Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - singletee

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 33
1
Dominion League / Re: Season 31 - Late Signups
« on: December 05, 2018, 02:11:32 pm »
Signups listed below. See Available Spots for how many openings there are, and the Waiting List for late signups. Confirmed players are also color-coded according to tentative divisions; these will be finalized after the rating cutoff on Sunday, December 9.


2
Dominion League / Season 31 - Late Signups
« on: December 05, 2018, 02:11:21 pm »
Season 31 will run from Monday, December 10 until Sunday, January 20. Signups have officially closed, but if you are new to the league, you can still sign up late in this thread until Wednesday, December 12 at 19:00 UTC.

Starting this season, we are requiring all new and returning players to join the Dominion Discord before signing up. If you aren’t familiar with it, Discord is a messaging app for gamers, ideal for real-time chatting with your opponents in the League. It is a lively community of players of all skill levels with regular discussion of Dominion strategy, fun tournaments, and playful banter. It also allows you to listen to live commentary of many matches. The League has been mostly conducted over Discord in recent seasons, so this change is just making it all officially required.

To sign up, please post a message with your dominion.games username, timezone*, and Discord username (formatted like @___#___). Please make sure to state the exact spelling of your username (upper/lower case, special characters, and so on). You will be placed in an appropriate division according to your timezone and rating on dominion.games as seen in the client or here.

Please check the welcome thread first and read the rules to make sure you're comfortable with the format and the time it takes to play a season. If you have any questions be sure to check out the FAQ. You can also ask questions about the League at the dominionleague channel on Discord.

If there is space for you this season, you will receive a personal message from a league moderator to confirm your signup. You must reply to this message within 24 hours or your signup will be removed.

If there is no space appropriate for you (given your level and timezone), we will instead invite you to sign up for next season! You should hear back either way by Sunday, December 16.

*When specifying a timezone, please use one of these common examples or use the same format and look yours up in the complete list.
Code: [Select]
America/Chicago
America/Denver
America/Los_Angeles
America/New_York
Australia/Sydney
Europe/Berlin
Europe/London

3
Tournaments and Events / Re: Renaissance: The Tournament
« on: November 16, 2018, 03:45:04 pm »
singletee 3-2 Darkness

20370973 singletee
20371788 singletee
20372182 Darkness
20372617 Darkness
20373019 singletee

4
City Gate + Guide

Put back the best card from your hand before you call Guide.

5
Tournaments and Events / Re: Renaissance: The Tournament
« on: November 15, 2018, 11:33:32 pm »
singletee 3-2 Cave-o-sapien

20350878 Cave-o-sapien
20351263 singletee
20351499 Cave-o-sapien
20352069 singletee
20352542 singletee

6
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Missing auto-plays
« on: November 11, 2018, 04:55:02 pm »
It could also interact badly with Traveller autoplays.

7
Rules Questions / Inheritance and Border Guard
« on: November 08, 2018, 04:28:25 am »


If I Inherit a Border Guard, the consensus seems to be that I do not get to use the abilities of the associated artifacts with it. The Horn lets me topdeck a Border Guard during cleanup, and an Estate isn't a Border Guard, so I can't topdeck an Estate. Seems clear enough. Likewise, the Lantern causes my Border Guards to reveal 3 cards, and Estates aren't Border Guards, so that doesn't work either, right? Hold on, not so fast! Lantern works on all my Border Guards, including the one with the Estate token on it... which is the card my Estates gain their abilities from. The thing the Estate is copying reveals 3 cards, so the Estate also reveals 3 cards. To me, Lantern is statically modifying the abilities of all my Border Guards at all times, and my Estates should inherit (pun intended) those modified abilities. For it to work the other way, I would expect Lantern to be worded something like "When you reveal or discard cards with a Border Guard, reveal or discard one more": an ability that replaces one event with another as it happens.

8
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Weekly Design Contest Thread
« on: November 05, 2018, 03:00:03 am »
Ok, I'm throwing my hat into the ring.

Here are four cards inspired by the four special cards in Tichu:



The Little Bird rewards you for correctly guessing a card in the next player's hand. It only works once because they have to reveal to confirm your guess, and after that it would be trivial to get the bonus.

Dominion players are well aware of the principle that one great thing is better than two good things. This is the case in Tichu as well, and the Dog is a card that weakens your own hand but strengthens your partner's. Cards that hurt your current turn to help the next one are a well-explored design space in Dominion, so I had some trouble creating something new. While making this card I kept reinventing Gear, Tactician, and Secret Cave. In the end I settled on a gainer. The synergy with Faithful Hound is a nice bonus.

Phoenix is a wish you can buy! Tichu's Phoenix is a wild card worth negative points, so you get a curse when you play this.

The mighty Dragon has a powerful effect and is worth points, but you don't get to keep him when you play him! This Dragon is a little nicer; you can appease him by feeding him Victory cards.

9
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Ruined cards
« on: October 10, 2018, 07:27:26 pm »
Ruined Flagbearer
Action - Ruins
Cost $0
+
----------
When you gain or trash this, take the Ruined Flag.

Ruined Flag
Artifact
After drawing your hand, look at the top card of your deck.

10
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Most Potions in 1 turn?
« on: October 08, 2018, 06:09:45 pm »
The question could always be modified to: what is the most potions you can get in 1 turn in a kingdom that does not allow you to generate an arbitrary number of potions?

11
Dominion: Renaissance Previews / Re: Your reviews of the previews
« on: October 04, 2018, 02:43:58 am »
Jomini means “potions” by “pot”, in case anyone else was wondering.

Jomini thinks people reading this board will assume that "debt or pots" clearly refers to brownies because that, and only that, could possibly make any contextual sense with the rest of the sentence.

Mn, wh nds vwls? Th mnng f th sntnc s clr wtht thm.

12
Tournaments and Events / Re: Renaissance: The Tournament
« on: September 23, 2018, 09:23:29 am »
in

13
Rules Questions / Re: Pilgrimage With Split Piles
« on: September 16, 2018, 05:27:45 am »

Are there any (or will there ever be) other multi-gainers like Pilgrimage, that this would apply to (I can't think of any off the top of my head)?


There are probably a bunch, but the one that first comes to mind is Stonemason. It works the same way, so you can, for example, buy Stonemason and gain two Knights of equal cost.

15
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Question- What is an Engine
« on: July 26, 2018, 12:04:03 am »
Seprix, does reducing opponents' score count as scoring a set of points? Cursers, Swindler, Knights, etc.

17
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance interaction
« on: July 19, 2018, 03:30:00 pm »
Just to try to make sense of this rules discussion, in the scenario described by trivialknot with BoM and Mining Village, does the BoM actually get played as Lighthouse when played the third time by the first King's Court?
Yes. The Band of Misfits is a Lighthouse currently, and you're playing it.

Suppose there were another Band of Misfits in my discard. I drew and played one of them as Lighthouse twice via Herald into Throne as described, but now I don't know whether it's the same Band of Misfits as the one I originally played.

This was mentioned in the OP and responded to by Donald at the start of the thread.

So the "solution" is that it's not currently possible to resolve the situation in the physical game? How disappointing.

I was there; I upvoted that post back then. But it certainly doesn't constitute anything remotely resembling a ruling. I don't begrudge Donald X. the decision not to rule on such an unlikely case, but that post really doesn't serve as a solution at all.

I suppose we could mark the cards? That ought to solve it if Masquerade isn't involved.

There are only 3 solutions really:
1. Mark the cards (emulating the abilities of a computer program),
2. If we don't know what the card is currently, it does nothing,
3. If we don't know what the card is currently, use information from some prior time.

18
Rules Questions / Re: Inheritance interaction
« on: July 19, 2018, 03:12:32 pm »
Just to try to make sense of this rules discussion, in the scenario described by trivialknot with BoM and Mining Village, does the BoM actually get played as Lighthouse when played the third time by the first King's Court?
Yes. The Band of Misfits is a Lighthouse currently, and you're playing it.

Suppose there were another Band of Misfits in my discard. I drew and played one of them as Lighthouse twice via Herald into Throne as described, but now I don't know whether it's the same Band of Misfits as the one I originally played.

19
Rules Questions / Re: "in play" on Royal Carriage
« on: July 19, 2018, 09:12:02 am »
I think in OP's case, it (Estate3) got played by me into my play area to do Crown stuff, left play, got played by Sally into Sally's play area to do Caravan Guard stuff, got played by me again via Estate2 (not putting into my play area). What does it do now? It is currently a Caravan Guard in Sally's play area so it should do Caravan Guard stuff, but we have no way of knowing in the general case that it is really the same card. We have already encountered this problem before and to my knowledge it wasn't really resolved. But regardless of what effects Estate3 has upon play the third time, can we then call Royal Carriage on the play of Estate3 that we just did?

The core of the problem being encountered is that it is possible to play a card without knowing whether that card is already in play, and thus whether RC is eligible to be called on it.

The core of the previously encountered problem is that it is possible to play an Estate without knowing where that Estate is, and thus what it should do upon being played.

20
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 17, 2018, 11:01:12 am »
Catacombs

Cultist?

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.
Is that correct? Royal Carriage says you may call "if it's still in play". But the Estate isn't still in play, it has left play, and is now in play again.

Ah, I didn't remember it had that phrase. In that case, it's not "still" in play and can't be called.

21
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: July 17, 2018, 10:43:38 am »
Catacombs

Cultist?

Although by all rights, I'm pretty sure we've lost track of the Estate so many times we can't actually call RC (since it doesn't know that it's the same Estate in play).

It doesn't need to. You don't need to know where a card is to call RC upon its resolution.

Also, you need to force opponent to draw a card in between the two Ambassador plays.

22
General Discussion / Re: Email notifications?
« on: July 11, 2018, 05:47:19 pm »

23
Not to be confused with a semicoda, which is like a coda but halfway through the song.

24
Variants and Fan Cards / Re: Mashups
« on: July 06, 2018, 07:21:16 pm »
Convoy
Action -
Reveal the top 5 Cards of your deck. Discard any that you have a copy of in play. Put the rest into your hand.

Enclave
Action -
+
Reveal your hand. Play an Action card from your hand chosen by the player to your left. If you do, +1 Action.

25
Other Games / Re: Slay the Spire
« on: June 20, 2018, 06:02:06 pm »
I played an unusual strategy on yesterday's daily climb. It was the one with the Silent where you started with 5 copies of one rare card. As it happened I got Wraith Form (3-cost Power: Gain 3 Intangible, lose 1 Dexterity every turn). I had never had much success with Wraith Form before, mostly because after the 3-turn timer runs out you are unable to defend yourself due to the Dex loss. But with 5 of them...

They weren't too useful in the early game because of the high cost, and the fact that there were so many interfered with my ability to attack and avoid the chip damage with my Defends. But eventually I got my hands on After-image (1-cost Power: When you play a card, gain 1 Block). Then I was able to upgrade it to be Innate. Crucially, the Block gains from this effect are not affected by Dex. So I was able to set up the After-image effect on the first turn of every fight, likely get Intangible the next turn, and from that point on I just literally did not care about how hard the enemies (tried to) hit. I also picked up a sixth Wraith Form, an Anchor to protect me on the first turn before I had a Wraith Form out, and a Setup and Bullet Time to let me play Wraith Forms for free. Beat Big Blue Bird easily without taking damage. Success!

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 33

Page created in 0.303 seconds with 19 queries.