Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Donald X.

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 161
1
General Discussion / Re: Random Stuff Part III
« on: Today at 01:17:15 pm »
"I gain a Gold," Tom said heroically.
"I gain a Rats," Tom said roguishly.
"I reveal Province, putting it into my hand," Tom said sagely.

2
Other Games / Re: Breath of the Wild
« on: June 21, 2017, 04:57:41 pm »
- Getting all chests from all shrines
- Getting and fully upgrading all possible armor (except amiibo-only armor) (very close to done already)
- Completing the compendium; without buying any photos*
- Completing all side + shrine quests
- Completing the Kilton stuff for miniboss fights
I don't think I'm possibly completing all the armor; some of it requires just way too many dragon bits. Just, I can have more fun than campfiring and shooting a dragon and collecting the bit and repeating endlessly.

In addition to early lynel stuff, I didn't take pictures of the divine beast bosses. I just wasn't thinking about doing the compendium yet.

I am not possibly finishing the koroks; I got half and will settle for that plus however many I find while trying to find the rest of the hinoxes and taluses.

3
Other Games / Re: Breath of the Wild
« on: June 21, 2017, 02:30:32 pm »
The post-game stuff I meant are the couple things you mentioned. Having a % complete will help with knowing how many, if any, locations I still haven't been to; and having Kilton's thing will let me know if it's worth spending time fighting a miniboss I come across. I just figure having that info available while shrine-hunting will save time in the long run.
The % really doesn't tell you anything, because as I said it's so dominated by koroks. That's just how they did the math. For the minibosses it says "defeated" if you already beat them, so that's nice, but you still have to go right up to the monster to find that out, so again you really want to mark them all on the map as you beat them.

Also, I may have misread something previously because I can't find info on this again, but I thought that after beating the game, the quest list will show the total number of shrine and side quests complete out of the number available, which would tell me how many of the missing shrines are shrine quests. But maybe that's not actually correct...
Yes it does that. However a shrine quest can be for a shrine you found and beat without the quest; when you find the person they give you the quest and then it immediately announces itself complete. I've beaten all the shrines but have one shrine quest left, because it has not felt worth it to talk to everyone again just to get that number to change.

4
Other Games / Re: Breath of the Wild
« on: June 21, 2017, 01:28:58 pm »
So yeah, all divine beasts done, and 114 shrines found/done. We'll explore a bit more to see if we can find the last few, but I'm pretty sure we'll end up needing to turn to a guide. Also tempted to just go and kill Ganon, so that we can have access to the after-game stuff while looking for the last few shrines.
I think I personally would want to know:
- One of the shrines is in the castle, and odds are you will finish the castle and fight Ganon when you go there, because you will want to explore the castle and then won't want to redo stuff later; so, either you save that one for last or fight Ganon before you have all the shrines.
- I don't know what you mean by "after-game stuff" (there's a % complete score but it's dominated by koroks so whatever), but the only extra quest is killing all the hinoxes, taluses, and moldugas. This means that you will for sure save time if you start marking killed ones on your map right now.
- If you are working on the compendium, you can take a picture of Ganon and it keeps it when you reload your game with Ganon unkilled.

5
Rules Questions / Re: Rule about timing for several players
« on: June 20, 2017, 07:06:41 pm »
This is not "two things", but one thing. It's something happening to several players at the same time.
There is no copying error or any such thing. I don't know how the language you're working with works. In English that rule has stood the test of time, failing to generate questions until today. Two players gaining Curses can be viewed as two things happening, the one player gaining a Curse and the other player gaining a Curse. You can view it as one thing happening - that set of players gaining Curses - but well the text does not treat it like that, and there's an example, and it does not confuse people.

The rules do need to cover both two related things happening to two players at once, e.g. both gaining Curses, and two unrelated things happening to two players at once, e.g. both taking extra turns from different sources. So "one thing happening to two players" is not sufficient.

6
Other Games / Re: Luciferous' Temporum Client
« on: June 12, 2017, 03:43:47 pm »
If I hack-score a card in Industrial revolution, gaining control of Age III, I should get back the scored card to my hand, right? If so, then it doesn't work. :)
(sorry for posting here instead of on the bug database, but I wanted to get confirmation that this is indeed a bug)
You didn't play a card, so there is no "that card" to return to your hand.

7
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Rules mess ups you haven't seen?
« on: June 12, 2017, 01:41:39 pm »
I always base my shuffling on particles decaying; I mean there's actual randomness. If your deck doesn't have a quantum superposition, it's not really shuffled.

8
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: June 10, 2017, 11:23:26 am »
Did you ever consider to make another deckbuilding game respectively a game (like Mage Knight, Core Worlds, etc.) which features deckbuilding as one among other mechanisms?
In fact Kingdom Builder and Temporum both started out as deckbuilding games.

9
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 09, 2017, 09:40:40 pm »
Huh? Normally you move to an opponent and then hope they move elsewhere, taking the zombie with them.
That has certainly been my experience.

10
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 09, 2017, 09:40:04 pm »
Related, would you be allowed to go to Exodus and choose a Time you rule where you only have 1 Crown, advancing just 1 instead of 2? I'm almost positive you could, and you would just do as much as you can. So same thing here, as long as Meritocracy is a choice, you must choose it.
Yes, you can pick any Time you rule, which could even have zero crowns.

11
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 09, 2017, 09:39:05 pm »
I go to Exodus, and advance 3 crowns from Time I.  However, my opponent pointed out that I had 1 crown ruling Meritocracy in Time III.  Therefore, I had to choose Meritocracy, advancing only 1 crown.  I agreed with this ruling, although I'm not entirely sure.
Yes.

12
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 09, 2017, 01:08:49 pm »
Dutch Golden Age & Investments... is it the net amount you gained this turn, or does it just count money you got without looking at money you lost (such as paying zombies, etc)?
Gains, not factoring in losses.

13
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: June 08, 2017, 11:00:08 am »
Why did you choose to make wall start at 15?

If the question is, why 15 specifically, then I don't know. The reason it doesn't start at 0 is because of a lunch game my group had where one player trashed down to a 3-card golden deck (with Temple) and then left to go to a meeting. Now at the time, I believe Wall was "1 VP per 2 cards you have". If it had been 1 VP per card without the 15-card threshold, he would have won that game, despite gaining a measly 1 VP per turn.

Long story short, having that 15-card threshold lets actual decks compete against golden decks in Wall games.
That is how it went down. It started at 8 VP if you have no more than 15 cards. It was too hard to go for and became -1 VP per 2 cards. I considered doubling it to make scores more different between players. LF had his game with the player who left. To try to avoid that problem I made it -1 VP per card over 15. The original 15 was based on considering what you could reasonably manage with trashing. The new 15 may have just been because 15 was in the air here. We tried it, it worked, I didn't tweak it further.

14
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 07, 2017, 05:18:42 pm »
From KoT's wording, I wouldn't think you'd even need to be in Age I for that to happen.  Play PtF in Age III, etc.
Predict the Future changes history where you are. It's not Change the Past.

15
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 07, 2017, 05:12:45 pm »
Here's a rules question... does Kingdom of Trilobites allow you to change history in Time II and then in Time III even when it isn't being done because it's the start of your turn?

One way to do this: Have Hacker in play, go to Trilobites, and play Predict the Future. I'm guessing there's other ways as well.

I assume the answer is yes, as it follows from the literal reading of the cards. The FAQ for Trilobites says "normally at the start of a turn" but doesn't mention when it's not normal.
Kingdom of Trilobites: When you're here and get the opportunity to change history - normally at the start of a turn - you first may change history from Time I, then may change history from Time II (whether or not you changed Time II), then may from Time III. So you can pick a complete path down to Time IV.

That phrase "normally at the start of a turn" means there must be a non-normal situation - otherwise it would be a lie. And then there's the rest of the text telling you what happens. I mean I am looking at the FAQ, and it looks like I did well enough on this one.

16
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 06, 2017, 11:52:43 am »
Is Beggar's money considered mine? If I run around for a while without gaining any money, does beggar keep piling up, or does he stop once he hits $4?


I assumed no, and that it can build up, but wasn't totally confident it was correct.
It can build up past $4. It's not "your $."

17
Introductions / Re: Hello, hello
« on: June 05, 2017, 06:58:56 pm »
For me, the Hello The Band version of Hello Hello.

18
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 04, 2017, 06:55:42 pm »
So that's also the case with Capitalist Utopia?
Yes.

19
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: June 03, 2017, 04:06:57 pm »
I thought Exodus's extra-crown clause was true regardless of whether Exodus was currently real. I could easily be mistaken.
It doesn't do anything unless it's real.

20
Rules Questions / Re: Gaining, with nothing to Gain
« on: May 31, 2017, 10:52:56 am »
When a player (either your or another player) attempts to Gain a card, and if there are no cards to Gain, do I still get the benefit of the Gain?
My guess is no, and this question may just be an unlikely scenario in gameplay.
Please be way way more specific.

21
Rules Questions / Re: Reaction cards
« on: May 31, 2017, 10:26:40 am »
I need a clarification of how Reaction cards are 'activated'.  This may be an unrealistic scenario, but I still want to understand the intent of the Reaction card.

If a player plays an Attack card, but the 'attack' does not negatively impact me (such as a player attacking me with attempting to give me a Curse card, but the Curse pile is empty), do I still gain the benefit of having the Reaction card?

And if there is a 'rule' that covers this scenario, please post the link to the rule or clarification.
Again, if this has already been posted in a different thread, please post that thread link.
The key concept here is, that cards actually don't care about things that they don't specifically care about.

Moat says "When another player plays an Attack card..." So that's when you can use that ability - other things you can imagine mattering but which weren't specified, such as would the Attack card actually do anything to you, do not matter.

22
I think such a "Haggler-super-Smugglers" would be too weak
I don't follow you.

"Too weak for a Dominion card" is "I don't consider that ability when deciding whether or not to get the card." It's a low bar. Many effects that you wouldn't buy at $0 (except all the times you would) are nevertheless fine deals and interesting at $4 with +$2 tacked on. Haggler for example does not just haggle.

23
Hmm, well as Holger pointed out, that doesn't fix Possession's stalemate problem at all.
I didn't know I was supposed to be fixing a stalemate problem. My first thought there is to make a Haggler-Smugglers instead of a straight Smugglers - you get something cheaper for each thing they got. Haggler says non-VP and well I'm not putting in the work right now to polish this card concept and so know how close I am to a good version.

Possession is super-confusing. In the years since it came out, that has been most of what I have uh felt apologetic about. The big Smugglers 100% fixes that, and that's 100% of what it's trying to fix (yes it's also faster). You have to remember stuff but at least know it's coming up. A lot of the time it is not much to remember. I'm not saying "yeeha let's make some cards with awful tracking issues." In case it seems like that.

Possession is also hated by some people. I like to say, if there were no cards people hated, there would be no cards people loved. But well. You have to consider things case by case anyway. Maybe something is too hated by the people who hate it, or hated too often. Mostly I have not felt like this is the case with Possession - instead again I think the confusion is the big problem. But. I don't have market research really. Maybe it's too hated. It's not like the game has to have that particular concept. If time had permitted I would have tried other big effects for that slot, because it was in fact clear that the card was confusing; time did not permit. A lesson in what to do when people say "we need this fast."

I always think that kids in particular like Possession, but I don't know that they need that particular thing to get that particular joy. Smugglers for example may be doing the trick. They (in my imagination with no market research) want to be rewarded for Mom being better at the game than them; that doesn't require taking a turn with her deck.

And yes take it to the variants forum guys.

24
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Interview with Donald X.
« on: May 30, 2017, 03:11:21 pm »
What happens if you set aside Anubis Statuette with Cache?  Presumably the start of your turn happens before changing history or moving.  So does "resolve this zone" tell you to visit the zone where you happen to be at the start of your turn, or does Anubis Statuette just set up an effect that happens later in the turn when you visit a zone normally?
Anubis Statuette should say, to clarify this situation, "after you visit your regular zone for the turn" (or some such). That's the intended functionality. With Information Age, it's after resolving Information Age, after visiting whatever Zones result from that.

25
Other Games / Re: Temporum: Alternate Realities speculation
« on: May 30, 2017, 06:28:14 am »
Haha cool. So maybe the same like "Amazonian Europe" (which is mentioned in the zone setup examples), which should rather be "Empire of the Amazonas"? ;)
Apparently I did not proofread that rulebook sufficiently.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 161

Page created in 0.098 seconds with 19 queries.