Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - DooWopDJ

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3
1
Dominion General Discussion / Total number of card permutations
« on: April 11, 2021, 10:31:38 pm »
Excluding the Black Market deck (or even including that option), what is the current number of card set permutations possible?  And if possible with and/or without the Landscape type cards

2
Dominion General Discussion / Any tips for tracking IRL cards played?
« on: April 11, 2021, 10:28:35 pm »
We tend to play randomized sets with the onine randomizer.  Are there any tracking tools that would log the cards that we have already played? Especially tracking them in an online randomizer?  The only solution I can think of is to enter cards to 'ban' for each time I randomize?

3
Let's Discuss ... / Cumbersome discard pile mechanics opinions
« on: March 07, 2021, 04:50:18 pm »
Finally getting back to playing IRL games.  I am usually not one to 'critique' any aspects of Dominion, but I thought I would post a question to determine how others viewed certain mechanics, that just make playing some cards mechanically cumbersome.

My current example are
 Counting House ... flipping over each card in my discard pile....
 Philosopher's Stone.  counting my cards every time ...

Luckily I only play 2P, and would not enjoy this card in multiple player

Any other thoughts on cumbersome mechanics?

4
Rules Questions / Necromancer - checking vs not checking
« on: December 26, 2020, 08:06:55 pm »
The Official FAQ states "...if the card checks to see if it was trashed (such as Pixie), it was not, but if the card does not check (such as Tragic Hero), it will function normally...".
My question is some more examples of 'does not check'.  I am currently playing the Tragic Hero from the Trash 1) I keep the Tragic Hero in the Trash 2) Do not 'trash' the Tragic Hero (as it is already there) 3) But I still 'gain a Treasure'

5
Rules Questions / Ghost rule questions
« on: November 19, 2020, 10:40:58 pm »
1. It is my guess that when Ghost plays an Experiment (or other action that might get returned to the pile once it is played the first time), that the 2nd time to play the Experiment can still happen.  I am basing this on the 'If Ghost plays a card that trashes itself, it will play it a second time even though the card is no longer in play."

2. The rules states "you cannot resolve other effects in the middle".  Does this if the action card has 'things to do' that I cannot resolve all of them before I play the Action card a 2nd time?  It would help to have an example of what other effects we cannot resolve in the middle

6
Rules Questions / Way 'for its own ability'
« on: October 26, 2020, 10:15:18 pm »
The Ways rules states "... If the card you are playing is a Duration card, it only stays in play if at least one of its plays was for its own abilities..."

Are there some guidance as to how we determine 'at least one of its plays was for its own abilities'?
Are +1 card and + 1 action each a 'play'?
Or maybe like the Enchantress, we are ignoring the 'top rule' and use the Way directions, but on the 'duration' part (the +2 cards) we still draw the 2 cards? But maybe we should not ignore the top rule?

7
Rules Questions / How do Ways work?
« on: March 13, 2020, 09:08:07 pm »
I could not figure out how the new Way cards work.  How do you get them? When are they used?

8
Very excited about the new expansion.  I am confused about the release vs ship date though.
Amazon shows release date as March 16, 2020, but it is not shipping until September 2020?
Can someone clarify this? Thanks.

9
Rules Questions / Necromancing a Mining Village?
« on: April 11, 2019, 12:54:10 pm »
So with the best of my abilities I still cannot determine correct way to play if a player plays a Necromancer to play a Mining Village card from the Trash pile.

The rule question is 'Does 'Trashing" mean from anywhere in the card (so can I trash a card from the trash back to the trash?)

By "... simply doing exactly what the cards say...' it seems (a horrible assumption it seems when asking a question in the forum, but I am going to ask anyways), that a player would get "+2", because I could not find a ruling that said where Trashing could not happen from the trash, although 'Trash rules do state '... Trashing a card usually means removing it permanently from your deck...' but then again the word 'usually' is there, so thus my question to clarify if my question.
Thanks
-DooWopDJ

10
Rules Questions / Resolving Boons for Idol
« on: April 03, 2019, 12:29:33 pm »
We encountered a couple of instances where a player played an Idol and the Boon's text was not clear how to Resolve it.
I have only 3 examples, but the main question is the #2 question below on 'discard' is not required to be 'from my hand'.
I would be curious has to how to resolve these 3 examples and maybe someone can point out some other 'not so great Boons' for the Idol card.

this issues seems to be alluded to in this thread post by Donald X >>> http://forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=18767.msg761033#msg761033

1. The Wind's Gift >>> +2 Cards.  Discard 2 cards.
(well the card was clear, but unless I drew Treasures, this Boon was useless? And if we drew any Treasures, I could then play them since I am still in the midst of my playing my Treasures, and have not bought anything yet)

2. The Earth's Gift >>> You may discard a Treasure to gain a card costing up to 4.
It does not say it could be from the player's hand, so does that mean I could discard one from Play (and thus not have that Treasure available in Play when I Buy a card?

3. The Field's Gift >>> +1 Action +$1 (Keep this until Clean-up.)
So does the +1 Action carry over to my next turn? Do I return to the Action phase? I do Play another action in my Buy phase now, then continue playing my Treasures?


11
Dominion Strategy Wiki Feedback / Credit for Materials?
« on: March 29, 2019, 05:17:03 pm »
There are credits for card and box illustators. Who should we credit for Materials?
- Tokens (Coins, Debt, Embargo, Victory, Adventure tokens)
- Mats (Trash, Tavern, Coffers, Villagers, Fishing, Island, Pirate Ship, Trade Route)
I may have missed a few, but I have included a portion of these images into my Fan Cards and want to know who should be listed in the Credits.
Thanks
-DooWopDJ

12
Dominion General Discussion / Victory Card design considerations?
« on: March 22, 2019, 02:01:53 pm »
Was there ever any consideration of putting a Victory Point value (similar to the Treasure Value in the upper corners of the Victory Cards? (yes, there would be ? for those accumulative Victory cards like Gardens, etc).

I will probably at least adapt to turning the 2nd Edition versions upside down so that the lower right would be the upper left so I can see the VP value in my hand.

Just a thought (not a complaint).

https://shardofhonor.github.io/dominion-card-generator/index.html?title=Estate&description=&type=Victory&credit=&creator=&price=%242&preview=1%25&type2=&color2split=1&boldkeys=&picture-x=-1&picture-y=-1&picture-zoom=1&picture=http%3A%2F%2Fwiki.dominionstrategy.com%2Fimages%2Fe%2Fe3%2FEstateArt.jpg&expansion=&color0=2&color1=0&size=3

13
Dominion General Discussion / Base Card set 2nd Edition time frame?
« on: March 22, 2019, 01:52:41 pm »
Is there any time frame or plans to update the Base Card set with the 2nd Edition revisions?

14
One of my opponents has been unable to play IRL, so we decided to play Dominion.Online.   I humbly think of myself as a good player (and understand the 'rules of the game'), but a few times I have encountered a few moments in Dominion.Online to teach me the 'correct rules'.

It seems we have been playing the Trade Route incorrectly. 
We incorrectly assumed that the 'Trade Route' mats were meant as '1 per player' (since there were 8 of them).
We had played were if one player gains a Victory cards they alone gain the token to 'their' mat (this was wrong).
Note: I had mockingly complained before about issuing 8 mats when only 6 players were allowed at most.  And now I see that it is 'even worse' in that even with 6 players, we only need 1 Trade Route mat.

Now (correct me if I am wrong) we see that the Trade Route is a 'shared' mat for all players.

15
Variants and Fan Cards / Violet CLM Card Generator - Split view option?
« on: February 27, 2019, 04:46:33 pm »
In Violet CLM Card Generator, there is an option for what I would describe as a 'Split' view.  Is this for creating something like the Bane card marker?

https://shemitz.net/static/dominion3/?title=&title2=&description=&description2=&type=&credit=&price=&preview=&type2=&picture=&color0=0&color1=0&size=2

16
Rules Questions / Face Down requirement for Knights and Ruins?
« on: February 21, 2019, 11:22:43 am »
I just discovered a 'rule' about Ruins and Knights that is not clear on why it is in place?

Knights "... Keep it face down except for the top card..."
Ruins "... face down with the top card face up..."

Since the top card 'covers' the card underneath, and once the top card is removed (buying/gaining), the next card is then would be immediately (?) turned faced up?

Why not keep all of these cards 'face up', because it is 'covered' by the top card.  And because the face down card would be 'revealed' (even if it is eventually turned back face down, it has 'now' been 'revealed' so why not always allow the card under the top card to be revealed immediately when the top card is taken?

This may somehow be due to the 'Ambassador' rule "... If you reveal a card which is part of a Supply pile with differently named cards, such as Ruins or Knights, you can only return two cards to the supply pile if they have the same name. Other players will only gain cards with that name....'

But not to get off onto a different topic, but it seems to be related, this Ambassador rule is not clear in the FAQ section as I think I remember seeing something somewhere about you cannot return the card to the supply for Knights (because you'd never match the top card's name), and you could only return the top card to the Ruins if it 'matched' (but I cannot find this reference at the moment.  But despite that fact.  The Ambassador's ruling is kind of wishy-washy (IMHO), as you COULD return to the Ruins pile (IF) the current pile has at the time the Ruin card that would be returned to the Ruins pile?

17
Rules Questions / Coffer vs Coin with -1 Coin Adventure token
« on: February 21, 2019, 09:43:07 am »
When a player has the -1 coin token, when a player gains a +1 Coffer does that remove -1 Coin Token?
My guess is no as 'Coffers' are not 'Coins' (note: if playing with 1st edition use of 'Coin token' cards (aka Baker) does this ruling still stand?  Is is possible to have this clarified in the FAQ section?
-Thanks

18
Rules Questions / Debt clarification
« on: February 21, 2019, 09:39:08 am »
A question about the Debt FAQ.

If you have 'debt' you cannot 'buy' another card that has only debt in its cost (thus going into more debt).  So the question is maybe semantics, do you buy a debt card if you are not paying $?  Is it possible to make this more clear in the FAQ?

19
Dominion General Discussion / Dominion.Online issues
« on: February 17, 2019, 08:11:00 pm »
So after years of IRL, I am trying the Dominion.Online.  Question 1) where do I post my concerns about the game? I test software for a living so I have found a few issues, but do not want to make them public.  2) Have they considered allowing a version of purchasing playing a number of games per purchase vs per month payment plans?

Thanks
-DooWopDJ

20
Variants and Fan Cards / Playtesting and Printing non-Fan Cards?
« on: February 08, 2019, 09:28:29 am »
I soon will be playtesting my cards with my opponents.  I have discovered that printing the cards can quickly drive up the cost of this hobby.  Someone suggesting just 'sleeving' a paper copy in with the blank cards.  This seems to be sufficient enough to 'mask' my Fan card with the other Dominion cards.
Here is my dilemma.  I am not a fan of sleeving my regular cards as they are not easy to shuffle.
So I am THINKING of printing off paper copies of the regular cards I want to use as my playtest Kingdom. This is so that ALL of my playtest cards have the same 'look and feel'.
This seems like it could cross into a grey-area.  Has anyone done something similar? How does BGG and Donald X approach this sensitive topic?
Thanks

21
Variants and Fan Cards / Valentines Card
« on: February 07, 2019, 11:37:26 pm »
Hello, hello

For those couples who play Dominion.  Here is my 'cute' attempt at a Valentines "CARD".
I am not the greatest designer, but I thought some of my fellow players might like to print this "Card" for their favorite opponent.  Note: I printed out a pack of 10 (on #110 stock paper) and then printed a larger version (on 8 x 11 paper) to fit one card.  Hope you enjoy.

https://shemitz.net/static/dominion3/?title=My%20Love&description=This%20card%20gives%20%0AMy%20LOVE%20to%20%0AYou%20FOREVER%0A(This%20is%20not%20in%20the%20Supply)&type=Love%20-%20Duration&credit=Illustration%3A%20DooWopDJ&price=&preview=&type2=I%20Love%20YOU&picture=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.pngnames.com%2Ffiles%2F1%2FI-Love-You-PNG-Photos.png&c0.0=3&c0.1=0&c0.2=0&color1=5&size=0

My apologies, but I REALLY am addicted to the Violet CLM card maker, so I got carried away a little bit.

22
Variants and Fan Cards / Recommended Playtest Kingdoms
« on: February 07, 2019, 02:37:35 pm »
For those who have playtested (or know the history of playtesting for current Expansions).
Which cards are best suited for playtesting at least 1 card?  I understand that it really depends on what my card 'does'.  My current 2 ideas are 1) use the 'basic' types - 1 lab, 1 village, 1 buy OR option 2) find a card that is used in a recommended set (that resemenbles my fan card), play that recommendation a couple of times, and then replace it with my fan card and replay again.
-Thanks
-DooWopDJ

23
Dominion General Discussion / Setup Requirements for your Kingdom guidance
« on: February 06, 2019, 03:34:25 pm »
One of the common things I heard about Dominion IRL is setup.  Is there a resource that if I paste in all of my cards will tell me all of the Setup requirements, including Cards, Non-cards, and Materials?

Example: Leprechaun > Setup: Doom pile, Wish, Deluded/Envy State piles (I keep all states in one pile).
Example: Page > Page's Traveller series, Tavern Mat, All 4 Vanilla Adventure tokens

I have a HUGE spreadsheet (similar to the http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/List_of_cards.
and one of my columns has 'Setup' instructions for each card in the Kingdom.

But I just find it faster to read every card and try to REMEMBER what I need.

Thanks.
-DooWopDJ


24
Dominion: Renaissance Previews / Artifact Origin cards as a card type
« on: February 06, 2019, 09:09:16 am »
As I was re-organizing my cards and noticed that the 'origin' cards for the Artifacts did not have their own 'card type'.  I am not intending to criticize the introduction of this new concept, but the other non-card type cards (at least in Renaissance have some sort of 'origin' card.  Doom > Hex, Fate > Boon.  Why did the Artifacts 'origin' card not have their own type? Maybe 'Reward' or 'Trophy'.  I doubt it was an 'oversight' by design.

25
Dominion General Discussion / Dominion current Popularity?
« on: February 06, 2019, 09:08:49 am »
Does anyone track the popularity of Dominion in the board game industry?  In my opinion the continual updates of new Expansions has kept Dominion popular, but I am curious if there are popularity trackers (from US / Europe and Worldwide).  I am surprised that there are not more postings in the News forums about Dominion's success.  Thanks.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Page created in 0.067 seconds with 17 queries.