Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Jimmmmm

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2
General Discussion / Hooray!
« on: June 27, 2015, 10:53:02 pm »
So yesterday I won the Australian National Dominion Championship. It was 4p Base + Prosperity. It took a lot of getting used to dealing with 3 other people, but in the end it was pretty fun and I got pretty lucky at the right time. The prize is either $750 towards flights to a games convention of my choice or $500 store credit in the games shop it was held in. I'll probably just take the store credit.

Also, while I'm making exciting announcements, I'm getting married in December! :D

Puzzles and Challenges / Most points without a decision?
« on: May 12, 2015, 07:05:40 am »
What is the highest number of points you can get in a single (non-Possession) turn without deciding to do anything at all?

Entirely trivial decisions such as in which order to play two identical cards are fine, however seemingly trivial decisions such as choosing to play a card, or in which order to play non-identical cards (even if the order doesn't matter), are not allowed.

(You are allowed to choose to end your turn.)

Apologies if this is beating a dead horse, but I'm really undecided about this, and I'm still super excited about playing Adventures. Plus, today is about when my FLGS said they'd hopefully have it in stock.

So I currently play IRL Dominion unsleeved, and between a friend and I we have all other sets.

So my question is, to those who have bought or played with the Adventures cards, what would you do? Is the fuss that has been made an exaggeration and I shouldn't worry, should I just cough up and sleeve everything (knowing of course that I'm fine playing Dominion as is unsleeved - it would need to be Adventures that would make the difference), or is it so bad that I should just leave it and wait the undetermined amount of time until good quality copies are available?

I'm assuming I'm not the only one unsure about what to do, and hopefully some kind of community consensus would be helpful.

Dominion General Discussion / Dominion: Adventures on GameNight!
« on: May 07, 2015, 09:29:23 am »

General Discussion / Dominion: Adventures on GameNight!
« on: May 07, 2015, 09:28:42 am »

Dominion General Discussion / Mission
« on: April 25, 2015, 10:51:15 am »
Adventures is the perfect expansion for Mission to exist in. Literally every mechanics-related theme gives you a reason to want extra turns in which you can't buy cards.

Events: As buying Events does not count as buying cards, if there is another Event on the table, often you will want to go on a Mission to get the coins for a $5+ event, or the coins and buys to buy an Event multiple times.

Reserve Cards: A Mission can be a great way to get your Reserve Cards into (or in the case of Wine Merchant, out of) your Tavern more quickly.

Duration Cards: Similar to Reserve Cards, you can devote Missions to getting Duration Cards into play to set up for a good future turn.

Tokens: You can use Missions to set up your tokens, whether that be upgrading cards with Teacher or Events, or flipping your Journey Token so it's ready to go for your next turn.

Travellers: Mission Provides extra cycling, enabling you to exchange your Travellers quicker, even on Mission turns. Also, many of the Travellers either attack or gain, so can be useful on Missions.

In fact, every single Adventures Kingdom Card can be directly useful on a Mission, either through being a Reserve Card, Duration Card or Traveller, using tokens, attacking, gaining or trashing/thinning, except Messenger, Port, Lost City and Storyteller, all of which can help with cycling and/or enable you to play your other cards.

In terms of Events, every other Event except for Borrow (unless you want a 4-card hand) and usually Travelling Fair, can be useful on a Mission, for gaining, trashing, setting up future turns, or setting up tokens.

I just played a game with a 12-year-old who was acting very much like a 12-year-old at the start of the game, but I actually ended up having a reasonable conversation with. Not much else to say, I just found it encouraging. :)

Milloo come on wake up
Milloo baby
Jimmmmm hi
Jimmmmm #vpon
Jimmmmm I'd like to use a VP counter (See You can say "#vpoff" before Turn 5 to disallow it, or "#vp?" to see the score in chat. Say "#vphelp" for more info.
Milloo aaa shut up baby
Milloo aand dont copoy my moves
Jimmmmm are you talking to me?
Milloo aye
Jimmmmm how old are you?
Milloo 12
Jimmmmm ah
Milloo but im smarter than you
Jimmmmm ok
Milloo you must be 11
Jimmmmm 24 actually
Milloo aye divided by 2
Milloo so youre my age
Jimmmmm what country are you in?
Milloo Europe
Jimmmmm not a country, but sure
Jimmmmm i'm in australia
Milloo oooo I love it
Milloo really
Jimmmmm yep
Milloo ive been there once
Milloo miss it so mucj
Jimmmmm whereabouts did you visit?
Milloo sydney, perth, eeee.... sorrento, and... forgot wollongon it could be
Jimmmmm awesome
Jimmmmm i'm in melbourne
Milloo melbourne never been
Milloo I would likr oy go to darwin
Jimmmmm i'm visiting darwin later this year
Jimmmmm anyway, thanks for the game mate
Milloo bye

Guilds Previews / Preview #5: Herald
« on: June 07, 2013, 10:21:37 am »
Quote from: Donald X.

How about that medieval Poland? At last we come to the final day of previews. Herald is another overpay card. I could only fit so many themes into 13 cards.

Herald varies from "+1 card +1 action" to essentially "+2 cards +2 actions," depending on your action density. Aim high, that's my advice. When you buy Herald, you get to stack the deck for your next hand. No peeking into your discard pile first to see if you want to buy Herald or not; sorry, them's the rules. But if you overpay by $3, you'll get to look through your discard pile three times; that's value for money. And you can use the overpay to put Heralds on top of your deck, and then when you play those Heralds sometimes they will announce more Heralds. It's Heralds all the way down.

Guilds has 8 more cards, and before long you will have seen them all. It will probably be available at Origins and will come out later this month in any case. It will probably show up on Goko about when it shows up in stores; I have been playtesting it. And then once people can buy it I will post a Secret History.

Guilds Previews / Preview #2: Doctor
« on: June 04, 2013, 09:10:54 am »
Quote from: Donald X.

Casimir III's father, Vladislaus the Elbow-High, lived to be 72. During Casimir's long reign, the Black Death hit Europe, and yet the Kingdom of Poland was largely spared. What was their secret? Careful rat management? Good health care? Probably being away from trade routes was a factor, but I like to consider all the angles. We had Rats in the last expansion, so it must be time for a Doctor.

The second main theme of Guilds is overpay. These are cards you can pay extra for to get more out of them. The amount you pay determines how much you get; you don't just get to overpay a certain specific amount. With Doctor, each $1 you overpay lets you look at another card. Overpay by $4 and you will look at the top card, trash it or discard it or put it back, then look at the top card again and make another choice, then a 3rd time, then a 4th time. Get it? If you put the card back you will get it again the next time, so that's not a great option until you are about out of overpays.

Doctor also does something when you play it. You can get rid of something you anticipate not wanting in your next 3 cards. It's exciting enough that you might actually buy one for $3, although you will prefer to buy one for $6 or $10 or something.

Overpay can be fed by coin tokens, just look at that synergy. And your options increase even further. Let's say you have $5 and a coin token, as with yesterday's example. In addition to whatever else, you could get a Doctor and overpay $2, or cash in the coin token and get a Doctor overpaying $3.

Overpay is something that happens when you buy a card. Didn't we have that already in Hinterlands? Well yes, but it doesn't feel especially similar. As the little "+" next to the "3" reminds you, overpay cards don't have a fixed cost (except when you trash them to an Apprentice or something; then Doctor costs $3 no matter what you actually paid). They increase the number of purchase options you have.

Innovation General Discussion / Beating Mathematics
« on: April 03, 2013, 10:20:14 pm »
So Mathematics has become my favourite card, which is awesome, because it's Mathematics. And I hate to be that Newbie who says "PIRATE SHIP IS OVERPOWERED!!!!!!1!!!" But whenever I draw it early, the rest of my gameplan becomes "Spam Mathematics and hope I get to Age 9 or 10 before it draws a Blue, then figure out a way to win from there." For example.
My question is, how do you beat that? What do you do against an opponent who draws Mathematics and manages to ride it all the way up to Age 10?

Innovation General Discussion / Trying to make sense of Innovation
« on: March 26, 2013, 08:49:22 am »
This is a strange game, but I feel like I'm starting to get the hang of it. So I thought I'd post some games and a few thoughts.

This was a particularly strange game:

My opponent rushed quickly ahead into the higher cards, actually finishing the game with 10s on all 5 of his piles. Meanwhile, I never got past 4, but was slowly getting achievements and score. I was hoping to somehow steal one of his cards and jump up to his level, but when he started scoring some 10s, I decided to steal them from him instead and get some points on the board, especially with only 2 10s left in the game. My opponent somewhat foolishly applied the Internet, and some crazy stuff happened, giving him 10s on all his piles and getting him 2 achievements. But more importantly, he tried to draw an 11, and the game ended with a win for me because I'd just stolen his 10s and now had more points. Interesting that I can win the game with such a weaker board than his.

Dominion Isotropic / It's gone
« on: March 15, 2013, 08:12:21 pm »

I could come on here and say "Oh avoid this person blah blah blah" but I just thought this was funny.

15:00 Jimmmmm: hi
15:00 JoshHwang: hi there
15:00 JoshHwang: i told myself i would win 3 times in a row before bed
15:00 JoshHwang: and your number 3
15:01 JoshHwang: so imma be super try hard haha
15:01 Jimmmmm: oh it's on! :P
15:01 Jimmmmm: does that mean if you lose you have to start again?
15:01 JoshHwang: duh
15:01 Jimmmmm: oh no
15:01 JoshHwang: no way im letting myself off like that
15:01 Jimmmmm: haha
15:01 Jimmmmm: sounds like a great way to end up staying up all night
15:12 JoshHwang: wow these draws
15:12 JoshHwang: gg
15:12 JoshHwang: FUCK
15:12 Jimmmmm: you've run out of treasure dud
15:12 Jimmmmm: dude*
15:12 JoshHwang: GODDAMN IT
15:12 Jimmmmm: you trashed it all
15:12 JoshHwang: I FUCKING HATE YOU
15:12 JoshHwang: cigarette time
15:12 Jimmmmm: :D
15:12 Jimmmmm: what time is it there?
15:13 JoshHwang: gg
15:13 JoshHwang has returned to the lobby.

He got off to a strong lead, and defeat looked almost certain. But then he decided to trash all his treasure with Apprentice/Spice Merchant in a desperate attempt to grab the last Province. Meanwhile, I just bought Duchies and easily overtook him.

His final deck:
[10 cards] 1 Apprentice, 1 Lighthouse, 1 Gold, 2 Estates, 1 Duchy, 4 Provinces

Lessons: don't trash all your Treasure if that's where your money's coming from, keep track of what you've got in your deck, and if it's time to go to bed, go to bed.

Rules Questions / Politics and Bargaining
« on: December 13, 2012, 08:46:10 am »
Alice, Bob and Chris are playing a game of Dominion.

Alice, while possessing Bob, makes him play Masquerade. She says to Chris, "I'll make Bob pass you a Province if you pass me a Duchy."

Is this kind of bargaining legal?
Is it against the spirit of the game?
Would you have a problem with it if it came up in a casual game?
What about a Tournament game?

« on: December 03, 2012, 12:09:27 am »
So... just played this game, with King's Court and Possession. My opponent grabbed some early Possessions and King's Courts (Horse Traders was definitely the much better opening) and was quickly KC-Possessing me quite regularly.

Somehow, on my non-Possessed turns 15 and 17 I lucked into a Possession and a King's Court, and they magically aligned on turn 18. So I got to Possess him a few times, which was nice. I managed to buy 3 Provinces and an Estate (he already had 4 Provinces). On his next genuine turn, he just played a Tactician, and I discovered that my next hand included two Coppers and my only Philosopher's Stone, which gave me $6 and the win.

I spent half this game browsing the forums because he Possessed me 15 times and was OBVIOUSLY going to win.

Anyway, there's not much more I can say about this game other than our in-game chat.

15:43 Jimmmmm: hi
15:43 nicksib: hi
15:43 Jimmmmm: this could be a brutal game...
15:43 nicksib: yep
15:45 Jimmmmm: good thing i didn't play that tactician!
15:49 nicksib: ?
15:49 Jimmmmm: oh you're done :P
15:50 Jimmmmm: and... back to the forums
15:51 nicksib: sigh
15:51 Jimmmmm: what?
15:51 nicksib: this isn't really fun for me either, btw
15:51 nicksib: i generally hate possession games
15:52 Jimmmmm: you were hoping i would have quit by now?
15:53 nicksib: well, yeah
15:55 nicksib: haha
15:55 Jimmmmm: holy crap
15:55 Jimmmmm: HOLY CRAP
15:55 nicksib: well...
15:55 nicksib: YES
15:55 nicksib: HOLY CRAP INDEED
15:55 nicksib: timing is everything
15:55 Jimmmmm: wow
15:55 nicksib: i guess, good job not giving up when your deck sucks?
15:55 Jimmmmm: mind=blown
15:55 nicksib has returned to the lobby.

Dominion General Discussion / Reason enough to skip Mountebank?
« on: December 01, 2012, 10:25:02 am »
Lighthouse, Horse Traders, Ill-Gotten Gains and Counting House?

I don't remember playing another game where I haven't considered Mountebank a must-buy, but I decided to skip it here. I lost, but it was close. What does everyone else think? Would you have picked up a Mountebank here?

Game Reports / Two Hail Mary Comebacks
« on: November 10, 2012, 09:17:56 am »
Just played two games in a row in which I was dead in the water, realised that my only hope was to try something a little bit different, and to my surprise pulled it off. Unsurprisingly, both had King's Courts.

In the first game I opened Council Room/nothing, hoping to pull in an early King's Court before trashing away all my starting cards. That clearly didn't work, and my opponent was King's Courting well before me. By turn 13, he had a 2-Province lead, and I was still putting my engine together. Turn 14 I had $15, plenty of buys, and a choice. I could follow him into the Provinces and likely be following him for the rest of the game, or I could buy more King's Courts and stuff and hope for a big mega-turn. Instead, I decided to trash all my treasure, Remaking my 3 Silvers into Barons, and my Gold into a King's Court. With my remaining $6, I bought back some Estates. My opponent responded by buying 2 more Provinces and a Smithy. Fortunately, I then managed to King's Court all three of my Barons, discarding 6 Estates and gaining 3, giving me enough money to buy out the rest of the Provinces and win by 4 Estates.

In the second game, my opponent bought the first Province of the game in turn 10 and already had a handy lead from his Monuments. Seeing as the only source of +Buy on the board was Contraband, there was no way I was going to catch up in the Province race. So I decided to forgo buying Provinces altogether, and bought a Contraband. I then put together a King's Court/Envoy/Oracle/Monument engine (Oracle was necessary after I realised Envoy can't draw your whole deck) that was netting me 10-20 VP/turn, and as I had hoped, his deck slowed down enough that he couldn't finish the game before I caught up to him. Fortunately for me, he kept prohibiting me from buying Victory Cards, allowing me to buy two engine pieces per turn until I had 7 Monuments and was King's Courting all of them nearly every turn. I finally bought the last Province when I was confident I had the lead.

In both games I was frustrated early and thought I had lost, but they just reminded me that quite often there's a different way of going about things that can bring the odds back in your favour.

Variants and Fan Cards / Minister
« on: October 22, 2012, 12:09:44 pm »
Action - Reaction
Cost: $4

+ 1 Action

Look at the top card of your deck. Trash it, discard it or put it on top of your deck.
When one of your cards is trashed, you may reveal this from your hand. If you do, put the trashed card in your hand. If the trashed card costs $6 or more, trash this. Otherwise, discard this.


Rules Questions / Possession + Fortress
« on: October 14, 2012, 11:25:46 pm »
What happens when you trash a Fortress on a Possession turn? Possession wants to set Fortress aside, but Fortress wants to be put into your hand. Which one takes priority?

I guess this might be important: in the text of Possession, what does "are trashed" mean?
Does it mean:
A) any cards that are (still) trashed (present tense adjective) at the end of the turn (ie not including Fortress); or
B) any cards that are trashed (past tense verb) at any point?

When are the trashed cards set aside? Is it when they are trashed or at the end of the turn? Are the cards:
C) "[set aside and returned to his discard pile] at end of turn"; or
D) "[set aside (when trashed)] and [returned to his discard pile at end of turn]"?

I suspect it's D, since C would mean that while Possessing someone you could make them trash a card then Graverob it, and take it for yourself.
But that means that for Fortress the setting aside happens at the same time as the putting in hand. So again, which one takes priority?

Variants and Fan Cards / Mad Scientist
« on: October 14, 2012, 12:11:27 am »
Mad Scientist
Cost: $2

+1 Action

Gain a card costing up to $5.
Trash a Mad Scientist from your hand, or reveal a hand with no Mad Scientists.
If you didn't trash a Mad Scientist, trash the gained card.


Game Reports / In which I empty 7 piles.
« on: October 07, 2012, 09:30:16 pm »
It's pretty easy when you have 10 Cities, 9 Grand Markets, 4 Highways and a Haggler. Has anyone emptied more than 7?

Puzzles and Challenges / Just Another "What's Missing?"
« on: September 11, 2012, 09:17:00 am »
Pirate Ship
Noble Brigand

Dominion Isotropic / 3890 points and a Black Market/Bane bug
« on: November 14, 2011, 06:59:33 am »
First of all, yes, this shows how epically sad my life is. I got 3890 points in a solitaire game. Try and beat it if you're as pathetic as I am.  ;)

But that's not why I'm posting. Take a look at the number of Schemes I finished with. 11. Scheme was the Bane, so you can imagine how surprised I was to find it in the Black Market deck.

Clearly the problem has something to do with Young Witch being in the Black Market deck. Possibly it doesn't know what the Bane is when it creates the deck. Although I would say that there's a good chance that this has been considered and would have come up before, so maybe it's just an issue when you require a specific card to be the Bane, which I must admit won't happen very often. (I only discovered you could do it when I clicked on "(repeat last game)")

Fortune Teller

Puzzles and Challenges / How many players?
« on: November 12, 2011, 08:37:17 am »
Now for something a bit different.

What is the minimum number of players required for one player to have 12 Provinces by the end of his second turn?

Assume perfect shuffle luck and cooperation by all players.

Pages: [1] 2

Page created in 0.074 seconds with 17 queries.