Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - William Howard Taft

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
1
Dominion General Discussion / Ambassador and When to Buy Curses
« on: March 20, 2018, 03:56:02 pm »
Under what circumstances is it a good idea to buy a Curse for Ambassador?

I've never tried it IRL, mostly because when Ambassador is on the board I'm already too busy fending off/passing out other junk, but it's fun against Lord Rattington. I opened Double Ambassador and quickly found myself with a super thin deck consisting of nothing else besides some Villages and a couple Pawns, so I bought a Curse with the extra Buy and spent a few turns double-cursing him.

It's a fun way to inject cursing into a game that wouldn't otherwise have it, but it seems like it might often be a waste of time against an actual human. Does anyone have any examples of games where it was a good move?

When else is it a good idea to buy a Curse?

New players always laugh when I tell them a Curse costs $0 and they're free to buy them whenever they please, but there are circumstances where it's the best move. I'm sure I'm missing some, but off the top of my head:
  • End with a three pile when you're ahead
  • Fairgrounds
  • Museum if you really need 1 extra VP
  • Watchtower them straight into the trash for Goons or to defang your opponent's curser
  • Force your opponents to gain it with Messenger (probably helps if you have a Watchtower)

Am I missing any? When do you buy Curses?

2
Rules Questions / Enchantress on a Ghosted Enchantress
« on: February 06, 2018, 11:52:36 pm »
My game group is about to murder each other so can anyone clarify for me, what happens when Ghost plays an Enchantress and your opponent has an Enchantress in play?

a: +1 Card +1 Action, Enchantress attack, then +4 cards on my next turn?
b: +1 Card +1 Action, Enchantress attack, then +2 cards on my next turn?
c: Something else?

Thanks!

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.166 seconds with 17 queries.