Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - majiponi

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3
1
Weekly Design Contest / Weekly Design Contest #128: Look at the trash!
« on: September 09, 2021, 08:29:36 pm »
Design a card or a landscape that refers to cards in the trash.


I do like Trash-for-Benefits like Graverobbers and Salvager. Let's enjoy trashing!

Your card has to look at the trash; gaining from it, counting Treasures in it, playing a card in it (leaving there), or a kind of thing is accepted.


Official cards that would qualify include:
Thief,
Forager,
Necromancer

Official cards that would not qualify include:
Swindler (it just cares the cost of the trashed card),
Treasure Map (it just cares what you trash),
Possession (it doesn't use the trash)

2
Rules Questions / cost reduction
« on: December 01, 2020, 09:08:13 pm »
Aki played Highway as Lighthouse (Way of the Mouse) on her last turn.  I have $7.

Can I buy a Province?  (Does Province cost $7 or $8?)

3
Rules Questions / buy a card
« on: October 01, 2020, 08:20:02 pm »
When do we pay card costs?  For example, when ...
a Haggler is in-play,
I bought Innovation,
I earned $8,
I buy a Fortune,
I gain a Black Market, playing immediately,

can I buy the revealed King's Castle, spending what coin I have, fail to pay $8 (Fortune), and take 8 debts?  The answer will definitely be no, but nobody has denied the paying is one of the on-buy effects.

Another case:
a Haggler is in-play,
I bought Innovation,
I earned $4,
I buy a Herald,
I gain a Vassal, playing immediately,

can I overpay $2?

4
Game #53179837.

Double-bottomed.
Revealing a Silver.
Revealing a Silver.
Revealing a Hoard.

Is there anyone who can interpret this nightmare?

5
Rules Questions / Multiple reaction
« on: July 16, 2020, 11:40:51 pm »
I bought and gained a Mill.
Aki, my left player, has a Falconer in hand.
Sally, my right player, has a Black Cat in hand.
There are only 2 Curses left.

Who can react first?
Aki, or Sally, or I choose which my daughters to win (Aki is going to gain a Black Cat)?


ADD: I think Aki can react first, but maybe, I have to say which effect - gaining a Victory or gaining a multityped card - is to resolve first. Nobody has asked what to do with different types of reaction of the same timing, I guess.

6
Rules Questions / Lost in the Woods twice
« on: May 22, 2020, 07:58:40 pm »
Quoted from this post: https://twitter.com/kamo29mof/status/1263896887142174720

At the start of my turn, I received The Earth's Gift from Lost in the Woods. I gained an Estate.
My opponent Fuyu played Black Cat and Fool (Way of the Mouse).
She took Lost in the Woods.
She reshuffled the Boon's pile, and received The Earth's Gift. She gained another Estate.
I played Black Cat and Fool (Way of the Mouse).
I took Lost in the Woods.

Can I receive another Boon from Lost in the Woods?

7
Solo Challenges / Another infinite loop
« on: April 06, 2020, 12:12:05 pm »
Create an infinite loop with 4 Kingdom cards and a Landscape, or less.

You played 3 Captains to play Inventors with +1 Buy token as Way of the Horse on the previous turn.
Your deck is empty. You have 2 Captains and an Inventor in hand.
Play 3 Inventors to gain 3 Inventors.
Play 2 Inventors as Way of the Horse to draw all.
Play Captain to play King's Court
- play Captain to play Inventor to gain Captain
- play Captain (Way of the Horse)
- play Captain to play King's Court

8
Rules Questions / may look
« on: November 04, 2019, 10:21:54 pm »
Native Village has "you may look at any time" in its text, while Haven doesn't. But I can look at the set asided card(s) at any time. What is the difference? Is it a Constitution of Dominion?

9
Rules Questions / Tormentor
« on: October 23, 2019, 10:53:40 pm »
+1 Action token on Tormentor
I played a Tormentor.
I played another.

1. Do I gain an Imp? Or hex other players?
2. How about playing Tormentor via Overlord?

10
Rules Questions / Time to lose money
« on: March 03, 2019, 11:10:21 am »
Do I lose my coins before the Night phase? This matters when I play Storyteller which I gained via Vampire and set asided via Innovation.

I read a fan-card thread, and got wondering.

11
Rules Questions / playing trashed inherited Estate
« on: January 31, 2019, 10:50:29 am »
I remembered another old question when I was reading Sauna&Innovation topic.

On my previous turn, I played Ghost to reveal my inherited Estate. On this turn, I played it as Experiment. It moved to the Supply. I tried to play again, but failed. I had Conspirator in my hand. I played it.

Do I draw a card?

(I remember that Donald said I failed to play plain Estate, so I did not play a second Action. Is this interpretation correct? When I first asked, this was not a problem since we didn't have Ghost.)

12
Rules Questions / Innovation and Haggler
« on: January 11, 2019, 09:52:50 pm »
I bought Innovation.

While a Haggler is in play, I bought Province. I gained and set aside another Haggler. I played it.

Do I gain another card cheaper than Province?

13
Solo Challenges / Win without reshuffling.
« on: December 07, 2018, 11:19:50 pm »
End a game without any shuffle after drawing your first hand.

14
Dominion Articles / Guildhall and Masterpiece
« on: November 19, 2018, 02:55:48 am »
Open Silver-Silver. Buy Guildhall when you first earn $5. After that, buy 2 Masterpieces, overpaying as much as possible. You'll get a full refund even if you use up your Coffers.

See here for Guildhall&Begger article.
http://4cost2buy-sir-martin.hatenablog.com/entry/2018/11/14/180000

15
Rules Questions / Capitalism and Black Market
« on: November 14, 2018, 08:34:17 am »
Maybe someone has asked, but I am not sure.

From Prosperity rulebook:
Quote
During the Buy phase, a player must play all of the Treasures he wishes to play before he buys any cards, even if he has +Buys; he cannot play more Treasures after Buying a card.

Magically buying a card during the treasure-playing portion via Black Market doesn't stop you from playing more treasures afterwards.

I don't see the reason. I think this problem is similar to this one.

You can't buy cards from the Black Market on a Mission turn. "Can't" wins.

Maybe prohibiting another playing makes another problem like...

I Crowned Venture to reveal Black Market. I bought Grand Market. Do I resolve Venture again?

16
Variants and Fan Cards / Inheritance fix
« on: September 21, 2018, 09:47:47 am »
Read this thread.

Quote
I've found an undefined behavior on dominion.games.
I played Throne Room to play a inherited Estate(Crown), to play Herald, to reveal and play University, gained Mandarin (topdecked that inherited Estate), played Herald (second time), drew the Estate, revealed and played Ambassador, returned the Estate, and played it (second time) AS THE CARD MY OPPONENT HAD INHERITED.
(This is the summary of this twitter post.)

In short, the original Inheritance has problems. Is the following clause fix them?

Quote
Once per game: Gain an Action costing up to $4, setting aside. Put your Estate token on it.
In games using this, Estate is also an Action whose text is "Play the Action your Estate token is on, leaving it there".

Edit: Added "up to $4" clause.

17
Rules Questions / "in play" on Royal Carriage
« on: July 17, 2018, 09:50:59 pm »
Call a royal carriage on a card that is in your opponent's play area.

Is it possible to call Royal Carriage after playing an Action which I played and which is in my OPPONENT's play? I mean,

I Inherit Crown, Sally Inherits Caravan Guard.

play Estate1 to play Estate2 twice
- play Estate2 to play Estate3 twice
--- play Estate3 to play Throne Room twice
----- play Throne Room to play University twice
------- play University to gain Mandarin
--------- reveal Watchtower to trash
------- play University to gain Cultist
--------- reveal Watchtower to trash
----- play Throne Room to play Ambassador twice
------- play Ambassador to put back Estate3
------- play Ambassador
--------- Sally plays Estate4 to draw Estate3
--------- Sally plays Estate3
--------- I revealed Estate2
--- play Estate3 (which is in Sally's play) as Caravan Guard
----- call Royal Carriage to replay Estate3 (which is still in Sally's play)

Is it legal? Lighthouse's "in play" means "in my play", and Grand Castle's one means "in our play", I suppose.

18
Variants and Fan Cards / Workshop with an interaction
« on: May 30, 2018, 12:23:35 am »
Quote
Angel's Workshop
cost $2 - Action
Gain a card costing up to $6.
Each other player gains a cheaper card.

Q1. Are there any problems on giving cards? If yes, ...
Q2. Do you have any idea to give opponents some benefits?
Q3. Is the cost proper?

19
Rules Questions / Inheritance interaction
« on: May 11, 2018, 11:36:26 am »
Quote
I've found an undefined behavior on dominion.games.
I played Throne Room to play a inherited Estate(Crown), to play Herald, to reveal and play University, gained Mandarin (topdecked that inherited Estate), played Herald (second time), drew the Estate, revealed and played Ambassador, returned the Estate, and played it (second time) AS THE CARD MY OPPONENT HAD INHERITED.
(This is the summary of this twitter post.)

I don't think I can play other player's card, but I am not sure.

And more, I've noticed another problem. If I have another Estate in my hand, we cannot tell which Estate I played (on dominion.games). Did I play the returned Estate? I mean, do I play Estate as Crown, or play Estate as "solid Estate" (so I fail to play it again)? (Maybe too complicated question...)

20
Solo Challenges / Buy 8 Colonies on turn 1 with a single Event.
« on: April 27, 2018, 11:27:27 am »
We have a way to buy 8 Colonies on turn 1 with 2 Events.
Do we really need 2 Events? I don't think so.

With your perfect shuffle luck and an Event, buy all Colonies.

21
Rules Questions / Coin of the Realm & Leprechaun
« on: April 10, 2018, 12:06:28 pm »
Can I call multiple Coin of the Realm after resolving an Action? I have a Leprechaun in my hand.

22
Rules Questions / Is Bane a card type?
« on: January 03, 2018, 11:00:16 am »
I play Courtier, and reveal Merchant, which is Bane.
Do I choose 1 or 2?
Does Young Witch add a card type like Inheritance?
How about Split like Castles?

23
Puzzles and Challenges / Fastest millionaire!
« on: November 05, 2017, 10:13:38 pm »
Among Japanese players, "earning $10,000 RTA" is popular. Mr. yzx proposed this sport, followed by Mr. Cha-shu, and so on.

http://sp.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm29740237
http://sp.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm32186633

This time attack has a few rules.

1. Earn 10,000 coins in one turn.
2. Your opponent is a bot.
3. The timer starts clocking when you first play, or buy something, stops when you got 10,000 coins or more.
4. You have to win your opponent.

I'd like to propose a variant of this.

Rules:
1. Earn 1 Million coins on dominion.games or later online Dominion environments. You don't have to have 1 million coins, just have to "earn".
2. The number of players is any. Any player's coins can be summed.
3. Start the timer when you press "Start Game" button.
4. Stop it when you end your last turn.
5. All operations must be done manually; NO USE OF MACROS, ADD-ONS, AND SO ON.

24
Dominion General Discussion / Japanese Tournament raised a few issues
« on: July 18, 2017, 09:00:27 pm »
HobbyJapan Game Festival was held on 15 and 16 July 2017.  Many players joined Japanese Dominion Tournament in it.  Mr. Moolong - you know as yudai214 - won in it.  He is going to attend World Championship 2017.

This competition raised some issues.

1.  One player was disqualified due to a cheat on shuffling swapping his hand for his deck.
2.  Four players drew intentionally. (This was a Swiss-system tournament. They all have the same championship points.)

1. is a kind of problem in manners, skills, and rules.  This tournament had few rules dealing with a improper shuffling.  It was up to each player's skills and manners.

2. is a problem in a rule.  Judges didn't disqualify those four players, but added another rule not to propose deals in games.  Is intentional draw allowed in Dominion (up to each championship), or disallowed?


EDIT: The sponsor explained those two matters.  It was not due to a cheating shuffling but a swapping hand why the player was disqualified.

https://hobbyjapan.co.jp/hobbyjapan_game_festival/ruling_hamefestival2017.html

25
Game Reports / Windfall
« on: July 08, 2017, 04:59:16 am »
Kingdom: City Quarter, Transmute, Raze, Hamlet, Scrying Pool, Enchantress, Alchemist, Bishop, Gardens, and a cards costing up to $4 (I forgot).
Event: Windfall
Landmark: Labyrinth

I thought Golden Deck (use Windfall for 12 vps per turn) was nice, but my opponent earned $16, 2 Buys twice or more. The result was almost tie; I resigned since I got a thing to do. I am wondering whether this draw was due to my bad luck - I got 1P hand on turn 4 - or her/his strategy was better than mine.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Page created in 0.135 seconds with 17 queries.