Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - MrSir712

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
1
Rules Questions / Playing Durations with Emulators
« on: April 25, 2020, 09:56:13 pm »
I am aware that if a card plays a Duraction card multiple times, that card stays out in play with the Duration (e.g. Throne Room+Merchant Ship). What happens if an Emulator plays a Duration?

I own Empires, which has the card Overlord, whose wording does not reflect the errata. My family and I simply play the Overlord by its old wording, since we own no other Command cards, so we assumed it would play as it normally would when playing the errata'd version. If something referred to Overlord's types, we simply made sure to include Command.

But after looking back we realized, wait, there is something different. Overlord plays a card and leaves it in the Supply. What we had been doing was obeying the rules as if Overlord was the card. For instance, if I play Overlord as Archive, Overlord would stay out in play with the set aside cards; it was an Archive. What would I do with the new errata'd Overlord? If I play Overlord on an Archive in the Supply, do the set-aside cards go on the Archive in the Supply? Do I set them aside elsewhere?

And in general, when an emulated card refers to itself, what happens? I play Overlord+Mining Village, I choose to trash "it"; do I trash a Mining Village from the Supply, trash the Overlord, or trash nothing at all and get no +$2? The wiki pages are doing no good for me.

2
Dominion FAQ / Action-Victories
« on: January 10, 2020, 11:34:39 pm »
This is not a rules question, just to address those of you who like answering rules questions.

Instead I'm asking about one of the things that has come in when exploring all of the official cards, and that's that there are only two sets with Action-Victory cards: Intrigue and Empires. Now, Distant Lands from Adventures is Action-Victory-Reserve, but its Action part is hardly significant to any more than one play of the game.

I feel like there's so much ground left to be covered on the front of Action-Victory cards, and I'd be delighted to see more. For instance, why not try a Peddler variant with 2VP tagged on it; price it at $6. That's one of my favorite parts about Intrigue, and it's what makes the Castles from Empires so much fun, because they're Victory cards that do other things.

Is there any issue I'm missing with the creation of lots of these Victory cards? Does it raise certain dilemmas? There may be something I'm missing here, or perhaps it was just designed that way with no specific outlook on that type. I don't know. It'd be nice to know, though, so what are your thoughts?

3
Dominion General Discussion / Dominion: Empires Format
« on: January 09, 2020, 11:47:12 pm »
So I know that Empires was the first set released under the Second Edition format, but it seems like certain cards, for example Gladiator, donít have the same large text as other cards, even though it looks like it could very easily have larger text. Also, comparing the vanilla parts of Settlers to other such cards shows that the bold text is a lot larger than bold text on other cards with Vanilla bonuses. Is this an inconsistency with other Second Edition designs, or did I just get an early print that happened to be different?

4
Rules Questions / Crown + Small Castle
« on: December 17, 2019, 10:29:33 pm »
When I use Crown (or Throne Room I guess) on Small Castle, is it possible to use the "trash this" option both the first and second time playing it to gain the next two Castles?

If not, why? What I want to know is if either of these (hypothetical) rules apply here:
  • Crown "loses track" of Small Castle when it trashes itself?
  • Small Castle cannot trash itself for benefit when it's already in the trash?

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.06 seconds with 18 queries.