Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - SuperHans

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1]
1
Dominion: Renaissance Previews / Renaissance Initial Impressions
« on: November 05, 2018, 01:27:56 pm »
What are your thoughts about the new cards?

2
Guilds Previews / Merchant Guild
« on: June 15, 2013, 03:30:15 pm »
Merchant Guild
Types: Action
Cost: $5
+1 Buy. +$1.
While this is in play, when you buy a card, take a Coin token.

There seems to be a general consensus that you cannot use the coin tokens earned from a Merchant Guild until the next turn. This seems contrary to the text of the card. According to the text of the card, you earn the coin tokens immediately after purchasing a card. This would mean that you can use the earned coin tokens on a subsequent purchase that very same turn. Could someone on Goko confirm or deny this?

If true, this would lead to some interesting scenarios.

Example #1: Let's say you had three merchant guilds in play.  If you purchased a card, you would then receive three coin tokens.  For your second buy, you could then spend those three coin tokens on a silver and receive three more coin tokens. You can then rinse and repeat until you run out of buys.

Example #2: Let's say you had five merchant guilds in play and five market squares in play. You now have +11 buys. Every time you purchase a card you receive five coin tokens. Hypothetically, you could drain all ten cards from a $5 supply.


After this issue is resolved, let's just maintain this thread as a general discussion for the card since there seems to be a lot of conflicting opinions about Merchant Guild's strength and utility.

EDIT: Thanks for clearing that up. I didn't see that the rules had been posted.

Pages: [1]

Page created in 0.102 seconds with 18 queries.