. It's a thing though that they open up design space for simple cards; if you want to make more simple cards, you really want them.

I have two sets of 6 token storage bins: one set for all the metal tokens (1VP,2VP,5VP,Debt,Coin,Embargo), one set for the Adventures cardboard tokens (divided by color). The nice thing about the metal tokens is that they are generally useful among multiple sets, and multiple cards -- Embargo being the exception. The Adventures tokens are only useful with Adventures, and even then usually only a couple of tokens per player. Empires is the last expansion, and it introduced Debt; I can see future expansions having more debt cards. It's harder to see a reuse of the Adventures tokens. Unfortunately, the token bins are the hardest thing to integrate into my Dominion storage solution.

I'm sure the nice metal tokens are expensive, and that is a factor in play when deciding to make an expansion with them. I wouldn't mind seeing an expansion with more cards which use the metal tokens. I'm just not sure if the Adventures tokens are worth it.

I'm realizing that the -$1 and -1 Card tokens from Adventurers are States under a different name. It's certainly more practical to have their effects printed on the items in front of you, rather than on the cards that dispense them.

Agreed. My wife and I were discussing this yesterday. I've never been a fan of any tokens other than Coin, VP, & Debt. Or playmats. I just like Dominion being primarily card-centric.

So basically, not a fan of the Adventures tokens?

Adventures and Empires both had tokens, but so far I've not seen anything token-like in Nocturn. Is Nocturn a pure card (& card-shaped thing) expansion? That might help mitigate my storage problems...

Dominion General Discussion / Re: Playing with Black Market for Real
« on: October 11, 2017, 04:54:16 pm »
I have all the expansions, so I have an immense number of randomizers (what is it, 250? 275? these days?). Every once and a while, we shuffle them all together.

One the rare occasion that we get Black Market in a deck, we just grab a stack of randomizers off the pile, and use those for the BM deck. If we draw a kingdom card already on the board in the BM deck, we discard it and replace it from the BM deck. When we buy a card from the BM deck, we discard the randomizer, and pull that card from the regular sets. At the end of the game, we put away the singleton cards where they belong.

Dominion General Discussion / Re: How do YOU pick interesting kingdoms?
« on: October 11, 2017, 04:38:08 pm »
I tend to play mostly 3-4 player games with the same people. We use Jack of All Dominion as our randomizer. Before each game, each player is allowed to pick 1 or 2 rules, then we hit "shuffle". The rules can be 1,2,3+ cards of a particular type, veto cards (or card type), etc. Basically any of the options.

Sometimes we don't bother to clean out the rules between games. So the first game may have 3+ Adventures cards, 2+ trashers, and no attacks; the second game might then have 3+Adventures, 2+Prosperity, 2+Trashers, 1+Villages, 1+ +Buy, and no attacks. The third has more restrictions. When JoAD gives up, we reset the rules.

When we end up with Black Market, we grab a stack of randomizers from a shuffled pile. We discard in-play kingdom cards in the black market if and when we get to them. Bought black market cards are fished out of storage when bought.

Empires Previews / Re: Empires Previews #1: Debt
« on: June 20, 2016, 11:07:41 am »
So when laying out kingdom cards, it's somewhat common to sort them by price, then alphabetically, with potions sorting lexicographically (e.g., Cellar(2), Haven(2), Scrying Pool(2P), Enchantress(3), in that order).

Where would you put the debt cards?

Would you do (Inheritance(7), Overlord<8>, Prince(8)), or (Inheritance(7), Prince(8), Overlord<8>), or even (Overlord<8>, Poor House(1))? Would you put Engineer next to Bishop, or next to Peddler? Fortunately, the only coin+debt "card" is Wedding,  an event, so it doesn't normally get sorted into the kingdom cards.

The Wiki lists them before the other cards, and I've sorted them after. What do you do?

My FLGS send out an email yesterday saying that "The much anticipated Dominion Empires has finally arrived!". I got my copy less than 30 minutes later. I haven't had an opportunity to play it yet, though.

Empires Previews / Re: Empires Rulebook
« on: June 13, 2016, 04:38:56 pm »
The only problem is that it makes no sense at all.
Nor does putting somebody in a debtors' prison until they can repay what they owe. The astute will realise this somewhat restricts their ability to earn the necessary money...

...and now I feel like that's a missed opportunity for an attack in Empires. I've no idea what it would have done, but the theme would have been awesome.

Or it could have been a debt-cost card that punishes you for not paying off the debt at the end of the next turn.

Interest Payment: <8> Treasure. +$1 now and at the start of your next turn. When you buy this, play it immediately. When this is discarded from play, if you have any debt, gain one curse.

Empires Previews / Re: Question about Donate
« on: June 13, 2016, 04:33:08 pm »
Possession is the reason that Donate's effect happens between turns.

I don't understand why this is important. If the card instead said "at the end of your turn", in a possession turn, wouldn't the trashed cards just go back to the player's deck? And the possessor would gain the debt.
When Donate didn't say "after this turn," it was a pin. The cards are returned via Possession after the player draws. So you have them trash all of their cards, they draw nothing, they get their cards back.

You can currently do the same pin with a crazy Governor Forge thing, but it's rare to the point of being almost impossible to pull off.

In order to do the same pin with a crazy Governor Forge thing, you need Possession, and your opponent to have both Governor and Forge. In order to do the pin with end-of-turn Donate, you just need to buy Possession on a board where Donate exists. That's much easier.

Empires Previews / Re: Question about Donate
« on: June 09, 2016, 10:35:11 am »
I just want to try Donate/Market Square.
How would that work? With Donate, you have to put everything into your hand, trash cards, shuffle your deck back together, and then draw a hand. I guess you would discard Market Square for the Gold after trashing and before shuffling, but you'd only get one Gold per Market Square, no matter how many cards you trash.

But you have all of your Market Squares in your hand when you're trashing, so you get a gold per Market Square you have in your deck.

So would this work?

I have 8 coin and 2 buys, 3 market squares in my deck.

I buy a Donate. I pay the debt. I buy a donate.
Discard, draw 5

Donate 1:
Put my deck and discard into my hand,
trash something (copper, estate, fortress, rats, overgrown estate),
discard the three market squares, gaining three gold.
Shuffle my hand into my deck (leaving the three market squares and gold in the discard pile, unless I trashed rats/overgrown estate)
Draw 5 cards.

Donate 2: Repeat the above for three more gold.

That way, for the cost of 8 debt, I get 6 gold? If I save my draw-on-trash card (rats, overgrown estate) for the second donate, I get all 6 gold in my deck, and not the discard?

Last night my FLGS verified that their supplier had it, and that supplier normally delivers to them on Thursday or Friday. The sales-critter was also hoping it had come in today, as he is planning on getting it as a gift for friends for this weekend. I will check with them again today. This is the same FLGS that earlier said that they had been told "End of June" by their supplier.

With luck, I'll have it in my hands by Friday evening.

Empires Previews / Re: Release date
« on: June 04, 2016, 07:43:49 pm »
I just got back from my FGLS's Dominion Tournament in support of Empires (top 3 prizes: vouchers for Empires).

The owner of the game store isn't happy that he hasn't gotten the expansion yet, and he claims that he's hearing from his distributors that it's been pushed back to end of June, and not this week as expected. He says he's heard that RGG hasn't shipped it to distributors yet.

I was expecting to pick it up late this week, but end of June is a few weeks away.

Any word on what I should really be expecting?

Empires Previews / Re: Empires Previews #6 - Jack...
« on: May 19, 2016, 03:18:42 pm »
Now that I can read the text, I think the card is actually playable, but I feel it should be rearranged somewhat. The cost should be (*+), not (1) or PP, since the first line of the instruction contradict the card markings. Also, several of the clauses should be "below the line", including the first clause. None of this is particularly impossible, just ridiculous.

Empires Previews / Re: Release date
« on: May 11, 2016, 07:04:58 am »
Is the May 25th release date the "I can pick it up from my FLGS" date or the "it gets put on the delivery truck to my FLGS" date? Will I be able to play it that night, or do I need to wait a few days after that?

Empires Previews / Re: Teasers!
« on: May 09, 2016, 11:26:00 am »
Meanwhile Werothegreat is teasing us by posting preview details on the Wiki.  Previews of Dark Ages, that is.

Adventures Previews / Re: Procession Hireling
« on: April 30, 2015, 11:03:58 am »
When you Procession a Duration, the Duration goes into the trash and the Pricession stays out as a reminder. If you Procession a Procession for two Durations, nothing stats out, and the 2nd Procession and both Durations are in the trash.

In your example, Hireling should be in the trash, but Procession and two Royal Carriages stay out to remind you that you get +4 cards.

Thanks, then I did play the combo wrong, but not exactly as I had feared (I put the Dungeon in the trash on the next turn, and discarded a Market Square then, a turn late).

Adventures Previews / Re: Procession Hireling
« on: April 30, 2015, 10:31:03 am »
            I guess I don't understand the timing implications of processing a duration card. In the case of processing a hireling, I sort of get that the hireling and the procession stay out to remind you of the effect, but then why does it go to the trash if you process-process it? When does the processed-hireling count as "trashed"; when, if ever, can you discard a Market Square to get a gold for a processed-hireling? Can you call a Royal Carriage on a processed-hireling?

            Based on what I've read, I sort of feel this should work, but I'm not 100% sure:

            • Play a Royal Carriage
            • Play a Royal Carriage
            • Play a Procession
              • Play a Hireling, get +1 Card at start of turn for rest of game
                • Call Royal Carriage, replay the Hireling, get +1 Card at start of turn for rest of game
              • Play a Hireling, get +1 Card at start of turn for rest of game
                • Call Royal Carriage, replay the Hireling, get +1 Card at start of turn for rest of game
              • Trash Hireling, but do not remove it from play area
                • Discard Market Square, gain a gold
              • Gain a KC
            • (Assuming an extra action and a card not mentioned above) Play a Rogue, retrieving Hireling from trash

            If that is right, then I think I misplayed a Procession/Dungeon/Royal Carriage/Market Square combo last night.

Adventures Previews / Re: New mechanics
« on: April 24, 2015, 10:42:39 am »
Played my first Adventures games tonight! Teacher was insane. Absolutely insane. Ridiculous. (all in a good way).

Card tokens, man. Card tokens.

Sounds amazing. So for Teacher you didn't feel like the game was almost over by the time you got and played one? That's the one thing I wonder just reading about the travellers without having played them...

I played three games last night, the first being the "Gentle Intro" suggested kingdom, which had the Peasant line (as well as Lost City). I was amazed at how fast I was able to get the Teacher. I didn't do much with it, but it didn't take long to get.

It helped that I got incredibly lucky at the start. I got a 2/5 split, bought a Peasant, the next player bought a Lost City, and I shuffled and drew the Peasant. So on my second turn, I was able to buy a hireling and promote the peasant.

Adventures Previews / Re: Champion and Teacher speculation
« on: April 10, 2015, 12:29:06 pm »
Return this to the supply.  If you do, take any number of cards from the Supply with a total cost of no more than $15.  (You may not take any cards with a cost of $0.)

Champion is not in the supply.

Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #4 - Expedition, Trade, Mission
« on: April 03, 2015, 02:20:34 pm »
Question for playtesters: How did you playtest this expansion? Did you just pick 10 Kingdoms out of the 235 (I thought it was 236, but others say 235) Kingdom cards, and keep doing that until the new cards came up? Did you start with Base+Adventures? Adventures alone? Did you go "I think this combo has potential/is broken" and pick a kingdom to test that idea?

I'm trying to figure out how best to learn this expansion myself when I can get my hands on it.

Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #4 - Expedition, Trade, Mission
« on: April 02, 2015, 02:19:30 pm »
Somehow though I get the feeling that Mission's interactions with Outpost and Possession are going to be nightmare-inducing.

I don't think it'll be too bad.

First off, Mission does not interact with Possession, since you can't play Possession on Mission. Possession will only allow you to take one extra turn with Outpost because Outpost by itself can't be used to take more than two turns in a row.

Oh, wait, Possession, not Precession.

Let's deal with the simple case of Mission and Outpost:

If you play Outpost, then buy a mission, then in your discard phase you will keep out the Outpost and then (probably) get to choose which extra turn you get: the mission or the outpost extra turn (similar to how playing two possessions on an opponent, and playing an outpost during the first posession allows the possessor to choose to play out outpost extra turn before the second possession, or after). Playing the mission first results in a mission with only three cards, and no third turn. Playing the outpost extra turn first results in a third turn in a row, the last turn a mission.

Now for Possession:

Cribbing from the Wiki on Possession/Outpost,

Interactions with Possession are difficult: remember that when your opponent Possesses you, he makes you take an extra turn, and makes all decisions for you.
  • So, if your opponent plays a Possession, then makes you buy a Mission during that Possessed turn, they will get to see the five cards you draw; then you will take your buy-less Mission extra turn, since that will only be your second turn in a row; and then you will take your regular turn.
  • If your opponent plays two Possessions, you take two extra turns from them; so if your opponent then makes you buy a Mission on the second Possessed turn, it does nothing since the previous turn was yours.
  • If your opponent plays two (or more) Possessions and makes you buy a mission during the first Possessed turn, they will get to make you decide when to take the extra turn from Mission; they can make you take an extra turn with no buys cards after the first Possessed turn, or they can choose to delay your Mission turn. Unlike the Outpost case, you will get to play the mission, since nothing in the Mission card says you can't have more than two turns in a row, just that you can't get them from Missions after your first turn.

I would assume that if my opponent plays two (or more) Possessions and makes me play both an outpost and buys a mission on the first Possessed turn, they would get to choose if my second turn was the Possessed turn, the Outpost turn, or the Mission turn.

What is unclear to me, in both the double-Possession/Outpost and double-Possession/Mission cases is who controls on the Outpost or Mission extra turns? Would it be I'm Possessed, I control the mission, I'm Possessed, I control my normal turn?

Adventures Previews / Re: Previews #4 - Expedition, Trade, Mission
« on: April 02, 2015, 10:57:47 am »
That wording to Mission is really confusing. The "Once per turn:" prefix in particular. It makes it look like something that can happen multiple times when you buy it, maybe after each opponent's turn, or something.

I assume it's just there to prevent you spending $8 and two buys to get two extra turns (right?) But why not just use the wording from Outpost?

It also appears to prevent you from gaining a 3rd turn after an outpost. It's already ineffective to play outpost during your extra turn, it's also ineffective to buy a mission during that turn as well.

DonaldX has already indicated that you can buy events on your mission (it's not buying a card), but the wording prevents you from getting a 2nd mission in a row.

But it seems like you could play an outpost on a mission, and get 3 turns in a row (1st turn full, 2nd turn with no buys, 3rd turn with 3 card hand). I'm not sure that's intentional. It seems like the general idea is that neither Mission nor Outpost should allow you to get more than 2 turns in a row.

Pages: [1] 2

Page created in 0.083 seconds with 18 queries.