Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - AJD

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
1
Rules Questions / Sailor/Blockade
« on: July 26, 2022, 03:54:39 am »
Okay so I play Sailor, and then I play Blockade, gaining Caravan. Caravan is gained directly to set-aside-cards-land (no visiting!), which means Sailor can put Caravan into play immediately. Since the Caravan isn't set aside anymore, Blockade won't make anyone gain Curses. Fine and dandy.

My question is: does Blockade stay in play anyway? Does it still have to try (and fail) to put Caravan in my hand at the start of the next turn? Or does it already "know" that the Caravan is gone and that it won't do anything next turn?

(This is conceptually different from a Gear with nothing set aside, since in this case a Blockade has a specific set-aside card that it's trying to put in your hand; it just can't find it.)

(I suspect the answer is that Blockade is discarded this turn, but I'm not totally certain!)

2
Rules Questions / Not enough Banes
« on: June 05, 2022, 02:20:11 pm »
If someone playing IRL only owns, for example, Guilds and Cornucopia plus the Base Cards product, they only have access to seven Kingdom cards costing $2 or $3. If they deal out a random kingdom containing those seven cards plus Young Witch, there isn't an additional card to add to be the Bane. What should they do in that case? Add an eleventh card, and select one of the $2–$3 cards they do have to be the Bane, I assume?

3
Rules Questions / Command questions
« on: April 01, 2022, 12:50:37 am »
Overlord -> Highwayman. The rules say "When you play one of these cards, leave it in play as long as you would have left the card it plays in play." You would have discarded the Highwayman from play at the start of the second turn. Do you discard Overlord from play at that time, or wait till cleanup of the second turn?

Captain, second turn -> Throne Room -> Caravan. Do you leave the Captain in play for a third turn? I assume so but thought I'd better check.

4
Rules Questions / Warlord expiration time
« on: March 09, 2022, 11:52:07 pm »
Does Warlord's attack effect expire as soon as my next turn begins, or once I get the +2 cards? If I've got (say) a Prince playing Militia and a Warlord in play, and I choose to play Militia first before I get the +2 cards from Warlord, can my opponent react with three Caravan Guards or only two?

5
Dominion General Discussion / Words in card names
« on: March 09, 2022, 02:37:11 pm »
With Allies coming out, it's time for this nonsense again!

24:
way

15:
village (16 if you count "villa")

12:
gift

8:
castle

7:
hunt
market
merchant
treasure

6:
city
guild
man
trade
work

5:
dame
keep
sir
town

4:
black
camp
fair
gold
haunt
house
mountain
royal
sheep
ship
smith
witch
wood

3:
art (if you count "artificer" and "artisan")
bandit
capital
court
curse
duke (if you count "duchy" and "duchess")
farm
fort (if you count "fortress")
ghost
goat
ground
herd
horse
lose
mason
master
mine
misery (4 if you count "miser")
old (if you count "elder")
port
rat
road
room
ruin
sea
secret
shop
war
zombie

2:
apprentice
bank
band
battle
border
bridge
camel
caravan
cave
coin
copper
count (not really, they're two different words)
cult
cut
delude
den
distant
dwell
earth
envy
estate
explore
field
fish
flag
folk
fool
forest
fortune
gate
grand
guard
guide
hag
hall
haven
herb
hero
high
horn
inn
invent
iron
island
king
land
league
library
lodge
lord
make
map
mill
necro
noble
nomad
order
party
pass
place
plan
post
prince
raid
scout
seal (not really; notwithstanding the pun, they're different words)
silk
sorcery
spice
spy
stone
swamp
tax
tell
tower
train
triumph
wall
watch
wind
wish
wolf
yard

function words
36: the
35: of
3: out
2: over

6
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Sleigh cycle bug?
« on: February 06, 2022, 12:56:29 am »
This seems like a bug? I mean even if it's correct given the rules, which I'm not sure that it is (for stop-moving reasons), it seems like ShuffleIT probably shouldn't allow it.

(K gained a Sleigh, with another Sleigh already in hand:)

Quote
k plays a Displace.
k exiles a Copper.
k gains a Sleigh.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k looks at 2 cards.
k puts a card into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.
k reacts with a Sleigh.
k discards a Sleigh.
k puts a Sleigh into their hand.

7
Rules Questions / No Boons
« on: August 20, 2021, 01:03:04 am »
I suppose, in the unlikely event that the Boons deck and discard pile are both totally empty when you're supposed to receive a Boon, nothing happens?

8
Puzzles and Challenges / Early Conspirator activation
« on: August 05, 2021, 02:47:36 pm »
Hey, someone just added something to a rules-clarification section on the wiki, which I thought seemed like an oddball enough scenario to make a good puzzle. If you've seen the wiki edit, don't answer!

On a given turn, I carry out exactly three plays of Action cards. The second and third Actions I play are both "activated" Conspirators—i.e., they're both Conspirators that give me +1 Card / +1 Action in accordance with the text on Conspirator, stipulating that that happens if you've played three or more Actions this turn.

How on earth can this happen?

9
Rules Questions / Another absurd scenario
« on: July 03, 2021, 10:48:14 pm »
Encampment is supposed to be returned to the supply "at the start of Clean-up". If an Encampment is somehow played during the Clean-up phase (uhhhhh Hermit --> gain Madman --> play Sheepdog / Way of the Mouse / Vassal --> Encampment) and set aside, is it returned to the supply at the start of Clean-up during the next player's turn? On my next turn? Some other time?

10
Dominion General Discussion / Citadel errata?
« on: June 20, 2021, 03:42:43 am »
On the wiki, someone wrote:

Quote
Citadel is getting errata to "The first time you play an Action card during each of your turns, play it twice instead," because the current wording isn't actually playing the card twice. In other words, the current Citadel is less like Throne Room and more like Royal Carriage, and it is getting errata to be the former.

Can someone explain the difference in meaning between the two wordings ("play it twice instead" vs. "play it again afterward")? How is acting like Throne Room different from acting like Royal Carriage?

11
Rules Questions / Someone else's Inheritance
« on: June 11, 2021, 03:31:51 am »
Okay okay so. I buy Inheritance. On my turn, Estates are Actions.

So on my turn, I play an Attack; my opponent plays Caravan Guard, but for whatever reason they play it according to Way of the Mouse as Vassal and hit Estate. The Estate is an Action, since it's my turn; what happens when they play it?

(a) they play the card with my Estate token on it.
(b) they play the card with their Estate token on it, if any.
(c) nothing happens (even if they've bought Inheritance).

I really can't figure this one out.

12
Rules Questions / Throne/Duration redux
« on: June 02, 2021, 10:27:00 am »
We keep saying "if you use Throne Room on a Duration card, the Throne Room stays in play as long as the Duration does."

Does that literally mean "as long" as the Duration does, or is "until Cleanup" implied? That is, if you Throne Room –> Haven / Way of the Horse, Haven leaves play immediately. Does Throne Room therefore also get discarded immediately, in the middle of your Action phase, or does it stick around till the Cleanup phase the way it would if you just Throned a Horse?

13
Rules Questions / Sleigh gained to hand
« on: May 29, 2021, 11:20:51 am »
The wiki says:

Quote
If you gain a Sleigh to your hand (with e.g. Sculptor), and it's the only Sleigh in your hand, you cannot discard the Sleigh to put itself onto your deck.

Is this because of the stop-moving rule? Like, you gain the Sleigh, you discard the Sleigh by its reaction; it fails to move to your deck because it's already moved to your discard pile? Or can you not discard it at all? If not, why?

14
Rules Questions / Throne Room + Durable Mouse
« on: May 14, 2021, 04:46:45 am »
I'm not sure if this has come up before. Let us suppose Way of the Mouse has Fishing Village. Here goes.

We know this:

Throne Room -> Necropolis. Both cards discarded at Cleanup this turn.

Throne Room -> Wharf. Wharf does something next turn, stays in play. Throne played a Duration, stays in play till Wharf leaves play.

Overlord -> Wharf. Wharf doesn't enter play. Wharf does something next turn, would stay in play if it were in play. Overlord played a Duration, stays in play until Wharf would have been discarded.

Throne Room -> Overlord -> Wharf. Overlord played a Duration, stays in play until Wharf would have been discarded next turn. Throne Room didn't play a Duration, discarded from play this turn.

Wharf / Way of the Otter. Not scheduled to do anything next turn, Wharf discarded from play this turn.

Throne Room -> Wharf / Way of the Otter. Throne played a Duration, is discarded from play when the Duration is. Wharf is discarded from play this turn; so is Throne Room.

Necropolis / Way of the Mouse -> Fishing Village. Necropolis played a Duration, remains in play until Duration would have left play next turn.

Okay, so here's the question:

Throne Room -> Necropolis / Way of the Mouse -> Fishing Village. Necropolis played a Duration card which acts next turn; Necropolis stays in play. Throne did not play a Duration card, is discarded this turn.

Throne Room -> Wharf / Way of the Mouse -> Fishing Village. Wharf played a Duration card which acts next turn; Wharf stays in play. Throne did play a Duration card (Wharf), stays in play until Wharf is discarded, next turn.

...Right?

In other words, Throne on a Duration card played according to a durable Way of the Mouse behaves differently than Throne on a non-Duration card played according to a durable Way of the Mouse.

15
Dominion General Discussion / Card types and Hinterlands
« on: May 12, 2021, 12:58:06 am »
To my surprise, this sentence I wrote in 2013 appears to still be true:

Quote
Hinterlands... is the only expansion to contain more than one Treasure, more than one Reaction, and more than one Victory card among its Kingdom cards.

To wit:

Base: 0 Treasure, 1 Reaction, 1 Victory
Intrigue: 1 Treasure, 1 Reaction, 4 Victory
Seaside: 0 Treasure, 0 Reaction, 1 Victory
Alchemy: 1 Treasure, 0 Reaction, 1 Victory
Prosperity: 8 Treasure, 1 Reaction, 0 Victory
Cornucopia: 1 Treasure, 1 Reaction, 1 Victory
Hinterlands: 3 Treasure, 3 Reaction, 3 Victory
Dark Ages: 1 Treasure, 2 Reaction, 2 Victory
Guilds: 1 Treasure, 0 Reaction, 0 Victory
Adventures: 3 Treasure, 1 Reaction, 1 Victory
Empires: 7 Treasure, 0 Reaction, 8 Victory (counting the Castles separately)
Nocturne: 1 Treasure, 1 Reaction, 1 Victory
Renaissance: 3 Treasure, 1 Reaction, 0 Victory
Menagerie: 2 Treasure, 5 Reaction, 0 Victory

...and even if we include non-Kingdom cards I think Dark Ages is the only other one to have more than one of each.

16
Dominion Strategy Wiki Feedback / Wiki update project
« on: April 22, 2021, 02:31:58 am »
The folks at the Dominion Discord have undertaken a major project to revamp the Dominion Strategy Wiki. A lot of this is really beneficial—providing updated strategy outlines for cards which don't have strategy advice already in the wiki, or about which the existing strategy advice is out of date because our thinking about strategy has evolved; adding new articles for strategic concepts that didn't have in-depth articles before; etc. Other changes planned may be more controversial, such as deleting the existing articles for combos and synergies of specific cards.  Once a page has been updated, it's semi-protected so new accounts can't edit it, with the note "this page has been edited to the satisfaction of the dominion discord. please come engage with us before editing this page!"

I have mixed feelings about this project, personally (and I'm not involved in it, not being a Discord user); but I certainly think the Dominion Strategy Forum should at least be notified about the ongoing renovation of the Dominion Strategy Wiki.

17
Rules Questions / Duration draw with no draw
« on: April 15, 2021, 11:39:56 am »
Okay so we all know that if you have only five cards in your entire deck, and one of them is a Caravan, then when you play the Caravan it stays in play till the next turn even though there won't be any cards in your deck to draw when your next turn comes around. And I know the intuitive reason for that—anything can happen, maybe by the time you get to your next turn you'll have gained more cards and have something to draw. But I can't figure out how this is compatible with the rules as stated: if the card can't do anything on the next turn, it's not supposed to stay in play. We could say "trying to give you +Cards (and not finding any)" still counts as the card doing something, but then why isn't "trying to give you the set-aside cards (and not finding any)" enough to keep a Gear in play with nothing set aside?

Maybe I'm overthinking this.

18
Rules Questions / Develop + Wayfarer
« on: July 27, 2020, 08:25:37 pm »
Okay so it's the start of your turn, Wayfarer costs $6. There are no $7 cards on the board.

Play Develop, trash Wayfarer. I'm supposed to gain two cards "in either order". So it seems like I have two choices:

1. First, gain a card costing $1 less than Wayfarer—i.e., $5. (Wayfarer now costs $5 as well.) Next, gain a card costing one more than Wayfarer—i.e., $6.
OR
2. First, (try to) gain a card costing $1 more than Wayfarer—i.e., $7. No such card exists; the gain fails. (Wayfarer still costs $6). Now gain a card costing one less than Wayfarer—i.e., $5.

In other words, it seems like I can choose between gaining a $5 and a $6 or just gaining a $5.

Is this correct—do I actually have a choice? Or is one of these two scenarios actually mandatory?

19
Dominion General Discussion / Words in card names
« on: March 27, 2020, 03:55:44 am »
With a new expansion coming out, it's time for a new edition of the most boring list: words (well, content morphemes) that occur in multiple card (well, card-shaped thing) names! A morpheme may count as the same even if it's spelled and/or pronounced differently in the card names it appears in.

23:
way

15:
village (16 if you count "villa")

12:
gift

8:
castle

6:
hunt
market
merchant
trade
treasure

5:
dame
man
sir
work

4:
city
fair
gold
haunt
house
ship

3:
art (if you count "artificer" and "artisan")
bandit
black
camp
court
curse
duke (if you count "duchy" and "duchess")
farm
ghost
goat
ground
horse
keep
lose
mine
misery (4 if you count "miser")
mountain
rat
road
room
royal
ruin
sea
secret
sheep
smith
witch
wood
zombie

2:
apprentice
border
bridge
camel
capital
caravan
coin
copper
count (not really, they're two different words)
cut
delude
den
earth
envy
estate
explore
field
fish
flag
fool
fort (if you count "fortress")
fortune
gate
grand
guard
guild
hag
hall
herd
hero
horn
iron
king
land (3 if you count "island")
library
make
mason
master
necro
noble
party
pass
place
port
post
prince
raid
scout
seal (not really;  notwithstanding the pun, they're different words)
shop
silk
spice
spy
stone
swamp
tax
tell
tower
town
train
triumph
wall
war
watch
wind
wish
wolf
yard

function words
36: the
26: of
3: out
2: over

20
Dominion General Discussion / Mouse as other Ways
« on: March 21, 2020, 02:29:50 pm »
Okay so Way of the Mouse / Watchtower is the same as Way of the Owl
Way of the Mouse / Herbalist (or Peasant) is the same as Way of the Monkey
Way of the Mouse / Page (or Great Hall) is the same as Way of the Pig
Way of the Mouse / Embargo is the same as Way of the Sheep?
Way of the Mouse / Moat (or a bunch of other small draw cards) is the same as Way of the Otter

But Way of the Mouse / Experiment isn't the same as Way of the Horse.

Did I miss any?

21
Rules Questions / Durable Mouse
« on: March 18, 2020, 01:13:03 pm »
If I play Necropolis according to the Way of the Mouse, and the way of the mouse is to play, say, Fishing Village, does the Necropolis stay in play through the next turn?

22
Rules Questions / Ferry/Wayfarer
« on: March 15, 2020, 10:22:31 pm »
Okay does Ferry on Wayfarer do anything (after a card has been gained)?

23
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Trader/Changeling interaction bug?
« on: August 25, 2019, 12:43:25 am »
From Game #29975499:

Quote
Turn 4 - AJD
A plays a Swamp Hag.
...

Turn 4 - lightbulb
...
l buys an Urchin.
l gains a Curse.
l reacts with a Trader.
l gains a Silver.
l returns a Silver.
l receives a Changeling.
...

Turn 6 - AJD
A plays an Urchin.
A draws a Copper.
A gets +1 Action.
l discards a Curse.

Lightbulb shouldn't have ended up with a Curse in their deck after turn 4, right? But it seems that they did. Is this a bug?

24
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Nothing there?
« on: September 24, 2018, 03:21:11 am »
I just played a game to see if the Renaissance previews would be in it (they weren't). After the game ended, I reloaded Dominion.games and got nothing but a blank page with the castle icon on it.


25
Dominion General Discussion / Only attack once with Legionary
« on: April 11, 2018, 02:08:37 pm »
It's well-known that, after you've played Margrave once, subsequent Margraves actually benefit your opponent, since you're helping them cycle and sift toward a better three-card hand. The same is true of Legionary, to a lesser extent—once someone already has a three-card hand, making them discard one and draw one is more likely to help them than hurt them. The difference between Legionary and Margrave is that with Legionary, the attack is optional: if you play multiple Legionaries, you don't actually have to reveal the Gold multiple times. Reveal the Gold once for the attack, but don't give your opponent free cycling by revealing it again for additional Legionaries.

I won a game last night where my opponent had a much better engine than I did, and I think the reason I won it was because my opponent was revealing Golds for like three or four Legionary plays a turn. (Well, and because I built up a VP lead before their engine really kicked in.) Without the free sifting I never would have been able to maintain my lead.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7

Page created in 0.073 seconds with 17 queries.