Dominion Strategy Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Davio

Filter to certain boards:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 230
1
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Seaside 2E Preview 3
« on: May 19, 2022, 02:24:50 am »
Iím surprised that Treasure map made it!
Yeah Treasure Map could have used some self synergy, for instance a simple: "When you gain this, you may put it on top of your deck".

2
Dominion General Discussion / Re: merchant camp
« on: March 22, 2022, 06:16:54 am »
Villages which don't draw cards are usually not that great though (thinking about Necropolis), that +1 card might not seem significant, but it can be really helpful.

3
Let's Discuss ... / Re: Lets discuss: Barbarian
« on: March 16, 2022, 05:24:32 am »
$5 is sort of a critical limit, a lot of $5+ cards are super powerful and could be essential for engines while a lot of $4- cards are merely engine grease.
Sometimes the whole point of engines is to play those $5+ cards as often as possible.

So hitting a $5 card can be a turning point in any game.

4
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Design the most disappointing Kingdom
« on: March 16, 2022, 03:45:10 am »
$1: Poor House
$2: Coin of the Realm, Lurker, Pearl Diver
$3: Workshop, Acting Troupe, Scheme, Village
$4: Treasure Map, Rats

I'm pretty sure BM is the best option for this board.

5
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Allies is online
« on: March 15, 2022, 05:34:12 am »
There are some card types which just exist to remind you to do something during setup.

Shelters replace Estates, Heirlooms replace Coppers.

6
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Hamlet + Fellowship Of Scribes
« on: March 15, 2022, 05:26:49 am »
When you play Hamlet on dominion.games it works like this:

You get 3 buttons 'discard for +action', 'discard for +buy' and 'don't discard'.
If you happen to have another action card in your hand the button 'don't discard' is not shown, but you can just play that action card to forfeit discarding for the Hamlet currently in play.
If you discard for +buy first, you can no longer choose to discard for +action.

Now the bug with Fellowship of Scribes is that it only triggers immediately after playing a Hamlet from your hand, but before discarding.
So if you play Hamlet and discard down to 4 and then play another Hamlet, it asks you if you want to trigger Fellowship of Scribes.
After resolving Fellowship of Scribes you get the options for Hamlet and you can continue resolving it.

That is probably wrong.

7
Rules Questions / Re: Plateau Shepherds + Cost reducer
« on: March 14, 2022, 10:38:54 am »
Cost reducers normally apply to turns, for instance Ferry:

Quote
Move your -$2 cost token to an Action Supply pile. (Cards from that pile cost $2 less on your turns, but not less than $0.)
So at the end of the game, when you're tallying points, it's not "your turn" (or anybody's turn) so the cards just have their normal costs.

Family of Inventors says:
Quote
This makes cards cost less at all times for all players, not just for the player placing the token.
"At all times" I guess also refers to the end of the game so I would think cards still cost less at that point.

With regards to Duration cost reducers: at the end of the game you just put all of your cards in one big pile and start counting so even Duration cards, although they might not have been discarded during the clean-up phase, still end up in that pile and are not doing anything anymore.

8
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Allies is online
« on: March 14, 2022, 10:26:22 am »
Barbarian
$5; Action-Attack
+$2
Each other player trashes the top card of their deck. If it costs $3 or more they gain a cheaper card sharing a type with it; otherwise they gain a Curse.

Question: Suppose Barbarian hits, say, a Village, but there are no Action cards costing less than $3. Do you get a Curse? I think no, because the "otherwise" would refer back to the "if it costs $3 or more". But it could also mean "if you did not gain a cheaper card"

I also would think no. But Gamble had the opposite ruling. Gamble had a "may" which made it even more ambiguous, but it also had the phrasing "if x otherwise y", where grammatically "otherwise" should mean "if not x", just as with Barbarian.

It would be good with a ruling on this.
I would think the condition is just "if it costs $3 more".
So if this condition is true, you try to do what it says "gain a cheaper card sharing a type".

As always you try to do as much as you can, but in this case if you can't gain a cheaper card, you just don't gain a card.
So your Village is gone and you don't get a replacement, sorry. :)

From the rulebook:
Quote
If the trashed card
costs 3 or more, they have to gain a cheaper card if they can; if there are no
cheaper cards that share a type, they simply fail to gain a card.

9
Let's Discuss ... / Re: Lets discuss: Barbarian
« on: March 14, 2022, 10:12:59 am »
Swindler is an obvious comparison. there are some key differences.

Swindler is especially good early since the chance of hitting Coppers (into Curses) is higher or you might hit a critical card your opponent bought early (say a Witch/Mountebank into Duchy).
Of course it can turn Estates into Estates and that's awful, so it's rather swingy but still good early on.
During the mid/late game if you're turning Silvers into Silvers or Golds into Golds, that's not great, other than the fact your opponent has to wait a shuffle to draw them.
And if you're behind and turning Provinces into Provinces (or, my personal favorite, Peddlers into Provinces) well that's just sad.

Barbarian seems stronger, but note that your opponent gets to choose the replacement, not you. Yes, often it will turn Province -> Duchy -> Estate and Gold -> Silver -> Copper, but if there are special $5 Treasures like Idol, Relic etc. it becomes less hurtful to trash a Gold and likewise for VP cards if there are kingdom VP cards like Nobles, Harem, Island, etc.

10
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Allies is online
« on: March 14, 2022, 06:34:26 am »
After having played quite a few games with it, I must say I really like Innkeeper.

It may not look that strong, but I think I've chosen each separate option multiple times.
If you know the contents of your deck well, you can make well informed decisions and this really helps.

Have a hand with 1 Estate? Maybe go for +3/-3...
Have a hand with 2 Estates? Maybe go for +5/-6..
Have a hand with all good cards? Okay, maybe just use the cantrip option.

11
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Highwayman + Spoils + Crypt
« on: March 14, 2022, 03:42:12 am »
Spoils staying in play is definitely interesting, since it would count for things like Bank too.

12
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Hamlet + Fellowship Of Scribes
« on: March 13, 2022, 10:28:36 am »
That doesn't address Chuckles's problem, Davio; it still didn't give them a chance to use Scribes after the Action card was resolved.
Oh right, I thought it only fizzled after the action part, but if it also fizzels after the buy part, that's obviously a bug.

fizzling after discarding for an action would also be a bug - using hamlet as a village is still handsize negative.
Yes I meant that with Hamlet, it has to wait for a decision on both the extra action and the extra buy and if you discarded for either (and thus have 4 cards or less), it should give you the choice.
So if you discard for +1 action, there has to be a way to opt-out of the discarding for +Buy and triggering FoS.

13
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Hamlet + Fellowship Of Scribes
« on: March 13, 2022, 05:26:29 am »
That doesn't address Chuckles's problem, Davio; it still didn't give them a chance to use Scribes after the Action card was resolved.
Oh right, I thought it only fizzled after the action part, but if it also fizzels after the buy part, that's obviously a bug.

14
Puzzles and Challenges / Re: Easy Puzzles
« on: March 12, 2022, 01:20:24 pm »
I have to admit, when I created this topic 9 years ago (created 13th of March 2013) I had no idea:
  • it would still be alive after 9 years
  • I would return to the forums after a long hiatus to find out it's still alive

15
Dominion Online at Shuffle iT / Re: Hamlet + Fellowship Of Scribes
« on: March 12, 2022, 01:16:11 pm »
In the rulebook, it actually explains this:

Quote
Fellowship of Scribes: You can only do this once per time you play an Action
card. Completely resolve the Action card; then if you have 4 or fewer cards in
hand, you may spend a Favor for +1 Card.

16
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Allies is online
« on: March 11, 2022, 04:38:40 am »
is there any Dominion rule book that describes rules for Reactions, as a type?

Okay, yes, there is: Adventures again, it says "Players may use multiple Reaction cards in response to a single event. Reactions are resolved one at a time. The second Reaction card can be one that was not initially in hand when the first Reaction card was used." So there are general rules for Reaction cards.
This was for instance for Secret Chamber which when revealed let you draw 2 cards and topdeck 2 cards. So you could reveal and resolve Secret Chamber, draw a Moat and then reveal a Moat.

17
With Student and Fellowship of Scribes you can keep trashing the Treasure cards in your hand (if after trashing you have less than 5 cards) by
  • playing Student, trashing a Treasure, gaining a Favor and putting the card on your deck
  • paying the Favor to Fellowship of Scribes to draw 1 card which is the topdecked Student
  • rinse and repeat

So if you start with a hand of Student-Copper-Copper-Copper-Estate, you can essentially Chapel your entire hand this way.

18
Rules Questions / Re: Duration and Way of the Squirrel
« on: March 08, 2022, 08:56:21 am »
The only issue is that each Way seems to have a specific ruling which may or may not be independent of other ways, so I guess we need a ruling for Squirrel as well.

19
Rules Questions / Re: Duration and Way of the Squirrel
« on: March 08, 2022, 05:55:39 am »
Only Duration cards or cards emulating other Duration cards (such as Band of Misfits) can be kept between turns, so a card like Bandit, if played with a Way, is always discarded.

20
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Really not a fan of voyage turns
« on: March 08, 2022, 05:25:49 am »
Yes, most decks like/love cantrips, such as Market/Peddler/Mill etc. but Voyage decks hate them.
Voyage is like an anti-engine card in that you'd rather have a hand that can get Militia'd and still buy a Province such as Gold-Gold-Silver-Estate-Estate than a hand that wants to string actions together.

So when the dust settles, I think it will be used in money-based decks or attack heavy decks where you're desperately trying to win the Curse split or something like that.
Note that non-cumulative attacks like Militia/Goons/Margrave etc. are no use in Voyage turns since the opponent has (likely) already discarded in your previous turn.

I concur.  I think if it was 3 actions and then you get to play the buy phase it would be a good card.  But as is it is a stone that will absolutely make any engine based deck worse by adding it, save edge cases like curse racing without trashing, and even then I find it hard that I couldn't somehow get my deck to cycle more to get to the cursers I have and make my engine better than sacrifice handcuffing it in the hopes that I get an additional curse or two advantage from the move, as after that then I have to overcome having the card.
It can be helpful in engine decks, but not in the way you'd usually think about them.

Engine decks not only care about gaining cards as quickly as possible, but also about trashing them.
Drawing Chapel-Curse-Copper-Copper-Estate or something like that would be great.

But Voyage is not the top card in the pile, Old Map is, so the pile has to be rotated once or 4 copies of Old Map gained, which means the first time you could gain a Voyage let alone play one is not until a little later in the game.
And a little later in the game you're not trashing as much as gaining. You 're usually only trashing much (especially with a terminal multiple card trasher like Chapel, Steward, etc.) in the first few turns.

So if you desperately want to use Voyage in an engine deck you need to have the right support for it. Gainers such as Artisan, Altar etc. could be useful.

21
When you start a new table, you can't actually select it, so it's probably only listed for completeness?

22
Dominion General Discussion / Re: Allies Preview 5: More Cards
« on: March 07, 2022, 11:35:43 am »
Played several games with Royal Galley last night against the bot (so it let me get all 10 of them). My impression is that it turns those semi-engines into a full fledged super-consistent engine. It really helps any sort of Village,Smithy,Workshop type of game.
It's also great with cards which don't have cumulative effects like Militia (other than its $2).

23
Rules Questions / Re: Duration and Way of the Squirrel
« on: March 07, 2022, 10:02:02 am »
Okay I think I understand, but I can't find that last rule anywhere.

The bottom line is: what even is a Duration and what does it all mean?
There are cards with lasting effects or postponed effects which are not Duration cards.
There are Duration cards which no longer do anything and thus are no longer Duration cards?

I'm confused.  ;D

24
Rules Questions / Re: Duration and Way of the Squirrel
« on: March 07, 2022, 09:33:12 am »
There is a difference in that you're following a Way instead of the Duration's instructions. But we know that a Duration played with Way of the Chameleon causes the Duration to stay in play (even though we're not following the Duration's instructions). This seems like the same situation.
Well with Chameleon you could argue that it has to stay in play because it was played for one of its own original abilities. That is what the "Duration+way" rule specifies anyway.

No, we're not following any of the Duration's instructions. Chameleon works exactly like all other Ways. That's why we can't use Chameleon on an Enchanted card or vice versa. Playing a card using Way of the Mouse playing a Duration also causes the card to stay in play.
So with regards to Way of the Chameleon you argue that the original card's instructions are 'copied' to the Way so we are no longer following the original card's instructions, but instead the Way's instructions which are exactly the same as the original instructions (with cards and coins reversed)?

If that's true the question remains: if the Duration card is played with Chameleon and it has a Duration effect which is still valid even if it was triggered by the Way instead of the card, does that count as at least one of its plays was for its own abilities?

It seems like the answer for Way of the Chameleon is yes even if the cards and coins are reversed. In the rules it even has an example with Merchant Ship. If you play Merchant Ship with Way of the Chameleon you get +2 cards this turn and +2 coins next turn.

25
Rules Questions / Re: Duration and Way of the Squirrel
« on: March 07, 2022, 09:02:24 am »
There is a difference in that you're following a Way instead of the Duration's instructions. But we know that a Duration played with Way of the Chameleon causes the Duration to stay in play (even though we're not following the Duration's instructions). This seems like the same situation.
Well with Chameleon you could argue that it has to stay in play because it was played for one of its own original abilities. That is what the "Duration+way" rule specifies anyway.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 230

Page created in 0.11 seconds with 19 queries.