Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Warfreak2

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
1
Dominion General Discussion / BBC iPlayer's recommendations for me
« on: January 10, 2014, 03:22:55 pm »


How did they know?

2
Rules Questions / Possession and trashing Fortress
« on: November 02, 2013, 09:16:25 am »
During a possessed turn, if you attempt to trash something, it is instead "set aside". As far as I know, that should mean any "if you do" clauses aren't triggered, nor any "when you trash this" clauses. Is this correct?

3
Rules Questions / Haven at the end of the game
« on: October 28, 2013, 06:16:52 pm »
Native Village and Island "set aside" cards, with a clause that the set-aside cards should be returned to your deck at the end of the game. Haven has the same "set aside" phrasing, but no "at the end of the game" clause.

If you Haven a Province on your last turn, it either doesn't count as being in your deck when you count the score, or NV and Island have superfluous text. What's the deal? Also, Horse Traders and Gardens/Vineyard.

4
Variants and Fan Cards / Casino: Copper-counting Victory card
« on: October 28, 2013, 06:07:16 pm »
Casino, $5, Victory
Worth 1VP per Copper in the deck of the opponent with the most Copper.
---
When you buy this, choose one: either you gain it as normal, and each other player may trash any number of cards from their hand; or instead each other player gains a Curse and a copy of this, and you may trash any number of cards from your hand.

5
Game Reports / The omniscient Oracle
« on: September 14, 2013, 06:22:40 pm »
http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20130914/log.508ae4c20cf264ac914cc446.1379196977818.txt

Turn 5:
Warfreak2   reveals: Upgrade, Cutpurse
Warfreak2   discards: Upgrade, Cutpurse

Turn 7:
Warfreak2   reveals: Cutpurse, Silver
Warfreak2   discards: Cutpurse, Silver

Turn 9:
Warfreak2   reveals: Silver, Upgrade
Warfreak2   discards: Silver, Upgrade

Turn 10:
Warfreak2   reveals: Gold, Upgrade
Warfreak2   discards: Gold, Upgrade

Turn 11:
Warfreak2   reveals: Upgrade, Cutpurse
Warfreak2   discards: Upgrade, Cutpurse

Turn 12:
Warfreak2   reveals: Gold, Gold
Warfreak2   discards: Gold, Gold

Turn 13:
Warfreak2   reveals: Silver, Silver
Warfreak2   discards: Silver, Silver

Turn 14:
Warfreak2   reveals: Silver, Silver
Warfreak2   discards: Silver, Silver

Turn 15:
Warfreak2   reveals: Silver, Cutpurse
Warfreak2   discards: Silver, Cutpurse

Turn 17:
Warfreak2   reveals: Upgrade, Silver
Warfreak2   discards: Upgrade, Silver

Turn 19:
Warfreak2   reveals: Silver, Silver
Warfreak2   discards: Silver, Silver

No prizes for guessing the result...

6
Game Reports / In which I beat Stef after passing my first turn
« on: September 14, 2013, 08:45:49 am »
http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20130914/log.50b20dc3e4b0c9ce0cf27eb3.1379161713918.txt

I thought I was clicking on the "play treasures" button, but I had already played my treasures before thinking about my opening, so it was the "end turn" button instead. Oops! I was Player 2, too.

The game has Masquerade, Stables and Herbalist. Herbalist is important not only because of its monopoly on +buy, but because you need Copper in your hand to start the Stables chain, or to pass to your opponent's Masquerade. On Turn 10, Stef neglects to put a Copper back, and has to pass me a Conspirator... I think that made up the lost turn in the opening.

At the end of Turn 11, I have in my hand Farming Village, Masquerade, and Remodel, so I Remodel the Masquerade into a Saboteur, draw it with the Farming Village, and play it immediately: luckily, I hit one of his only two Stables, preventing him from drawing his deck the next turn. Later I hit one of his Conspirators (after he already lost the split 4-6), and his Remodel.

On his Turn 13 he passes me a Herbalist, which leaves me with nothing in hand to discard to Stables! I was very lucky to draw a Copper with my last Farming Village, or I'd fall a turn behind again.

Finally, with three Provinces remaining, I end up with exactly $16 plus Province/Remodel in hand, just barely able to end the game. This one was really fun to play!

7
Game Reports / Wharf/BM vs Apothecary/Great Hall - what?
« on: September 10, 2013, 05:32:02 am »
http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20130910/log.516ce75de4b082c74d7a61e2.1378804318722.txt

I just barely won this one by tie-break; a few mistakes for me, the last Silver should be a Great Hall, and probably a Duchy instead of the Harem. But... what? I am playing against Apothecary/Great Hall, is that really almost as good as Wharf/BM? It seems like 6 Great Halls should only make Apothecary stall even worse. My opponent is a top-25 player. What is going on?

8
Why does this happen? I have `ping -t play.goko.com` open in another window, so I can see exactly what happens. The game freezes while my connection is down, for like, 10 seconds; then, when the connection comes back up again, rather than continuing the game, it kicks me out and gives me the main menu, and even has logged me out for no reason. How can this ever be good? If my internet connection is working, continue the game. If it isn't, why try to load any page at all?

9
Goko Dominion Online / Trader and Embargo
« on: July 01, 2013, 07:21:20 am »
This is the most unintuitive interface ever. I just played a Duchy/Duke game with Trader and Embargo, in which my opponent embargoed the Duchies and twice I bought Duchy, gaining a Curse, revealing Trader to gain Silver instead of Duchy. Obviously that is not what I wanted to do at all! When I'm being prompted to reveal Trader, it should tell me what card I would gain, so I'm not buying embargoed Silvers for $5. Ugh.

10
Game Reports / Apprentice, Cellar, Tunnel
« on: June 27, 2013, 12:15:51 pm »
http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20130627/log.51378b8ae4b0f4a0a3950a97.1372349616969.txt

Quote
Warfreak2   plays Throne Room
Warfreak2   plays Apprentice
Warfreak2   trashes Gold
Warfreak2   draws Gold, Gold, Gold, Copper, Tunnel, Cellar
Warfreak2   plays Apprentice
Warfreak2   trashes Gold
Warfreak2   draws Apprentice, Copper, Copper, Tunnel, Copper, Gold
Warfreak2   plays Apprentice
Warfreak2   trashes Gold
Warfreak2   draws Monument
Warfreak2   shuffles deck
Warfreak2   draws Cellar, Gold, Tunnel, Cellar, Gold
Warfreak2   plays Crossroads
Warfreak2   reveals hand: Silver, Gold, Gold, Copper, Tunnel, Cellar, Copper, Copper, Tunnel, Copper, Monument, Cellar, Gold, Tunnel, Cellar, Gold
Warfreak2   draws Copper, Tunnel, Apprentice
Warfreak2   plays Cellar
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   draws Gold, Colony, Cellar, Gold
Warfreak2   shuffles deck
Warfreak2   draws Gold, Gold, Gold, Copper, Tunnel
Warfreak2   plays Apprentice
Warfreak2   trashes Gold
Warfreak2   draws Tunnel, Gold, Copper, Copper, Tunnel, Copper
Warfreak2   plays Cellar
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Colony
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   draws Tunnel, Copper
Warfreak2   shuffles deck
Warfreak2   draws Tunnel, Colony, Copper, Tunnel, Tunnel, Copper
Warfreak2   plays Cellar
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Copper
Warfreak2   discards Colony
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   draws Copper, Gold, Gold, Gold, Copper
Warfreak2   shuffles deck
Warfreak2   draws Tunnel, Colony, Copper
Warfreak2   plays Cellar
Warfreak2   discards Tunnel
Warfreak2   discards Colony
Warfreak2   reveals reaction Tunnel
Warfreak2   gains Gold
Warfreak2   draws Tunnel, Gold
Warfreak2   plays Monument
Warfreak2   receives 1 victory point chips
Warfreak2   plays 13 Gold, 3 Copper, 1 Silver
Warfreak2   buys Colony
Warfreak2   gains Colony
Warfreak2   draws Gold, Gold, Tunnel, Gold, Tunnel

Shame there was no +buy. What a combo!

11
Game Reports / This says it all...
« on: June 25, 2013, 12:06:16 pm »

12
Game Reports / Apparently, I am not very good at shuffling.
« on: June 18, 2013, 12:27:48 pm »
Or Goko isn't, on my behalf.

http://dom.retrobox.eu/?/20130618/log.50c59a94e4b0dba1d397ec1c.1371572063493.txt

T1: Dame Chapel is the top knight, there is no other trashing, and I have $5 - hooray! Except my opponent also has $5 and buys her first. I take a Bandit Camp, deciding that Dame Josephine is not a very good opening buy.
T2: $2, I do nothing.
T3: $2 again... so I am guaranteed $5 again next turn, at least? Oh, my opponent plays Dame Chapel, turning over two of my Coppers (well, at least I didn't lose my Bandit Camp)
T4: I have $3, a Bandit Camp and a reshuffled Estate. I play the Bandit Camp and draw... another Estate. Buy Silver.

It's not the worst shuffling possible, of course, I didn't lost my Bandit Camp until turn 8, after managing a turn 7 Province (it's a Tournament game), but I get three opportunities to play Tournament and it's blocked every time (and of course I don't have my Province), and I resigned on turn 13 when I have a choice of trashing either Tournament or Gold.

13
Variants and Fan Cards / Mortgage
« on: June 12, 2013, 05:07:49 pm »
Mortgage, Action/Duration, $5
Discard three Treasure cards from your hand. If you do, gain a card costing up to $8, and place a number of Coin tokens on this card equal to the cost of the card you gained in coins.
---
At the beginning of your turn, discard a Treasure card from your hand (or reveal a hand with no Treasure cards). If you do discard a Treasure card, remove a coin token from this card. At the beginning of your clean-up phase, if there are no coin tokens on this card, discard it from play.

14
Goko Dominion Online / "Warfreak2 chooses a reaction to reveal"
« on: June 07, 2013, 03:57:27 pm »
This is normally just ironic; there's only one reaction card I could possibly reveal, so the fact that the text is there reveals that the card is in my hand anyway. But I just had a game with Fools Gold and Contraband, where the information that I have (or don't have) Fools Gold in my hand (which of course I would choose not to reveal) could affect the decision of which card to block.

15
Dominion General Discussion / Witch/Copper vs. Witch/Nothing?
« on: June 07, 2013, 07:49:19 am »
(similarly, Cultist)

If you have a 5/2 split, and there's Witch but no $2s, you get the Witch. But if you draw the Witch on turn 4, there's only one more card in your deck - when you play your Witch, it triggers a reshuffle, so you won't see your Witch again soon.

If you bought a Copper instead of passing, that turn 4 Witch wouldn't be a problem; you play it, draw the remaining two cards without shuffling, so you play it again sooner. And the Copper is improving the average of your deck, in a game where you're going to get Curses later anyway. Thoughts?

16
Variants and Fan Cards / A few ideas, some sillier than others
« on: June 07, 2013, 06:12:14 am »
Quagmire, Victory, $6
Worth 2VP per differently named Victory card in the trash.
---
When you gain this, trash a card from your hand.


Convoy, Action/Attack, $5
Gain a card costing up to $7. Each other player gains a card costing at most $2 less.


Hidden Passage, Victory/Reaction, $3
Worth 2VP
---
When you reveal this, +1 Card


Chain Gang, Action, $2
Choose one:
- +1 Card, +1 Buy
- Chain Gang costs $0 this turn
- Trash this. If you do, +3 Cards, +1 Action
Play a Chain Gang from your hand, making the same choice (or reveal a hand with no Chain Gangs).


Meteorite, Action, $2
Trash your deck and discard pile, then gain any number of Coppers.

17
Dominion General Discussion / Turn 1 Noble Brigand
« on: June 03, 2013, 07:57:41 pm »
I had a game a few days ago where I bought a Silver, only to have my opponent steal it on their first turn by buying a Noble Brigand. I thought that was ridiculous, but thinking about it I realised it was actually a 1/3 chance - there were six cards in my discard pile and two of them get revealed - which is really not ridiculously good luck.

I presume this is a thing...

18
Goko Dominion Online / Saboteur card text on Goko
« on: June 02, 2013, 07:47:50 pm »

Spot the problem?

19
Dominion General Discussion / Baron/Rebuild combo
« on: May 21, 2013, 01:21:08 pm »
This seemed pretty fast to me; Baron gets you to $5 easily, for buying Rebuilds and Duchies, and it can also pick up Estates (either when you don't activate it, or with its +buy when you get to $7) which you want for Rebuilding. Baron/Silver gives you a good chance of getting at least one Rebuild on turns 3/4, and if you buy a village of some sort along the way, you can discard the Estate before playing Rebuild, which solves something of a problem that Rebuild can have.

Is this a thing?

20
Goko is very slow for me, to the point where checking somebody's rating before joining their game usually means someone else has joined first; so sometimes I join a game and then leave when I find out that the other player is not near my level. For some reason, this time goko decided that actually I'd be playing both of those games, so I saw the opening hand of the first game and then it switched to another game with different cards and a different opponent. I was able to play the second game without too many problems - the screen occasionally flickered with a portion of the other game screen, and the game log (using the browser extension) showed half-way through that I lost the first game by default.

How on Earth can this even happen? When I click to join a different game, leaving the game I am in should be part of that atomic operation. Is my browser literally sending "leave this game" and "join this game" as separate instructions to the server, and this time the first one didn't arrive?

21
Variants and Fan Cards / Inverse Counting House?
« on: April 21, 2013, 02:23:12 pm »
Name a card, look through your deck, discard any number of that card from it, then shuffle your deck. By itself, it filters Copper/Estate/Curse out of your deck (it doesn't work on Ruins as they have different names). However, you will have to track your deck very carefully, so that you don't accidentally trigger a reshuffle during your turn and get a deck full of Copper/Estate/Curse. It has the not-always-useful problem of Counting House, but in reverse - it's better when your discard pile is empty - so it combos with Counting House to make it reliable.

Thoughts?

22
Rules Questions / Market Square when-a-card-is-trashed timing
« on: April 16, 2013, 06:40:39 am »
Premise: when a Reaction card says "when ____", the reaction actually resolves before the ____ resolves. Therefore, isn't it technically within the rules to trash a Market Square from my hand, react to that trashing by discarding it and gaining a Gold, and then not being able to resolve the trashing because whatever card tried to trash it has Lost Track of it (it's now in my discard pile, rather than my hand)? This seems like it's definitely not the intention of the card, as it would be even better than Fortress' invulnerability (keep the card AND get a Gold), but I'm struggling to work out why it's not within the rules.

23
Rules Questions / Cards that can secretly change deck composition
« on: April 13, 2013, 05:39:28 am »
More of an observation than a question, but it does make me wonder if DXV realised this when he designed the cards: in a 3+ player game, since Masquerade doesn't instruct you to reveal the cards after passing them around, you don't know what cards are in your opponent's decks any more.

Also, theoretically Rogue/etc. can gain from the trash, and don't instruct you to reveal the gained cards, and other players can't normally look through the trash (I think?). Theoretically they can play Rogues themselves in order to look through and therefore find out what card you took, but they don't always have the opportunity, and if two cards are gained from the trash by different players, in between your trash-inspections, it may be impossible to know who has what cards in their deck. (An edge case when the gain-from-the-trash card is from the Black Market so the other players can't inspect the trash at all).

That has implications for counting the score; primarily, Curses and Estates get passed around, but also you might want to pass a Duchy, or another Victory card better than Estate, if the rest of your hand is exactly the right treasures for buying something good. (As an edge case, a lot of Rabbles followed by Minion and then Masquerade may well force you to pass a green card, and maybe you trashed the estates and only bought Provinces...). Good Victory cards are often in the trash because of being Expanded, or even just remodelled into themselves in the endgame, so Rogue/etc. can also secretly change the score. (Edge cases for gaining from the trash include Silver for Feoda, and Action cards for Vineyards).

Mainly just wondering if that effect is deliberate. Isotropic used to have a score counter, which might therefore actually reveal information to you that you couldn't have known just by watching your opponents very closely and having a good memory.

Edit: I should read the rules - "A player is allowed to count how many cards are left in his deck, but not his discard pile. A player may not look through his deck or his discard pile. A player may look through the trash pile, and players may count the number of cards in any pile in the Supply." So Masquerade is the only one, huh?

24
Rules Questions / Procession -> Throne Room -> Duration
« on: April 08, 2013, 08:58:44 pm »
When you Throne Room a Duration card, the Throne Room remains in play along with it, to "explain" why the duration effect applies twice next turn. My question is, what if the Throne Room is trashed after being played, because of Procession? For example,
play Procession
-> play Throne Room
 -> play Laboratory
 -> play Laboratory again
-> play Throne Room again
 -> play Lighthouse
 -> play Lighthouse again
-> trash Throne Room

The Lighthouse would still be in play, and you get $1 twice this turn. But do you get $1 twice next turn, even though the Throne Room is no longer there to "explain" it?

This could get more complex if more Throne Rooms are played:
play Procession
-> play TR1
 -> play TR2
  -> play Lighthouse
  -> play Lighthouse again
 -> play TR2 again
  -> play Caravan
  -> play Caravan again
-> play TR1 again
 -> play TR3
  -> play Wharf
  -> play Wharf again
 -> play TR3 again
  -> play Fishing Village
  -> play Fishing Village again
-> trash TR1

Four duration cards are now played twice each, but only two Throne Rooms remain, unable to explain all of them. Are they all doubled next turn? Are only two of them, and if so, which two? Or are none?

(edit: changed Haven to Caravan, because why would Haven need to be explained next turn?)

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.129 seconds with 18 queries.